中国在渔港渔获管理中扮演关键角色

世界的渔业“超级大国”会在2020年批准《港口国措施协定》吗?

非法捕捞正在大肆破坏海洋生物资源,将一些物种推向灭绝的边缘,联合国有一个直截了当的解决办法:禁止涉足230亿美元黑市交易的船只进入世界各大港口。

如果没有一个安全的港口来卸载其非法货物,掠夺海洋的经济动机就会开始土崩瓦解。这就是《港口国措施协定 》(以下简称PSMA)背后的考量。该协议于2016年6月生效,要求参与国限制外国渔船进入指定的港口。

在允许他们靠岸之前,各国必须核实船只的注册地点,进行检查并采取其他行动,以确保其没有运输非法捕捞的鱼。这些信息将在港口国之间实时共享,对“海盗”船只布下电子“大网”。

何为《港口国措施协定》?


《港口国措施协定》是一项联合国协议,要求各国禁止非法捕捞船只进入其港口,且各国之间实时分享信息以实现上述目的。

但这一针对海洋渔业的补救措施若想奏效,所有沿海国家都必须加入PSMA并执行其规定。否则,流氓船只仍然能够找到停靠港,将非法、不报告和不受管制的(IUU)海鲜运往市场。迄今为止,已有61个国家和欧盟批准了PSMA。尚未签署协定的78个沿海国家中包括世界渔业超级大国——中国。

中国拥有世界上最大的捕捞船队,渔获量也最多。一项研究对几大港口的非法渔获通过风险进行了排名。该研究显示,15个最繁忙的港口中有14个在中国。

在英国的皮尤国际渔业项目官员道恩·博格·科斯坦齐说:“显然,中国是一个重要的参与者。邻国已经签署了PSMA协议,所以我们必须填补剩下的缺口。因为它们不能把中国当作一个可以带着IUU渔获进入的宽松港口,这很重要。”

她提到中国的加入之所以至关重要还有一个原因。

由联合国粮农组织(FAO)管理的PSMA授权 各国,要求悬挂其旗帜的船只接受港口检查。如果一个港口国因涉嫌非法捕捞而拒绝船舶入境,它必须通知船旗国——船舶注册国。如果船旗国是PSMA的缔约国,那么该国就有责任对该船进行调查,如果发现非法捕捞的证据,就采取行动制裁该船,例如征收罚款或撤销其注册。

然后,船旗国必须向粮农组织、有关港口国和区域渔业管理组织报告调查结果及其采取的行动。

中国海外捕捞船队有近3000艘船只,规模世界第一。博格·科斯坦齐说:“因此,即使将中国作为船旗国,在《港口国措施协定》规定的其他港口与中国船只开展信息交流和检查等工作也很重要。”

皮尤慈善信托基金会资助的这项港口研究认为,中国港口被非法捕捞渔船“钻空子”的风险较高。这既因为悬挂外国旗帜的船只数量众多,也因为缺乏对非法捕捞进行内部管控机制。

上海海洋大学海洋文化与法律学院院长唐议说:“如果中国加入并落实PSMA,肯定有助于在全球范围内打击IUU捕捞。”

他说,希望中国“不晚于2020年”批准PSMA。

他在一封电邮中写道:“我确信农业农村部渔业渔政管理局正在尽力促进中国加入该协议,这是中国中央政府的渔业负责机构。”这封电邮发自纽约,他正在那里参加联合国谈判,以起草一项保护公海生物多样性的条约。

他补充说:“在中国做好准备加入PSMA之前,必须建立渔业、海事和海关部门之间的协调机制。那些可能被指定作为外籍船只入口的港口,由海事部门管理。”

对捕鱼有管辖权的国内部门之间的协调是落实PSMA的一个障碍。另一个是要建立一种电子信息机制,实时共享港口检查数据,以防止被某一国拒绝入境的船舶在其他国家“逐港试探”。

博格·科斯坦齐说:“到目前为止,港口国与一些船旗国取得联系,以核查船只提供的信息仍然存在困难。当一个港口国发现问题时,其他港口国很难知道这艘船是否出现在它们的港口。”

