过度捕捞下的海参危机

海参贸易的故事说明当某种产品的需求远超其供应时会发生什么,迈克尔•法宾依和凯特•巴克雷写道。

海参

海参在中国已经有数百年的食用历史,在一些市场上可以卖到每公斤600美元(3765元人民币)。图片来源: treetstreet/Thinkstock

海参在中国已经有数百年的食用历史。活海参发挥着 重要的生态作用 ,包括重新分配海底的沉积物。

海参在传统中医典籍中早有记载,被当作治疗肾亏和阳痿的药材。如今,它们仍被普遍用作养生品,有时也以“海参酒 ”或香皂等新的产品形态出现。海参还经常与鲍鱼、鱼肚、龙虾和石斑等其他海味一起出现在豪华宴会上。

日本刺参在中国北方地区备受青睐。这种海参在山东和辽宁两省大量养殖,但在中国以及日本、俄罗斯、朝鲜和韩国等邻国也能捕获野生的。

海参价格因质量而异,在一些市场上可以卖到每公斤600美元(3765元人民币)。而在中国南方,海参的种类更加广泛,包括五花八门的热带品种,如沙参、白乳参和黑乳参。

消费量猛增

1978年中国改革开放之后,海鲜消费量和贸易量不断增加。据估计,到2030年,中国的食用鱼消费量将占世界总量的约38%

尽管中国的人均海鲜消费量仍然比某些国家(如日本)低,但中国的人口规模决定了这样的增长将产生广泛的环境、经济和社会影响。

尽管对华海鲜贸易增长给低收入地区生产者的生计带来重要助益,但很多海鲜种类已经遭到过量捕捞,而在这些复杂的供应链上也很难保证可追溯性。

海参就是一个典型例子,体现了中国迅速增长的海鲜贸易和消费所带来的挑战。

濒危的底栖者

中国海鲜消费的快速增长直接反映为海鲜贸易的剧增。

埃里克森及其同事的研究表明,从1996年到2011年,中国海参进口的供应国从35个增加到83个。香港的海参进口来源国如今覆盖了世界90%的热带海岸线,而其中很大一部分都卖到了中国大陆。资金流通过整个供应链将中国进口商与每个捕捞者联在一起。

迅速增长的海参贸易对海参的生存状况产生了负面影响。

出口至香港的海参数量增长 (1995年至2011年)
出口至香港的海参数量增长 (1995年至2011年)。资料来源:Frontiers in Ecology and the Environment;埃里克森

图: 杜偉倫博士/ 世界自然基金會香港分會

全球至少38%的海参渔场被过度捕捞。在世界自然保护联盟的红色名录中,7种海参被列为濒危,另外9种被列为易危。由于过度捕捞,21个国家已经或计划禁止海参捕捞。

比如,为了满足中国不断增长的需求,上世纪八十年代以来巴布亚新几内亚的海参捕捞业迅速扩张。在上世纪九十年代和二十一世纪头十年的高潮期,巴布亚新几内亚一度成为世界最大的海参生产国之一。尽管该国设置了捕捞配额,但不幸的是并未对海参业起到有效的规范,从而导致过度捕捞现象普遍。

巴布亚新几内亚一度成为世界最大的海参生产国之一。
在上世纪九十年代的高潮期,巴布亚新几内亚一度成为世界最大的海参生产国之一。图片来源:byakkaya/Thinkstock

2009年,该国下令暂停海参出口,直到2017年才取消这项禁令。

尽管海参贸易给当地人带来了显著的经济效益,但在很多情况下这些效益都是暂时的,当地人的生计并未因此而得到普遍改善。由于大多数收入都到了年轻人手中,大量的钱被用于享乐和买酒。只有很少的巴布亚新几内亚人能够通过参与海参贸易和销售,提升自己在“价值链”上的位置。

亟待解决

正在被分类的海参
正在被分类的海参 (图片来源: Michael Fabinyi)

