《深海采矿》播客:深海平原上的“淘金热”?

可持续亚洲系列播客《深海采矿》第三集剖析了国际海底金属矿石开采的正反方论点。

deep sea mining_polymetallic nodules

图片版权:Nautilus Minerals

深海热泉拥有丰富的生物多样性,其开采必然会引发争议。但除此之外,还有一种危害可能较小的海底采矿方式。位于太平洋海面以下4000米的克拉里昂-克利珀顿区是一片被称为深海平原的广阔平坦的海床,上面散落着土豆大小、富含矿物的矿石块。深绿矿业公司(DeepGreen)热衷于开采这些多金属结核,认为开采这些矿物的破坏性远小于其他地方的采矿作业,尤其是在陆地矿藏开采越来越难的情况下。但在我们尽自己所能妥善回收已有金属之前,是否真的应该开辟新的开采区域?深海采矿开始后,陆地采矿会发生什么?


收听第一集《牺牲海底值得吗?
收听第二集《巴布亚新几内亚的海底采矿教训

订阅收听系列播客:优酷 | APPLE PODCASTS | SPOTIFY
了解更多信息,请访问可持续亚洲 

嘉宾:

杰拉德·巴伦,深绿矿业
格雷戈里·斯通,深绿矿业
大卫·桑蒂略,绿色和平
马修·吉安尼,深海保护联盟
陈崇(音译),日本海洋地球科学研究所
茱莉亚·西格沃特,贝尔法斯特女王大学
邓肯·柯里,深海保护联盟

制作团队:

执行制片人兼主持人:龙美诗
监制:罗况闻
录制:克里斯·伍德
前奏/外奏音乐:亚历山大·莫贝森

录音文本:

龙美诗:欢迎来到可持续亚洲播客系列《深海采矿》,我是龙美诗。

前两集节目中,我们审视了可再生能源建设对矿物日益增长的需求,研究了深海采矿如何有可能成为一个解决办法,但也了解到破坏深海热泉等独特环境带来的风险,以及这些实验项目可能给发展中国家财政造成的负担。

在本集节目中,我们将跟随深绿(DeepGreen)矿业公司前往公海,更确切地说是前往克拉里昂-克利珀顿区。

国际海底管理局(ISA)会议:克拉里昂-克利珀顿区,有的国家称它为CCZed或者CCZ…那里可能是全球范围内海底矿物层被研究的最多的区域。

龙美诗:这是国际海底管理局2009年会议的录音,当时正在讨论一片与美国面积大小相当、位于夏威夷和墨西哥之间太平洋水域的海底区域。

ISA会议:一直以来,大多数大型矿床都是在这一区域发现的。 

龙美诗:这片区域的矿藏都集中在所谓的“结核”中。这种土豆大小的黑色岩块中富含锰、镍等矿物。矿物颗粒沉入海底,积聚在鲨鱼牙齿等硬物周围,最后形成结核。这个过程要历时数千年。因此如果海底恰好有这些结核,或许可以解决我们对矿物的需求。

杰拉德·巴伦:这片资源是大自然母亲的馈赠,恰好位于海平面以下4000米的深海平原,集中在一个区域。

龙美诗:这位是深绿矿业公司的首席执行官杰拉德·巴伦,上集节目中我们也听到了他的声音。

杰拉德:这是一份非常非常独特的资源,富含镍、钴、锰和铜,足以让我们整个运输船队的电气化程度提高4倍以上。要知道,那不是黄金,不是稀有金属,而全都是制造电池所需的基本金属。

