厄瓜多尔虾:中国餐桌新宠

这个拉美国家一直致力于为中国市场生产可持续的高品质虾。

Sellers of the seafood stalls. Municipal market. Guayaquil, Ecuador

厄瓜多尔瓜亚基尔市的海鲜市场。 图片来源: Alamy

去年,淘宝在“双11”开锣的头一个小时里就卖出了1360万只厄瓜多尔虾。如今“双11”已经成为 世界上最大的年度网购节。

中国的海产品消费在过去十年里激增了50%,而对虾的需求在2005年到2015年间估计翻了一番

为了满足这一需求增长,中国越来越依赖进口,尤其是在2009年至2012年一场重大疫情爆发导致国内虾产量 大幅下降之后。

这些虾中约有一半来自厄瓜多尔。近年来,厄瓜多尔一直将自己定位为一个可持续的、高品质虾供应国。不过,今年9月中国出于卫生原因,对厄瓜多尔第二大虾出口商奥马尔萨公司的产品实施了为期一周的禁令

除了国内供应下降外,中国的“消费升级”也推动了进口,这刺激了人们对海外食品的需求,因为在人们的观念中,进口商品更加安全,质量也更好。

中国为什么要进口这么多虾?

弄清中国本土虾的确切产量是出了名地困难非官方估计的产量为每年60至70万吨,而政府机构报告的数字为200多万吨。

由于一种通称早期死亡综合征(EMS)的疾病的传播,中国国内供应在2009年至2012年间急剧下降。根据荷兰合作银行引用的 UCN统计,由于EMS,中国的虾产量从120万吨降至50万吨。

与正在流行的非洲猪瘟惊人相似的是,EMS于2009年首先在中国南部被发现,然后迅速传播到包括越南、马来西亚和泰国在内的邻国。这些国家农民报告的损失高达90%。

EMS爆发的部分原因是虾类的免疫系统相对较弱。世界自然基金会(WWF)水产养殖管理委员会主管亚伦·麦克内文表示,由于集约化养殖方式的盛行和大量小养殖户的存在,亚洲的生物风险往往更高。

61%

厄瓜多尔的虾出口到中国(2018数据)

麦克内文说:“废水管理是一个尤为突出的难点,因为一些养殖场排放到沿海环境中的废物会通过循环被其他养殖者用来养虾,从而增加了感染的风险。”

除了EMS的原因以外,近年来,为了解决水污染问题,中国政府加强了管理,从而也限制了生产。毕竟,来自虾场的有机废物、化学物质和抗生素经常污染地下水和沿海河口已经成为不争的事实。

在中国,抗生素的大量使用加剧了人们对环境和健康的担忧。集约化养殖,以及大量缺乏先进疾病管理手段的小型养殖场,都导致水产更容易发生疾病,从而不得不使用抗生素来抵御可能出现的疫情。

由此造成的中国国内产量不足,加上需求的持续增长,导致进口激增。预计 2019年中国进口量将达到80万吨,从而超过美国成为全球最大的虾进口国。

可持续、可追溯虾类生产的益处何在?

在9月实施临时禁令之前,厄瓜多尔一直是中国最大的虾供应国 。2019年该国占中国虾类进口的近50%,远超印度(25%)和越南(4%)。

2017年12月,中国政府决定将厄瓜多尔虾的关税从5% 降至2%,以减少通过越南的非法走私,并提高产品的可追溯性,并这在一定程度上推动了最近的增长。

厄瓜多尔虾业努力打造的专注质量和安全的“品牌”形象也提振了该国的对华出口,尽管中国政府最近因卫生原因暂停了该国几家最大的出口企业的进口许可。

亚洲养虾的密度通常达到每平方米100—1000只,厄瓜多尔养殖者则采取截然不同的半集约化养殖方式,每平方米只有10-15只虾,这降低了疾病爆发的可能性。

较低的生物风险反过来意味着厄瓜多尔养殖者可以避免抗生素对消费者的健康威胁,也不会在废水排放时给环境造成负面影响。

何塞·安东尼奥·坎波萨诺在 最近的一次采访中说:“厄瓜多尔的虾场到现在已经15年没有使用过抗生素了,而是用益生菌来喂虾。”

“厄瓜多尔的虾场到现在已经15年没有使用过抗生素了”

相对于亚洲产品,厄瓜多尔虾的竞争优势在于更高的可持续性和安全性,这也是厄瓜多尔生产商大力宣传的卖点,而亚洲生产商则在生产和运输成本上占有明显优势。

2018年3月,厄瓜多尔7个最大的虾类生产商启动了可持续虾伙伴关系(SSP)。这是一个认证项目,保证抗生素零使用、完全可追溯、不对环境造成负面影响(通过水质检测显示)。

