中国进入海运全面低硫时代

此前就绪的排放控制区制度为迎接全球限硫令的到来打下了基础,但是挑战依然存在。

Low-sulphur fuel being discharged into tanks at Hambantota port, Sri Lanka

卸入斯里兰卡汉班托塔港的低硫燃料油将为货轮和远洋渔船提供燃料补给。图片来源: Alamy

全球的航运业迎来了低硫油时代。为应对大气污染,2020年1月1日起,根据国际海事组织(IMO)在全球范围内对船用燃油硫含量进行限制,上限从原来的含硫量3.5%下调为0.5%;从3月1日起,根据一份修正案,在船上携带含硫量高于0.5%的燃油也被禁止。同时,作为使用低硫油的替代办法,船舶可以使用高硫油配合脱硫设备来达到相同目的。IMO预测,此举有望在世界范围内将海运产生的硫氧化物排放减少77%,减少中风、哮喘、肺癌、心血管和肺部疾病的发病率。

根据媒体报道,限硫令实行首月就已经有船舶违规使用超标燃油而受到中国政府部门查处。1月3日青岛海事局查处了一艘韩国籍船舶;1月19日潍坊海事局查处了一艘巴拿马籍散货船。

限硫令的实施顺应了全球对航运减排的要求,并将带来巨大的减排效应。自然资源保护协会(NRDC)与交通运输部规划研究院于2017年共同发布的报告中显示:如果船舶将燃料含硫量从2.5%减少到0.5%,硫化物排放可减少80%;而降到0.1%,硫化物减排可高达 95%或以上。此外,如果将高硫渣油改为含硫量0.5%的燃料,最多可将颗粒物(PM)排放量降低一半。

2018年,一位上海官员告诉《经济日报》,位于外高桥港附近的宝山监测站的监测数据显示,其2017年二氧化硫浓度下降幅度明显高于全市水平。

政策层层加码,为限硫令实施奠定基础

在IMO限硫前,中国就已经有了船舶减排政策。

2016年,交通运输部颁布《珠三角、长三角、环渤海(京津冀)水域船舶排放控制区实施方案》,要求分阶段推动船舶使用含硫量不超过0.5%的低硫油,从2016年“有条件的港口”扩大到2017年的“核心港口”,再从2018年的“所有港口”扩大到2019年的“整个排放控制区”。2018年7月,国务院在《打赢蓝天保卫战三年行动计划》中提出了“2019年底前调整扩大船舶排放控制区范围,覆盖沿海重点港口”的新任务。4个月后,交通运输部发布《船舶大气污染物排放控制区实施方案》,将船舶排放控制区范围进一步扩大,从原来的三个重点海域扩大到全国领海基线外12海里,还将控制区延伸到内河,包括长江干线、西江干线等重要内河通航水域。

数据来源:国际清洁运输理事会,《珠江三角洲船舶排放控制区的成本和收益》

排放控制区的设立,为限硫令的有效监管奠定了基础。NRDC绿色港口与船舶项目顾问冯淑慧告诉中外对话,排放控制区方案的实施使监管机构在船舶油样抽检、应用快速检测设备和船舶在航排放遥测技术等方面积累了经验,具备了相应的执法能力。她提到,政策实施前,燃油质量监管并非海事部门检查工作的重点,政策实施以后,燃油质量才成为海事部门常规检查工作的一项内容。目前,海事部门已开始利用尾气遥感遥测技术筛查航行中的船舶的违规燃油使用。

1815万吨

中国2020年低硫油生产计划产能。

此外,2017年11月交通运输部等13个部门联合印发的《关于加强船用低硫燃油供应保障和联合监管的指导意见》,也为低硫油的市场供应保障做了铺垫。《意见》要求建立船用低硫燃油基本供应制度,引导国内炼化企业生产合规船用低硫燃油以保供应。此外,它还要求加快船用燃油标准制修订,并进一步加大船用燃油监管力度。

冯淑慧向中外对话介绍,从2019年开始,全球主要石油企业均推出了针对低硫油的生产计划及应对方式。从IMO全球航运信息系统中的船舶燃油消费数据库查询可知,已有多个国家和地区于限硫令实施前开始供应合规燃料。

今年1月,石化数据供应商隆众资讯估算,2020年全球船用低硫油需求量在1.35亿吨左右,供应缺口约40%。

中国的炼油企业正在加紧生产。隆众资讯统计,中国于2019年进行低硫油试生产,产能为7.6万吨,于2020年开始正式生产,计划产能达1815万吨。而2020年整个欧美地区的低硫油总产能也仅为约2000万吨。

低硫油还是脱硫塔?