龙美诗:我还采访了深绿矿业的首席科学家格雷戈里·斯通博士。

格雷戈里·斯通:这些基本金属,铜、镍、钴、锰——它们的原子特性…是无法取代的,真的非常特别,就像是储存和释放能量的橡皮筋。

龙美诗:格雷戈里和杰拉德显然相信这一观念,这是可以理解的。深海采矿一旦被世界接受,就能成为价值数十亿美元的产业,而深绿矿业正位于该产业的最前沿。

类似深海采矿运动这样的非政府组织已经对杰拉德·巴伦持怀疑态度。杰拉德是鹦鹉螺矿业的早期投资者,并在该公司灾难性的巴布亚新几内亚项目破产之前,全身而退。

因此,我们有必要了解这些结核对可再生能源未来的真正意义,以及深海采矿反对者的想法。下面有请我们的老朋友、绿色和平组织科学家大卫·桑蒂略博士。

大卫·桑蒂略:我认为真正的危险在于把绿色革命和海底采矿的必要性混为一谈。我们现在确实需要更多金属,各种各样不同的金属,包括过去可能没有大量使用的稀土。如果我们想推动许多国家的经济走向电子化、智能化,转向可再生能源,那么至少短期内某些矿物的需求将会增长。但问题在于:我们怎么解决这些矿物的供应问题?就没有从淘汰的产品中更好地回收金属的办法吗?我们正在制造的设备,无论是太阳能电池板,还是用于风能和车辆技术的电子设备,制造的时候难道就没有办法让它们回收效率更高,从而形成一个回收闭环吗?有些我们费尽力气从地下开采出来的矿物,目前的回收率还不到1%。

龙美诗:这是个很好的观点。既然我们每天丢弃的产品中已经有那么多镍和铜,海底采矿是否必要?

马修·吉安尼:我们整个社会都需要更好地利用已有资源。

龙美诗:这位是深海保护联盟的马修·吉安尼。

马修:直到我们从现有产品中回收深海金属的水平提高一定程度…在开始更好地利用已有资源之前,我们不应该在不了解其生态后果的情况下就开辟新的资源开发区域。

大卫:人们展望未来时,仍然把矿物视为一种不可再生资源,当然也是不可回收资源,甚至几乎是一次性资源。如果这么看待矿物,那当然陆地上所有的东西都是有限的,海底采矿同样也是有限的。所以这不能让矿物无限供应。大多数情况下,深海采矿只是希望让这些矿物的供应延长几十年而已,不能让我们摆脱现在不可持续、以后甚至更不可持续的使用方法。如果作为一种拥有聪明才智的生物,人类既然可以想到离开陆地去开采海底矿床,那我们自然也能把这种才智用于更好地保护海底,用于更好地、更智慧地利用已有的矿物。

龙美诗:我向深绿矿业的杰拉德和格雷戈里提出这个问题,问他们难道不认为我们需要努力建设循环经济,开创一个真正可持续的未来?

杰拉德:作为一个组织,我们绝对支持循环经济。循环经济意味着更多的回收利用。我经常听人说:“应该要回收,不应该开采新的东西,我们只需要回收。”好吧,很不幸,这么说只是不了解情况。因为要想回收,就需要更大的金属基数。系统中得有更多金属,然后再去鼓励回收。

格雷戈里:我们确实相信若干年内,人类能够获得足够的金属,并制定针对这些金属的回收策略。这样应该就能形成闭环。但现在还没有足够的流通量来做到这一点。

龙美诗:没错,以铜为例,目前铜的回收率超过80%,但它的需求非常大,所有再生铜加起来只能满足人类需求的三分之一。因此只有我们的生产和回收系统中有更多的铜时,才能形成闭环。但如果不能尽快形成闭环,那么在这期间开启一个全新的采掘业是否值得?

感谢赞助商

龙美诗:2016年悉尼科技大学的研究人员研究了经济上可供开采的陆地矿物数量,他们总结道:“可以在不开采深海的情况下实现向100%可再生能源供应过渡。”我把研究结果摆在了格雷戈里的面前。

格雷戈里:没错。但你必须考虑这些金属的所在地。人们首先开采高品级矿石,然后据我了解,我们已经开始转向较低品级的陆地矿。镍也同样,一些,或者说很多镍矿石都藏在热带雨林的地下,所以得考虑金属矿床地面上的情况。对,如果你想继续挖,继续开采陆地矿藏,确实可以这样做,没错。

龙美诗:所以,如果我们想让回收系统中有足够的基础材料,从而形成循环经济,真正的问题不是我们是否需要开采海床,而是在于与陆地开采相比,我们是否更倾向于海底开采。这是问题的关键。每个支持深海采矿的人都会告诉你:这是最佳选择。

杰拉德:要让一个新的行业发展下去,挑战在于:如何判断你所做的与已知替代选择之间孰优孰劣。现在已知的替代选择是陆地采矿,这是我们都能看到的。所以当我们试图为海洋结核正名的时候,问题是:它是否更好。事实是我们不需要采取陆地采矿那一套,不用爆破、钻井,不用修建讨人厌的尾矿池。

