新冠疫情导致海底采矿谈判偏离正轨

海底采矿相关谈判被迫推迟,有矿业公司因此考虑强行通过采矿计划。

manned submersible Shenhai Yongshi (Deep Sea Warrior) prepares to carry out a night dive in the South China Sea

图片来源:Alamy

今年对海底采矿来说本应是一个关键之年,但此前为起草深海采矿条例所做的工作却有可能因为全球新冠疫情而前功尽弃。制定这套条例是为了让在独一无二的深海生态系统中开采贵重金属有法可依。

负责海底采矿事宜的联合国独立机构国际海底管理局(ISA)原本将2020年定为通过“深海采矿条例”的最后期限。该条例将允许在国家管辖范围以外的深海开采钴、镍等矿物。谈判代表们一直希望采矿条例能够在7月举行的ISA夏季年会上取得实质性进展。此次年会还将投票决定迈克尔·洛奇(Michael Lodge)能否在接下来的四年里连任秘书长一职。

更大的不确定性在于:海底矿业公司深绿(DeepGreen)正考虑援引一项从未使用过的规则,迫使ISA在两年内允许开展海底采矿,无论届时通过了怎样的法规。

本月早些时候,ISA仍计划于7月在其位于牙买加首都金斯顿的总部举行此次会议,尽管其它主要联合国会议纷纷取消。“重要的工作基本上没有间断,正在继续,”ISA发言人在当时给中外对话海洋的一份声明中说。但5月19日,ISA正式宣布会议将推迟至10月举行。

必须确保目前的危机不被用作任何决策“走捷径”的借口,这一点至关重要。

“秘书处会继续与牙买加政府紧密合作,保证ISA的工作在可能的情况下有效开展,”洛奇在声明中说。

推迟会议可能会导致168个成员国、矿业承包商和环保人士围绕如何推进条例的起草,尤其是环境保护相关内容的起草产生更大的争论。

“必须确保目前的危机不会成为任何决策‘走捷径’,绕过法定程序、忽视包容性和良好治理等现行规范的借口,这一点至关重要,”国际律师、深海保护联盟(Deep Sea Conservation Coalition)成员邓肯·加里(Duncan Currie)表示。该联盟在ISA拥有观察员地位。

ISA已经发放了30份勘探合同,涉及的海底面积超过130万平方公里。获得合同的企业既有国有企业,也有跨国公司和初创企业。其中中国获得了五份合同,是所有国家中最多的,涉及的海底勘探及潜在开采面积 23.8万平方公里(几乎与新西兰面积相当)。

“我们希望能够确定采矿条例,”深绿矿业首席执行官杰拉德·巴伦(Gerard Barron)表示,这家加拿大注册公司拥有三份太平洋底多金属结核的勘探合同。“作为承包方,我们希望在2023年投入运营,我们现在投入了大量的工作和资金,这是要担风险的。投资者想看到确定性。”

因此,深绿矿业考虑启用所谓的“两年条款”。该条款也被有些观察员称为“核选项”。

根据《联合国海洋法公约》,采矿承包商的担保国可以通知ISA理事会承包商打算申请批准开始采矿的计划。随后理事会有两年时间完成采矿条例的制定。若逾期未能完成,理事会必须根据当时制定的任何规则,“暂时核准该工作计划”。

“这个一直在考虑之中——没有排除这么做的可能,这是肯定的,”巴伦谈及启用两年规则时说。他强调,这么做取决于能否获得理事会多数成员的支持。理事会由36个成员国组成,是ISA内部的决策机构,目前采矿条例的起草工作也由其负责。

深绿矿业拥有的三份勘探合同分别由瑙鲁、基里巴斯和汤加这三个南太平洋岛国担保。要想启用“两年条款”则必须由其中一个国家正式提出申请。

危险的一步

环保人士对可能随之而来的灾难性的环境后果感到担忧。

“两年条款一旦启用,深绿矿业的申请根据目前的法规草案得到批准,深海生物多样性和生态系统将受到巨大的影响,”世界自然保护联盟公海问题高级顾问、ISA密切观察员克里斯蒂娜·格杰尔德(Kristina Gjerde)说。“在批准商业开采之前,我们需要更好地了解深海环境,以及深海海底采矿对海洋生物和海洋系统的影响。”

