联合国警告称气候变化对海洋造成了“前所未有的”影响

IPCC特别报告发现,上至山巅,下到深海,不断上升的气温正在改变我们的星球。

UNESCO World Heritage Site, Ilulissat Icefjord, Ilulissat, Greenland

图片来源:Alamy

联合国气候机构最新报告警告称,全球海洋正在经历前所未有的变化,人类必须采取紧急行动应对全球变暖,否则未来几十年内海洋破坏速度将会加快。

由政府间气候变化专门委员会(IPCC)编写的《气候变化之下海洋和冰冻圈的特别报告》(The Special Report on the Ocean and Cryosphere in a Changing Climate)总结了最新的科研成果,并在此基础上针对政策制定者重新给出了建议。这份报告是专家们发出的最新警告。报告称,人为导致的气候变暖其影响已经显现,而且还会变得更加严重。报告重点研究了两个独立但相互关联的系统——全球海洋以及大量冰块(统称冰冻圈)。

“海洋和冰冻圈听起来可能很遥远,但它们影响着我们所有人…对地球上所有生命都很重要,”IPCC主席李会晟在摩纳哥发布这份报告时说。

海洋变暖与海冰融化

报告总结了全球36个国家和104位作者的近7000项研究。报告摘要部分指出,全球海洋正在不断变暖、酸化,溶氧量越来越低。洋流和海洋混合不断减弱,海平面在上升,极端波浪和风暴的发生也愈发频繁。海洋生物和生态系统遭到破坏,珊瑚白化和海洋热浪频发。

“我们正在见证前所未有的持续变化,”南非德班市可持续和气候适应城市倡议小组负责人、IPCC第二工作组联合组长黛布拉·罗伯茨说。“一直以来当我们谈论气候变化的时候,海洋和冰冻圈很少进入我们讨论话题的中心位置,但这份报告用坚实的科学依据让它们走到’台前’。”

全球变暖产生的多余热量大多被海洋吸收了。报告摘要称,1993年以来全球海洋变暖的速度已经翻了一番。


海洋变暖走势图

两极冰川融化导致大量淡水涌入海洋,加上气候变暖的影响,海面附近的海水密度因此降低,海洋的自然混合受到干扰,从而在更深、密度更高的海水之上形成了一个相对静止的表面层。过去的20到30年间这种海洋表层水(海面以下200米)的分层增加了2.3%。表层水和深海之间的混合减少会降低海水溶氧量,干扰碳和营养物质的循环,因此是一大问题。

问题不止是海水升温。IPCC指出,海洋还吸收了大量二氧化碳——二十世纪80年代以来人类排放的二氧化碳约20%至30%最终进入海洋。这会加剧海水的酸化,科学家称95%的海面PH值变化都是因为人类排放的二氧化碳导致的。

报告摘要称,2005至2015年间海平面的上升速度“是这一百年间前所未有的”,每年平均上升3.6毫米,比20世纪的速度快一倍多。其中大约1.4毫米是受热膨胀的结果——海洋变暖导致海水膨胀,但另有1.8毫米主要来自冰川和冰盖融化。

这些巨大的冰块都位于陆地上——从格陵兰岛到南极洲——因此融化会直接导致海面上升,而这一过程正随着气温上升而加速。IPCC报告称,格陵兰岛冰盖的融化速度在1996年至2016年间增长了一倍。

南极的情况更加危险。1996至2016年间南极遭受的大规模损失(即冰层融化)增加了两倍。报告指出,冰流加速和冰川后退可能意味着南极冰盖已经没有恢复的余地,最终的破裂将不可避免。IPCC称科学家们虽然没有足够的测量数据来确定这种情况是否会发生,但此类剧变将“导致未来几个世纪内海平面上升数米”。


来自IPCC的警告

英国布里斯托大学布里斯托冰川学中心主任乔纳森·班伯表示:“一直关注这个问题的人不需要别人再来提醒他们情况会有多糟。对关心这个话题的人来说,光是看一下这份报告的标题,他们就应该对人类的未来和社会秩序足够担心了。”

此份报告是IPCC三份系列报告之一,其他两份分别是去年发表的1.5摄氏度升温可能造成影响的特别报告,以及上个月的全球变暖对土地利用影响特别报告,而下一份全面评估报告将在2021年发布。

我们有能力控制气候系统各部分的变化程度

IPCC的工作是为全球气候条约谈判提供信息和支持。下一轮气候大会将于12月在智利首都圣地亚哥举行,届时各国将继续讨论如何更好地执行2015年签署的《巴黎协定》。

该协定的一个目标是将全球变暖控制在1.5摄氏度以下。科学家称这很困难,但IPCC的新报告阐述了这么做的益处,澳大利亚国立大学气候科学家、报告作者之一的内里利·阿布拉姆说。

