印尼前口蝠鲼贸易禁令成功了吗?

贸易禁令下,印尼拉马克拉的前口蝠鲼捕猎者正在努力寻找其他出路。

Reef manta rays swim in the waters off the island of Nusa Penida, near Bali in Indonesia.

图片来源 © Paul Hilton

乌丁·奥马尔正在修补他的刺网。昨天,他在印度尼西亚南部的家乡索洛岛附近的热带海域捕获了四条日本蝠鲼和一桶小塞拉鱼(脂眼凹肩鲹)。

和他所在的拉马克拉社区的许多其他人一样,奥马尔曾经是一名前口蝠鲼捕猎者。前口蝠鲼是蝠鲼的一种。蝠鲼又被称为魔鬼鱼与毯魟,分布于热带和温带各海区。2014年,印尼禁止捕捞前口蝠鲼,并禁止买卖它们的部分器官,这迫使奥马尔不得不收起了鱼叉。

他还记得,一条前口蝠鲼一上岸就能卖到300万印尼盾(212美元),足够他还清债务和供孩子们上学。但他没有提到的一点是,如果专注于卖前口蝠鲼用来过滤水中浮游生物的鳃,他的收入还会翻上一番。

他说:“禁捕之前,我一季能捕到20条。如今我们不能再捕猎前口蝠鲼了,否则会因此而被捕。”

保护前口蝠鲼

印度尼西亚2014年出台的法律,对双吻前口蝠鲼(mobula birostris)和近海蝠鲼(mobula alfredi)的整个生命周期都给予了充分保护。除了“研究和开发”,对些动物任何部分的利用都是非法的,即便是意外捕获的。印尼专属经济区的面积达到600万平方公里。因此,禁止在其专属经济区内捕捞这些鱼类,实质上是建立了世界上最大的前口蝠鲼保护区。

之所以采取这一举措是因为过度捕捞导致的全球前口蝠鲼数量急剧下降。2011年,这两个物种被世界自然保护联盟(IUCN)的红色名录列为易危物种。更具体地说,2013年《濒危野生动植物种国际贸易公约》(CITES)决定将前口蝠鲼添加到附录II中,要求成员国严格监管该物种的贸易。

前口蝠鲼是蝠鲼中最大的,巨型前口蝠鲼的翼展可达7米多。和其他大型海洋物种一样,它们寿命长,繁殖速度慢,每2-5年才生一两条幼鱼。海洋保护慈善机构米索尔基金会的默恰玛德·伊克巴尔·赫瓦塔·普特拉说,这使得它们特别容易受到“高强度捕捞活动”的影响。

Lamakera hunters pulling a harpooned manta on board
渔民合力将捕获的前口蝠鲼拉上渔船,此图拍摄于2011年。图片来源 @Paul Hiltons

地方传统

捕猎前口蝠鲼是拉马克拉一个悠久的传统。其所在的索洛岛位于印度尼西亚南部边缘的一个岛链上,周围水域富含微生物,既是前口蝠鲼们经常出没的地方,也是一系列大型海洋物种迁徙的必经之路。由于岛上土壤相对贫瘠,这个偏远社区的人们依靠海洋为生。

过去,捕猎前口蝠鲼主要是为了吃肉。前口蝠鲼肉被挂在竹竿上在阳光下晒干,除了当地消费,还会与邻近的村庄和岛屿交易,换取其他必需品。

Strips of spinetail devil ray meat left to dry in the sun
晾晒在竹竿上的日本蝠鲼肉,被捕获的前口蝠鲼也是同样的处理方式。图片来源:Nabiha Shahab/中外对话

但在21世纪初,由于市场对蝠鲼鳃的需求快速增长(主要来自中国),前口蝠鲼在拉马克拉开始显现出商业价值。之前蝠鲼鳃都被扔在海滩上任其腐烂。

在传统医学中,蝠鲼鳃被认为可以“包治百病”,从痤疮到癌症,不过这些性能还没有得到科学的证明。由于体型巨大,前口蝠鲼的鳃尤为珍贵。

索库尔·塞诺曾是拉马克拉的一名鱼类买手,他记得第一个开始在村里收购前口蝠鲼的是鱼翅商人。他说,在蝠鲼鳃高价的刺激下,捕猎活动迅速增加,捕获量远远超过了供求上限。

他说:“从2005年开始,前口蝠鲼的软骨每公斤售价为3000至5000盾(21至35美分),鱼皮每公斤售价为1万至1.2万卢比(71至85美分)。”前口蝠鲼鳃则“每公斤高达15万盾(10.60美元)”。 