在解释为什么要设立这个项目时,SSP称,“到目前为止,养殖虾行业一直是一个大宗商品市场,给生产者的都是最低的价格。在某些情况下,价格下跌意味着养殖精细度会大打折扣,往往导致不良行为,产品质量下降,以及由于疫情爆发风险上升而加大使用抗生素。”

An Ecuadorean shrimp processing plant
厄瓜多尔虾加工厂 。图片来源: National Aquaculture Chamber

正在制订什么样的新标准?

SSP加入了一系列倡议,这些倡议旨在提高肉类和海产品的生产标准,同时提升消费者对潜在环境和健康问题的意识。

另一个是世界自然基金会于2010年成立的水产养殖管理委员会(ASC)。这个非营利组织按照严格的环境、健康和社会准则,管理着一个综合性的水产养殖认证和标识机制。

ASC制定了17种海产品的标准,供全世界的养殖者、消费者和企业参考。SSP要求虾产品符合ASC的规格才能获得认证。

另一个遵循ASC标准的项目是全球三文鱼倡议(GSI), SSP正是按照其模式建立的。GSI成立于2013年,成员包括14家世界最大的三文鱼养殖者,占全球产量的70%。

GSI最新的可持续发展报告通过对14个指标在6年中的数据进行追踪,强调了这期间取得的一系列成就,包括减少使用化学物质来处理海虱,减少使用海洋成分(如鱼粉和鱼油)来喂养鲑鱼。

SSP的支持者认为,与三文鱼和鸡蛋、牛肉等其他陆基蛋白质类似,消费者对虾的来源将会变得越来越慎重和挑剔,从而影响零售商和餐馆的采购决策。

坎波萨诺说:“我们知道,消费者想要的是符合最高标准且不使用抗生素的高质量产品。我们认为,这是SSP领导厄瓜多尔鲜虾养殖行业开始力争上游的部分体现。”

时间将检验SSP在推动行业向更高标准发展方面是否成功。“虽然这是发现重要问题的关键步骤,但标准和认证的挑战在于它们往往是基于实践的,而重点应该放在跟踪和获得成果上,”麦克内文说。

翻译:奇芳

Half of China’s shrimp imports are from Ecuador

The Latin American country has been focussing on high-quality, sustainable shrimp production for the Chinese market

Sellers of the seafood stalls. Municipal market. Guayaquil, Ecuador

Shrimp sellers at the Municipal market in Guayaquil, Ecuador (Image: Alamy)

Last year, Chinese online retailer Alibaba sold 13.6 million Ecuadorian shrimp in the opening hour of Singles Day, the world’s largest online shopping event.

Chinese seafood consumption has surged by 50% over the past decade, while demand for shrimp is estimated to have doubled between 2005 and 2015. To meet this growth, China has been increasingly reliant on imports, particularly after a major outbreak of disease decimated domestic shrimp between 2009 and 2012.

About half of China’s shrimp imports come from Ecuador, which in recent years has been positioning itself as a sustainable and high-quality shrimp source – despite China imposing a one-week ban in September for hygiene reasons on imports from Omarsa, Ecuador’s second-largest shrimp exporter.

In addition to lower domestic supply, imports have also been driven by China’s so-called “consumption upgrade,” which has spurred demand for overseas food products perceived to be safer and better quality.

ecuador map Latin America, exporter of shrimp to China

Why is China importing so much shrimp?

The precise quantity of Chinese shrimp production is notoriously difficult to determine, due to often exaggerated official figures. Unofficial estimates range between 600 to 700,000 tons per year, while government agencies have reported figures of over 2 million tons.

Everyone agrees however that domestic supply fell sharply between 2009 and 2012 due to early mortality syndrome (EMS). According to Rabobank, cited in UCN, Chinese production decreased from 1.2 million tons to just 500,000 tons as a result of EMS.

Bearing a striking resemblance to the ongoing African swine fever epidemic, EMS was first reported in Southern China in 2009, before spreading rapidly to neighbouring countries including Vietnam, Malaysia and Thailand. Farmers in those countries reported stock losses of up to 90%.

The magnitude of the EMS outbreak is partially explained by shrimp’s relatively weak immune system. Biological risk also tends to be higher in Asia due to the prevalence of intensive farming methods and a large number of smallholder producers, says Aaron McNevin, Global Aquaculture Lead at the World Wildlife Fund (WWF).

