《深海采矿》播客:巴布亚新几内亚的海底采矿教训

可持续亚洲系列播客第二集分析了充满争议的 Solwara 1 项目和采矿企业鹦鹉螺公司的失败。

图片来源:Alamy

当初海底采矿企业鹦鹉螺公司与巴布亚新几内亚政府接洽,希望获得在该国海岸进行勘探的许可时,该公司因为能带来潜在收入而受到欢迎。但这个南太平洋国家沿岸的社区很快就对鹦鹉螺公司造成的环境影响感到不满。他们组织起来反对该公司的活动,并且得到了世界各地科学家和环保团体的支持。鹦鹉螺公司的这次冒险活动最终失败了,公司现在也进入了破产管理阶段。这家企业的垮掉会对国际海底采矿的未来产生什么影响?

订阅收听系列播客:优酷 | APPLE PODCASTS | SPOTIFY

了解更多信息,请访问可持续亚洲

嘉宾:

大卫·桑蒂略,绿色和平
海伦·罗森鲍姆,反深海采矿运动
理查德·施泰纳,美国阿拉斯加大学
史蒂芬·辛普森,英国埃克塞特大学
帕特里克·考普恩,索尔瓦拉战士联盟
杰拉德·巴伦,加拿大私营企业深绿(Deep Green)公司

制作团队:

执行制片人兼主持人:龙美诗
监制:罗况闻
录制:克里斯·伍德
前奏/外奏音乐:亚历山大·莫贝森

录音文本

龙美诗:欢迎收听可持续亚洲的 《深海采矿》系列播客。我是龙美诗。

在上一集中,我们了解了深海中蕴含着丰富的尚未开采的矿产资源,还谈到了海底的生命形式和矿产形态都可能因为人类深海采矿这一决定而面临威胁。深海采矿仍处于很初期的阶段。目前,联合国管辖的海域,也就是公海,还尚未开放采矿权。但是……

大卫·桑蒂略:人们对深海采矿的兴趣不仅限于国家管辖范围内的区域,还包括公海的深海海底,甚至对太平洋岛国和全球其他地区的专属经济区,也有很大的开采兴趣。专属经济区的开采通常取决于矿业公司与国家政府所达成的协议。

龙美诗:以上的发言来自第一集中跟我们聊过的在绿色和平工作的大卫·桑蒂略。他提到了专属经济区,简称EEZ。在《深海采矿》这个系列中,你会经常听到这个词,它指的是距离海岸200海里内的海域。任何有海岸线的国家都有专属经济区,就像大卫说的那样,在这个区域内,其管辖国家几乎可以做任何想做的事。例如,在2011年,巴布亚新几内亚就决定要尝试深海采矿。

EMTV新闻:2011年1月13日,加拿大鹦鹉螺矿业公司获得了全球第一个深海采矿许可证。

龙美诗:这是来自巴布亚新几内亚当地电视台的报道。报道称,该国政府与一家名为鹦鹉螺矿业的公司达成了协议。 2011年,这家加拿大公司获得了在俾斯麦海

(Bismarck Sea)进行开采的许可证。俾斯麦海是巴布亚新几内亚北部海岸太平洋海域的一部分,周围环绕着火山岛,岛上还保留着殖民时期的名称,例如新爱尔兰和东新不列颠。鹦鹉螺矿业公司将这个项目命名为“索尔瓦拉1号(Solwara 1)”。

海伦·罗森鲍姆:“索尔瓦拉”(Solwara)在巴布亚皮钦语(pidgin)中是“盐水”的意思,是在巴布亚新几内亚大部分地区都通识的一个名词。

龙美诗:海伦·罗森鲍姆博士是反深海采矿(Deep Sea Mining Campaign)的活动协调员,他们的任务是让人们了解在太平洋深海采矿会带来怎样的后果。

海伦:鹦鹉螺矿业在项目初期和巴布亚新几内亚政府进行了几次会议,就已基本上说服了政府同意其进行深海采矿活动。

龙美诗:2008年,鹦鹉螺矿业第一次来到巴布亚新几内亚,提出在该国沿海开采热泉喷口的方案,巴布亚新几内亚政府很快就发放了许可证,允许他们进行勘探和环境影响评估。

海伦:巴布亚新几内亚对鹦鹉螺矿业的提议非常激动,放佛这个提议是一个“男孩的冒险活动”。矿业公司兴致勃勃地描绘着未来,称巴布亚新几内亚将成为海底采矿全球领军者,将能够参与申请彻底改变全球采矿方式的技术专利。