IMO允许船舶使用“脱硫塔+高硫油”的方式来替代低硫油实现减排,但行业内似乎更倾向使用低硫油。挪威船级社的数据显示,目前全球只有四千多艘船舶安装了脱硫塔,占2019年全球9.5万余艘海运船舶中的不到5%。

低硫油和脱硫塔到底哪个更好?皇家加勒比邮轮公司资深船长伍会民在2019年底公益组织天津绿领环保举办的限硫令媒体沙龙上谈到,与低硫油相比,脱硫塔更经济。改用低硫油后,10万吨的船1小时内需要多花2000美元以上,而脱硫塔造价在 100 万美元左右,那么该船的航行时间达到500小时后,建造脱硫塔就比使用低硫油更划算。

但交通运输部水运研究院副总工程师彭传圣在同一个活动上指出,在计算成本的时候,也应该考虑低硫油的价格变化和脱硫塔的使用寿命,他认为低硫油才是航运业“顺其自然的选择”。他指出,脱硫塔的寿命预计是五年,但因为没有经过试用,实际能否用到五年仍是未知数。“如果不到五年脱硫塔就坏了,而到时候低硫油成本变低了,那么装脱硫塔可能收不回成本。”

船舶污染 硫污染 船迹
NASA卫星云图记录了船舶污染造成的延绵数百英里的“船迹”。图片来源:NASA Earth Observatory

冯淑慧也告诉中外对话,交通运输部发布的《2020年全球船用燃油限硫令实施方案》规定,自2020年1月1日起,船舶不得在排放控制区内排放开放式脱硫塔洗涤水,因此安装有开放式脱硫塔的船舶进入实施禁令的水域仍需换用低硫油。另一方面,脱硫塔设施占用面积大,减少了船舶载货空间,这些因素都限制了脱硫塔的使用。

低硫油成本高昂,但未来可期

虽然低硫油已经成为了航运业在燃油消费中的主要选择,但目前来看,低硫油成本仍然高昂,每吨比含硫量为3.5%的高硫油贵近200~250美元。

研究港口大气环境的环保公益团队自然田在微信公众号上发文称,有研究显示,在使用重硫油的情况下,每艘船在排放控制区内每趟大约节约10万欧元(约合77万人民币)。自然田团队认为,在低燃油与高硫油巨大的经济差距面前,船舶企业有可能宁愿受罚也不愿使用低硫油。

针对这种观点,彭传圣在沙龙上表示,一旦大家都开始使用低硫油,低硫油价格必然会下降,而到时候高硫油生产少、供应单位少,价格会上涨,两者差价会缩小。冯淑慧告诉中外对话,海运业一直以来有一个燃料附加费的制度,船舶企业在燃料价格上升时将一部分增加的成本转嫁给货主。限硫令实施前,各大船舶企业已提高了燃料附加费,所以不需要全数承担使用低硫油带来的额外燃料费用,这一定程度上也能给船企使用低硫油减轻压力。

近期国际原油期货价格的暴跌对低硫油的价格也产生影响。根据货运信息和营销服务提供商JOC集团官网报道自1月初以来,新加坡主要低硫油供应商提供的极低硫燃料油价格下跌了70%,从1月8日740美元/吨跌至4月21日218美元/吨。在鹿特丹,低硫燃料油价格较1月初也下降了67%。

此外,冯淑慧认为,船舶企业在决定是否遵守排放控制区规定时,不会只考虑燃油成本。如果船舶企业的违法行为被发现,除了需要交付罚款,也需要面对名誉和其他方面的经济损失。在中国,监管部门如果查到船企违规使用高硫油,该船会被列为海事局的重点监督船舶,有更大机率被海事部门挑选为登船检查对象。登船检查都可能延长靠泊时间,导致船期延误,令货物无法如期运送,导致船企信誉受损。在国外,违规船舶会被列入监管部门“黑名单”,有时甚至会被公布船舶名字,同样损毁商誉。冯淑慧强调,“为了促进船舶使用合规燃油,严格的执法、监管和信息公开是至关重要的。”

