鱼粉加工厂威胁冈比亚粮食安全

鱼粉厂带来的过度捕捞和环境污染给冈比亚旅游业造成了负面影响,因此尽管面临更多的就业机会,当地民众对这些外资工厂的抵制情绪日渐增多。

加工厂未经处理的废水把淡水泻湖染成了红色。图片来源:市场发展基金会

三个鱼粉加工厂的建立,让冈比亚西南沿岸地区原本宁静的社区变得分崩离析。

起初,不少当地人认为新产业能够带来急需的工作岗位,村里的老人也对厂方愿意出资修建道路和市场的承诺满心欢迎。但是慢慢地,这些工厂未经处理排放污水的做法让当地环保组织越来越担心。不少年轻人发起示威并与工厂支持者发生冲突,几名抗议者也因此被捕。

2018年7月,苏莱曼·博扬和4名年轻人参与抗议位于贡朱尔的Golden Lead鱼粉厂,并因此未经起诉而被捕。他说:“因为我参与了这个行动,我的家人已经抛弃我了。我妈妈现在也不像以前那样经常跟我说话了,因为她觉得我不听她的话。”

如今,越来越多的当地人开始响应环保人士的号召,要求关闭这三家鱼粉加工厂。鱼粉是用野生渔获粉碎烘干制成的,主要用于喂养价值更高的养殖鱼。人们担心,工厂带来的过度捕捞会耗尽这里的鱼类资源,而这是冈比亚人重要的蛋白质和生计来源。

鱼粉加工厂抬高当地鱼价

成群的当地妇女拿着塑料盆站在岸边,等待渔船靠岸后清洗渔获。而站在一旁的渔夫阿桑·恩东却说:“现在有时一周都打不到什么鱼。”

然而恩东所在的贡朱尔村庄海滩上却常常到处都是腐烂的鱼:渔民毫无节制地捕鱼,以为可以都卖给鱼粉厂,但他们经常捕得太多了,超过了加工厂的处理能力,所以只能倒掉。沙滩上到处都是被海浪冲上岸的腐烂死鱼。

恩东和其他一些当地人越来越觉得这几家新建的鱼粉加工厂是导致他们渔获日渐减少的罪魁祸首。2016年9月,Golden Lead成为第一家落户贡朱尔的工厂。随后,又有两家中资控股的鱼粉厂落户萨尼扬村和卡尔通村。这两个渔村都位于冈比亚西南沿海30公里长的海岸线上。


像恩东这样的传统手工渔民发现,他们一方面无法与机械化拖网渔船竞争。另一方面,工厂还用现金收买一些渔民,让他们优先为鱼粉加工厂供货。传统手工渔民自然也不是他们的对手。这些拖网渔船和预付渔船大多来自邻国塞内加尔和几内亚比绍。他们以邦加鱼和小沙丁鱼等中上层小型鱼类为目标,而这也是冈比亚富含生物多样性水域中的传统主产鱼类。

“一艘本地渔船一天可以捕100篮鱼,而一艘拖网渔船最多可以捕1000篮,”恩东说道,“如果这种不可持续的捕鱼方法继续下去,我们的鱼类资源肯定会耗尽。”

冈比亚是非洲面积最小的国家,四周被塞内加尔包围,同名的冈比亚河环绕边境缓缓流过。随着非洲西北海岸鱼粉与鱼油(FMFO)产业的快速发展,冈比亚也已经成为了这个行业的一个全球枢纽。冈比亚的鱼油鱼粉产品主要出口到中国,而且中国是蓬勃发展的水产养殖市场中份额最大的国家。另外,鱼油鱼粉还可以作为动物饲料。

最近,国际绿色和平组织和市场发展基金会两家国际非政府组织进行的两项独立调查警告称,冈比亚的鱼粉鱼油的生产规模是不可持续的,如果不加遏制,很有可能威胁该国的粮食安全。

绿色和平(非洲)今年6月曾发布了一份题为《鱼类浪费》(A Waste of Fish)的报告,考察了毛里塔尼亚、塞内加尔和冈比亚等国的鱼粉加工行业。近些年来,上述国家共成立了50家鱼粉加工厂。据估计,每生产1公斤鱼粉要耗费4到5公斤的鲜鱼。