Bioluminescing coral and perhaps a sponge
Bioluminescing coral and perhaps a sponge, North Atlantic (Image: NOAA)

加里称此举将“有损ISA自身的声誉。深绿矿业,或者任何担保国居然能这么不负责任,简直令人难以置信。”

本周,一份由民间组织联合发布的报告警告说,在太平洋采矿将给海洋环境带来不可逆转的伤害。

此次疫情也放缓了人类探索深海生态系统的科研脚步。而ISA起草环境法规需要以这些科研工作获得的数据为依据,从而完成在推进采矿的同时保护深海生态系统的双重(但互相矛盾的)任务。(《国家地理》杂志去年的一项调查发现,迄今为止矿业公司尚未收集到足够的生物数据对采矿的环境影响进行评估。)

居家令导致狄娃·阿蒙(Diva Amon)博士这样的海洋科学家无法进入实验室。阿蒙博士是伦敦自然历史博物馆的深海生物学家,一直在研究海底采矿目标区域发现的新物种。她可以使用遥控车拍摄的图像在家完成一部分工作,但并非全部。

“我正在对两种来自采矿合同区的物种进行描述,但由于无法进入实验室进行基因分析,这项工作被耽搁了,”她说。

科学家们还因为封城令和旅行禁令无法开展深海科考,无法参加相关会议。因为疫情的原因,科考活动被推迟,会议也纷纷取消,科学家因此无法通过会议分享自己的发现。

“我们正打算开启一场大规模的海洋环境科考活动,”巴伦称,并指出此次活动可能会被推迟至少数月。

接下来会发生什么?

今年二月的ISA会议上,代表们曾表示反对进行视频会议。

“应该推迟谈判,直到所有各方都认为安全合适了,再进行会晤,”深海保护联盟联合创始人马修·吉安尼(Matthew Gianni)表示。

另一方面,巴伦认为ISA应利用此疫情的机会,以更具创新性的方式来履行自身义务。“可以看到,被迫远程办公可以让你取得更大的进步,”他说。

阿蒙则从更哲学的角度看待疫情导致多个高级别海洋会议被推迟这件事。“虽然我担心海洋领域会失去动力,”她说,“但这段时间也许会让我们有时间思考未来要走的路。”

编者注:在ISA正式宣布会议延期后,本文于5月22日进行了修订。

翻译:YAN

Covid-19 throws seabed mining negotiations off track

The delay in talks has one company considering invoking a rule to compel approval of mining plans

manned submersible Shenhai Yongshi (Deep Sea Warrior) prepares to carry out a night dive in the South China Sea

Mineral prospectors may push to start seabed mining before an international code is finalised (Image: Alamy)

It was meant to be a pivotal year for deep-seabed mining. But the coronavirus pandemic is threatening to upend the drafting of regulations on the nascent industry.

The International Seabed Authority (ISA), an autonomous United Nations organisation that governs seabed mining, had set 2020 as the deadline to adopt a “mining code”. Those regulations would permit extraction of cobalt, nickel and other minerals in the deep ocean beyond national jurisdiction. Delegates had been expecting to make substantial progress on the mining code at the ISA’s annual meeting in July, as well as to vote on the re-election of the secretary-general, Michael Lodge, for another four-year term.

To add to the uncertainty, mining company DeepGreen is considering invoking a never-used rule that would compel the ISA to allow mining to proceed within two years under whatever regulations are in place at that time.

Earlier this month, the ISA was still planning for the July meeting at its headquarters in Kingston, Jamaica, despite international travel bans and the cancellation of every other major UN conference. “Our important work is continuing largely uninterrupted,” an ISA spokesperson said at the time.

But on 19 May, the ISA announced it was postponing its meeting until October.

“The secretariat … will continue to work closely with the government of Jamaica to ensure that the work of ISA can proceed as efficiently as possible,” said Lodge in a statement.

The postponement will likely intensify disputes among the ISA’s 168 member states, mining contractors and conservationists over how to proceed with writing regulations, particularly environmental protections.

“It is crucial to ensure that the current crisis is not used as an excuse to ‘fast-track’ any decision-making by curtailing the prevailing norms of due process, inclusivity and good governance,” says Duncan Currie, an international lawyer and member of the Deep Sea Conservation Coalition, which holds observer status at the ISA.

