乌拉圭新总统必须直面海洋挑战

在乌拉圭这样一个环保记录良好的拉美国家,新任总统路易斯·拉卡列·波乌面对进一步加大环保力度的呼声。

Luis Lacelle Pou, President of Uruguay

图片涞源: Alan Santos/PR

乌拉圭地处阿根廷、巴西和大西洋之间,是拉丁美洲政治和社会最稳定的国家之一。

环境保护已成为乌拉圭民众最关心的问题,也是新任总统路易斯·拉卡列·波乌必须直面的首要问题。

现年46岁的拉卡列·波乌于数周前就任总统,同时任政党联盟领袖。拉卡列·波乌是乌拉圭最年轻的总统,而且对海洋保护颇有兴趣。这让一些环保人士生出些许乐观。

他提出的第一个提案就是设立立专门的环境与水资源部 (Ministry of Environment and Water)。这标志着该国正在朝着正确方向迈进。

拉卡列·波乌喜欢冲浪,热爱海洋。这样的他是否会对改善环境健康的呼声作出回应?

藻华与造纸

一系列与水有关的挑战正摆在乌拉圭的面前。过量使用化肥、未经处理的城市污水以及阻断河流的水库,这些已经导致藻华爆发,造成水道堵塞,海滩被污染。

与此同时,国内第三家大型纸浆厂的建设引发了民众的抗议。这座纸浆厂建成后,将会从乌拉圭主要河流内格罗河(the Río Negro)中抽掉数百万升的水。新政府已计划重新核查该项目。

陆地方面,为纸浆厂服务的单一种植林占地100多万公顷,约占乌拉圭国土面积的6%,比原始森林的覆盖面积还要大。这会给生物多样性和用水需求带来巨大的影响。

新的《灌溉法》意图通过在河流上修建大坝来促进农业生产,但各大组织和工会纷纷以违宪为由要求将其废除,目前最高法院正在对这项法律进行审议。

海洋议程

乌拉圭夹在大西洋和另一条大河——拉普拉塔河(the Río de la Plata)的入海口之间,水域面积几乎占了其领土面积的一半。渔业历来是该国的主要经济活动,但20多年来一直处于衰退中。

过去10年间,工业化船只的数量减少了50%。和手工捕捞一样,工业化捕捞也受到高额的运营成本,以及东南亚廉价海鲜(如首都蒙得维的亚餐厅供应的巨鲶鱼)的威胁。

在乌拉圭水域外围作业的数十艘不同船藉的渔船给海洋生物多样性带来了进一步的威胁。他们会时不时地越界进入乌拉圭水域,捕捞原本专属于当地渔船的鱼类资源。放眼全球,由于过度捕捞,渔船不得不寻找新的捕捞地,而乌拉圭就是新的捕捞地之一。蒙得维的亚以西新建中国渔港的计划在去年夏天被搁置之前就曾饱受争议。

这些消耗着乌拉圭资源的船只经常在蒙得维的亚的港口卸货以逃避税收和管制,而那里的劳工和卫生条件相当恶劣。相比之下,本地船只必须面对更加严格的管控措施。

乌拉圭在IUU捕捞指数排名中几乎垫底。这是一个对各国在抵御非法、不报告和不受管制的(IUU)捕捞方面的表现进行排名的指数。乌拉圭新一届政府面临的一大挑战将是夺回蒙得维的亚港口的控制权——洗刷“海盗港”的形象。

可再生能源

尽管乌拉圭在全球气候舞台上并非举足轻重的角色,但却是其他国家的榜样。风能、太阳能和水力发电占到了其发电总量的98%,甚至还有剩余可供出口。

设立环境与水资源部是明智之举,但对于一个需要更多行动、并且用 “天然还看乌拉圭”这样的口号来吸引游客的国家来说,这么做还不足以解决国内的社会环境冲突。

乌拉圭必须重新思考自己国家的命运,要么让自己的广袤平原被污秽的河流和成片的单一种植林地所占据,要么限制农业综合企业的发展,强调有机耕作,保护土地、河流和海洋。

负责任旅游业、可持续捕捞、有机农业和可再生能源可以为乌拉圭创造就业、带来收入,帮助社会、经济和环境形成良性循环。为此,新一届政府必须直面乌拉圭民众的不满,公开更多环境信息。