龙美诗:这里解释一下,尾矿是指矿物从矿石中分离后的残余物。陆地采矿的尾矿通常是由氰化物或其他酸构成的有毒液体。

杰拉德:可以理解人们为什么忧虑。一觉醒来听说巴布亚新几内亚的尾矿坝泄漏了,或者巴西的村庄因为尾矿坍塌被夷为平地,大家对采矿业是有怀疑的。

格雷戈里:深海采矿没有这个,没有尾矿。只需要把矿石捡起来,处理一下,我认为这是获取金属的方法中,对地球最友好的方式了。

龙美诗:所以是完全无害的对吗?我知道我们没有毁坏海底热泉,例如失落之城或者鳞角腹足蜗牛的那些。这些就是结核,含有矿物的岩石,可以捞起来…

马修:他们基本上发现,此前人们认为,或以为的一个由岩石和泥浆组成的广阔的深海平原,以及这些含有钴、镍、镁、铜的所谓多金属结核,它们实际上是生物多样性较高的生态系统。

龙美诗:所以这些结核上面或之间生活着动物?为了了解更多信息,我咨询了研究鳞角腹足蜗牛的深海生物学家陈崇。

陈崇:我们发现了新的海绵和软体动物物种。有一些非常罕见的软体动物,叫单板类动物,它们非常喜欢结核,基本上只生活在那上面。许多物种只在结核上发现过。然后还有小的物种…都不大。它们和海底热泉发现的大动物不一样,因为结核不产生能量。但会有很多类似蠕虫、蜗牛、虫戚、海绵这样的小生物,它们只生活在结核上。

龙美诗:所以在海底热泉,就会有螃蟹、海虫这样的大型物种聚集在热泉系统周围…

茱莉亚·西格沃特:类似结核区这样的生物生存环境在海底更加普遍。

龙美诗:这位是茱莉亚·西格沃特,陈崇的研究伙伴

茱莉亚:研究结核区的生物多样性、动物种类、数量以及物种范围,确实更加困难…我们对结核区生物多样性的了解很少,但这不意味着生物多样性不存在或没有价值,只是说分散在更大的区域内。

龙美诗:尽管生活在那里的动物很分散,但结核开采活动的规模之大,仍会对它们的生存构成很高的风险。

马修:如果你在其中一个区域开展采矿作业,并且按照ISA确定的目标生产水平去操作,也就是每年300万吨左右的结核…采矿作业的合同期一般是25到30年,这会直接影响8000到1万平方公里的海底,并有一万到几万平方公里的海底连带受到影响。

龙美诗:但是深绿矿业的杰拉德说,我们看问题的角度错了。他问我:“哪个更好,陆地采矿还是海洋采矿?”…

杰拉德:拿到一个问题,回答的时候不能只盯着一个简单的方面。所以我们认为有必要对整个生命周期进行分析,从头到尾,多方面观察。

龙美诗:杰拉德和他的团队研究了七个方面的潜在损害,比如生物多样性丧失、碳释放量,他们比较了两种采矿方法的结果,发现总体而言陆地采矿比海底采矿更糟糕。 

杰拉德:很多人,尤其是非政府组织的成员特别喜欢很武断地得出一些假设,因为他们不会看这七个方面,只会盯着自己那个方面。而且我认为一个负责任的地球公民不应该这样做,你得从完整的生态系统角度来看待问题。

龙美诗:但有一个关键问题:现在我们已经有陆地采矿了,那如果我们开始深海采矿了,陆地上会停止吗?

邓肯·柯里:这不是一个 “要么陆地、要么海里”的简单问题。

龙美诗:这位是深海保护联盟的环保律师邓肯·柯里。

邓肯:因为现实情况是,几乎可以肯定的是,有了海底采矿,你也会双管齐下,陆上采矿和深海采矿两不误。所以问题来了:开启海底采矿不就是在破坏一个全新的环境领域吗?