报告强调了联合国粮农组织的建议,呼吁尽快减少次区域内邦加鱼和小沙丁鱼的捕捞强度,因为这对“上述国家,特别是塞内加尔和冈比亚两国的粮食安全和民众生计非常重要。”

绿色和平(非洲)高级海洋活动经理伊布拉西马·西塞博士表示,尽管冈比亚的鱼粉产业规模较小,但“这里的情况反而更加严峻。对冈比亚人来说,即便只有一座鱼粉加工厂也是一个大问题。而在塞内加尔,人们还有其他更多的贸易活动。”

捕鱼和相关活动是至少20万冈比亚人的主要收入来源。鱼类占当地民众动物蛋白质摄入总量的一半以上。市场发展基金会10月发布的《灾难性捕鱼》(Fishing for Catastrophe)报告指出,过去5年,由于鱼粉鱼油加工捕捞导致邦加鱼种群数量出现波动,受到粮食安全危机影响的人口比例从原来的5%上升到了8%。

贡朱尔环保人士艾哈迈德·曼江表示:“我们的粮食安全正遭受严重威胁。大多数冈比亚人每天的生活费不足2美元,当地人正面临着与鱼粉加工厂的直接竞争。”

熏鱼制作是一项当地居民尤其是当地妇女的传统生计来源,但随着捕获量减少导致鱼类价格上涨,这项生计来源也受到了威胁。熏鱼制作人阿卜敦·乔夫表示:“我们从渔民手中买鱼的价格要比鱼粉厂高。以前,我们买一篮子鱼只要100冈比亚达拉西(约合2美元),而如今已经涨到500冈比亚达拉西(约合10美元)了。”

冈比亚熏鱼加工厂
熏鱼加工厂。图片来源:市场发展基金会

很多人已经消费不起鱼类这种重要的蛋白质来源了。贡朱尔村民尼德·曼妮是一位带着三个孩子的寡妇,她说“市场上的鱼太贵了,我们现在已经吃不起了。”

一个非常不可持续的行业”

过去两年,在受鱼粉鱼油加工影响的社区,一些当地环保与渔民团体一直在向政府施压,要求政府关闭加工厂。但是目前来看,他们的努力必然失败。

今年9月,冈比亚渔业部长詹姆斯·戈麦斯在国民议会上重申了政府对鱼粉鱼油生产的支持,表示不会立刻考虑关停这些工厂,并一再强调,之所以坚持上述立场,是因为针对邦加鱼和小沙丁鱼等中上层小型渔业资源的年度调查数据显示,“冈比亚水域最多可以满足5家鱼粉加工厂的原料供应”。

这与联合国粮农组织(FAO)的建议恰恰相反。一位不愿透露姓名的联合国高级渔业官员也对戈麦斯说法提出了异议,并表示,根据市场发展基金会的调查,“目前在冈比亚地区还没有进行过任何的科学渔业研究”。

渔业协会也对信息的缺失表达了不满。冈比亚手工渔业发展协会负责人、海洋生物学家道达·塞内表示:“我们一直呼吁政府取得鱼粉加工厂的生产数据。但是并没有人能够提供这些数据。政府就让这些工厂为所欲为。”

2019年5月,市场发展基金会通过参访一些环保人士和地方民众,以及对官方数据进行分析,让我们对晦涩不清的冈比亚鱼粉鱼油供应链有了一些了解。

市场发展基金会活动经理娜塔莎·赫尔利表示:“目前我们所看到的一切说明,这是一个非常不可持续的行业。通过统计数据我们震惊地发现,仅Golden Lead这一家鱼粉加工厂的年产量就消耗了冈比亚年渔业捕捞总量的40%,而它只是三家鱼粉加工厂中的一家。”

冈比亚当地的鱼市
当地的鱼市。图片来源:市场发展基金会

调查还发现,尽管这几家鱼粉加工厂已经在冈比亚运营了几年时间,但是无论是联合国粮农组织还是冈比亚政府都没有冈比亚鱼粉鱼油生产或出口的相关记录。

市场发展基金会预测,未来几十年全球养殖鱼类饲料的需求将出现激增。中国作为全球最大的水产饲料生产国,也和冈比亚的鱼粉生产也有联系。

赫尔利表示:“不少冈比亚鱼粉鱼油产品最终都销往中国,但并不一定是直接出口。”

