金融界也能为保护海洋资源出一份力

在银行贷款协议和证券交易所上市规则中引入可持续性标准可以大大减少渔业和水产养殖带来的环境问题。

seafood sustainability

全球90%以上的渔业资源都面临着过度开发或充分开发。图片来源:Alamy

金融界能否帮助海产品行业实现可持续发展?鉴于海产品需求的预期增长以及与其生产相关的严重社会和环境问题,上述问题正变得日益重要。

上世纪60年代以来,水产养殖已经成为全球增长最快的食品部门。鱼类消费的增长速度是人口增速的两倍,鱼类成为交易量最大的食品之一。

现在,全球90%以上的渔业资源都面临着过度开发或充分开发。从非法捕鱼到破坏生境,从过度使用抗生素到强迫劳动,渔业部门被各种不可持续的痼疾所困扰。

因此,保证海产品的社会和环境可持续性已经成为政府、学界和民间社会组织关注的关键问题。

我与同事最近在《科学进展》(Science Advances)杂志上发表了一篇文章,探讨了金融在促进海产品行业可持续发展过程中可以发挥的作用,以及从何处入手,引导资本流向更好的实践操作。

绿色金融系统

虽然近年来出现了许多绿色债券和其他影响力投资工具,但它们在全球金融流通中所占比例不到1%。2019年9月推出的《负责任银行原则》显示,金融部门正在意识到自身在引导企业走向可持续发展方面的作用,但将这6项原则投入实践仍是一大挑战。

海洋承受的压力在日渐增加,而金融界却缺少改变主流观念的规范和法规。绿色债券和绿色金融倡议虽是很好的开端,但我们真正需要的是一个将可持续标准系统地纳入传统金融服务之中的绿色金融系统。


银行的权力

银行贷款是海产食品公司获得融资的主要途径。贷款会附带一些约定事项,也就是银行和借款人之间的协议,规定借款人能做什么或不能做什么。

银行可以通过把可持续标准纳入贷款附带的约定事项,约束企业遵守可持续操作,加速推动其向最佳实践的转型。这一做法不仅适用于海产品领域,也适用于所有以海洋为基础的行业(和其他软商品行业)。

例如,2019年5月,农业巨头路易·达孚公司与贷款人达成7.5亿美元的贷款协议,利率与公司可持续发展表现挂钩。可持续发展表现以二氧化碳排放、电力消耗、用水以及运往填埋场的固体垃圾等指标的减少作为衡量标准。可持续性评级上升,则利率下降,反之亦然。

同样地,荷兰合作银行最近与全球第二大鲑鱼生产商、也是智利最大的鲑鱼企业——爱阁食品公司达成了1亿美元的“绿色社会”贷款,协议包括了爱阁食品必须遵守的若干环境和社会条件,例如减少使用抗生素,以及增加生态认证数量。

与可持续性挂钩的贷款快速增长说明,这条道路是行得通的,但此类标准和激励措施需要成为常态,而不是个案。

证券交易所来把关

公司必须在证券交易所上市,向公众开放股权,才能获得资金,拥有更大的市场,同时提高自身的品牌声誉。这就为审查这些公司的可持续性创造了机会。

例如,2014年,中国大连远洋渔业金枪鱼钓有限公司(China Tuna)向香港股票交易所提交首次公开募股(IPO)的申请。公司在风险分析中表示,悬挂中国国旗的船只每年的渔获量都超出分配给中国的限额,但并没有受到违规处罚。该公司还特别提到称,中国政府没有对个别渔业公司或船只设定配额,因此不存在追责的风险

绿色和平组织对此提出申诉,认为该公司使用过时数据,忽视环境风险,并分别向中国渔业局和此次IPO的唯一保荐方德意志银行反映了这一情况。前者对该公司行为表示强烈谴责,称其“严重误导投资者和国际社会”;后者则拒绝置评,后因此遭受名誉损失

值得注意的是,大多数公开上市的大型海产公司都集中在少数几所证券交易所。仅东京证券交易所上市的海产公司,其收入总和就占到了全球排名前45的上市海产公司总收入的53%,而在东京、奥斯陆、韩国和泰国这四个国家交易所上市的海产公司加起来则占到了86%。

因此,只要这屈指可数的几家证券交易所能够在其上市规则中包含更加严格的可持续标准,就可能对海产行业产生很大的影响。

股东的影响力

公司一旦上市,股票所有权占比就决定了投票权的比例以及投资者对公司决策的影响程度。股东倡导是我们调查的第三个金融影响力杠杆,为此我们分析了3000多名股东和160家海产公司。股东倡导(Shareholder activism)是指外部股东积极干预、参与公司重大经营决策的行为。

尽管股东倡导常被宣传为影响公司政策的重要方式,但我们发现它在海产行业的影响可能有限。大多数大型渔业和水产养殖公司都是私人所有,也没有一家投资机构在多个上市海产公司中拥有大量股份的情况。此外,大股东也主要是个人或非金融公司。

因此目前股东倡导的影响力似乎有限,无法有效帮助金融机构鼓励海产行业的可持续实践。

展望未来

确定杠杆支点是一回事,执行则是另一回事。如今,人们在实时追踪渔船方面开展了大量工作,采用了大量技术,而资金的走向也同样重要,值得学者和决策者更多的关注。

可持续性筛选和具体的行业考量应该和财务审计一样,成为投资标准。来自政府、民间社会组织和公众的压力对于提高认识和推动此类监管改革至关重要。

金融部门能否成为推动海洋可持续性变革的中坚力量?目前尚无定论,但方法已经确定,只待行动了。

 

翻译:YAN

How finance can protect ocean resources

Introducing sustainability criteria into both bank loan agreements and stock exchange listing rules could help save the ocean’s life

seafood sustainability

Today, more than 90% of the world’s fisheries are either over-exploited or fully exploited. (Image: Alamy)

Can finance contribute to seafood sustainability? This is an increasingly relevant question given the projected growth of seafood demand and the magnitude of social and environmental issues associated with its production.