龙美诗:马修·吉安尼同意这个观点。

马修:你不能保证,比如说在深海开采钴,陆地上破坏最大的采矿作业就会因此关闭。相反的,情况可能会更糟。那些试图改善人权和用工标准、改善自身环境表现的陆地采矿作业,可能会为了和价格更低的深海矿物竞争,最终削减这方面的投资。他们可能会决定削减成本,忽视或者以其他方式限制或削弱环境法规、童工标准等等。

龙美诗:这听起来确实是个需要先解决的问题。如果知道海底采矿会让陆地采矿更糟糕,那我们当然不能允许开启海底采矿。

但我们有机会选择正确的方式。目前国际海底管理局的成员国正在协商建立一套海底采矿规则,即《采矿守则》,其中甚至包括为依赖陆地采矿的国家提供补偿的条款。我们这次可以做一些正确的事,对吗?科学家和环保组织非常、非常担心国际海底管理局的工作方式。

马修:大家越来越多地认识到世界还没有准备好开始深海采矿,也非常担心ISA,以其目前的章程、结构和决策过程,会在没有征得国际社会完全同意,或者在我们还没有能力决定深海采矿是否是个好主意,以及我们作出知情决定前需要了解多少信息之前,就把全球拉入深海采矿。

龙美诗:《深海采矿》最后一集播客将为我们带来:国际海底管理局正在干什么?我们是否有机会在大规模海底采矿开始前把问题理顺?

 

《深海采矿》由龙美诗主持,罗况闻与中外对话联合制作,克里斯·伍德合成。

感谢所有嘉宾为我们揭开这个复杂的问题,感谢Miguel Urmeneta的旁白,感谢亚历山大·莫贝森提供的前奏音乐,弹奏这些音乐的乐器均由回收废弃物制作。还要感谢美国皮尤慈善信托基金会《事实之后》播客提供了迈克尔·洛奇的演讲音频。感谢“可持续亚洲”团队所有成员,Bonnie和Heidi Au,Josie Chan, Crystal Wu 和Jill Baxter。

 

订阅收听系列播客:优酷 | APPLE PODCASTS | SPOTIFY

 

翻译:YAN

Podcast: Rich pickings on the abyssal plain?

Episode three of Mining the Deep by Sustainable Asia dissects the persuasive arguments for and against raking metallic rocks off the international seabed

polymetallic nodule found on the abyssal plain

A polymetallic nodule (Image © Nautilus Minerals)

While digging up hydrothermal vents is understandably controversial due to their rich biodiversity, there is another method of mining the seabed that may be less harmful. Four thousand metres under the Pacific ocean in the Clarion Clipperton Zone, the vast, flat seafloor known as the abyssal plain is littered with potato-sized lumps of rock rich in minerals. Mining company DeepGreen is keen to start harvesting these “polymetallic nodules”. They argue that doing so will be far less destructive than mining practices elsewhere, especially on land where minerals are increasingly hard to reach. But should we really be opening up a whole new area of exploitation before we’ve done everything we can to properly recycle the metals we already have? And what of land-based mines – what will happen to them once mining begins on the ocean floor?


Find the series on APPLE PODCASTS | SPOTIFY | YOUKU
Find out more on Sustainable Asia.

More episodes:

Episode One
Episode Two 

Guests:

Gerard Barron, DeepGreen
Gregory Stone, DeepGreen
David Santillo, Greenpeace
Matthew Gianni, Deep Sea Conservation Coalition
Chong Chen, Japan Agency for Marine-Earth Science and Technology
Julia Sigwart, Queen’s University, Belfast
Duncan Currie, Deep Sea Conservation Coalition

Production credits:

Executive producer and host: Marcy Trent Long
Producer: Samuel Colombie
Sound engineer: Chris Wood
Intro/outro music: Alex Mauboussin

Transcript:

Marcy Trent Long: Welcome to Mining the Deep, a podcast series by Sustainable Asia. My name is Marcy Trent Long.

In the previous two episodes, we looked at the growing need for minerals to build our renewable energy sources. We saw how deep-seabed mining might offer a solution, but we also learned about the risks of destroying unique habitats like hydrothermal vents and the financial burden these experimental ventures can have on developing nations.

In this episode, we’ll follow mining company DeepGreen out to the open ocean, more specifically to the Clarion Clipperton Zone.