市场发展基金会调查发现,至少有一家冈比亚加工厂将大多数鱼粉销往越南,在当地黑市贴标换牌后再出口到中国。报告指出,这样做既绕开了严苛的中国食品安全管控,又躲过了两国尚未签订鱼粉出口协议的法律空缺。

赫尔利补充道:“我们发现,冈比亚当局实际上并没有意识到发生了什么。他们了解的信息都来自工厂报告。” 

没有兑现就业承诺

冈比亚前总统叶海亚·贾梅在任期间,为满足私利把所有行业都牢牢地掌握在自己手中。2017年1月,他在结束了长达22年的独裁统治之后,流亡赤道几内亚。冈比亚也就此进入民主时代。现任总统阿达玛·巴罗果断采取一种更加宽松的管理方式,鼓励外商投资。

在贾梅统治期间,腐败盛行,冈比亚国库因此几近亏空,冈比亚国内大多数地区都需要进行改革。巴罗政府一上台,就立即与中国恢复了外交关系。如今,冈比亚已经与中国签订协议,成为促进基础设施建设、推动经贸往来的“一带一路”的一部分。与中国的协议计划向冈比亚提供3300万美元的发展援助,其中包括渔业和农业发展投资,以及另外400万美元的军费资金。市场发展基金会的报告显示,2017年中国还免除了冈比亚1400万美元的国债。

中国驻冈比亚大使马建春之前曾表示,中国希望增加渔业领域投资。中国政府表示,这类发展有助于推动冈比亚经济发展,增加就业。

中国投资者拥有所有这三家鱼粉加工厂(Golden Lead、JXYG和Nessim)的全部或部分股权。

Golden Lead加工厂鸟瞰图
Golden Lead加工厂鸟瞰图。图片来源:市场发展基金会

冈比亚投资与出口促进署(GIEPA)一位匿名消息人士表示,包括鱼粉加工厂在内的各类国际投资者只要能够创造就业,通常都可以获得税收优惠。

然而这些工厂却辜负了人们的厚望:他们直接雇佣的当地人很少,而且是一些低技能的岗位,比如保安或临时工。

2015年,三家鱼粉厂中最大的一家Golden Lead来到贡朱尔的时候,曾经承诺修建一个全新的鱼市,还要铺设一条连接渔村和主要城镇的道路。艾哈迈德·曼江说:“他们还承诺要雇600多个年轻人。目前,他们也就雇佣了60个当地人,而其他的承诺也都没有兑现。”

对旅游业的影响

鱼粉鱼油生产不仅没有带来预期的社会效益,还严重影响了当地刚刚起步的生态旅游业。民宿店主抱怨,鱼粉鱼油生产副作用太大,前来感受沙滩和红树林美景的游客都被吓跑了。

彩虹小屋紧邻Nessim鱼粉加工厂。店主拉敏·乔拉说:“很快就不会有人来萨尼扬沙滩旅游了。海滩上到处都是死鱼,气味难闻,游客们已经没办法去海滩休息或下海游泳了。”

冈比亚海滩死鱼遍布
海滩死鱼遍布。图片来源:市场发展基金会

旅游业贡献了冈比亚国内生产总值的20%,是该国就业人口最多的行业之一。在当地,最近几年出现了15家左右的生态旅馆,并为当地人提供了一种基本生活保障。在年轻人失业率高达40%的情况下,这非常重要。

卡尔通村斯黛拉探险之家的经理拉敏·卡玛拉说,由于JXYG工厂在加工时常常发出恶臭,他不得不裁员。他说:“游客们如今在房间里都没法睡觉了。在工厂建成之前,我雇用了14个年轻人。现在客人不来了。我也只能让他们回家了。”

萨尼扬的Nessim工厂和贡朱尔的Golden Lead工厂均被发现违反废水管理条例,将未经处理的废弃物倾倒入大海。比如Golden Lead附近的博隆费涅野生动物保护区的淡水泻湖就经常会变成令人震惊的血红色。