落实禁令

印尼2014年颁布的保护前口蝠鲼的法律不仅切断了拉马克拉人的这个新的收入来源,也剥夺了他们的传统食物。

对于像奥马尔这种以前从事前口蝠鲼捕猎的人来说,谋生已成为一项挑战。他解释说,现在捕捉金枪鱼、马林鱼、鲷鱼、鲭鱼和长尾鲨所赚的钱几乎让他入不敷出。除了给船加油,他还必须每年更换渔网。

他说:“我买了二手渔网,新的太贵了。”即使二手渔网也要花费大约1500万盾(1060美元)。为了支付这笔费用,他不得不抵押了房子和船,从当地银行贷款。他承认:“这很困难,我有时好几个月都无力还款。”

The people of Lamakera rely on the sea to make a living
拉马克拉人以海为生,前口蝠鲼给当地人带来了较高的收入,禁令让他们难以是从。图片来源:Nabiha Shahab/中外对话

因此,当局发现在拉马克拉执行这些规定并不容易。野生动物保护协会(WCS)的索非·马尔迪亚解释说:“这些法律只实施了五六年,涉及那些被认为是风俗习惯和生计来源的问题,很可能因此与社区发生冲突。”

最初执法重点是遏止前口蝠鲼鳃的贸易。中央政府海洋生物多样性监测部门的负责人阿古斯提亚万记得,新法出台后不久,他就在拉马克拉以买家的身份进行暗访。他说:“我们发现了6公斤干鳃,那一定是来自6条前口蝠鲼。”

在随后的两年里,他们查获了几起走私案件,并逮捕了一些人,主要是在发达的爪哇岛,收购的前口蝠鲼鳃从这里可以被运往中国。

根据马尔迪亚的说法,这些鳃大部分来自拉马克拉。为了从源头上切断贸易,2016年WCS与东努沙登加拉省海洋渔业办公室和水警合作,在索洛岛周围海域建立了每日巡逻机制。这些巡逻产生了显著影响。“在过去的两到三年里,在拉马克拉专门以前口蝠鲼为目标的捕猎活动已经消失,或者发现的很少。即便有捕猎,也通常是秘密进行,强度和数量都要低得多,”马尔迪亚说。

阿波利纳杜斯·约塞夫·利亚·戴莫尔是附近弗洛雷斯岛当地渔业办公室的巡警,他同意马尔迪亚的观点。他说:“到2018年底,有关捕猎前口蝠鲼的报告大幅下降。现在贸易链条几近断裂。”

Ministry of Fisheries personnel display confiscated manta ray gills in their offices on the island of Bali in 2014. (Image: Paul Hilton)
执法人员展示2014年在巴厘岛没收的前口蝠鲼鳃。 图片来源 @Paul Hilton

但前鱼类买手塞诺说,随着执法工作的重点被放在拉马克拉,附近伦巴塔岛的拉玛莱拉可能仍在捕猎前口蝠鲼。拉玛莱拉人以捕鲸闻名,虽然没有证据表明他们有时也会袭击前口蝠鲼,但当局认为他们可能在向拉马克拉走私干鳃。

戴莫尔进一步警告说,拉马克拉仍然存在副渔获物的问题。虽然当地渔民经常在不小心用渔网捕获前口蝠鲼时通知巡逻人员,但当局怀疑有些情况并未得到报告。

戴莫尔回忆起近来发生的一件事,显示出当地对禁令的强烈抵制仍在继续:“2018年6月的一个晚上,我们收到消息,一名拉马克拉渔民捕获了三只巨型前口蝠鲼。第二天早上我们去了那里,但是村民们把捕到前口蝠鲼的渔民藏了起来,并且拒绝把前口蝠鲼交给我们,当时几乎发生流血事件。”