拉卡列·波乌及其团队必须在农业等部门的需求和兑现竞选承诺、加大自然扶持力度之间找到平衡。只有这样,新一届政府才能巩固乌拉圭作为拉美稳定灯塔的声誉。

本文原载于中拉对话,由本站编译后转载。

翻译:YAN

Uruguay’s new president must meet ocean challenges

In a Latin American country that cares strongly about the environmental, Luis Lacalle Pou must respond to calls for greater protections

Luis Lacelle Pou, President of Uruguay

Uruguay’s new president has shown positives signs of responding to calls for a healthier marine environment (Image: Alan Santos/PR)

Sandwiched between Argentina, Brazil and the Atlantic ocean, Uruguay is one of the most politically and socially stable countries in Latin America.

Environmental protection has become a key concern for Uruguayans, which their new president, Luis Lacalle Pou, must face as a priority.

Lacalle Pou, 46, began his presidency a few weeks ago, heading a coalition of political parties. He is Uruguay’s youngest president and his interest in ocean conservation has already generated some optimism among environmentalists.

His first proposal – to create a dedicated Ministry of Environment and Water – signals a move in the right direction.

Will Lacalle Pou, a surfer and sea lover, respond to calls for a healthier environment?

Algal blooms and papermaking

Uruguay is facing a number of water-related challenges. Excessive fertiliser use, untreated effluents from cities, and reservoirs that limit river circulation have allowed algal blooms to clog waterways and hit oceanic beaches.

Meanwhile, the construction of a third giant paper pulp plant, that will absorb millions of litres of water from Uruguay’s main river, the Río Negro, has sparked protests. The new government has proposed to review the project.

On land, the monoculture forest that will serve the pulp plant occupies more than one million hectares, some 6% of the country’s surface. That’s more than the primary forest cover, and will have a big impact on biodiversity and water demand.

A new Irrigation Law, which seeks to boost agricultural production by damming river basins, is under consideration by the Supreme Court after various organisations and unions demanded its annulment on constitutional grounds.

The ocean agenda

With its position between the Atlantic and the estuary of another major river, the Río de la Plata, almost half of Uruguay’s territory is aquatic. Fishing has traditionally been a major activity but has been in decline for over two decades.

The number of industrial vessels has fallen by 50% in the last decade. Like artisanal fishing, it is threatened by high operating costs and competition from cheap imports of seafood from Southeast Asia, such as the shark catfish, that are served in Montevideo’s restaurants.

Marine biodiversity is further threatened by dozens of vessels of different nationalities operating right on the edge of Uruguay’s national waters, and sometimes within them, capturing species once the preserve of local boats. Worldwide, overfishing is pushing vessels to look for catches in new locations, including in Uruguay. Plans for a new Chinese fishing port west of Montevideo sparked particular controversy, before being shelved in the summer

50%

the drop in Uruguayan industrial fishing vessels in its waters in the last 10 years

The same vessels that deplete Uruguay’s resources often unload their catch in Montevideo port, where they are exempt from taxes and controls, and where labour and sanitary conditions are notoriously poor. Local vessels, by contrast, must meet stricter measures.

Uruguay sits near the bottom of the IUU Fishing Index, which ranks nations on their defence against illegal, unreported and unregulated fishing. A major challenge for Uruguay’s new administration will be to regain control of Montevideo’s port – to clean up the “pirate port” image.

Renewable energy

Though Uruguay is not a major actor on the global climate stage, it is an example to others. It derives 98% of its energy from wind, solar and hydro, and even exports a surplus.

The creation of a Ministry of Environment and Water will be a good step, but not enough to resolve socio-environmental conflicts in a country that demands more, and whose tourist board has dubbed it “Uruguay Natural”.

A rethink of the country’s destiny is necessary. Uruguay could either become a great plain of monocultures with polluted rivers, or it could limit the growth of agribusiness and emphasise organic farming and the protection of its land, rivers and ocean.

Responsible tourism, sustainable fishing, organic agriculture and renewable energy can generate employment and income for the country, closing a virtuous circle for society, the economy and the environment. In order to do this, the new government must engage Uruguay’s discontents and disclose more environmental information.

Lacalle Pou and his team must balance the demands of sectors such as agriculture with the increased support for nature that they promised during the campaign. By doing so, the new government can help reinforce Uruguay’s reputation as a beacon of stability in Latin America.

This is an edited version of an article that originally appeared on our sister site Dialogo Chino.