2017年5月,环保组织首次发现了一条向泻湖排污的管线。生物化学家艾哈迈德•曼江解释说,水面呈现红色是由磷酸盐引起的藻类大量繁殖造成的。艾哈迈德在沙特阿拉伯工作,但是会定期回到家乡贡朱尔。环保组织牵头对泻湖水样进行了独立检测,结果发现,湖水中含有大量的致癌性砷酸盐。他们认为,这些污染导致河流和红树林沼泽中的鱼类和牡蛎死亡。而当地人也报告称,在湖水中洗澡后会出现皮疹。

冈比亚国家环境局(NEA)撤销了Golden Lead的执照,并于2017年6月向企业所有者发起了环境损害诉讼。但是在支付了2.5万美元的庭外和解金后,Golden Lead很快就恢复了运营。

环保人士严重怀疑,是冈比亚渔业部长干涉并阻止了国家环境局对Golden Lead的法律行动。2017年,环保人士对Golden Lead提起了民事诉讼,目前诉讼仍在审理中。

环保人士称,过去几个月在贡朱尔附近海域又发现了新的排污管,不断有死鱼被冲上岸,而泻湖也再次变成红色。

自上而下的阻力越来越多

自2017年以来,环保人士就污染问题举行了多次抗议。他们甚至遭遇了来自自己社区内部的抵抗,其中一些人因此被捕。

这些工厂直接通过村里的老人和发展委员会向当地社区捐款,节日期间还发放大米和食用油等礼物。因此,社区领导和长者对工厂往往是支持的态度,但反对者则对这些善举持怀疑态度。

来自贡朱尔的环保主义者拉敏·杰西说: “宰牲节(伊斯兰节日)的时候,工厂会给村里的长者发钱。我们正努力让长者们明白,这笔钱其实是为了让他们保持沉默。我们不仅要反抗企业的不公正待遇,而且还必须调和社区内部的矛盾。”

绿色和平的西塞对此也表示认同,“社区已经出现了分裂。鱼粉工厂有自己的策略让当地居民保持缄默。情况很复杂。已经有人受到威胁,甚至不愿意谈论这个问题。工厂也有自己的支持者。他们有一个网络,但外人看不到。”

如今,越来越多的人感受到了鱼粉行业带来的负面影响。有人认为,这是一个向政府施压的好机会。

杰西补充道: “我们正在争取每一个人。我们希望整个社区都发出同一个声音,这会让我们所做的事情更有分量。那时,我们将再次向政府提出要求。”

绿色和平组织(非洲)支持他们的行动。西塞说:“现在,我们正在与社区会面,帮助他们组织起来并面对这些问题。我们希望大家团结起来制定一项行动计划,向国会议员和部长施加压力。”

 

穆斯塔法·曼尼为本片文章提供了额外报道支持。

 

翻译:Estelle

Fishmeal factories threaten food security in the Gambia

Local people were promised jobs, but their resistance to foreign-owned factories is growing amid overfishing and pollution that is blighting tourism

Waste from the fishmeal factory is believed to have turned this lagoon red (Image: Changing Markets Foundation)

Once-peaceable fishing communities along the Gambia’s south-west coast have been split over the arrival of three fishmeal-processing factories.

At first, many locals believed the new industry would bring much-needed jobs, and village elders welcomed the pledges of financial support for building roads and local markets. But over time, local environmental groups grew increasingly concerned by pollution from untreated waste coming from the factories. Youths demonstrated, there were clashes with factory supporters and several protesters were arrested.

“My family abandoned me because of my activism. My mum is not talking to me as regularly as before because she feels that I am now disobeying her,” says Sulayman Bojang, who was arrested with four other youths without charge in July 2018 for protesting against the Chinese-owned Golden Lead fishmeal factory in Gunjur.

Now more people are joining the campaigners’ calls for the three factories to be shut down amid growing concerns that overfishing for the three factories is depleting fish populations, a crucial source of protein and livelihoods for Gambians. Fishmeal is made by grinding up wild-caught species and predominantly used to feed farmed fish of higher value.