61%

of all Ecuador’s shrimp exports went to China last year

“Management of effluents is a particular challenge, as waste discharged by some farms into coastal environments is then recycled and used by other shrimp producers, increasing the risk of contagion,” says McNevin.

In addition to EMS, Chinese production has also been curbed in recent years by stricter government regulations to address water pollution. That was in response to the fact organic waste, chemicals and antibiotics from shrimp farms often contaminate groundwater and coastal estuaries.

Environmental and health concerns are exacerbated in China by the heavy use of antibiotics, to combat diseases made more likely by intensive farming, and the prevalence of smaller farms with less sophisticated approaches to managing disease.

The resulting shortfall in China’s domestic production, coupled with relentless growth in demand, has led to a spike in imports, which are expected to reach 800,000 tons in 2019 – making China the world’s largest shrimp importer, ahead of the US.

What are the benefits of sustainable, traceable shrimp production?

From January to August of this year, Ecuador was by far China’s largest supplier of shrimp, accounting for close to 50%, followed by India (25%) and Vietnam (4%).

The recent growth has been driven partially by the Chinese government’s December 2017 decision to reduce tariffs on Ecuadorian shrimp from 5% to 2%, in an effort to improve traceability and reduce illegal smuggling through Vietnam.

Imports have also been buoyed by the Ecuadorian shrimp industry’s efforts to build a “brand” focused on product quality and safety, in spite of recent allegations by the Chinese government that led to a suspension of some of the country’s largest exporters.

As opposed to Asian farmers who typically stock 100-1,000 shrimp per square metre in a pond, producers in Ecuador use semi-intensive farming methods with only 10-15 shrimp per square metre, which reduces the likelihood of disease outbreaks.

Today in Ecuador we have shrimp farms that haven’t used antibiotics for 15 years

Lower biological risk in turn means that Ecuadorian producers can avoid the antibiotics that pose health risks to consumers and negatively impact the environment, when discharged in waste water.

“Today in Ecuador we have shrimp farms that haven’t used antibiotics for 15 years, using probiotics instead to care for animals,” said José Antonio Camposano in a recent interview.

Ecuadorian producers have been actively touting higher sustainability and health safety practices as a competitive advantage over Asian producers, which have significantly lower production and transportation costs.

In March 2018, seven of Ecuador’s largest shrimp producers launched the Sustainable Shrimp Partnership (SSP), a certification program guaranteeing zero use of antibiotics, full traceability and zero negative impact on the environment (as shown through a water quality measure).

In explaining why the programme was created, the SSP states that “up until now the farmed shrimp sector has been a commodity market and has rewarded those with the lowest prices. In some cases, falling prices has meant farming practices have been sacrificed, often resulting in poor social practices, lower product quality, and higher use of antibiotics due to greater risk of disease outbreaks.”

An Ecuadorean shrimp processing plant
An Ecuadorian shrimp processing plant (Image: National Aquaculture Chamber)

What new standards are being set?

The SSP joins a number of initiatives that seek to improve production standards for meat and seafood, while also raising consumer awareness about potential environmental and health issues.

Another is the Aquaculture Stewardship Council (ASC) launched in 2010 by the WWF. It’s a non-profit that manages a comprehensive aquaculture certification and labelling program, based on stringent environmental, health and social guidelines.

The ASC has created standards for 17 seafood species that are used as a reference by farmers, consumers and businesses worldwide. The SSP requires products meet ASC’s shrimp specifications in order to be certified.

Another program that follows ASC standards is the Global Salmon Initiative (GSI), after which the SSP is modelled. The GSI was established in 2013 with participation from 14 of the world’s largest salmon farmers, representing 70% of global output.

The GSI’s latest Sustainability Report, which tracks six years of data across 14 indicators, highlights a number of achievements, including a reduction in the use of chemicals to treat sea lice and a decrease in marine ingredients (such as fish meal and oil) used to feed salmon.

The SSP’s proponents are betting that similarly to salmon and other land-based proteins such as eggs and beef, consumers will become increasingly thoughtful and selective about the provenance of shrimp, and therefore drive the purchasing decision of retailers and restaurants.

“We know that consumers want high-quality products produced to the highest standards and without the use of antibiotics, and we see it as part of SSP’s leadership role to get the race to the top started here in Ecuador,” says Camposano.

Time will tell whether the SSP is successful in its mission. “Although it’s an important step forward in identifying important issues, the challenge with standards and certifications is that they tend to be practice based, while the focus should be on tracking and achieving outcomes,” says McNevin.