International Seabed Authority (ISA) meeting: The Clarion Clipperton Zone, or the CCZed or the CCZee, depending upon your nationality… It’s probably the most studied area for these seabed deposits in the world.

Marcy: This is a recording from a 2009 meeting by the International Seabed Authority. They’re discussing an area of seabed the size of the United States, stretched out in the Pacific waters between Hawaii and Mexico.

ISA meeting: And it is in this area that most of the large deposits have been found over time.

Marcy: The mineral deposits in this area are concentrated in what’s known as “nodules”. Potato-sized lumps of black rock full of manganese, nickel and other minerals. They form over thousands of years, when mineral particles sink to the bottom of the ocean and accumulate around a hard object like a shark’s tooth. So if they’re just there, lying on the seafloor, maybe they could solve our demand for minerals.

Gerard Barron: It’s a resource made by Mother Nature that just happens to sit on the abyssal plain 4,000 metres below sea level, in one concentrated area.

Marcy: This is Gerard Barron. We’ve heard him in episode two as well. He’s the CEO of mining company DeepGreen.

Gerard: This is a very, very unique resource with enough nickel and cobalt, and manganese and copper, to electrify our entire transport fleet four times over. You know, it’s not full of gold, it’s not full of precious metals, it’s full of base metals that we need to build batteries.

Marcy: I also spoke with Dr Gregory Stone, the chief scientist at DeepGreen.

Gregory Stone: These base metals, the copper, the nickel, the cobalt, the manganese – the atomic properties of these metals… we can’t replace that. They’re really quite extraordinary. They’re like rubber bands that store energy and release it.

Marcy: Gregory and Gerard are clearly sold on the concept. And that’s understandable. If the world accepts deep-seabed mining, this could become a multi-billion dollar industry, with DeepGreen at the forefront.

NGOs like Deep Sea Mining Campaign are already suspicious of Gerard Barron, an early investor in Nautilus, who cashed out of the disastrous Papua New Guinea project before it fell apart.

So it’s worth trying to understand what these nodules really mean for our renewable energy future and what opponents of deep-seabed mining think. Here’s Dr David Santillo, the Greenpeace scientist we’ve heard previously.

David Santillo: I think that there’s a real danger in conflating the green revolution with a need inevitably to mine the seabed. It’s true that we’re using a lot more metals now, and quite a range of different metals, including those rare earths that we perhaps weren’t using anything like as extensively in the past; and that if we move towards an increasingly electronics-based economy in lots of countries, smart technologies, if we’re moving towards renewable energy, that the demands for some of those minerals are going to increase, at least in the short term. But the question is really: what can we do about the supplies of those? Are there not ways in which we can better recover those metals in obsolete products, and make sure that we’re building these devices, whether they’re solar panels, electronics for wind energy, for vehicle technology, can we not build them in ways in which we can actually close the loop much more effectively on recycling? Some of those minerals that we go to such lengths to get out from resources on land, they’re recycled at the moment less than 1%.

Marcy: That’s a good point. Do we even need to mine the seabed if we already have so much nickel and copper in the products we throw away every day?

Matthew Gianni: We need as a society to make much better use of the resources that we have.

Marcy: Matthew Gianni, from Deep Sea Conservation Coalition.

Matthew: And until we get up to a level where we’re recycling the kinds of metals that are found in the deep ocean in the products we’re using today… We shouldn’t be opening up a whole new area of resource exploitation, with unknown ecological consequences, before we start making better use of what we already have.

David: When people look into the future, they see minerals still as a non-renewable resource, of course, but also as a non-recyclable resource, almost as a single-use resource. And if we look at it in that way, then of course, you’re looking at something which is finite on land, and equally is going to be finite if we mine the seabed. So this is not a solution to an unending supply of minerals. In most cases, it’s just going to look to extend the supplies of these minerals by a few decades. But it doesn’t break us out of that same approach of unsustainable use, and perhaps, even greater unsustainable use in the future. And if we’ve got the ingenuity as a species to even consider going out and mining the seafloor, surely we can put that ingenuity to better use to protect the seabed and to make much better use, and much smarter use, of the minerals that we have already.

Marcy: I put that question to Gerard and Gregory of DeepGreen. Do they not agree that for a truly sustainable future, we need to work towards a circular economy?