龙美诗:鹦鹉螺矿业公布了环境影响评估报告,但沿海的原住民对此则不太满意。他们认为,评估忽略了渔场的文化价值,并表示他们需要专业人士对报告进行仔细的研究。因此,在2009年,原住民找到了阿拉斯加大学海洋保护教授理查德·施泰纳博士,请他来审查环境影响评估报告,也就是环评报告。

理查德·施泰纳:我刚刚用电子邮件把我对“索尔瓦拉1号”的评估发给你了,这是10年前为巴布新几内亚沿海居民做的一个评估。但是,还有很多的未知数,特别是关于“索尔瓦拉1号工程”和热泉喷口,我们还有很多未知的东西。

龙美诗:理查德指出了参与评估的科学家们忽略的几个问题。以“脱水”为例,在海底作业的采矿机器将热泉喷口磨成碎石块,这些石块和海水一起被泵送到在海面待命的支援船上。然后,在船上把矿石从水中过滤出来的过程就称为“脱水”。

理查德:“脱水”后的污水则打回到距离海底50-100米的深处,然后排出。仅是这一个过程就会导致深海受到污染。

龙美诗:理查德和其他环境保护人士担心,废水一旦被排放到深海中就会产生大量的浑浊的水,这些羽状物质可能会像一层污泥,覆盖在海底的所有生命上。

海伦:鹦鹉螺矿业的环评报告中并没有通过建模的方式对羽状物质中可能含有的金属进行预测。深海的生态系统与上层水体的生态系统息息相关,而上层水体是我们进行渔业捕捞的区域。岛屿上的社区可能会面临重金属中毒的危险,其他海洋生物也面临着同样的风险。

龙美诗:那些将开采的矿物质带到地面的管道很有可能会受到地震的影响。

海伦:这个地区每年都会发生大地震,鹦鹉螺矿业提议开采的“索尔瓦拉1号矿”就在这个区域。然而,这些问题在环评报告中都没有被列为风险因素。

感谢赞助商

龙美诗:关于深海采矿,还有其他一些事情让我不得不去考虑,例如,采矿机器在海下发出的噪音呢?会不会影响鱼类和其他物种之间的互动方式?

史蒂芬·辛普森:10年前,不,实际上是20年前,当我开始关注“海洋声学”的时候,除了海军以外,还没有人真正关注过水下的声学世界。

龙美诗:史蒂芬·辛普森博士是英国埃克塞特大学的海洋生物学家,他在全球各个地方研究海洋物种如何利用声音生存。

史蒂夫:在上世纪90年代,我在偶然的情况下对水下声音产生了兴趣,当时我还是一名大学生。

龙美诗:当时,科学家们仔细研究了幼鱼。在生命的最初几周,它们漂浮在公海里。科学家们发现这些小鱼不仅仅是在漂浮,它们还能在海洋中确切地寻找到最适合生长的栖息地。那么问题来了,它们是如何做到的?幼鱼苗从它出生的深海游到海岸,当它碰到珊瑚礁时,它能感受到珊瑚礁的生命力吗?它会寻找其他鱼类吗?斯蒂芬有一种预感。

史蒂夫:大约在80-90年代,水听器问世,也就是水下麦克风。生物学家得以聆听海洋里的声音,他们开始研究那些通过声音进行交流的鱼类。到了90年代后期,我们认识到实际上整个生态系统都存在声学特征。因此,在过去的20年中,我们一直在试图描绘珊瑚礁生态环境的声学特性,并观察和聆听发出这些声音的动物们。