要完善海参和其他高价值海鲜的对华出口的治理,有很多挑战。

传统渔业管理方式通常都是在生产现场进行管制,但对于海参捕捞,巨大的市场需求可以压倒任何旨在保护可持续性的当地制度。

而在需求端,已经有了认证和生态标签等以市场为基础的工具,旨在通过施加市场压力,促进“有利于环境可持续性”的海鲜生产,让消费者和贸易商等市场主体参与贸易治理。

然而,目前中国对“有利于环境可持续性”的海鲜的需求并不广泛。有一种强烈的观念认为,环境监管是政府的事情,与市场无关。最重要的是,要想提升中国所消费的海鲜的环境可持续性,这些海鲜就应该具有“可追溯性”。

所谓可追溯性,指的是能够追踪海鲜来自何处。这是大多数可持续性行动的一个基本前提。但是,尤其值得一提的是,目前存在的“灰色贸易”使得中国海鲜的可追溯性低下。所谓灰色贸易,就是通过香港和越南等附近的贸易中心将海鲜产品暗地里运到中国大陆,以逃避进口关税。

尽管中国的自贸协议越签越多,但灰色贸易仍然是很多海参和其他高级海鲜进入中国的一个普遍途径,这大大降低了海鲜的可追溯性。

但是,中国政府针对灰色进口贸易的执法行动正日益趋紧,高调查处了几批海鲜并惩处了海鲜贸易商。此举可能与中国公众和政府都极其关心的食品安全有关,而提升可追溯性是食品安全管理的核心。

从更大的背景来看,这也可能是习近平政府的宏伟反腐计划的一部分。宴请费用的压缩已经让高级海鲜产业受到打击。长远来看,要想更好地管理海参等具有经济和生态重要性的海鲜的对华贸易,这样的广泛治理行动可能是最为关键的。

翻译:奇芳

Sea cucumber trade threatens several species

From Indonesia to Papua New Guinea, demand is pushing fisheries to collapse and driving production to new areas

Sea cucumber

In China, sea cucumbers are considered a luxury food and are used to treat kidney problems and impotence. Some species can sell for more than US$600 per kilogramme or 3,765 yuan (Photo: treetstreet/Thinkstock)

Sea cucumbers, widely known by the name for their dried form, bêche-de-mer, are animals that have been harvested for consumption in China for centuries. They play important ecological roles including redistributing sediments on the ocean floor.

They have been documented in handbooks of traditional Chinese medicine, and are regarded as treatments for kidney problems and for impotence. They are still commonly consumed for health reasons, sometimes featuring in new product forms such as “Holothurian wine” or soap.

They are also commonly eaten as a luxury food item at banquets alongside other seafood delicacies including abalone, fish maw, lobster and reef fish.

In northern China, the Japanese spiky sea cucumber (Apostichopus japonicus) is preferred. This species is farmed heavily in Shandong and Liaoning provinces in the northeast, but is also wild-caught in China and neighbouring countries such as Japan, Russia and the Koreas.

Depending on the quality, this species can sell for more than US$600 per kilogramme (3,765 yuan) in some markets. While in southern China, a greater diversity of sea cucumbers are consumed, including a wide range of tropical species such as sandfish, white teatfish and black teatfish.

Growing appetite

Since China’s economic reforms began in 1978, seafood consumption and trade have expanded accordingly. By 2030, it is estimated that China will account for approximately 38% of all global consumption of fish.

Although Chinese per capita consumption remains lower than in some other countries (e.g. Japan), the size of China’s population means that the environmental, economic and social implications of such an increase in consumption are wide-reaching.

While increased seafood trade to China has provided important livelihood benefits for producers in low-income contexts, overfishing of many species has taken place. Ensuring traceability of these complex supply chains is difficult.

The case of sea cucumbers provides an illustrative example of the challenges posed by rapidly growing seafood trade and consumption in China.