How the factories hit fish stocks and raise prices at local markets

“Sometimes it goes up to one week without fish,” says fisherman Assan Ndong, standing on the shore where groups of women wait with plastic basins to clean the fish when a boat comes in.

Paradoxically, the beaches of Ndong’s village of Gunjur are strewn with decomposing fish: with no controls on the numbers fishing with the hope of supplying the factories, fishers often catch too many for the factories to process. Spoilt fish is dumped and washes up on the beaches.

Ndong, and other locals, increasingly blame their shrinking catches on the factories. Golden Lead was the first to begin operations in Gunjur in September 2016. Two more majority Chinese-owned factories have since opened in the fishing villages of Sanyang and Kartong, clustered along a 30km stretch of the south-western coastline.

Artisanal fishermen, such as Ndong, are finding they cannot compete with mechanised fishing trawlers and an armada of fishers paid in cash to supply the factories before local markets. Many of these come from neighbouring Senegal and Guinea Bissau. They are all going after the small pelagic fish, predominantly bonga and sardinella, that have been historically abundant in the Gambia’s biodiverse waters.

“One local fishing boat might catch 100 baskets, but now one trawler can catch up to 1,000 baskets a day,” says Ndong. “If this unsustainable fishing method continues, we will have a scarcity of fish.”

The Gambia is Africa’s smallest nation, enveloped by Senegal, its borders looping around its namesake river. But it has also become a global hub for the fishmeal and fish oil (FMFO) industry that is rapidly expanding on the coasts off north-west Africa. The majority of Gambia’s FMFO produce is exported to China, which has the lion’s share of the booming aquaculture market. It is also used for animal feed.

Two separate investigations by international NGOs – Greenpeace International and Changing Markets Foundation – have recently warned that the scale of Gambia’s FMFO production is unsustainable and the nation’s food security is under threat if the industry is not curtailed.

Greenpeace Africa’s “A Waste of Fish”, published in June, examines the impacts of fishmeal processing in Mauritania, Senegal and Gambia, where a total of 50 factories have sprung up in recent years. It is estimated that 4-5kg of fresh fish are used to make 1kg of fishmeal.


The report flags the UN’s Food and Agriculture Organisation (FAO) advice to urgently reduce the intensity of fishing of bonga and sardinella in the sub-region, which are “essential to food security and livelihoods, particularly in Senegal and Gambia”.

While the fishmeal industry in Gambia is comparatively small, “the situation is even more critical here”, says Dr Ibrahima Cissé, Greenpeace Africa’s senior oceans campaigns manager. “Even one fishmeal factory is a big issue for Gambians. In Senegal, people have more trading activities.”

Fishing and related activities are the main source of income for at least 200,000 people in the Gambia. Fish accounts for over half of the animal protein they consume. In the past five years, the proportion of people considered food insecure has risen from 5% to 8%, partly due to fluctuating populations of bonga fish as a result of FMFO fishing, according to the Changing Markets Foundation “Fishing for Catastrophe” report, published in October.

“Our food security is under serious threat,” says Ahmed Manjang, an environmental activist from Gunjur. “The majority of Gambians live on less than $2 a day and locals are in direct competition with the fishmeal factories.”

The declining accessibility of fish is inflating prices and jeopardising the traditional craft of fish-smoking, a livelihood of many people in fishing communities, especially women. “The fishermen sell fish to us at a higher price than to the fishmeal factory. Before we would buy a basket for 100 Gambian Dalasi ($2), but now it can be up to 500GMD ($10),” says fish-smoker Abdou Joof.

Many people can no longer afford this vital source of protein. “Fish is very expensive at the market now. We struggle to have fish on our plate,” says Ndey Manneh, a widow with three children from Gunjur village.

A smokehouse in Gunjur processing bonga fish for local markets
A smokehouse in Gunjur processing bonga fish for local markets. (Image: The Changing Markets Foundation)

‘A deeply unsustainable industry’

Groups of local activists from environmental and fisheries organisations in the FMFO-affected communities have been working together over the past two years to put pressure on the government to shut the factories down. So far, they have been fighting a losing battle.

