解读:何为“非法、不报告和不受管制的捕捞”

值此“世界渔业日”之际,让我们一同关注那些将日渐枯竭的鱼类种群推向灭绝的非法捕捞活动。

Frozen fish being transshipped

每年的11月21日是世界渔业日,目的是强调海洋生态系统健康和鱼类种群可持续的重要性。但我们的海洋正饱受气候变化、污染和过度捕捞的影响,健康状况不容乐观。根据联合国粮农组织(FAO)的数据,全球约33.1%的鱼类种群遭到过度捕捞,60%已达到生物上的可持续捕捞极限,只有余下的7%被认为是“未充分捕捞”。许多鱼类种群已经受到合法的过度捕捞,而非法捕捞活动给它们带来了额外的压力。与此同时,非法活动造成海洋环境退化,给科学确定鱼类种群数量带来了难度,损害了合法渔民、以及全球最脆弱地区民众的未来利益。 

什么是非法、不报告和不受管制的捕捞?

非法、不报告和不受管制的捕捞(IUU捕捞)包括所有违反渔业法律法规或在法律管辖范围之外发生的捕捞活动。

非法捕捞通常指无许可证,在禁渔区,使用违禁渔具,超配额或以受保护鱼种为目标的捕捞活动。很多时候是船只在没有捕捞许可的情况下进入一国水域,或是在有许可的情况下超配额捕捞。


另外还有一个问题是不报或瞒报渔获,持有许可证的船只这么做是为了规避配额或企图捕捞受保护的物种。

尽管全球大多数鱼获都是在沿海国家领海(距海岸线200海里)捕获的,但不受管制的捕捞活动大多发生在占地球面积45%的公海上。监管不周、执法不力,加上辽阔的海域面积,导致公海上非法和不受管制的捕捞活动猖獗。

IUU捕捞发生在哪里?

不论是浅海,还是内陆水域,甚至在最偏远的海域,IUU捕捞都无处不在。渔业管理不发达,或是监管和执法资源有限的发展中国家受IUU捕捞的影响最大。评估显示,南非和中太平洋西部的非法捕捞率最高,其次是白令海和西南大西洋。

有多少非法渔获?

目前没有关于全球IUU捕捞量的可靠数据——但专家估计,超过五分之一(22%)的到岸渔获是非法捕捞的,非洲的这一比例更是高达四分之一。据估计,IUU捕捞每年造成的渔获损失为100亿-250亿美元 

IUU捕捞造成的威胁为什么如此严峻?

IUU捕捞造成过度捕捞,妨碍鱼类种群恢复,破坏海洋环境。数千种海洋物种成为IUU捕捞的副渔获而死亡,肆意采用拖网捕捞等有害操作破坏了脆弱的海洋生境。

IUU捕捞给渔业社区的福祉造成了负面影响,特别是在发展中国家,渔业资源是那里许多人的食物、生计和收入来源。IUU捕捞加剧了贫困、严重影响粮食安全,是造成民众收入损失的主要原因。

IUU捕捞与人口贩卖毒品走私奴役等有组织犯罪,以及贪污腐败有着直接联系。 

为什么IUU捕捞存在?

钱是主要驱动因素——渔民不需要为非法渔获缴纳税款或关税。但发生IUU捕捞只是因为违法者可以逃脱惩罚,这在无法建立或有效实施渔业管制的国家最为常见。

IUU捕捞发生的条件是什么?

转运指在公海上捕捞金枪鱼等高价值鱼种的船只将渔获卸载到有冷藏设备的运输船上,也就是冷藏船上的行为。冷藏船带来食物、燃料、饵料和工人,再带走一箱箱的冷冻渔获。这种操作严格来讲是合法的,也是让船只在海上停留更长时间最具成本效益的方法。但由于船只不进港,所以很难确定渔获是否合法。 


Chinese vessels conducting an in-port transshipment.