“摆在我们面前的是两个截然不同的未来。一方面,如果能采取行动大幅削减温室气体排放,那我们就能限制气候系统各部分的变化程度,”她说,但如果我们不行动,“那我们将看到这些系统发生一些非常迅速的变化,届时人类和生态系统都会很难适应。”

世界自然保护联盟(IUCN)世界保护区委员会的丹·拉夫莱教授评论这份报告时说:“我们生活在受同一个海洋驱动和调节的世界,而我们正通过升温、脱氧和酸化把这个支持我们生命的系统推向极限。现在“警钟”已经远远不够——我们需要的是理性的利己主义,是采取行动保护海洋和气候,进而保护和支持人类。”

国际环境与发展研究所所长安德鲁·诺顿说:“这份报告的发现令人震惊。海洋、冰川和冰盖变化的速度和程度比先前预测的快很多,应对气候紧急情况的行动也必须加速。”

“科学研究清楚地表明,海洋受到的影响将使热带地区尤其容易遭受重创,那里也是贫困人口最集中的地区。贫困人口的生活和生计,尤其是小型渔民,面临着海平面上升、海洋变暖、酸化和渔获量骤减的威胁。”

“在山区,冻土融化和洪灾火灾的增加将对最贫困的人口造成致命影响,也会对当地的基础设施造成严重破坏。”

“富裕国家必须加大应对气候变化的工作。能力最强、历史责任最大的国家急需加大减排量,转移适当的技术,并按承诺为发展中国家提供资金,帮助他们应对气候危机。”

绿色和平组织东亚分部的全球气候政治顾问Taehyun Park表示:“气候行动和海洋气候适应能力的建设必须齐头并进,政府和行业需要了解解决方案,必须果断放弃化石燃料,并在明年之前制定控制升温不超过1.5摄氏度的国家计划。明年各国还需达成一份强有力的《全球海洋条约》,将全球至少30%的海洋划为保护区。”

了解更多IPCC报告关于亚洲的结论,可阅读第三极《受困于冰川融化和海平面上升之间》一文。

翻译:YAN

Climate change having ‘unprecedented’ impact on ocean, UN warns

From mountaintops to the deep ocean, rising temperatures are changing our planet, finds IPCC special report

UNESCO World Heritage Site, Ilulissat Icefjord, Ilulissat, Greenland

Receding ice near Ilulissat, Greenland (Image: Alamy)

The world’s oceans are undergoing unprecedented change, and the damage will accelerate in the coming decades unless urgent action is taken on global warming, a major new report from the United Nations climate body has warned.

What is the IPCC?


The Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) is a UN body founded in 1988 to assess climate change, based on the latest scientific evidence

The Special Report on the Ocean and Cryosphere in a Changing Climate is an update on the latest scientific research intended to advise policymakers. The report by the IPCC is the latest warning from experts that impacts of manmade global warming are already being felt and are set to get more severe. It focuses on two separate but connected systems – the world’s oceans and its massive stocks of ice (collectively called the cryosphere).

“The ocean and cryosphere might feel remote but they impact all of us … They are critical for all life on Earth,” said the IPCC chairman, Hoesung Lee, at the launch of the report in Monaco.

Warmer seas, melting ice

The global ocean is getting warmer, acidifying and losing oxygen, says a summary of the report, which draws on nearly 7,000 studies and 104 authors from 36 countries. Currents and ocean mixing are weakening, while sea levels, extreme waves and storms are on the rise. Sea life and ecosystems are being disrupted, with more frequent coral bleaching events and marine heatwaves.

“We are seeing enduring and unprecedented change,” says Debra Roberts, co-chair of the IPCC Working Group II. “This report shines a very strong scientific light onto two systems that have not necessarily been on the world stage when we’ve been talking about climate change.”

This chart shows global ocean surface temperatures from 1880 to 2018 as a divergence from the 20th century average.

Most of the excess heat produced by global warming gets absorbed by the ocean. And since 1993, the rate of this ocean warming has doubled, the report summary says.

Together with increased amounts of fresh water pouring in from melting ice towards the poles, warming reduces the density of the seawater near the surface. This interferes with the natural mixing of the ocean, to produce a relatively static surface layer stuck on top of the deeper, denser water. This so-called stratification of the upper 200 metres of ocean has increased by 2.3% in the past 20-30 years. Such reduced mixing between the surface and deep ocean is a problem because it can reduce oxygen levels and disturb the circulation of carbon and nutrients.