龙美诗:了解了珊瑚礁是一个有声的群落之后,史蒂芬想弄清是不是这些声音指引着幼鱼回家。因此,他在一个安静的海域设置了两个实验点。两个实验点都闪烁着明亮的光,以吸引附近的鱼类。斯蒂芬在其中一个实验点安装了扬声器,播放他在附近礁石上录制到的声音。在实验结束时…

史蒂夫:令我们惊讶的是,安装了扬声器的实验点的捕获量是另一个的一倍,三分之二的鱼被声音所吸引。这是小鱼可以听到声音的第一个证据,它们被声音所吸引,并且确实影响了它们在夜晚游回珊瑚礁的路径。

龙美诗:实验证明了这些幼鱼通过声音来找到适合它们的礁石。而且,不仅仅是幼鱼,还有……

史蒂夫(Steve):…龙虾或海胆也会发出喧闹或刺耳的声音。鱼类在白天用声音吸引同类的注意力,捍卫自己的领土,以及赶走捕食者。到了晚上,当一些夜行鱼类从礁石中出来觅食的时候,它们用声音来让自己始终聚在一起,或是在发现食物时相互告知。

龙美诗:俾斯麦海是地球上生物多样性最丰富的地区之一,巴布亚新几内亚政府近期宣布,他们将对7000多平方公里的海域进行保护,以维护生活在其中的2000种鱼类。但是,“索尔瓦拉1号”的工程区域非常靠近这个受保护的栖息地,如果大型采矿机器开始在此大肆作业将会产生怎样的影响?

史蒂夫:工程作业会在这个区域产生声雾,这意味着动物失去了彼此间进行语音交流、聆听周围环境的空间。

龙美诗:但是,俾斯麦海很大,有4万平方公里,也就是超过1.5万平方英里。所以,当采矿机器钻到很深的地方,是否真的会影响到鱼类呢?

史蒂夫:项目很有可能会有支援船停在海面上。这些船不是连着采矿机器,就是操控采矿机器在海床上作业。这样一来船只就产生了很多噪音,而且这些支援船通常使用推进器来保持其在水中的位置,噪音特别大。因此,取决于具体的采矿方式,我估计我们在数千英里外都能听到这些声音。

龙美诗:哇,声音在海洋中传得那么远啊!那这些采矿噪音肯定会传播到鱼类和其他海洋物种所生活的区域,而在那个脆弱的区域生活着130种鲨鱼和鳐鱼。实际上,自从鹦鹉螺矿业这类企业在巴布亚新几内亚附近的深海开展活动以来,我们就已经观察到了噪音对鲨鱼数量的影响。

海伦:“呼唤鲨鱼”是当地非常重要的文化特征。 上世纪80年代,有一部著名的电影叫做《康图的鲨鱼呼唤者》,电影通过拍摄“呼唤鲨鱼”展示了当地与海洋之间这一不同寻常但至关重要的文化联系。

龙美诗:原住民乘小独木舟出海。他们将一捆贝壳浸入海中,然后开始摇晃,鲨鱼很快浮出水面。捕捞者将鲨鱼困住,然后拖到独木舟上。捕获鲨鱼后,捕捞者会和整个社区分享鲨鱼肉。

海伦:……这既是社会关系,也是与海洋环境的联系。因此,很长一段时间以来,当地社区一直向我们反映,鹦鹉螺矿业的勘探活动意味着他们不再能召唤到鲨鱼。我认为这告诉了我们鲨鱼被赶走了,这个区域的鲨鱼数量不再和从前一样多。旅游从业者向我们反映,海豚数量同样也受到了影响。

龙美诗:区域内的野生动植物数量减少;还有人担心这些脆弱的采矿系统将如何抵御热带风暴或地震;污水排放可能会将整个生态系统遮盖在污泥中……这些都是阿拉斯加大学的理查德·施泰纳大学教授在接受当地社区的请求,研究“索尔瓦拉1号”的环境影响时发现的。掌握了这些情况后,当地居民试图阻止项目获得许可证,但是在2011年的一次会议上,巴布亚新几内亚政府被采矿项目可能会带来的收入前景所说服。

海伦:对处于经济困境的巴布亚新几内亚来说,这是一个非常大的诱惑,担忧都被抛到了脑后。因此,尽管在会议上有人提出了一些谨慎的意见,但大多数与会者和主要决策者还是决定同意通过“索尔瓦拉1号”项目,并且很看好这个工程。