监测仍是短板,罚则也有待加强

要让限硫令产生真实效用,少不了海事部门的严格执法。

目前国内外大部分港口都采取执法人员登船的方式检查违规排放。公益组织天津绿领环保的调研数据显示:2018年天津港有2万多艘次船舶受到常规监管,但其中八成没有登船。庞大的船舶数量、复杂的航线,对海事执法人员的违法船舶监管能力提出了巨大的挑战。

冯淑慧也表达了对部分水域监管能力的担忧。她认为,2016年的《珠三角、长三角、环渤海(京津冀)水域船舶排放控制区实施方案》中的三个排放控制区已具备相应的检测监管能力。但其他地区,尤其是一些小的港区,从事船舶燃油检测监管的专业人员短缺,监管能力仍需要不断提升。

对此,交通运输部规划研究院环境资源所高级工程师李明君在上述沙龙上提到,应该利用大数据,通过对历史数据的分析,查看哪些船企、船只有过违法记录,哪些航线、加油港容易出现违法行为,这样一来,执法部门就能在船舶进港前初步判断这些船是否会成为重点关注对象。

技术手段更多是震慑力量

生态环境部机动车排污监控中心政策标准研究部项目主管马冬也在沙龙上指出,未来的监管手段要借助于机器,光靠人海战术不可能支撑。他提到,香港科技大学已经有团队在研究无人机监测,上海也有人在研究遥感监测。“技术手段更多是震慑力量”,他说,“要告诉行业,我们有能力监管,不要让他们抱有侥幸心理。”

马冬还希望能加强对船舶的跨地区联防联控。就中国国内而言,区域一体化建设有利于区域内监管数据、执法手段的共享。从国际上来看,“一带一路”的交流合作变多也有利于中国和国际监管机构共享数据——尤其是违法纪录,以期减少监管成本。

另一个问题是,如果对违规船舶的处罚力度轻微,也会削弱执法实效。目前,中国对违规使用燃油的处罚依据为《大气污染防治法》第106条,处罚金额在1万元以上10万元以下,相当低廉。

而且在此前的执法实践中,罚款额度往往更靠近这个区间的下限。亚洲清洁空气中心与自然田团队在调查中发现,过去各地海事局对排放控制区内的违规船舶开出的罚单远远低于法律要求的处罚上限10万元。在他们统计的2016年至2017年所有城市的261条处罚记录中,对不合格燃油的平均罚金仅为1.5万元。亚洲清洁空气中心高级研究员成慧慧指出,罚款和超标量并没有关联。以深圳的处罚记录为例,使用含硫量超标37倍的内河船与超标2.4倍的内河船的罚金一样,为1万元。这些都会让限硫令缺乏足够的威慑力。因此,他们呼吁取消《大气污染防治法》中处罚上限。

China enters a new low-sulphur shipping era

Establishing emission control areas has prepared China for global sulphur restrictions, but challenges remain

Low-sulphur fuel being discharged into tanks at Hambantota port, Sri Lanka

Low-sulphur fuel being discharged into tanks at Hambantota port, Sri Lanka (Image: Alamy)

The global shipping industry is shifting to low-sulphur fuel in response to global calls for cleaner shipping . At the start of the year, the International Maritime Organisation (IMO) lowered the sulphur content limit in ships’ fuel oil from 3.5% to 0.5%. Since 1 March, the carrying of fuel oil not meeting the tougher standard has also been banned, all under the International Convention for the Prevention of Pollution from Ships (MARPOL). Ships fitted with a sulphur scrubber, or exhaust gas cleaning system, are still allowed to carry and use heavy fuel oil, since this apparatus can keep emissions to within the new limit. The changes are expected to see sulphur oxides emissions from global shipping drop by 77%, thereby reducing health issues including asthma, stroke, lung cancer, cardiovascular and pulmonary diseases.

China has been monitoring shipping within its waters for compliance with the new rules. The media has reported marine authorities in Qingdao penalising a Korean vessel on 3 January, and then a Panamanian one in Weifang on 19 January.

The tougher limit will have a major impact. Cutting sulphur in fuel oil from 2.5% to 0.5%  reduces emissions of sulphur oxides by 80% and of particulate matter by up to half, while a reduction to 0.1% reduces sulphur oxides by 95% or more, according to a 2017 report jointly published by the Natural Resources Defence Council (an environmental advocacy group) and the Transport Planning and Research Institute of China’s Ministry of Transport. Meanwhile, if very-high-sulphur heavy fuel oil were to be replaced with 0.5% alternatives, particulate emissions could drop by up to half.