一个在线信息共享系统的雏形将于2020年5月发布。尽管PSMA确实规定了向发展中国家(尤其是小岛屿国家)提供资源帮助其开发检查和数据系统,但这些国家在落实PSMA时仍面临财政困难。

粮农组织称,40个国家正在接受援助,并已向10个现有项目拨款1550万美元,以帮助发展中国家构建执行PSMA的能力。

斯坦福大学海洋解决方案中心和世界经济论坛今年5月发布的一份白皮书总结称:“将历史上非公开的纸质系统,转变为近乎实时的数据共享系统……是PSMA有效与否的关键。

斯坦福大学研究员、世界经济论坛第四次工业革命中心研究员、报告首席作者安妮·布雷特表示,迄今为止,这种转变步履缓慢,SMA的推行也深受其累。她在论文中写道:“尽管批准PSMA的国家越来越多,但关于如何落实该协定对收集渔业数据和促进国家间数据共享的授权,仍存在重大问题。”

布雷特指出,一些区域渔业管理组织已经采用了PSMA可以借鉴的电子信息系统。例如,印度洋金枪鱼委员会运营着一个技术平台,其32个成员国可以通过这一平台实时共享数据。

专家表示,鉴于PMSA正在落实之中,很难评估该协定迄今对非法捕捞的影响。但是,皮尤赞助下的研究人员对14个港口(粮农组织7大地理区域各2个)进行分析后,发现只有3个国家在法律上确定了外籍渔船准入的港口。

只有4个港口能找到以前的船只访问记录。不过,有10个港口已经落实了PMSA的要求,即外籍渔船必须在进入港口前提供预先通知,且在获得授权后才能入港。

最近卸任的粮农组织总干事若泽·格拉齐亚诺·达·席尔瓦注意到,PSMA正在迅速被世界接受,迄今已有100个国家承诺加入该协定。

他在今年早些时候的一份声明中表示:“PSMA的力量取决于它关闭的IUU捕捞港口数量,这些数字至关重要。考虑到PSMA缔约国已占全球沿海国家总数的50%以上,可以说在很短的时间内取得了非凡的成就。”

翻译:奇芳

China is key to closing ports to illegally caught fish

The world’s fishing superpower is set to ratify the Port State Measures Agreement in 2020

US Coast Guard Cutter Morgenthau steams alongside the Chinese Coast Guard vessel 2102 as they transfer custody of the fishing vessel Yin Yuan detained for illegal fishing. (Source: Alamy)

The United Nations has a straightforward solution to the illegal fishing that is decimating marine life and pushing some species toward extinction: close the world’s ports to vessels engaged in the US$23 billion black market.

Deprived of safe harbours to offload their illicit cargo, the economic incentive to plunder the seas would begin to evaporate. That’s the idea behind the Port State Measures Agreement (PSMA), which came into effect in June 2016 and requires participating nations to restrict entry of foreign fishing vessels to designated ports.

What is the Port State Measures Agreement?


A UN treaty requiring countries to close their ports to illegal fishing vessels, and to share real-time information to make that possible.

Before allowing them to dock, countries must verify where the ship is registered, conduct inspections and take other actions to ensure they are not transporting illegally caught fish. That information is to be shared in real time among port states, casting an electronic net over pirate ships.

But for this remedy to this tragedy of the aquatic commons to be effective, all coastal countries must join the PSMA and enforce its provisions. Otherwise, rogue vessels would likely still be able to find ports of call to get illegal, unregulated and unreported (IUU) seafood to market. To date, 61 nations plus the European Union have ratified the PSMA. That leaves 78 coastal nations not signed up, including the world’s fishing superpower – China.

China deploys the world’s biggest fishing fleet and catches the most fish. It also operates 14 of the 15 busiest ports, according to a study ranking the risk of illegally caught fish passing through the biggest ports.

“Obviously, China is an important player,” says Dawn Borg Costanzi, an officer with the Pew international fisheries programme in the United Kingdom. “Neighbouring countries have already signed up to the PSMA so we need to close off the remaining gap as it’s important that they cannot look to China as a lax port they can enter with their IUU-caught fish.”

She noted that China’s participation is crucial for another reason.