龙美诗:当政府授予鹦鹉螺矿业开采许可时,对此深表担忧的民众立刻发起了一场群众抗议活动。 鹦鹉螺矿业需要几年的时间来筹集开采所需的资金和设备,因此还有时间来阻止这个项目。

 EMTV报告

新爱尔兰省发言人:作为新爱尔兰省社区的发言人,我要求停止这个项目,因为我们并不知道自己到底在做什么。

北部省长加里·祖法:我们希望参与国家的经济建设,我们不是要赶走投资者,而是需要真诚的投资者。投资者必须尊重我们,遵守我们的法律,尊重我们的利益。他们必须与我们商讨。

龙美诗:这是2012年利益相关方与深感担忧的民众之间的会议录音。他们收集了2.4万个反对这个项目的签名。“索尔瓦拉战士联盟”便是反对鹦鹉螺矿业的基层组织之一。让我们来听听“索尔瓦拉战士联盟”的帕特里克·考普恩讲诉海洋对当地人的意义。

帕特里克·考普恩:“索尔瓦拉战士联盟”的盟友们并肩作战,希望推动海底采矿禁令。海洋就是一切。所谓一切,我的意思是这就是我们的生活。海洋与土地和天空相连,甚至与灌木丛、与河流相连。环环相扣形成一个整体,这比发展更有价值。我认为这才是我们应该留给后代的礼物,不是发展,而是海洋所包含的一切。我们今天并肩站在这里,我们斗争是为了子孙后代有更好的生活。

龙美诗:鹦鹉螺矿业从巴布亚新几内亚获得采矿许可后,他们从中国订购了一艘支援船。万事俱备,就等2018年开始进行挖掘。但是鹦鹉螺矿业的经营情况却每况愈下,他们与巴布亚新几内亚政府因股份支付问题开始了漫长的法律纠纷,拖延了整个合资计划的进程。然后,又有一位关键投资者退出。最终在2017年底,鹦鹉螺矿业无法支付还在中国码头等待着他们的支援船费用。这家中国造船厂最后将这艘船卖给了一家印度矿业公司,鹦鹉螺矿业公司在破产边缘摇摇欲坠,进入接管程序。然而,对于巴布亚新几内亚人民来说,这并不意味着胜利。

海伦:巴布亚新几内亚政府几乎是“被迫着”投资了“索尔瓦拉1号”项目的一部分股份。

龙美诗:巴布亚新几内亚政府持有15%的股份。

海伦(Helen):这笔资金相当于拥有900万人口的巴布亚新几内亚1/3的医疗卫生预算。

理查德:矿业公司进入了许多发展中的岛屿国家。他们向世界承诺,但他们总是夸大项目的潜在收益,却低估了潜在的风险和影响。

龙美诗:鹦鹉螺矿业的整个业务给巴布亚新几内亚留下了很深的创伤,也让其他太平洋国家意识到了深海底采矿的风险,来自深海保护联盟的马修·吉安尼说道。

马修·吉安尼:巴布亚新几内亚最近与斐济和瓦努阿图一起,呼吁至少十年内,暂停在他们国家管辖范围内开展海底采矿。换句话说,也就是在他们的专属经济区内。

龙美诗:矿业公司似乎在很大程度上也意识到了,在发展中国家进行采矿并不是好主意。

杰拉德·巴伦:要知道,进入发展中国家非常具有挑战性。这些国家本身面临着很多问题,并且试图一次性解决很多问题。

龙美诗:刚才发言的是杰拉德·巴伦,他其实是鹦鹉螺矿业的早期投资者之一,但他很早就收回了投资,并开了一家名为“深绿”的新公司。杰拉德的新公司将目光从国家管辖的海域转移到了公海。而在公海,联合国国际海底管理局是唯一的监管机构。