Endangered species

The rapid expansion of seafood consumption in China is reflected in the significant increase in trade to China.

Between 1996 and 2011, the number of countries supplying the Chinese sea cucumber market expanded from 35 to 83. Over 90% of the world’s tropical coastline now lies within countries that export sea cucumbers to Hong Kong, a large proportion of which are traded on to mainland China.

In many cases, finance extends from importers in China all the way through the supply chain to individual catchers.

This rapid increase in trade has had negative impacts for the status of sea cucumbers.

How the seas cucumber trade to China has built up over time

Countries that export sea cucumbers to Hong Kong

Countries that export sea cucumbers to Hong Kong. Credit: Frontiers in Ecology and the Environment; Eriksson, Andrew (University of Wollongong); Osterblom, Crona, Troell (Stockholm University).

Source: Dr Allen To, WWF Hong Kong

 

Globally, at least 38% of sea cucumber fisheries are overfished.

Under the International Union for Conservation of Nature’s Red List, seven species of sea cucumbers are listed as Endangered, while a further nine are listed as Vulnerable. Twenty-four countries have closed, or attempted to close their sea cucumber fisheries due to overfishing.

In Papua New Guinea, for example, the sea cucumber fishery expanded rapidly in response to growing Chinese demand in the 1980s. Throughout the 1990s and early 2000s it boomed, and Papua New Guinea became one of the biggest producers of sea cucumbers in the world.

Catch quotas were instituted, but unfortunately these were unable to successfully regulate the fishery, and widespread overfishing took place.

In the 1990s, global trade in sea cucumber boomed with Papua New Guinea becoming one of the biggest producers (Photo: byakkaya/Thinkstock)

A moratorium on exports was implemented in 2009, lifted only in 2017.

While the trade had provided significant economic benefits to local households, in many cases these economic benefits were short-lived and did not translate into more broad-based forms of livelihood improvement.

Because most of the earnings went to young men, there were accounts of money being spent on entertainment and alcohol, and few Papua New Guineans were able to participate in business and trading further up the “value chain”.

Solutions needed

There are many challenges to improving the governance of sea cucumber fisheries and other high-value seafood exports to China.

Conventional forms of fisheries management have typically implemented regulations at the site of production. Yet in cases such as sea cucumber fisheries, the strength of market demand simply overwhelms any local institutions working to promote sustainability.

At the demand end, market-based tools such as certification and eco-labels have been developed as a way for consumers and traders to participate in governing the trade through exerting market pressure for environmentally sustainable seafood.

Yet in China, demand for environmentally sustainable seafood is not currently widespread, and there is a strong perception that environmental regulation is the business of government, not markets.

Most importantly, any initiatives to improve the environmental sustainability of seafood consumed within China will suffer from the widespread problems of traceability.

Sea cucumbers are sorted in a Hong Kong market (Photo: Michael Fabinyi)

Traceability, being able to track where seafood has come from, is a fundamental precondition for most sustainability initiatives.

In particular, the so-called “grey trade” has contributed much to the problems of poor seafood traceability within China. This involves the clandestine transportation of seafood products into mainland China via nearby trading hubs, chiefly Hong Kong and Vietnam, in order to avoid paying import tariffs.

While China is signing up to greater numbers of free trade deals, the grey trade remains a common route for sea cucumbers and other luxury seafood imported into China, which dramatically reduces traceability.

However, the appetite for the government to strictly enforce import laws on the grey trade appears to be increasing, with several high-profile seizures of seafood and prosecutions of seafood traders.

This may be linked to the fact that improved traceability is also central for food safety regulation, something that is of extremely high concern among the public and that the government is keen to work on.

More generally, it may also form part of the Xi administration’s broader agenda to crack down on corruption, something that has already negatively impacted the luxury seafood sector through reduced spending on banquets.

These sorts of wider governance initiatives may in the long-term prove crucial for the improved management of economically and ecologically important fisheries traded to China – of which sea cucumbers are just one.