但是拉马克拉还在输出蝠鲼鳃吗?马尔迪亚称,在“没有进一步调查”的情况下,很难确定这一点。随着该社区一位主要收购者被捕,加上官方的打压导致市场价格暴跌,几乎没有发现什么活动。因此,她说,如果还有走私的话,“这当然是秘密进行的,而且还非常小心,以免被法律发现”。 

前口蝠鲼鳃仍然可以在中国市场上购买到,一位广州传统医药店的店主展示前口蝠鲼鳃。图片来源 @Paul Hilton

另谋生路

说服印尼在2014年制定前口蝠鲼保护措施的理由之一,是它们对旅游业的价值。2013年的一项研究估计,前口蝠鲼观赏每年为23个国家创造约1.4亿美元的收入,其中印度尼西亚名列前茅。

根据研究的结果,米索尔基金会的普特拉说一条前口蝠鲼若被捕获,可能会在市场上卖到500万至600万盾(350至420美元),而一只活的前口蝠鲼一生可能会为旅游业带来120亿盾(84万美元)的收入。

普特拉解释道前口蝠鲼是非常聪明的鱼。他说:“当我们遇到这种动物时,它们会与我们互动,在我们周围游动。对人类来说,与这种生物进行接触是很有趣的。这就是为什么和前口蝠鲼一起游泳能吸引游客。这种资源是非开采性的,具有较高的经济价值。”

但是拉马克拉目前拒绝用前口蝠鲼吸引旅游来代替捕猎,担心外来人口的涌入会对其社会价值不利。马尔迪亚评论说:“当涉及到生计时,保护工作需要更多的时间来改变行为和寻找其他收入来源。”

A tourist dives with a reef manta
游客在巴厘岛附近的努沙佩尼达海岸潜水。 图片来源 @Paul Hilton

戴莫尔的办公室和米索尔基金会都意识到,经济支持对于确保前口蝠鲼禁令的长期成功至关重要,他们正在拉马克拉合作开展多个项目。“我们正在训练妇女们进行絣织(传统布料)和制作金枪鱼鱼松。我们还为他们提供了冰盒,并安装了一台制冰机,让他们为捕到的鱼保鲜。”

此外,他们还建立了一个合作社,村民们可以通过这个合作社借钱和分红。米索尔基金会还向社区提供了一艘装有渔网的围网渔船,价值8亿盾(56700美元),目前正在培训当地渔民使用它。

这些努力的成果是建立了一个“可持续渔业联合体”。到目前为止,拉马克拉社区的100多名成员已经签署了一项承诺,不再捕杀前口蝠鲼。

然而,其他人继续反对禁令。哈姆卡·宋格是拉马克拉社区下面一个村的村长,他认为,目前还没有任何一种谋生出路的收入能与村民猎杀前口蝠鲼相媲美。他说:“在找到解决方案之前,这里的人们不会接受这些规定。”

Village head Hamka Songge continues to reject the ban on hunting manta rays
村长哈姆卡·宋格仍继续反对禁止猎杀前口蝠鲼的法令。图片来源:Nabiha Shahab/中外对话

新的挑战

2016年,《濒危野生动植物种国际贸易公约》(CITES)同意将所有九种魔鬼鱼都纳入附录II,给予它们与前口蝠鲼一样的贸易保护。与此同时,印尼现在严格控制魔鬼鱼的出口,但到目前为止还没有对国内的渔业和消费进行控制。

魔鬼鱼和前口蝠鲼属于同一个家族,同样也被过度利用。因此,印度尼西亚当局现在正考虑对它们进行保护,就像保护它们的“大个子表亲”一样。

戴莫尔颓然倒在座位里,显然对这一前景感到沮丧。他说:“如果“莫空”(日本蝠鲼)受到保护,我就辞职。”日本蝠鲼是最大的魔鬼鱼之一,尽管已经被列入世界自然保护联盟的红色名录,但仍然是拉马克拉捕猎者的目标。

戴莫尔解释说,他并不反对保护工作,但是来自当地社区的强烈抵制使执法几乎不可能进行。

preparing a recently caught devil ray
拉马克拉的妇女正在处理捕获的魔鬼鱼。图片来源:Nabiha Shahab/中外对话

过度捕捞并不是前口蝠鲼和魔鬼鱼面临的唯一威胁。米索尔基金会的普特拉警告说,气候变化正在改变其赖以为生的浮游生物的分布和可获取性。塑料污染是另一个潜在的毒性威胁,因为鳐鱼会把水中的微塑料与浮游生物一起吞下去。上述因素使得保护这些瑰丽物种的努力变得更加重要。

