沿海社区急需提升气候适应能力

海洋气候风险抵御行动联盟(ORRAA)利用创新的金融机制,试图保护并再造脆弱社区赖以为生的沿海生态系统。

Mangroves, Raja Ampat, West Papua, Indonesia

图片来源:Alamy

海洋正在以前所未有的速度飞快地变化着,数十亿人因此面临更大的不确定性和风险。目前为止,人类在这一全球性挑战方面做得还很少。

继去年联合国呼吁就海洋问题采取行动之后,各国成立了涉及多个部门的海洋气候风险抵御行动联盟(ORRAA),目的是应对海洋迅速变化带来的风险。

急需采取行动

二氧化碳排放造成的全球升温正导致海洋变暖和酸化,海平面不断上升,暴风雨更加猛烈,提供粮食安全、调节气候等基本服务的海洋生态系统正在失去平衡。过度捕捞、塑料污染、沿海开发等人为压力正在挑战海洋的极限。

这些变化广泛影响着全球各地的沿海社区,无数生命和生计受到威胁,首当其冲的就是发展中国家和小岛屿发展中国家中最贫困、最脆弱的人群。到本世纪中叶,全球超过570个低洼沿海城市的8亿居民将面临沿海洪灾和风暴潮的威胁,其中大部分是发展中国家。

海洋风险问题对亚洲来说尤其棘手,亚洲民众和资产面临的风险比其他任何地区都要大,有1.47亿到2.16亿人口目前生活的土地将在本世纪末低于海平面或常规洪水位,这其中有4000多万人生活在中国,居亚洲首位。整个亚洲地区发生热带气旋的频率和强度也越来越高。

我们急需对海洋变化潜在引发的的经济损失作出回应。仅过去10年间,保险公司就为风暴在沿海地区造成的损害支付了约3000亿美元的赔款,政府和纳税人为此付出的代价要高得多。据估计到2050年,海平面上升和极端天气事件对沿海地区的影响将给全球社区造成每年1万亿美元的损失。

这些预测——以及我们已经亲眼见证的变化——让气候适应和灾害风险管理成为沿海国家,尤其是亚洲各国的头等大事。

 基于自然的解决方案

对于缺乏经济资源来支持救灾和灾后重建工作的国家而言,健康的珊瑚、红树林、海草床、盐沼、湿地和其他沿海生态系统对国家的保护至关重要。但和全球其他地方一样,亚洲已经出现了此类自然资源退化的情况。在经历了数十年对自然合理保护的忽视和不可持续的发展之后,亚洲的自然资源急需得到保护、管理和重新孕育。

问题不仅在于需要采取什么行动,更在于如何解锁资源来完成这项任务。这就是海洋气候风险抵御行动联盟(ORRAA)的作用所在。

联盟促进政府、金融机构、保险业、环境组织和其他利益相关者之间的关键性合作,制定创新金融解决方案,从而增强抵御海洋风险的能力。

采取新的方法是关键:一直以来,已知的风险、金融工具不足、以及缺乏项目储备限制了对沿海自然资本的大量投资。ORRAA正在开拓新的方法,力求在最需要援助的地区释放并鼓励私人资金和混合资本融资。

联盟有三大主要任务。首先,成员正在开发可进行风险调整、可推广的创新产品,以改变人们对沿海自然资本投资风险的认知,并在创造投资回报的同时增强抵御风险的能力。其中包括基于自然的保险、风险分担、可持续性激励措施、碳信用额计划、绿色/蓝色债券、风险抵御债券和债务重组等。

采用这些工具的重要前提是了解海洋相关风险背后的科学。因此,联盟的第二大任务是加速研究和数据收集,从而对海洋风险进行更好地分析、建模和管理。

最后,联盟正在推动分享全球关于海洋风险抵御的相关信息,在政府和私营部门中宣传并推广海洋风险政策,提升公众对此的了解。

ORRAA由全球最大的保险公司安盛以及非政府组织海洋团结(Ocean Unite)共同领导,全球气候适应伙伴关系(Global Resilience Partnership)主办,并吸引了各行各业越来越多的合作伙伴。

随着海洋变化的影响得到越来越多的认识,联盟所倡导的携手各方共同应对这些威胁的方式也会得到越来越多的认可。ORRAA是唯一一个在2019年法国梅斯G7环境部长会议上提出并得到所有七国成员以及斐济、印度、墨西哥和挪威支持的倡议。上个月,加拿大在比亚里茨举行的G7峰会上宣布将为成立ORRAA提供关键性的资金支持。

ORRAA凝聚了解决全球海洋风险所需的知识、创新和政治意愿,代表着全球在为脆弱社区和生态系统建设风险抵御能力上迈出了关键一步。

 

翻译:YAN

Building coastal resilience

The Ocean Risk Resilience Action Alliance is using innovative finance mechanisms to help protect and regenerate coastal ecosystems

Mangroves are vital for building coastal resilience in the face of worsening climate breakdown

Coral growing under mangroves, West Papua, Indonesia (Image: Alamy)

Our ocean is changing faster than at any time in human history, increasing uncertainty and risks for billions of people. So far, we have done too little to respond to this global challenge.