The fisheries minister James Gomez reaffirmed the government’s support for FMFO production at the National Assembly in September, stating there were no immediate considerations about closing the factories. He has repeatedly claimed this position is based on data from annual surveys on pelagic resources such as bonga and sardinella that show “Gambian waters can accommodate up to five fishmeal factories.”

As well as contradicting the FAO advice, a senior UN fisheries official who wished to remain anonymous also disputed Gomez’s claim, saying “virtually no scientific fisheries studies have been undertaken in the Gambia”, according to the Changing Markets investigation.

Fisheries associations also complain about the dearth of information. “We have been calling on the government to obtain data on how many tonnes the fishmeal factories have been producing. But nobody can give any data. The government is just letting the factories do whatever they want,” says Dawda Saine, a marine biologist and lead for Gambia’s Artisanal Fisheries Development Agency.

The Changing Markets investigation, based on interviews with activists and locals conducted in May 2019, as well as analysis of available official data, has helped to shed some light on Gambia’s murky FMFO supply chain.

“Everything we’ve seen so far suggests this is a deeply unsustainable industry,” says Natasha Hurley, Changing Markets campaign manager. “The statistic that’s really striking is we found that that the annual production from just one of the three Gambian fishmeal factories – Golden Lead – represented 40% of Gambia’s entire fish catch for a given year.”

Local woman selling fresh fish, the same type as are sent to the FMFO factories
Selling the same species of fish as is sent to the factories (Image: Changing Markets Foundation)

The investigation also found that neither the FAO nor the government has records of Gambian FMFO production or exports, even though fishmeal plants have been operating in the country for some years.

The investigation has revealed strong links between Gambia’s FMFO production and China, the world’s largest aquafeed producer. Demand for feed for farmed fish is set to soar in coming decades, Changing Markets predicts.

“We’ve got evidence that a lot of the Gambian FMFO is ending up in China, but it’s not necessarily being exported directly,” says Hurley.

The Changing Markets investigation found at least one Gambian plant sells most of its fishmeal to Vietnam, where it is relabelled on the black market for re-export to China. This circumvents more stringent Chinese food-safety controls and the absence of a fishmeal export agreement between the Gambia and China, said the report.

“We found the authorities in Gambia weren’t actually aware of what was happening. It’s dependant on the factories reporting,” adds Hurley.

Foreign investors given tax breaks for creating jobs that haven’t materialised

The Gambian government under president Adama Barrow has taken a decidedly more laissez-faire approach to encouraging foreign business investment than previous leader Yahya Jammeh, who tightly controlled all industries for his own benefit. Jammeh’s 22-year dictatorial regime ended with his exile to Equatorial Guinea and a transition to democracy in January 2017.

With the treasury virtually bankrupted by endemic corruption under the Jammeh regime and most of the state requiring major reform, Barrow’s government wasted no time in re-establishing diplomatic ties with China. Gambia is now part of China’s Belt and Road Initiative to build infrastructure and stimulate trade. The agreement promises a $33 million development grant, which includes investment into fisheries and agriculture, and a further $4 million for the military. In 2017, China also cancelled $14 million of Gambia’s national debt, the Changing Markets report notes.

The Chinese ambassador to Gambia, Ma Jian Chun, has previously said his country wishes to invest further in the fisheries sector. The Chinese government has said such development has helped to bring economic development and jobs to Gambia.

Aerial view of the Golden Lead plant at Gunjur
Aerial view of the Golden Lead plant at Gunjur (Image: Changing Markets Foundation)

Chinese investors fully or partially control all three of the fishmeal processing factories: Golden Lead, JXYG and Nessim.

An anonymous source at Gambia’s development agency GIEPA said that foreign investors, including the fishmeal factories, were routinely given tax privileges in return for creating jobs.

But the factories have not lived up to the high hopes: they have only directly employed a handful of locals in low-skilled jobs, such as security guards, or in ad hoc work.

When Golden Lead, the largest factory, was introduced to the Gunjur community in 2015, the firm promised to build a new fish market and a road linking the fishing village and the main town. “They also promised to employ over 600 youths. Right now, they have employed approximately 60 locals and they have failed to fulfil any of their other promises,” says Ahmed Manjang.