人们为了帮助前口蝠鲼,已经做了很多工作。米索尔基金会报告称,2015年至2018年间,拉马克拉巨型前口蝠鲼的捕获量下降了91.7%。但是,随着CITES在今年8月举行的三年一度的峰会上投票决定保护更多种类的蝠鲼和鲨鱼,保护世界海洋巨型动物的战斗显然还远未结束。

 

翻译:奇芳

Has Indonesia’s ban on the trade in manta ray gills succeeded?  

As the former manta ray hunters of Lamakera struggle to find alternative livelihoods, some continue to resist despite an official crackdown

Reef manta rays swim in the waters off the island of Nusa Penida, near Bali in Indonesia.

Reef manta rays swim in the waters off the island of Nusa Penida, near Bali in Indonesia. (Image © Paul Hilton)

 

Udin Umar is repairing his gillnets. Yesterday, he caught four spinetail devil rays and a bucket of small selar fish in the tropical waters off his home island of Solor in southern Indonesia.

Like many others in his community of Lamakera, Umar used to be a manta ray hunter. He was forced to hang up his harpoon in 2014 when Indonesia banned both the catching of these ocean giants and trade in their parts.

He remembers when landing just one manta would fetch three million Indonesian rupiah (USD$212), enough to pay off his debts and fund his children’s education. He doesn’t mention that at one point he could have earned double that by selling the gills, used by mantas to filter plankton from the water.

“Before it was banned, I could catch 20 in one season,” he says. “We cannot hunt manta rays any more. We’d get arrested for it.”

Lamakera fisher Udin Umar holds up the harpoon he formerly used to hunt mantas. (Image: Nabiha Shahab)
Lamakera fisher Udin Umar holds up the harpoon he formerly used to hunt mantas (Image: Nabiha Shahab/China Dialogue)

Protecting the mantas

Indonesia’s 2014 legislation gave full protection throughout their life cycles to both species of manta – the giant manta (mobula birostris) and the reef manta (mobula alfredi). It became illegal to use any part of the animal even when accidentally caught, except for “research and development”. It effectively created the world’s largest manta ray sanctuary, with fishing banned across Indonesia’s Exclusive Economic Zone, an area of ocean about six million square kilometres in size.

The move was prompted by a sharp decline in global manta populations caused by overfishing; the two species were listed as vulnerable on the International Union for Conservation of Nature’s (IUCN) red list in 2011. More specifically, it followed a 2013 decision by the Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora (CITES) to add mantas to Appendix II, which requires member countries to strictly regulate trade in the species.

Mantas are the largest of the mobulid ray family. The giant manta has a wingspan that can reach more than seven metres. Like other large marine species, they live a long life and have slow reproductive rates, giving birth to only one or two pups every 2-5 years. According to Mochamad Iqbal Herwata Putra of marine conservation charity the Misool Foundation, this makes them particularly vulnerable to “high fishing activity”.

Taken in 2011, this photo shows Lamakera hunters pulling a harpooned manta on board their boat.
Taken in 2011, this photo shows Lamakera hunters pulling a harpooned manta on board their boat (Image © Paul Hilton)

A local tradition

Hunting mantas has been a long-standing tradition in Lamakera. The species are commonly found in the plankton-rich waters around this remote community, where people rely on the sea for their livelihoods due to the relatively barren nature of the island’s soils. Part of an island chain along the southern edge of Indonesia, Solor is also on the migration path of a range of large marine species.

Map of Indonesia showing Solor Island

In the past, mantas were hunted mainly for food. Dried in the sun on lines of bamboo poles, the meat would be locally consumed or traded with neighbouring villages and islands for other necessities.

But in the early 2000s, mantas started to become commercially valuable in Lamakera due to a rapid growth in demand, mainly from China, for their gills, a part previously left to rot on the beaches.

Used in traditional medicine, ray gills are alleged to cure a wide range of health issues, from acne to cancer, although these qualities have not been scientifically proven. Manta gills are particularly highly prized due to their large size. 