Following a call for ocean action by the UN last year, a multisector alliance known as the Ocean Risk Resilience Action Alliance (ORRAA) has formed, dedicated to addressing the risks posed by our rapidly changing ocean.

Urgent action required

Global heating from CO2 emissions is warming the ocean and making it more acidic. Sea levels are rising, storms are becoming more intense, and marine ecosystems that provide essential services from food security to climate regulation are being thrown out of balance. Human pressures ranging from overfishing to plastic pollution and coastal development are also pushing the ocean to its limits.

These changes have wide-ranging implications for coastal communities around the world. Countless lives and livelihoods are at risk, especially among the poorest and most vulnerable in developing countries and small island developing states. By the middle of this century, 800 million people in more than 570 low-lying coastal cities around the world will be at risk of coastal flooding and storm surges – and most are in the Global South.

Ocean risk is a particular issue for Asia, whose population and assets are more exposed than those in any other region, with 147 to 216 million people currently living on land that will be below sea level or regular flood level by the end of the century. China is home to more than 40 million of these people, by far the greatest number of any Asian country. Tropical cyclones are also becoming more frequent and more severe across the region.

The financial magnitude of the risks posed by our rapidly changing ocean requires an urgent response. In the last 10 years alone, insurers have paid out some $300 billion following storm damage to coastal regions, and the costs to governments and taxpayers have been far higher. It’s now estimated that by 2050, the global community will face annual costs of $1 trillion as a result of the combined effects on our coastlines of rising sea levels and extreme weather events.

These projections – and indeed the changes we are already seeing – make climate adaptation and disaster risk management a top priority for coastal nations, particularly in Asia.

Nature-based solutions

It’s impossible to overstate the importance of healthy reefs, mangroves, seagrass beds, saltmarshes, wetlands and other coastal ecosystems to protecting countries that lack the resources to finance relief and recovery efforts. But in Asia, as in other parts of the world, these assets have been degraded. The region’s natural infrastructure urgently needs to be protected, managed and regenerated following decades of neglect and unsustainable development.

The question is not so much what we need to do as how we can unlock the resources to do it. And this is where we come in.

The alliance fosters crucial collaboration between governments, financial institutions, the insurance industry, environmental organisations and other stakeholders to create innovative finance solutions that build resilience to ocean risk.

New approaches are essential: perceived risks, underdeveloped financial vehicles and a lack of a project pipeline have so far restricted significant investments into coastal natural capital. ORRAA is pioneering new ways to unlock and encourage private funding and blended finance in the regions that need it the most.

The alliance’s work is shaped by three priorities. First, its members are building innovative, risk-adjusted and scalable products to change the perceptions of risk associated with investing in coastal natural capital, and increase resilience while delivering a return on investment. These include nature-based insurance, risk pools, sustainability incentives, carbon credit initiatives, green/blue bonds, resilience bonds and debt restructuring.

Key to the adoption of these instruments is understanding the science that underpins ocean-derived risks. ORRAA’s second priority is therefore to accelerate the research and data collection needed to better analyse, model and manage ocean risk.

Finally, the alliance is pushing the global narrative on ocean resilience forwards, informing and advancing ocean risk policy among governments and the private sector, and increasing public understanding.

ORRAA is led by the global insurer and reinsurer AXA and the non-profit Ocean Unite. It is hosted by the Global Resilience Partnership and has a diverse and growing set of partners.

As the impacts of ocean changes become increasingly recognised, so too does the potential of ORRAA’s multi-stakeholder approach to tackling these threats. The alliance was the only initiative tabled that was supported by all G7 members as well as Fiji, India, Mexico and Norway at the 2019 G7 environment ministerial in Metz. Last month, Canada announced at the G7 summit in Biarritz that it is committing crucial funding to ORRAA’s setup.

By bringing together the knowledge, innovation and political will needed to address ocean risk globally, ORRAA represents a critical step towards building much-needed resilience in vulnerable communities and ecosystems around the world.