According to a local official quoted in the Economic Daily in 2018, data from Baoshan Monitoring Station, near Shanghai’s Waigaoqiao port, showed a much larger drop in sulphur oxides than for the city as a whole.

Stricter policies laying a foundation

China did have policies on shipping emissions before the IMO’s restrictions came into force.

In 2016, the Ministry of Transport starting imposing emission control areas (ECAs) in the Pearl and Yangtze deltas and the Bohai Sea, with a staged reduction of fuel oil sulphur content to 0.5%. This started with some trial ports in 2016, was expanded to “key ports” in 2017, to “all ports” in 2018 and the “entire ECA” in 2019. In July 2018, a State Council three-year action plan for tackling air pollution said China would “by the end of 2019, expand ECAs to cover [all] key coastal ports.” Four months later the transport ministry announced an ECA expansion – to 12 nautical miles outside its territorial baseline along the entire coast. ECAs also expanded to important shipping routes on the Yangtze and Xi rivers (a major tributary of the Pearl River).

china emission control areas map
DECA = Domestic Emissions Control Area | Data: International Council of Clean Transportation

Those ECAs form the basis for implementing the sulphur restrictions. Freda Fung, consultant to the Natural Resources Defense Council’s Green Ports and Shipping project, told China Dialogue the ECAs had given regulators necessary experience: in collecting samples, using high-speed testing equipment, and remote sensing. Monitoring fuel oil quality became a focus for the marine authorities once those policies were put in place. Now, remote monitoring of emissions allows the use of non-compliant fuel oil to be identified from afar.

In November 2017, 13 ministries including the Ministry of Transport jointly issued guidance on ensuring supply of low-sulphur fuel for shipping, along with introducing joint supervision. The document encouraged Chinese refineries to produce low-sulphur fuel oil, called for a faster update to fuel oil standards, and boosted oversight of the sector.

18.15 million tonnes


The quantity of low-sulphur fuel oil China plans to produce in 2020

Freda Fung explained oil firms have been planning production of low-sulphur fuel oil since last year. An IMO database of shipping fuel oil consumption shows compliant fuel oil had been available in many countries before the tougher rules were realised.

In January, OilChem China, a provider of energy industry statistics, calculated that global demand for low-sulphur fuel oil for shipping would be 135 million tonnes in 2020 – leaving a 40% supply gap.

Chinese refiners are boosting production. According to OilChem China, the country produced 76,000 tonnes of low-sulphur fuel oil in 2019, while testing techniques. Planned output for 2020 is 18.15 million tonnes. For comparison, the EU and the US produce a combined 20 million tonnes a year.

Cleaner fuel, or scrubbers?

The IMO allows for an alternative emissions-reduction method: continuing to use high-sulphur fuels but with a sulphur scrubber installed. However, the industry seems to prefer switching fuels. Only around 4,300 vessels – less than 5% of the total – worldwide have installed scrubbers according to data from Norwegian shipping registrar DNV GL.

Which is the better option? In 2019, Wu Huimin, a cruise liner captain with Royal Caribbean, said at a media event to discuss the restrictions, organised by green NGO Tianjin Binhai Environmental Protection Advisory Service Centre, that sulphur scrubbers are a more economical option: the switch to low-sulphur fuel will see a 100,000-tonne ship burn an extra $2,000 of fuel every hour; while a sulphur scrubber costs $1 million. So after 500 hours of sailing, the scrubber is the better deal.

But at the same event Peng Chuangsheng, deputy chief engineer with the China Waterborne Transport Research Institute, said price changes and the lifespan of a sulphur scrubber need to be taken into account, adding that low-sulphur oil is the “natural choice” for the shipping industry. He pointed out that sulphur scrubbers have an expected lifespan of five years, but due to a lack of testing, actual longevity is unknown. “If it doesn’t last for five years, and the price of low-sulphur fuel comes down, it might not earn back its cost.”

ship pollution satellite image, lines in clouds caused by shipping pollution
Pollution from ships creates lines of clouds that can stretch hundreds of miles (Image: NASA Earth Observatory)

Freda Fung told China Dialogue that the Ministry of Transport’s implementation of the sulphur restrictions prevents ships from dumping wash water from sulphur scrubbers in an ECA. Scrubbers also take up space that could be used for cargo.