杰拉德:我认为管理公海的国际海底管理局是一个更加稳定和可靠的机构。

龙美诗:在杰拉德的领导下,“深绿”目前正在探索夏威夷和墨西哥之间的海底区域。他们正在大面积海底区域寻找这些散布的小结核和小块金属。要获得这些结核,不需要砸碎热泉喷口,不影响沿海社区。这是否意味着这个勘探活动是完全无害的?我们将在下一集《深海采矿》中讨论的这个内容。

《深海采矿》由龙美诗主持,罗况闻与中外对话联合制作,克里斯·伍德合成。

感谢所有嘉宾为我们揭开这个复杂的问题,感谢Miguel Urmeneta的旁白,感谢亚历山大·莫贝森提供的前奏音乐,这些音乐都是利用回收废弃物制作的乐器弹奏的。还要感谢美国皮尤慈善信托基金会《事实之后》播客提供了迈克尔·洛奇的音频。感谢“可持续亚洲”团队所有成员,Bonnie和Heidi Au,Josie Chan, Crystal Wu 和Jill Baxter。

订阅收听系列播客:优酷 | APPLE PODCASTS | SPOTIFY

Podcast: The damaging failure of seabed mining in Papua New Guinea

Episode two of Mining the Deep by Sustainable Asia looks at the controversial Solwara 1 project and the downfall of mining company Nautilus

Local communities in Papua New Guinea’s Bismarck archipelago have reported that shark numbers have dropped since Nautilus Minerals began conducting seabed mining exploration activities. (Image: Alamy)

When seabed mining company Nautilus approached the government of Papua New Guinea for permission to start prospecting off the country’s coast, it was initially welcomed for the potential revenue it would generate. But communities along the coast of the south Pacific country soon became unhappy with the impact the company was having on their environment. They organised to oppose its activities, gaining support from scientists and conservation groups around the world. The venture eventually failed and Nautilus has now gone into administration. What consequences will this collapse have on the future of seabed mining internationally?

Find the series on APPLE PODCASTS | SPOTIFY | YOUKU

Find out more on Sustainable Asia.

Episodes:

Listen to episode one: Is the ocean floor worth sacrificing?

Guests:

David Santillo, Greenpeace
Helen Rosenbaum, Deep Sea Mining Campaign
Richard Steiner, Environmental Consultant
Stephen Simpson, University of Exeter
Patrick Kaupun, Alliance of Solwara Warriors
Gerard Barron, DeepGreen

Production credits:

Executive producer and host: Marcy Trent Long
Producer: Samuel Colombie
Sound engineer: Chris Wood
Intro/outro music: Alex Mauboussin

Transcript:

Marcy Trent Long: Welcome to Mining the Deep, a podcast series by Sustainable Asia. My name is Marcy Trent Long.

In the previous episode, we learned about the untapped mineral riches of the deep-ocean floor. We also got an idea of the life forms and mineral formations that might be in danger if we decide to go mine those minerals. Deep seabed mining is still in the very early stages. For now, actual mining is not yet allowed in the high seas, the area of the ocean under the supervision of the United Nations. But…

David Santillo: Deep-sea mining is not just about the area beyond national jurisdiction. It’s not just about the deep seabed of the high seas. There are also a lot of interests in mining within the EEZs of Pacific island states and other areas around the world. And those are generally down to contracts between the mining companies and the national governments.

Marcy: That’s David Santillo, the Greenpeace scientist we met briefly in episode one. He mentioned the EEZ, or Exclusive Economic Zone. You’ll hear that term a lot throughout this series. It’s basically just the area of the sea up to 200 (nautical) miles out from the shore. Any country that has a coastline has an EEZ, and like David says, within that zone, a country can do pretty much whatever they want. So in 2011, Papua New Guinea decided it would give deep seabed mining a go.

EMTV news reader: On the 13th of January 2011, Nautilus Minerals was granted a mining licence for the development of the world’s first seabed mine.

Marcy: That’s from a news report by a local TV station in Papua New Guinea, or PNG. It talks about the PNG government making a deal with a company called Nautilus Minerals. In 2011, this Canadian company was granted a licence to start mining in the Bismarck Sea, a part of the Pacific ocean off PNG’s northern coast that’s surrounded by volcanic islands with old colonial names like New Ireland and East New Britain. Nautilus named the project Solwara 1.