在港口内转运的中国船只。这种形式的转运和卸载的货物应在国家渔业检查人员的监督下进行,但西非国家能力有限,又无法登船展开执法,因此监督工作往往有限©匿名

方便旗

渔船悬挂他国国旗,借此获得最低限度的管制、更低的登记费用、低税费或无税费,以及廉价劳动力。悬挂方便旗被认为是打击IUU捕捞的一大障碍。虽然这种行为不违法,但让IUU捕捞者能够隐瞒自己的作业,或规避海洋资源保护方面的国际法和责任。

35个国家拥有开放的登记制度,船主无需满足任何国籍或居住要求即可登记,其中最著名的是巴拿马。据估计,这个小国拥有全球最大的航运船队。但玻利维亚、蒙古等内陆国家也榜上有名。开放登记制度隐藏了船只的真正所有人,为避税提供了便利,导致海员面临恶劣的工作条件,并且和一些灾难性的漏油事件有关。

如何终结IUU捕捞?

目前有些已经出台或正在协商的机制试图取缔这个具有破坏性的黑市。皮尤慈善基金的“结束非法捕捞”项目概述了一项综合性计划

《港口国措施协定》于2016年6月生效,是首个禁止非法捕捞鱼类通过港口进入市场的具有约束力的国际协定。截至目前,已有62个缔约方(国家和欧盟),另有77个沿海国家尚未签署,包括渔业超级大国中国。国际社会希望中国能在明年批准该协定


联合国可持续发展目标14“水下生物”呼吁到2020年禁止某些助长过剩产能、过度捕捞、以及IUU捕捞的渔业补贴。世界贸易组织也在就渔业补贴开展谈判,力求在2019年年底前达成协议

加强监测、控制和监督正在推动全球海洋保护区的设立,各方也在努力提高海产品供应链各环节的可追溯性。船只监测系统(VMS)和自动识别系统(AIS)等技术的使用有助于发现在法律规定范围外开展捕捞活动的船只。 

消费者能做什么?

归根结底,IUU捕捞是全球海产品需求不断增长的结果,消费者在可能的情况下可以做出知情选择,为国际社会的努力添砖加瓦。选择带有值得信赖的标志的产品,比如国际“海洋管理委员会”(MSC)的标志。这些标志可以证明,您所购买的鱼捕捞过程是透明的。或者您可以利用网络资源了解哪些品种的鱼可以买,哪些不可以买。

 

翻译:YAN

Explainer: Illegal, unreported and unregulated fishing

On World Fisheries Day, we look at the illegal activity that is stretching depleted fish populations to breaking point

Frozen fish being transshipped

Transshipping frozen fish at sea (Image: Alamy)

Every year on 21 November World Fisheries Day highlights the importance of healthy ocean ecosystems and sustainable fish stocks. But our oceans are in poor health, suffering from the impacts of climate change, pollution and overfishing. Some 33.1% of the world’s fish populations are overfished, 60% are being fished to their biologically sustainable limit, with the remaining 7% considered “underfished”, according to the United Nations Food and Agriculture Organisation (FAO).

Many fish populations already overexploited by legal fishing are being squeezed even further by illegal activity. It also degrades the marine environment, harming the prospects of legal fishers and people in the poorest parts of the world. The world is waking up to the problem and devising ways to solve it.

What is IUU fishing?

Illegal, unreported and unregulated fishing (IUU) includes all fishing that breaks fisheries laws and regulations or occurs outside their reach.

Illegal fishing usually means without a licence, in an area where fishing is banned, with prohibited gear, over a quota, or for protected species. Very often it’s a vessel entering a nation’s water with no fishing licence, or fishing with a licence but catching more than is allowed.

Overfishing stats

Then there is the problem of unreported and under-reported catches by licenced vessels looking to flout quotas or catch prohibited species.

Though most of the world’s fish are caught in the national waters of coastal states – within 200 nautical miles of their shorelines – a lot of unregulated fishing occurs beyond that on the high seas which cover almost 45% of our planet. ­Patchy regulation and enforcement in this vast area allow rampant IUU.

Where does it happen?