The PSMA, which is administered by the UN Food and Agriculture Organisation (FAO), mandates that countries require vessels that fly their flag to submit to port inspections. If a port state denies a ship entry because of suspected illegal fishing, it must notify the flag state – the country where the vessel is registered. If the flag state is a party to the PSMA, that country then has the duty to investigate the vessel and, if it finds evidence of illicit fishing, take action to penalise the ship, such as by levying fines or revoking its registration.

The flag state must then report the result of that investigation and the actions it has taken to the FAO, relevant port states and regional fisheries management organisations.

With nearly 3,000 vessels, China’s overseas fleet is the world’s largest. “So having China even as a flag state is important for things like information exchange and inspection of Chinese vessels in other ports subject to the Port State Measure Agreement,” says Borg Costanzi.

China's distant water fishing fleet (1985-2013)

The port study, which was conducted with financial support from the Pew Charitable Trusts, ranked China as among the countries most at risk of illegal fishing vessels passing through its ports. That’s both due to the volume of foreign-flagged ships and a lack of internal controls designed to detect illegal fishing.

“Surely it will be helpful for combating IUU fishing worldwide if China joins and implements the PSMA,” says Tang Yi, dean of the College of Marine Culture and Law at Shanghai Ocean University.

He says he expects China to ratify the PSMA “no later than 2020.”

“I actually know that the Fisheries Bureau of the Ministry of Agriculture and Rural Affairs, which is the central government agency in charge of fisheries in China, is trying its best to promote China’s accession to the agreement,” he wrote in an email from New York City, where he was attending the UN negotiations to draft a treaty to protect the biodiversity of the high seas.

“Before China is ready to join the PSMA, the coordination mechanism between the fisheries agency and the maritime agency and the custom sector must be established,” he adds. “The possible ports [that] could be designated for the… entrance of the vessels not entitled to fly China’s flag are managed by the maritime agency.”

Coordination between the various agencies within countries with jurisdiction over fishing is one obstacle to the implementation of the PSMA. Another is the creation of an electronic information mechanism to share port inspection data in real time to prevent ships denied entry in one country from going “port shopping” in others.

“So far it’s still a challenge for port states to get in contact with some of the flag states to validate the information the vessels are providing,” notes Borg Costanzi. “When a port state finds something amiss, it’s not easy for other port states to know if the vessel shows up in their ports.”

A prototype of an online information-sharing system is set to be unveiled in May 2020.

Developing countries – particularly small island states – face financial challenges in implementing the PSMA, though the agreement does provide for the provision of resources to help those nations develop inspection and data systems.

According to the FAO, 40 countries are receiving assistance and US$15.5 million has been allocated to 10 current projects to build the capacity of developing nations to carry out the PSMA.

A white paper issued in May by Stanford University’s Centre for Ocean Solutions and the World Economic Forum concluded that: “Transitioning historically secretive and paper-based systems to ones that support near real-time data sharing … is central to the PSMA’s effectiveness.”

So far, the pace of that transition is slowing the rollout of the PSMA, according to lead author Annie Brett. “Despite the PSMA’s increasing number of ratifications, there remain significant questions about how the agreement’s mandates to collect fisheries data and facilitate data sharing between countries can be carried out” she wrote in the paper.

Brett notes that some of the regional fisheries management organisations have already implemented electronic information systems that could serve as a model for the PSMA. The Indian Ocean Tuna Commission, for instance, operates a technology platform that allows its 32 member states to share data in real time.

Given the ongoing implementation of the PMSA, experts say it’s difficult to assess the agreement’s impact on illegal fishing to date. But when the Pew-funded researchers analysed 14 ports – two from each of the FAO’s seven geographical regions – they found that only three countries had legally identified ports for the entry of overseas fishing vessels.

Records of previous vessel visits could be found at only four ports. Ten ports, however, have put into effect the PMSA requirement that foreign fishing vessels provide advance notification before entering a harbour and only do so after receiving authorisation.

Jose Graziano da Silva, who recently stepped down as director-general of the FAO, has noted the rapid adoption of the PSMA, with 100 countries so far pledging to join the accord.

“The PSMA is only as strong as the number of ports it closes to IUU fishing; these numbers are crucial,” he said in a statement earlier this year. “When you consider that the parties to the PSMA comprise over 50% of total coastal states globally, this is a remarkable achievement in such a short time.”