Gerard: As an organisation, we’re big believers in the circular economy. The circular economy is all about moving towards more recycling. And I often hear people say: “Recycling should take the place, we shouldn’t need to mine anything new, we should just recycle.” Well, you know, that’s just, unfortunately, an uninformed position. Because to allow recycling, you need a bigger base load of metals. You need to be able to have more metals in the system, and then you need to encourage recycling.

Gregory: We do believe that in some number of years, it’s possible to acquire enough metal with a corresponding recycling strategy for those metals, that we should be able to close that loop. But we simply don’t have enough in circulation right now to do that.

Marcy: That’s true, take copper for instance. More than 80% of copper is currently recycled, but the demand for copper is so high that all the recycled copper amounts to just a third of what we need. So only when we have more copper in our production and recycling systems will we be able to close the loop. But, if we can close the loop in the near future, is it even worth it to start up a whole new extractive industry in the meantime?

Break to thank sponsors.

Marcy: In 2016, researchers at the University of Technology, Sydney looked at the quantity of minerals that is economically available to mine on land, and they concluded: “A transition towards a 100% renewable energy supply can take place without deep-seabed mining.” I put those results to Gregory.

Gregory: That’s true. But you have to think about where that metal is. All the high-grade ore sites, people go there first. And we’ve already started to move down, I’m told, to lower-grade terrestrial ores. And also nickel, some, or much, or a lot of that is found beneath tropical rainforest. So you want to think about where that metal is going to come from that is in the ground. But yes, if you want to just keep digging, and going for the terrestrial deposits, you can keep doing that. That’s true.

Marcy: So, if we want to get enough base materials in the system to achieve a circular economy, it’s not really a question of whether we need to be mining the seabed, but whether we prefer it over mining on land. And this is the key argument. You’ll hear it from everyone who supports deep-seabed mining: it’s the best option.

Gerard: The challenge when you getting a new industry going is: how do you benchmark what you’re doing versus what the known alternatives are? And the known alternatives, of course, are what’s happening on land. And that’s there for all of us to see. And so the question when we’re trying to build the case for ocean nodules is: is it better? The fact is, we don’t have to do any of the things that are normally associated with land-based mining. We don’t have to blast and drill and create nasty tailings ponds.

Marcy: Tailings, by the way, is what’s left over after the minerals have been separated from the ore. In land-based mining, they’re usually toxic lakes of cyanide or other acids.

Gerard: You can understand why people are anxious. You know, when you wake up in the morning and you realise there’s been a tailings dam spill in Papua New Guinea, or villages have been wiped out in Brazil due to tailings collapse. You know, people are suspicious of the mining industry.

Gregory: You don’t have that with this. You don’t have tailings. You have these rocks that you pick up, and you process them. I see it as the most earth-friendly way to get these metals.

Marcy: So it’s completely harmless then, right? I know we’re not tearing down hydrothermal vents here, like the Lost City or the ones with the scaly-foot snail. These are just nodules, rocks with a bunch of minerals in them, that we can scoop up…

Matthew: They’re basically finding that what heretofore had been considered, or thought of, as a very large area of deep abyssal plain that consisted of rocks and mud and these so-called polymetallic nodules with metals such as cobalt, nickel, magnesium and copper in them, are actually ecosystems of relatively high biodiversity.

Marcy: So animals live on and among these nodules? To find out more, I asked Chong Chen, the deep-sea biologist who studies the scaly-foot snail.

Chong Chen: So we have new species of sponges and also molluscs. There are these very rare molluscs called monoplacophorans that love the nodules, and they will basically occur only on the nodules. Many species have only ever been found on the nodules. And then you have small species of… So, they’re not big. They’re not big animals like the hydrothermal vent ones, because there’s no energy production. But you have many, many small species like worms, snails, limpets and sponges, that live on these nodules and nowhere else.

Marcy: So whereas in hydrothermal vents you get large species like crabs and sea worms all grouped together around the vent system…

Julia Sigwart: Habitats like nodule fields are much more widespread.

Marcy: That’s Julia Sigwart, Chong’s research partner.

Julia: They’re much more difficult to study, in terms of the biodiversity, what’s there, how abundant the animals are, what the ranges of the species that live there [are]… We actually know much less about the biodiversity in nodule fields. That doesn’t mean the biodiversity isn’t there and isn’t valuable, it just means that it’s spread out over a bigger area.