Syukur Seno, a former Lamakera fish buyer, remembers meeting the shark fin trader who first started collecting gills in the island community. He says the high prices offered for the gills encouraged a rapid increase in hunting, pushing catches well beyond customary limits.

“Beginning around 2005… (manta ray) cartilage cost 3,000 to 5,000 rupiah (21-35 US cents) per kilogramme” he said. The gills though “were 150,000 rupia (US$10.60) per kilogramme”.

Strips of spinetail devil ray meat left to dry in the sun
Strips of spinetail devil ray meat left to dry in the sun outside fisher Udin Umar’s house in Lamakera. When manta rays were hunted, their meat was preserved in the same way. (Image: Nabiha Shahab/China Dialogue)

Enforcing the ban

Indonesia’s 2014 legislation protecting mantas not only removed this new income from the people of Lamakera, it also took away what had been a traditional food.

For former hunters like Umar, making a living has become a challenge. He explains that the money he now earns from catching tuna, marlin, snapper, mackerel and thresher sharks barely covers his costs. As well as fuel for his boat, he also has to replace his fishing nets every year.

“I buy used nets. The new ones are too expensive,” he says. Even used nets cost about 15 million rupiah (US$1,060). To pay for them, he has had to borrow money from a local bank, mortgaging his home and his boat. “It’s difficult. I sometimes miss repayments for a few months,” he admits.

The people of Lamakera rely on the sea to make a living
The people of Lamakera rely on the sea to make a living. While the trade in manta ray gills brought in a relatively high income, now many fishers are struggling to get by (Image: Nabiha Shahab/China Dialogue)

 

As such, the authorities have not found it easy to enforce the regulations in Lamakera. “They’ve only been in effect for five or six years, and they concern matters that are considered to be customary and a source of livelihood. The potential for conflict with the community is very high,” explains Sofi Mardiah of the Wildlife Conservation Society (WCS).

Efforts initially focused on preventing the trade in manta ray gills. Agustiawan, head of the central government’s Marine Biodiversity Surveillance Unit, remembers going undercover as a buyer in Lamakera soon after the new laws had been introduced. “We found six kilogrammes of dried gills, that must have been from six manta rays,” he said.

Over the following two years, several smuggling cases were uncovered and arrests made, mainly on the developed island of Java, from where collected gills can be transported to China.

Ministry of Fisheries personnel display confiscated manta ray gills in their offices on the island of Bali in 2014. (Image: Paul Hilton)
Ministry of Fisheries personnel display confiscated manta ray gills in their offices on the island of Bali in 2014 (Image © Paul Hilton)

According to Mardiah, most of these gills were coming from Lamakera. To cut the trade off at its source, in 2016 the WCS cooperated with the provincial Marine and Fisheries Affairs Office and the Water Police to set up a daily patrol of the seas around Solor. These patrols have had a significant impact. “In the last two to three years, hunting specifically targeting mantas in Lamakera has disappeared or is rarely found. Even if there is hunting, it is usually carried out in secret at a much lower intensity and volume,” says Mardiah.

Apolinardus Yosef Lia Demoor, who manages the patrols for the local fisheries office based on the neighbouring island of Flores, agrees with Mardiah. “By late 2018, reports of manta catch dropped significantly,” he says. “The trade chain is almost broken now.”

But with enforcement efforts focusing on Lamakera, former fish buyer Seno comments that hunting may still be going on in nearby Lamalera on the island of Lembata. The people of Lamalera are well-known as whale hunters. Although there is no proof that they sometimes target mantas as well, the authorities believe they may be smuggling dried gills to Lamakera.

Demoor further warns that Lamakera still has a problem with bycatch. Although the local fishers do usually inform the patrols when they accidently catch a manta in their nets, the authorities suspect some cases go unreported.

Demoor recalls a recent incident that shows how strong local resistance to the ban continues to be: “One night in June of 2018, we received information that some Lamakera fishermen had caught three giant mantas. We went there the next morning, but the community shielded the fishermen who had caught the mantas and refused to hand them over to us. There was almost bloodshed.”