Since the 1960s, aquaculture has been the world’s fastest-growing food sector. Rates of fish consumption have been increasing twice as rapidly as population growth, and fish has become one of the most traded food commodities.

Today, more than 90% of the world’s fisheries are either overexploited or fully exploited, and the sector is plagued with unsustainable practices, ranging from illegal fishing and habitat destruction to overuse of antibiotics and forced labour.

Making sure that seafood is both socially and environmentally sustainable has therefore become a key concern for governments, academics and civil society organisations.

In a recent article published in the journal Science Advances, my colleagues and I explored what role finance could play in promoting a sustainable seafood industry and where leverage points may lie to redirect capital towards better practices.

We found the two most promising levers to be introducing sustainability criteria into both bank loan agreements and stock exchange listing rules. Whereas shareholder activism is a less powerful force than might be expected.

A green financial system

While numerous green bonds and other impact investment tools have emerged in recent years, they represent less than 1% of global financial flows. The Principles for Responsible Banking, launched in September 2019, show that the financial sector is waking up to its role in steering businesses towards sustainability. But putting the six principles into practice remains a challenge.

As pressures on the ocean mount, what is missing are norms and regulations that can redirect mainstream finance. Green bonds and green finance initiatives are good for starters but what we really need is a green financial system where sustainability criteria are systematically integrated into traditional financial services.

Three potential levers for improving the seafood industry

The power of banks

Bank loans are a main way seafood companies finance their operations. Loans come with covenants – agreements between the bank and the borrower stipulating what the borrower can or cannot do.

By incorporating sustainability criteria into loan covenants and binding companies to sustainable practices, banks could play a prominent role in accelerating transformation towards better practices, not just in seafood but across all ocean-based (and arguably other soft commodity) industries.

For example, in May 2019 the agriculture giant Louis Dreyfus Company agreed with its lenders a US$750 million loan for which the interest rate is linked to the company’s sustainability performance, as measured by a reduction in its carbon dioxide emissions, electricity consumption, water usage and solid waste sent to landfill. If the sustainability rating goes up, the interest goes down, and vice versa.

Likewise, Rabobank recently arranged a US$100 million “green and social” loan with Chilean company AgroSuper, the country’s leading salmon company and the second-largest salmon producer in the world. The loan agreement contains several environmental and social conditions that AgroSuper must comply with, such as a commitment to reduce antibiotic use and increase the number of eco-certifications.

The rapid growth of sustainability linked loans proves this can be done, but such criteria and incentives need to become the norm rather than the exception.

Stock exchanges as gatekeepers

To open its ownership to the public, a firm has to get listed on a stock exchange. Companies do so to access capital, gain exposure to broader markets and enhance their brand reputation. This creates an opportunity to scrutinise firms and take sustainability into consideration.

In 2014, for instance, the company China Tuna filed for an initial public offering (IPO) to the Hong Kong Stock Exchange. As part of their risk analysis, the firm indicated that vessels under the Chinese flag had year on year exceeded the catch limits allocated to China but that noncompliance penalties were either non-existent or not upheld. In particular, it mentioned that because the Chinese government had not set any quotas with respect to individual fishing companies or vessels, there was no risk of them being held responsible.

Greenpeace filed a complaint saying that China Tuna used outdated data and overlooked environmental risks. They also reached out to China’s Bureau of Fisheries, which strongly condemned the company’s actions as “gravely misleading investors and the international community”, and to Deutsche Bank – the sole sponsor of the IPO – which declined to comment and thereafter suffered reputational damages.

Remarkably, the majority of large publicly listed seafood companies are listed on just a handful of stock exchanges. The Tokyo Stock Exchange alone concentrates 53% of the combined revenue of the world’s top 45 listed seafood companies, while the exchanges of Tokyo, Oslo, Korea and Thailand together account for 86% of revenues.

More stringent sustainability criteria in the listing rules of just a few stock exchanges could therefore have big effects on the seafood industry.

Shareholder activism

Once a company gets listed, the percentage of stock ownership determines the share of voting rights and the extent to which any one investor can affect corporate decisions. Shareholder activism is the third financial lever of influence we investigated by analysing more than 3,000 shareholders and 160 seafood firms.

Even though it is often promoted as an important way to affect company policies, we found its influence may have limitations in the seafood sector. The majority of large fishing and aquaculture firms are privately owned, and in the publicly listed ones no single investor has substantial shares across many different companies. In addition, large shareholders are mainly individuals or nonfinancial companies.

Shareholder activism therefore appears to currently hold limited potential for financial institutions to encourage sustainable practices in the seafood realm.

Looking ahead

Identifying leverage points is one thing. Implementing them is quite another. In an epoch when considerable efforts and technologies are deployed to track fishing vessels in near real time, following the money is no less important and deserves increased attention from both scholars and policymakers.

Sustainability screening and industry-specific considerations should become the norm for investments, in the same way as financial auditing currently is. Pressure from governments, civil society organizations and the general public will be important to improve awareness and drive such regulatory changes.

Will finance become a major force in promoting a transformation towards ocean sustainability? The jury is still out, but levers have been identified and now await action.