Marcy: And even though the animals that live there are so spread out, the nodule mining still poses a high risk to their survival because of the scale of this activity.

Matthew: If you put a mining operation into one of these areas, and the mining occurs at the level [of] the target production levels established by the ISA, the International Seabed Authority, which is roughly three million tonnes of nodules per year… A typical mining operation over the course of a 25 to 30-year contract would directly impact somewhere between 8 and 10 thousand square kilometres of ocean bottom, and have a knock-on impact of another 10 or several tens of thousands of ocean bottom.

Marcy: But Gerard of DeepGreen says we’re looking at this all wrong. When asking the question: “What’s better, mining on land or in the ocean?”…

Gerard: You can’t look at that question and answer by looking at one simple area. And so we decided that it was necessary to do a full lifecycle analysis, from cradle to gate, looking at a multitude of areas.

Marcy: So what Gerard and his team did was to look at seven areas of potential damage. Things like biodiversity loss, but also the amount of carbon it would release. They compared the results for both mining methods, and found that, on the whole, land-based mining would be worse than seabed mining.

Gerard: There’s a lot of assumptions that people, especially NGO people, like to jump to. And that’s because they don’t look at these seven areas, they look at their area. And, you know, as responsible citizens of the planet, I think you can’t afford to do that. You have to look at this from a complete ecosystem perspective.

Marcy: But there’s one key problem with this: right now, we already have land-based mining. So is that just going to stop when we start mining the ocean?

Duncan Currie: It’s not simply a question of: do you take the minerals from land or from sea?

Marcy: Duncan Currie, an environmental lawyer with Deep Sea Conservation Coalition.

Duncan: Because the reality is, if you have seabed mining, you’re going to be almost certainly using both. Minerals are going to continue to be produced from land as well as from the deep ocean. And therefore, the question arises: are you not opening up a whole new area of environmental damage by starting seabed mining?

Marcy: Matthew Gianni agrees.

Matthew: There’s no guarantee that even if you were to mine, say cobalt, in the deep ocean, that the worst of the terrestrial mining operations would shut down as a result. To the contrary, they may even get worse, in the sense that terrestrial mining operations that are trying to improve their human rights and labour standards, trying to improve their environmental performance, might end up cutting back on investments in these sorts of things if they had to compete with cheaper metals coming out of the deep oceans. You know, they might decide to cut costs and ignore, or otherwise work to limit or reduce, environmental regulations and rules, or child labour standards, or whatever.

Marcy: This sounds like something that really needs to be worked out first. Surely we cannot allow seabed mining to start if we know it will make land-based mining even worse.

But we have a chance to do this right. Right now at the International Seabed Authority, member states are negotiating a set of rules for seabed mining. It’s called the Mining Code, and it even includes provisions on compensating countries that depend on land-based mining. We might do something properly this time, right? Well… scientists and environmental groups are very, very concerned about the way the International Seabed Authority works.

Matthew: There’s a growing recognition that the world isn’t ready to start doing this, and a real worry that the ISA, because of its bylaws and the structure and the decision-making process that’s in play at the moment, will drag the world into deep-seabed mining without the full consent of the international community as a whole, or the ability for all of us to collectively decide whether this is a good idea or not, and how much more information we need before we can make informed decisions.

Marcy: In the last episode of Mining the Deep: what’s going on at the International Seabed Authority, and do we have a chance to set things straight before large-scale seabed mining really takes off?

Mining the Deep is hosted by me, Marcy Trent Long, and produced by Samuel Colombie, in collaboration with China Dialogue. The series is mixed by Chris Wood.

Thanks to all our guests for helping us unravel this complicated issue, to Miguel Urmeneta for his voice-over, and Alexander Mauboussin for his intro music, made from repurposed and recovered waste items. Additional thanks to the podcast “After the Fact” by Pew Charitable Trusts, for providing audio from a speech by Michael Lodge. Thank you to the entire Sustainable Asia team, Bonnie and Heidi Au, Josie Chan, Crystal Wu and Jill Baxter.

 

APPLE PODCASTS | SPOTIFY | YOUKU