IUU occurs everywhere, from shallow coastal or inland waters to the most remote stretches of the ocean. It particularly affects nations in the global south where fisheries management may be poorly developed, or where there are limited resources to oversee their waters or enforce regulations. West Africa and the Western Central Pacific are assessed as having the highest rates of illegal fishing, followed by the Bering Sea and the Southwest Atlantic.

How much fish is caught illegally?

There are no reliable figures on global IUU – but experts estimate that more than one in five (22%) landed fish are caught illegally, with this figure rising as high as one in four off Africa. Every year, an estimated $10-24 billion worth of fish is lost to IUU.

Why is IUU such a serious threat?

IUU contributes to the over-exploitation of fish populations, hinders their recovery and damages the marine environment. Thousands of marine species die as bycatch and delicate habitats are destroyed by the unregulated use of harmful practices like bottom-trawling.

$10-24 billion of fish is lost to IUU every year”

IUU adversely affects the wellbeing of fishing communities, especially in the global south where many people rely on fish for food and revenue. It exacerbates poverty and contributes heavily to food insecurity. It also has direct ties to organised crime including human traffickingdrug smuggling, and slavery.

Why does IUU fishing happen?

The main driver is money – fishers pay no taxes or duties on their illegal catches. But IUU only happens because offenders can get away with it. It is most common in countries unable to set up or enforce effective fisheries controls.

What enables IUU?

One major obstacle in the fight against IUU is flags of convenience – flown by foreign fishing vessels to take advantage of minimal regulation, cheap registration fees, low or no taxes and the ability to employ cheap labour. While the practice is not illegal, using a flag of convenience allows IUU fishers to conceal their operations or avoid international laws designed to conserve marine resources. Thirty-five nations have open registries where an owner doesn’t need to meet any nationality or residency requirements. The most famous is Panama – a tiny nation with the world’s largest shipping fleet (by some estimates). But land-locked countries such as Bolivia and Mongolia are also involved. Open registries conceal the true owners of a vessel; facilitate tax avoidance and appalling working conditions for seafarers; and are linked to devastating oil spills.

Chinese vessels conducting an in-port transshipment.
Chinese vessels transshipping illegally caught fish off the coast of West Africa © Anonymous

Another favourite IUU practice is transshipment – where vessels fishing in the high seas for high-value species like tuna offload their catch onto refrigerated transport vessels known as “reefers”. The reefers bring food, fuel, bait and labour and take away the catch as boxes of frozen fish. It is technically legal, and a cost-effective way for vessels to remain at sea for longer. But because the  vessels do not come into port, it is hard to determine whether the catch is legal. 

How can IUU fishing be stopped?

A number of mechanisms exist or are being negotiated over in an attempt to bring an end to this damaging black market. Pew’s Ending Illegal Fishing project offers one comprehensive plan.

The Port State Measures Agreement (PSMA) came into effect in June 2016. It is the first binding international agreement to stop illegally caught fish entering markets through ports. To date, 66 nations plus the European Union are party to the PSMA. That leaves 77 coastal nations not yet involved, including the world’s fishing superpower: it is hoped China will ratify the treaty next year.


The UN’s Sustainable Development Goal 14, “Life Below Water”, calls for the prohibition by 2020 of subsidies that contribute to overcapacity, overfishing and IUU. The World Trade Organisation, the body which negotiates on fishing subsidies, is working to reach an agreement by the end of 2019.

Better monitoring, control and surveillance is defending marine protected areas globally and there are efforts to increase the traceability of seafood throughout the supply chain. The use of technology such as vessel monitoring systems (VMS) and automatic identification systems (AIS) is helping with spotting vessels not fishing within legal limits.

What can consumers do?

Ultimately, IUU fishing is a response to the ever-increasing global appetite for seafood. Consumers can play their part alongside international efforts by making informed choices where possible. Look for trusted labels such as the international Marine Stewardship Council (MSC) which verifies your fish was caught transparently. Or use online resources to learn about which species are best to buy and which to avoid.