The ISA has issued 30 contracts to state-backed companies, multinational corporations and start-ups to explore more than 1.3 million square kilometres of the seabed. China holds five contracts, more than any other country, that give it the right to explore and potentially exploit 238,000 square kilometres (almost the size of New Zealand).

Deep-sea minerals: what could be mined and where

“We want the mining code finalised,” says Gerard Barron, chief executive of DeepGreen, a Canadian-registered company that holds three contracts to prospect the Pacific Ocean seabed for polymetallic nodules. “We as a contractor hope to be in operation in 2023 and we’re going out on a limb because of the extensive work and money we’re investing now. Investors want to see certainty.”

That has led DeepGreen to consider triggering the so-called two-year rule, or what some observers have dubbed the “nuclear option.”

Under the UN Convention on the Law of the Sea, the sponsoring state of a mining contractor can notify the ISA Council that a contractor intends to apply for approval of a plan to begin mining. The Council then has two years to finalise mining regulations. If it doesn’t, the Council must “provisionally approve such plan of work” under whatever regulations are in place at the time.

“It’s something that’s consistently under review – it’s not off the table, that’s for sure,” says Barron of triggering the two-year rule. He stressed that doing so would depend on gaining the support of a majority of the Council, the 36-member policymaking body within the ISA that is drafting the mining code.

DeepGreen holds exploration contracts sponsored by three small South Pacific islands – Nauru, Kiribati and Tonga – and one of those nations would have to officially invoke the two-year provision.

A dangerous step

Conservationists fear catastrophic environmental consequences.

“If the two-year provision is invoked, and DeepGreen’s application is approved based on the current draft regulations, the impacts for deep sea biodiversity and ecosystems would be huge,” says Kristina Gjerde, a close observer of the ISA who serves as senior high seas advisor at the International Union for Conservation of Nature. “We need a far better understanding of the deep ocean environment and the impacts of deep-seabed mining on ocean life and ocean systems before commercial-scale mining should be approved.”

Bioluminescing coral and perhaps a sponge
Bioluminescing coral and perhaps a sponge, North Atlantic (Image: NOAA)

Currie says such a move would “shatter the reputation of the ISA itself. It is hard to believe that DeepGreen, or any sponsoring state, would be so irresponsible.”

This week, a new report from a coalition of non-profit organisations warned that mining for nodules in the Pacific would cause irreversible damage to the marine environment.

The pandemic is also slowing scientific research into little-explored deep sea ecosystems. The ISA needs that data to draft environmental regulations that fulfil its dual if contradictory mandate to facilitate mining and protect deep sea ecosystems. (An investigation last year by National Geographic magazine found that mining companies have so far failed to collect sufficient biological data to assess the environmental impact of mining.)

Stay-at-home orders have kept marine scientists like Dr Diva Amon locked out of their labs. Amon, a deep-sea biologist at the Natural History Museum in London, has been identifying new species discovered in areas targeted for seabed mining. She can do some but not all of that work from home using images taken by remotely operated vehicles.

“I’m working on two species descriptions from mining contract areas, which have been held up as we are unable to get into the labs to do the genetic analyses,” she says.

Shut-down orders and travel bans are also keeping scientists off research expeditions to the deep ocean, which have been delayed due to the pandemic, and away from now-cancelled conferences where they would share their discoveries.

“We were about to embark on a very large environmental ocean research campaign,” says Barron, noting the expedition will likely be delayed for at least several months.

What happens next?

In an ISA meeting in February delegates expressed opposition to video conferencing.

“The negotiations should be postponed until a time when all interested parties feel it is safe and appropriate to meet together,” says Matthew Gianni, a co-founder of the Deep Sea Conservation Coalition.

Barron, on the other hand, says the ISA should take advantage of the pandemic to develop more innovative ways of meeting its obligations. “I could see how you could make more progress by being forced to work remotely,” he says.

Amon takes a more philosophical view of the postponement of numerous high-level ocean conferences due to the pandemic. “While I worry about the ocean sphere losing momentum,” she says, “perhaps this period will afford us some time to reflect on the path forward.”

Editor’s note: This article was updated on 22 May after the ISA meeting was officially postponed.