Helen Rosenbaum: Solwara 1 is taken from the pidgin, which is the lingua franca for most of Papua New Guinea, for salt water.

Marcy: Dr Helen Rosenbaum is the campaign coordinator for the Deep Sea Mining Campaign, raising awareness about the consequences of deep-sea mining in the Pacific.

Helen: There were several meetings in the early stages of Nautilus’ activities in Papua New Guinea where they basically sold the project to the government.

Marcy: Nautilus first came to Papua New Guinea in 2008. They had figured out a way to mine the rich hydrothermal vents along the coast of the country, and the government of Papua New Guinea eagerly granted them a licence to go explore and assess the environmental impact.

Helen: There was a very excited “boy’s own adventure” reaction to Nautilus, who was really talking up the prospects for Papua New Guinea as being a world leader in seabed mining; being able to be part of the patenting of the technology that would revolutionise the way mining is conducted around the world.

Marcy: But when Nautilus came back with their environmental impact assessment, indigenous people along the coast were not too pleased with it. They claimed it ignored the cultural value of those fishing grounds and they sensed they needed an expert to take a good look at the document. So in 2009, they rang up Dr Richard Steiner, a professor in marine conservation at the University of Alaska, and they asked him to review the environmental impact statement, or EIS.

Richard Steiner: Actually, I just emailed you my review of the Solwara 1 EIS, which was done about 10 years ago for a local group of coastal peoples in PNG. There are so many unknowns, specifically on Solwara 1, on that particular vent field.

Marcy: Richard identified several issues that the scientists who did the impact assessment had overlooked. Take for example “dewatering”. When a mining machine on the seafloor grinds hydrothermal vents into gravel, the bits of rock and some water are then pumped up to a ship that’s waiting on the surface. There, the rock is filtered out of the water, and this process is called “dewatering”.

Richard: And then the dewatered effluent would be pumped back down to 50-100 metres above the seafloor and discharged. And that alone will cause a pollutant discharge in the deep sea that was not there prior to the project.

Marcy: Richard and other conservationists are worried that this effluent, once released in the deep ocean, will create large plumes of murky water. Those plumes could cover all life on the seafloor in a layer of mud.

Helen: Nautilus’ EIS also did not model what metals we might expect to be in those plumes that are going to be generated. There’s interconnectivity between the ecosystems of the deep sea and higher up the water column, those areas that we’re used to fishing from. Local communities on the islands in that area could suffer from heavy metal poisoning, and other marine life could as well.

Marcy: And those pipes that bring the mined minerals up to the surface, they could be really vulnerable to earthquakes.

Helen: Every year there are significant earthquakes in that area. Really right in that area where Nautilus proposes to mine the Solwara 1 mine. And none of this was factored into the environmental impact statement as risks.

Break to thank sponsors.

Marcy: There was something else about deep seabed mining that I couldn’t stop thinking about. What about all the noise that those machines make down there? Wouldn’t that impact the way fish and other species interact?

Stephen Simpson: Ten years ago, well 20 years ago really, when I started listening to the ocean, people, apart from the navy, hadn’t really engaged with the acoustic world underwater.

Marcy: Dr Stephen Simpson is a marine biologist at the University of Exeter. Stephen travels the world studying how marine species use sound to survive.

Stephen: So my interest in underwater sound really came about by accident, in the 1990s, just when I was an undergraduate student.

Marcy: At that time, scientists took a closer look at baby fish, who spend the first few weeks of their life as larvae drifting in the open ocean. They discovered that these tiny fish don’t just bob around in the ocean, but they know exactly where to look for a habitat that’s ideal for them to grow up in. So the question was, how do they do that? When a fish larva swims from the deep ocean where it’s born back to the shore, and it comes upon a coral reef, does it smell the coral reef as nice and lively? Does it look for other fish? Stephen had a hunch.

Stephen: In about the 1980s, 1990s, hydrophones became available – these are underwater microphones – they became available for biologists to start listening to the ocean. They started looking at certain fish species that use sound to communicate. And then we realised [in the] late 90s that actually the entire ecosystem had sound profiles. So we’ve spent the last 20 years characterising the acoustic properties of coral reef environments, listening in to the community of animals that make that sound.