A wildlife reserve lagoon turns red

Instead, the FMFO industry is devastating a budding eco-tourism sector that is situated in the same area of sweeping, sandy coastline and mangrove swamps as the fishmeal plants. Lodge owners complain visitors are being driven away by their noxious side-effects.

“Very soon business will be no more at Sanyang beach,” says Lamin Jawla, owner of Rainbow Lodge next door to the Nessim fishmeal factory. “The amount of dead fish on our beach causes bad smells and is so disheartening that tourists don’t like to go to the beach or swim.”

Tourism is one of Gambia’s biggest employers and contributes 20% of GDP. Locally, the 15 or so basic eco-lodges that have developed in recent years have provided a lifeline, especially among youths where unemployment stands at more than 40%.

Lamin Camara, manager of Stala Adventure Lodge, in Kartong, says he has had to lay off staff because of the stench when the JXYG Factory is processing. “Visitors can no longer sleep in their rooms. Before the factory, I employed 14 youths. Now guests are not coming. I had to send them home,” he says.

Golden Lead in Gunjur and Nessim Factory in Sanyang have been found to be in breach of wastewater regulations, with the factories accused of dumping untreated waste into the sea. In the case of Golden Lead, the freshwater lagoon in the nearby Bolong Fenyo wildlife reserve frequently turns an alarming shade of red.

Dead fish dumped on Sanyang beach
Dead fish dumped on Sanyang beach (Image: Changing Markets Foundation)

Environmental groups first found a waste pipe dug into the lagoon in May 2017. The red colour is caused by phosphate that produces algal blooms, explains Ahmed Manjang, who works as a biochemist in Saudi Arabia, but regularly returns to his home village of Gunjur. Independent tests of water taken from the lagoon initiated by environmental groups found high levels of carcinogenic arsenate. They believe the pollution has killed fish and oysters in the river and mangrove swamps, and locals have reported skin rashes after bathing in the waters.

The National Environment Agency (NEA) revoked Golden Lead’s licence and sued the owners for environmental damages in June 2017. But operations quickly resumed after the firm paid an out-of-court settlement of $25,000.

The campaigners strongly suspect ministerial interference had blocked the NEA’s initial legal actions against Golden Lead. The activists filed their own civil case against the firm in 2017, which is still dragging through the courts.

In the past few months, activists say new waste pipes have been discovered in the sea off Gunjur, dead fish continue to wash up along the coast and the lagoon has turned red again.

Bottom-up resistance is building

Since 2017, activists have held several protests against the pollution. They have met with resistance from within their own communities and some have been arrested.

The factories have directly contributed money to local communities through village elders and village development committees. Commodities such as rice and oil are also provided as gifts during festivals. As a consequence, support for the factories tends to come from community leaders and elders. But opponents take a sceptical view of the philanthropy.

“When it’s Tobaski [an Islamic festival] the factories give money to the elders. We are trying to make sure the elders understand this money is to make them silent,” says environmental activist Lamin Jassey from Gunjur. “We are not only fighting the injustices of the company, but we are also having to reconcile the community.”

“The communities have been divided by the factories,” agrees Cissé of Greenpeace. “The fishmeal factories have their strategies to keep the people not talking. The situation is complicated. Activists have received threats and are not comfortable to talk about it. The factory has supporters. They have a network, but it’s not visible.”

Now that growing numbers of people are impacted by the negative consequences of the fishmeal industry, campaigners believe there is a chance to intensify pressure on the government.

“We are trying to get everybody on-side. We hope when the whole community speaks the same language it will add a lot of weight to what we’re doing. That is the time we’ll make the case again to the government,” Jassey adds.

Greenpeace Africa is supporting campaigners in bolstering their action. “Now we are meeting with the communities and helping them to be organised and face these issues,” says Cisse. “We want to bring everyone together to have an action plan to put pressure on MPs and ministers.”

The NGO is also planning to meet with the Chinese embassies of Mauritania, Senegal and Gambia. “China is investing a lot in Africa, we want them to know this is not even good for them. Strategically for China it’s not a good thing to contribute to these tensions. Fishmeal is not sustainable for them. They can build bridges and roads, but not take the food from people,” he adds.

*Additional reporting by Mustapha Manneh