It’s not just heat. Massive amounts of carbon dioxide are also absorbed by the oceans – about 20-30% of all human emissions since the 1980s have ended up there, the IPCC says. This is making seawater more acidic. Scientists say they can see this human fingerprint on pH across 95% of the ocean’s surface.

Sea level rise over the decade to 2015 is “unprecedented over the last century” and has reached 3.6mm a year, the summary says. That’s more than twice as fast as the rate at which seas rose during the 20th century. About 1.4mm of this each year is down to thermal expansion – the oceans swell as they get warmer. But the dominant contribution of 1.8mm a year is from melting glaciers and ice sheets.

Because they sit on land, these massive chunks of ice – from Greenland to Antarctica – directly raise seas as they break up. And this process is accelerating as temperatures rise. According to the report, mass loss from the Greenland ice sheet doubled in the two decades to 2016.

This chart shows the extend of arctic sea ice in March since 1979.

The situation in Antarctica is even more precarious. Mass loss in the Antarctic (melting ice in other words) tripled during that period, and the report says observed acceleration in ice flow and retreat could signal the Antarctic ice sheet has passed the point of no return and will now inevitably break up. Scientists don’t have enough measurements to be sure if that’s happening, but such a drastic change would “lead to sea-level rise of several metres within a few centuries” the IPCC says.

Clear warnings from the IPCC

Jonathan Bamber, director of the Bristol Glaciology Centre at the University of Bristol, said: “No one who has been paying attention needs another wake-up call about how bad things could get but, if they did, there is plenty to be concerned about for the future of humanity and social order from the headlines in this report.”

The special report is one of three produced by the IPCC on specially selected topics and published between the organisation’s regular full assessments, the next of which is due in 2021. A special report on the likely impacts of 1.5C warming was released last year, and another on the impacts of global warming on land-use was published last month.

We can limit how much these parts of the climate system will change

The work of the IPCC is designed to feed into and support the international talks on a global climate treaty to address greenhouse gas emissions. The next of those annual meetings is scheduled for the Chilean capital city Santiago in December, where countries will continue to discuss how best to implement the Paris Agreement they signed in 2015.

One goal of that agreement is to limit global warming to 1.5C. Scientists say that will be difficult but the new IPCC report lays out the benefits of doing so, says Nerilie Abram, one of its authors and a climate scientist at the Australian National University.

“We see two very different futures ahead of us. On the one hand, if we are able to take action to dramatically reduce greenhouse gas emissions then we can limit how much these parts of the climate system will change,” she says. If we don’t: “Then we will see some very rapid changes in these systems that will make it very difficult for people and ecosystems to adapt.”

Parts of the Rhone Glacier covered in fleece blankets to protect an ice cave from melting due to rising temperatures caused by climate change
Part of the Rhone Glacier in the Swiss Alps covered in fleece blankets to slow its inevitable melt caused by global heating (Image: Alamy)

Responding to the report, professor Dan Laffoley of the IUCN (International Union for Conservation of Nature) world commission on protected areas, said: “We are an ocean world, run and regulated by a single ocean and we are pushing that life support system to its very limits through heating, deoxygenation and acidification. We are well past ‘wake up calls’ – what we need now is enlightened self-interest to deliver the actions that protect the ocean and climate and which in turn protect and support humanity.”

Andrew Norton, director of the International Institute for Environment and Development, said: “This report’s findings are staggering. The rate and magnitude of change to the ocean, glaciers and ice sheets are happening much faster than previously predicted. The climate emergency must be met with equally accelerated action.

“The science clearly shows the effects on the ocean will disproportionately hit tropical areas, which are home to the highest concentration of people living in poverty. Their lives and livelihoods – particularly small-scale fishers – are at risk from rising sea levels, ocean warming, acidification and plummeting catches of fish.

“In mountain areas, thawing permafrost and increased floods and fires will have increasingly devastating impacts on the poorest people and the longevity of the infrastructure that serves them.

“Rich countries must step up their response to tackling climate change. The countries most able and historically responsible urgently need to make bigger cuts in emissions, transfer appropriate technologies and provide the money they committed to help developing countries cope with the climate crisis.”

Taehyun Park, global climate political advisor with Greenpeace East Asia, said: “Climate action and building the resilience of our oceans need to go hand in hand and governments and industry know the solutions. They must take decisive steps to ditch fossil fuels and submit their national plans to stay below 1.5C by next year, when they will also need to deliver a strong Global Ocean Treaty capable of protecting at least 30% of the world’s oceans as marine sanctuaries.”

For more on the implications of the report for Asia, see Trapped between melting glaciers and a rising sea on thethirdpole.net