Marcy: Knowing that a coral reef is a noisy affair, Stephen wanted to find out if this was what guided baby fish home. So he set up two traps in a quiet area of the sea. Both traps flashed a bright light, attracting nearby fish. But one of the traps Stephen mounted on a speaker, playing the sounds he recorded at a nearby reef. At the end of the experiment…

Stephen: To our amazement, we doubled the catches in the light traps by adding sound. Two thirds of those fish were in our noisy traps. So it was the first evidence that these tiny fish could hear, that they were attracted by sound and that really influenced where they were going to be swimming at night on their way back to a coral reef.

Marcy: Proof that these baby fish rely on sounds to find a reef that suits them. And it’s not just baby fish. There’s…

Stephen: …strumming noises from the lobsters or crunching noises from the urchins, and then the fish during the day use sound as a way of trying to impress each other, trying to defend their territories, trying to chase away a predator. And at night, when some of the nocturnal fish come out of the reef to go hunting, they then use sound as a way of keeping themselves together as a group or calling each other over when they find food.

Marcy: The Bismarck Sea is one of the most biologically diverse areas on earth, and the Papua New Guinea government has just announced that they’ll protect more than 7,000 square kilometres of the sea to support 2,000 species of fish that live there. But with the Solwara 1 area so close to this protected habitat, what will be the impact if big mining machines start causing a racket down there?

Stephen: It creates an acoustic fog over the area, which means that the animals really lose that space in which to be able to vocally communicate with each other and to be able to listen to their environment.

Marcy: But the Bismarck Sea is big, 40,000 square kilometres, more than 15,000 square miles. So if a machine is drilling way down deep, would that actually affect the fish at all?

Stephen: It’s likely to have boats up on the surface, which are either tethered or are at least controlling their operations down on the seabed. So instantly you’ve got a lot of shipping noise, and these boats often use thrusters to maintain their position in the water, which are particularly loud. So I would expect it to be thousands of miles that we can hear them, depending on the mining methods that are being used.

Marcy: Wow, sounds travel so far in the ocean that these mining sounds would definitely reach vulnerable communities of fish and other marine species, like the 130 species of shark and ray that live in the area. We’re actually already seeing the results on shark populations from the activities of companies like Nautilus in the deep waters around Papua New Guinea.

Helen: A very important culture in that area relies on shark calling. There was a famous movie that was made in the 1980s called The Shark Callers of Kontu that shows this really unusual and important cultural connection to the ocean through calling up the sharks.

Marcy: The indigenous people take to the sea in a small canoe. They dip a bundle of shells in the water and start shaking it. Soon enough, a shark comes up to the surface. The hunter ensnares the shark and drags it into his tiny canoe. When the shark is caught, the meat is shared with the whole community…

Helen: …which has the outcome of social connectivity as well as connecting to the ocean environment. So local communities have been reporting for quite some time that Nautilus’ exploration activities mean they can’t any longer call up sharks. So I think that tells us that sharks have just moved off, there are not sharks in the numbers there used to be in that area. And tourism operators have reported similar things in terms of dolphin numbers as well.

Marcy: Declining numbers of wildlife in the area, serious concerns about how the delicate mining systems would hold up during tropical storms or earthquakes, issues with the discharge sludge that might cover entire ecosystems in mud… This is what Richard Steiner, the Alaska University professor, found when he was asked by local groups to study the environmental impact of the Solwara 1 project. Armed with this knowledge, local citizens tried to halt the licensing of the project, but at a 2011 meeting, the Papua New Guinea government was persuaded by the prospect of new mining revenue.

Helen: For a struggling economy like Papua New Guinea. That’s quite an appealing scenario, and caution was thrown to the wind. So although there were some saner more cautious voices raised at this meeting, the majority of people there and the leading decision makers decided to go with the Solwara 1 project and to give it [their] blessing.

Marcy: When the government granted Nautilus a licence to start digging, immediately, concerned citizens organised a grassroots campaign. Nautilus would need a few years to bring the funding and equipment together to start mining, so there was still time to stop the project.

