研究称人类可在2050年之前恢复海洋环境

脆弱的海洋物种和栖息地亟待保护,海洋生态系统需要重建,气候变化问题有待缓解。

“隐身”在扇珊瑚中的侏儒海马,摄于印度尼西亚西巴布亚。图片来源:Alamy

一直以来,世界海洋的未来前景看上去都很严峻。根据一项研究,到2048年,渔业系统将面临崩溃,每年有800万吨塑料排放进海洋,给脆弱的海洋生态系统造成相当大的破坏。然而,《自然》杂志上的一项新研究对海洋的未来提出了另一种更为乐观的看法:它断言,如果人类能够应对挑战,到2050年,整个海洋环境都将得到实质性的重建。

这项研究的作者称,成功的关键在于减轻对海洋的影响和压力,同时恢复受损的生态系统,并努力减少导致气候变化的碳排放。

这项研究详细分析了海洋中的九种生态环境,即盐沼、红树林、海草、珊瑚礁、海带、牡蛎礁、渔业、巨型动物群和深海,并就恢复和保护这些环境提出了一些重要而可行的措施。

作者参考了若干可以成功扭转海洋生物衰退的模式。例如,《濒危野生动植物种国际贸易公约》(CITES)和1982年的暂停商业捕鲸决议都减少了对濒危物种的捕猎,并帮助保护了这些物种赖以生存的重要栖息地。采用了合适的管理技术后,枯竭的鱼类种群数量也有所回升

尽管该研究对海洋未来的健康给出了令人乐观的观点,但它也承认某些海洋环境恢复起来难度较大。例如,由于气候变化,珊瑚礁系统承受的白化事件的压力也更大,恢复受损珊瑚礁的过程既缓慢又耗资不菲。但是,这项研究指出,人们正在努力寻找能够抵抗温度变化和白化事件的珊瑚。

乌贼 红树林 印度尼西亚
穿梭于红树林间的乌贼,摄于印度尼西亚西巴布亚。图片来源:Alamy

作者称,海洋恢复将是一项艰巨的工程,需要政府政策的稳定支持、大量的财政投入以及科学技术的进步。同时,也需要在短时间内迅速采取行动。

但是,这项研究的共同作者,英国约克大学教授卡勒姆·罗伯茨(Callum Roberts)认为,恢复海洋的最大障碍是减轻气候变化的影响。

“气候变化是影响全局的大问题,因为它加大了自然界恢复的难度,且随着气候的不断变化,难度会越来越大,” 罗伯茨说道: “这就是为什么我们现在必须迅速采取行动恢复环境,因为这将帮助人类社会逐渐适应,并且让自然界更有机会适应气候的不断变化。”

罗伯茨说,尽管面临重重挑战,但他相信海洋有着强大的韧性。这种韧性在禁止捕鱼和其他人类活动的海洋保护区(MPA)中表现得十分明显。

“我已经从一些局部区域看到了恢复的过程,以及恢复的速度和规模,”他说,“对区域进行保护时,可以轻松地预测响应的方式。首先从那些资源更加丰富,存续时间更长,繁殖力更强的物种开始。之后,你就可以看到栖息地在海床或海草林上重建,然后,一些稀有生物回归。”

今年本应是“超级海洋年”,原本要举行若干场与海洋有关的会议和谈判,包括公海保护公约第四次谈判联合国海洋大会摩纳哥蓝色倡议国际海事组织的几次会议,其中包括与海洋环境保护委员会的会议。但是,由于新冠疫情,大多数已被取消或推迟。

新冠肺炎的大流行也使海洋从人类活动的压力中得到了些许喘息的机会,尽管罗伯茨表示,现在要对长期影响下定论还为时过早。

他说:“现在有许多渔船不能下海,这肯定会给海洋生物带来短期好处。” “长期而言,我不清楚。但是我认为,在这场危机之后,我们需要好好思考如何才能做得更好。”

 

英文原文首发Mongabay

翻译:BAIHUI

We can restore marine health by 2050, finds study

Vulnerable marine species and habitats need to be protected, damaged ecosystems rebuilt and climate change mitigated

Pygmy seahorse in fan coral, West Papua, Indonesia (Image: Alamy)

The future for the world’s oceans often looks grim. Fisheries are set to collapse by 2048, according to one study, and 8 million tons of plastic pollute the ocean every year, causing considerable damage to delicate marine ecosystems. Yet a new study in Nature offers an alternative, and more optimistic view on the ocean’s future: it asserts that the entire marine environment could be substantially rebuilt by 2050, if humanity is able to step up to the challenge.

The key to success, the authors say, is lessening the impact and stresses on the ocean, while restoring damaged ecosystems, and trying to reduce carbon emissions that drive climate change.

The study examines nine parts of the ocean in detail – salt marshes, mangroves, seagrasses, coral reefs, kelp, oyster reefs, fisheries, megafauna and the deep ocean – and suggests critical and realistic steps that can be taken to restore and protect these areas.

The authors refer to several models of success for reversing the decline of marine life. For instance, the global wildlife trade treaty CITES and a 1982 moratorium on commercial whaling have reduced hunting of endangered species and helped protect the critical habitats these species depend upon. Depleted fish populations have also rebounded in response to proper management techniques.

While the study fosters an optimistic view of future ocean health, it concedes that some parts of the ocean will be more difficult to restore. For instance, coral reef systems have the added pressure of bleaching events due to climate change, and the process of restoring damaged reefs is slow and expensive. However, the study notes that there are efforts to discover coral that’s resistant to temperature change and bleaching events.

cuttlefish mangroves Indonesia
A cuttlefish moves between the mangroves, West Papua, Indonesia (Image: Alamy)

Restoring the oceans would be no small feat, and would require stable governmental policies, a large financial investment, and the continued evolution of scientific advances and technologies, the authors say. Action would also need to take place within a very short space of time.

But the biggest obstacle to restoring the oceans is mitigating the effects of climate change, according to Callum Roberts, a co-author of the study and professor at the University of York in the UK.

“Climate change is the big problem that is looming over everything because it makes recovering nature harder, and as the climate changes, it’s going to become more difficult,” Roberts said. “That’s why we have to act very quickly now to start restoring nature, because that’s going to help human societies to adapt over time, as well as to allow nature a better chance to survive and thrive through a changing climate.”

Despite the challenges, Roberts says he believes the oceans are incredibly resilient. This is evident in marine protected areas (MPAs), where fishing and other human activities are prohibited, Roberts says.

“I’ve seen in localised areas how recovery can take place, and how it can take place quite quickly and spectacularly,” he said. “When you protect areas, you can predict very easily the way that the response will go. You start off with things becoming more abundant, living longer, producing more offspring. Then you see the reconstruction of habitat structures on the seabed or kelp forests, then the return of some of the rarer things.”

This year was supposed to be the “Ocean Super Year,” with several ocean-related meetings and negotiations meant to take place, including the 4th High Seas Treaty negotiation, the UN Ocean ConferenceMonaco Blue Initiative, and several meetings of the International Maritime Organization, including a session with the Marine Environment Protection Committee. However, most have been cancelled or postponed due to Covid-19.

The pandemic itself has also prompted some reprieve for the oceans from human pressure, although Roberts said it’s too early to identify the long-term effects.

“A lot of fishing boats are tied up right now, and that’s definitely going to give a short-term benefit to marine life,” he said. “Longer term, I don’t know. But I think there will be a lot of thinking done after this crisis about how we need to do things better.”


This article was originally published by
Mongabay under a creative commons licence.