But is Lamakera still exporting manta ray gills? Mardiah asserts this is difficult to determine “without further investigation”. With the arrest of one of the community’s main traders and the collapse of market prices thanks to the official crackdown, little activity is being detected. So if trafficking is taking place, she says “it is certainly being done in secret and with extreme care to avoid being detected by the law.”

A Chinese traditional medicine seller holds up a manta ray gill
A Chinese traditional medicine seller holds up a manta ray’s gills in her shop in Guangzhou (Image © Paul Hilton)

Alternative incomes

One of the arguments that persuaded Indonesia to bring in protections for manta rays in 2014 was their value for the tourism industry. A 2013 study estimated that manta watching generates around US$140 million in revenue every year across 23 countries, with Indonesia listed as one of the top spots.

Referencing the study, Misool’s Putra said that  while a single manta ray, once caught, might fetch five to six million rupiah (US$350-420) at market, a living animal could make up to 12 billion rupiah for the tourism industry over its lifetime.

Putra explains that manta rays are very sociable and intelligent fish. “When we encounter this species, they interact with us and swim around us. It’s interesting for humans to connect with this creature. That’s why swimming with manta rays attracts tourism. It is non-extractive and has a higher economic value,” he says.

A tourist dives with a reef manta
A tourist dives with a reef manta off the coast of Nusa Penida near Bali (Image © Paul Hilton)

But Lamakera has so far rejected manta tourism as an alternative to hunting, fearing an influx of outsiders would be detrimental to their social values. Mardiah comments that: “When it comes to livelihoods, conservation efforts require a lot more time to change behaviours and find other sources of income.”

Aware that economic support is essential to the long-term success of the ban on hunting for mantas, Demoor’s office and the Misool Foundation are working together on a number of projects in Lamakera. “We are training the women to weave ikat [traditional cloth] and make tuna fish floss. We have also provided them with cool boxes and installed an ice machine to keep the fish they catch fresh,” says Demoor.

In addition, they have established a cooperative through which villagers can borrow money and receive a share of profits. Misool have also given the community a purse seine fishing boat, complete with nets, worth 800 million rupiah (US$56,700), and are currently training local fishers to use it.

These efforts have recently resulted in the establishment of a “sustainable fisheries collective”. More than 100 members of the Lamakera community have so far signed a pledge never to hunt manta rays again.

Others, however, continue to oppose the hunting ban. Hamka Songge is the head of one of the two villages that make up Lamakera. He argues that no equal alternative to the income villagers previously made from hunting mantas has yet been found. “Until there is a solution, the people here reject the regulations,” he says.

Village head Hamka Songge continues to reject the ban on hunting manta rays
Village head Hamka Songge continues to reject the ban on hunting manta rays (Image: Nabiha Shahab/China Dialogue)

A new challenge

In 2016, CITES agreed to add all nine species of devil rays to Appendix II, giving them the same trade protections as the mantas. In line with this, Indonesia now strictly regulates devil ray exports, but there are as yet no controls on fishing and consumption within the country.

Devil rays belong to the same family as mantas and are similarly overexploited. As such, the Indonesian authorities are now considering protecting them in the same way as their larger cousins.

Demoor slumps back in his seat, clearly distressed at this prospect. “I will quit my job if mokung [spinetail devil rays] are given protection,” he says. Spinetails are one of the largest devil rays, and continue to be targeted by Lamakera’s hunters despite being listed as “near threatened” on the IUCN’s red list.

Demoor explains that he’s not against conservation efforts, but strong resistance from local communities makes law enforcement near impossible.

preparing a recently caught devil ray
Maimunah Burhan (right) and Nuriyah Burhan (left), two sisters from Lamakera, prepare a recently caught devil ray (Image: Nabiha Shahab/China Dialogue)

Overfishing is not the only threat facing mantas and devil rays. Misool’s Putra warns that climate change is shifting the distribution and availability of the plankton they feed on. Plastic pollution is another potential danger, as the rays can ingest microplastics mixed up with plankton in the water. All this makes efforts to protect these majestic species even more vital.

A great deal has already been done to help the manta rays. Misool reports that catches of the giant manta in Lamakera fell by 91.7% between 2015 and 2018. But, with CITES voting to protect even more species of ray and shark at its triennial summit this August, it’s clear that the fight to conserve the world’s marine megafauna is far from over.