EMTV report

New Ireland province spokesperson: I, as the voice of the communities in New Ireland province, request that this project be put to a stop as we do not really know what we are getting ourselves into.

Gary Juffa, Northern province governor: We want to participate in the economic development of this country. We are not chasing away investors. We want genuine investors. But investors must come and respect us. Respect our laws. Respect our interests. And they must discuss with us.

Marcy: That was audio from a 2012 meeting between stakeholders and concerned citizens. They had just collected 24,000 signatures opposing the project. One of the grassroots organisations that stood up against Nautilus is the Alliance of Solwara Warriors. Listen to Solwara Warrior Patrick Kaupun as he explains what the ocean means to people there.

Patrick Kaupun: The Alliance of Solwara Warriors now stands together to push for the ban on seabed mining. The sea is everything. And by everything, I mean that it is our life. The sea connects with the land and the sky, and even with the bushes and the rivers. All are one in one life and are worth so much more than development. I think this should be a gift to the future generation, not development, but the life that we have with the sea. We stand up today to make sure our fight is for the betterment of our future generations.

Marcy: After Nautilus received the mining licence from Papua New Guinea, they ordered a support ship to be built in China. Everything was to be ready for mining to start in 2018. But then things went from bad to worse for the company. They started a long legal battle with the PNG government about payment of shares, which delayed the whole venture. Then, a key corporate investor pulled out. Finally, in late 2017, they couldn’t pay for the ship that was waiting for them in a dock in China. The Chinese shipbuilder eventually sold the vessel to an Indian mining company, and Nautilus, teetering on bankruptcy, entered administration. But for the people of Papua New Guinea, this was not a victory.

Helen: The PNG government was bullied pretty much into buying a share of the Solwara 1 project.

Marcy: The government of Papua New Guinea has a 15% share.

Helen: That purchase is now equivalent to something like one third of Papua New Guinea’s health budget for its population of nine million people.

Richard: They come into many of these developing island nations, and promise the world. They always overstate the potential benefit of these projects and understate the potential risk and impacts.

Marcy: The whole Nautilus business left a deep scar in Papua New Guinea and has alerted other Pacific nations to the risks of deep seabed mining. Here’s Matthew Gianni of the Deep Sea Conservation Coalition.

Matthew Gianni: Papua New Guinea recently joined Fiji and Vanuatu in calling for at least a 10-year moratorium on seabed mining within their areas of national jurisdiction. In other words, within their EEZs.

Marcy: But mining companies largely seem to agree that mining within the national borders of developing nations is not the best idea.

Gerard Barron: Developing nations are challenging, you know. They’re trying to sort out so many things at once.

Marcy: That’s Gerard Barron. He was actually one of the early investors in Nautilus, but he collected on his investment early on and left to start a new company: DeepGreen. With DeepGreen, Gerard is looking away from the national waters and out into the high seas, where the United Nations’ International Seabed Authority is the only one watching over your shoulder.

Gerard: I think that the International Seabed Authority, who govern the high seas, are a far more stable and far more reliable landlord.

Marcy: With Gerard at its helm, DeepGreen is currently exploring the ocean floor between Hawaii and Mexico. They’re looking for these nodules, little clumps of metal scattered over large areas of the seabed. To get these nodules, you don’t need to smash up hydrothermal vents and you’re not impacting coastal communities. But does that mean it’s totally harmless? That’s what we’ll find out in the next episode of Mining the Deep.

Mining the Deep is hosted by me, Marcy Trent Long, and produced by Samuel Colombie in collaboration with China Dialogue. The series is mixed by Chris Wood.

Thanks to all our guests for helping us unravel this complicated issue, to Miguel Urmeneta for his voice-over, and Alex Mauboussin for his intro music, made from repurposed and recovered waste items. Additional thanks to the podcast After the Fact by Pew Charitable Trusts for providing audio from a speech by Michael Lodge. Thank you to the entire Sustainable Asia team, Bonnie and Heidi Au, Josie Chan, Crystal Wu and Jill Baxter.

APPLE PODCASTS | SPOTIFY | YOUKU