Low-sulphur fuel – expensive, for now

Although low-sulphur fuel has become the shipping industry’s main choice, it remains pricey – $200-250 more expensive per tonne than 3.5% sulphur fuel.

Nature Fields, an NGO working on port air pollution, said in an article on its WeChat account that research shows this increases the cost of each trip through an ECA by 100,000 euros (about 770,000 yuan). According to Nature Fields, this may make shipping firms more inclined to pay fines than use the pricier fuel.

Commenting on this at the media event, Peng Chuangsheng said low-sulphur fuel will become cheaper as it is more widely used, while high-sulphur fuel will get more expensive as production and demand drops, shrinking the gap between the two. Freda Fung told China Dialogue that the shipping industry has always had a surcharge system, whereby shipping firms pass on increased fuel costs to cargo owners. The major firms raised those surcharges in anticipation of the new restrictions and are not themselves bearing all the extra cost, making the switch easier.

Recent sharp drops in crude oil future prices have also affected low-sulphur fuel prices. According to the JOC Group, a shipping information and services provider, the cost of very low-sulphur fuel in Singapore has collapsed by 70% since early January, from $740 a tonne on 8 January to $218 on 21 April. Rotterdam has seen a similar fall: 67% since early January.

Freda Fung also said price isn’t the only factor shipping firms consider when deciding to comply with an ECA. Breaches would mean reputational damage, fines and other economic losses. In China, ships found breaching ECA rules will be singled out by regulators for particular scrutiny and are more likely to be boarded for checks. This means more time at anchor and so delays to schedules and damaged reputations. Overseas, vessels may end up on blacklists, perhaps even publicly, again damaging reputations. Fung stressed: “Strict enforcement, oversight and transparency are crucial to encouraging the use of compliant fuel oil.”

Monitoring still weak, fines should be higher

If the restrictions are to be effective, strict enforcement by the marine authorities is needed.

Currently, officials in large ports around the world are boarding ships to check emissions. Data collected by the Tianjin Binhai Environmental Protection Advisory Service Centre shows that in 2018 over 20,000 routine checks were made at Tianjin’s port – but in 80% of those checks no vessels were boarded. The huge number of vessels and complex itineraries is a major challenge for marine law enforcement officials.

Freda Fung agreed. She said that monitoring and oversight capacity in the three areas where ECA trials were run in 2016 – the Yangtze and Pearl deltas and the Bohai Sea – is in place, but in smaller port areas more staff are needed.

Responding to this, Li Mingjun, senior engineer with the environmental resources bureau of the Ministry of Transport’s Planning Research Institute, said at the media event that a big data analysis of records could find the companies and vessels with a history of breaches, and identify the routes and refuelling points more likely to see illegal behaviour. This would allow the authorities to make early decisions about which vessels should be checked.

Technology has a greater deterrent effect

Ma Dong, project manager with the policy and research standards office at the Ministry of Ecology and Environment’s Vehicular Emissions Control Centre, added that technology will be needed in the future – throwing staff at the problem is not enough. He pointed out that Hong Kong University of Science and Technology has a team researching automated monitoring, while remote sensing is being researched in Shanghai. “Technology has a greater deterrent effect,” he said, “and we should tell the industry that we can monitor them, and make sure they don’t take chances.”

Ma also hopes to see joint enforcement across regions. Even within China, integration across regions would help sharing of information and methods. Internationally, more exchange and cooperation across the Belt and Road Initiative countries would help China share enforcement data, such as breaches, with international regulators, thereby reducing enforcement costs.

Another issue is that low fines may be reducing the impact of law enforcement. Currently, fines in China are imposed according to Article 106 of the Air Pollution Law – which only allows for relatively small fines, of between 10,000 (US$1,400) and 100,000 yuan.

In practice, fines have stayed at the lower end of that range. A study by Clean Air Asia and Nature Fields found that fines issued in China were far below the maximum allowed. Of 261 fines issued in 2016-2017, the average fine for using non-compliant fuel was only 15,000 yuan. Cheng HuiHui, senior researcher with Clean Air Asia pointed out there is no link between the size of the fine and the quality of the fuel: In Shenzhen, two vessels were given fines of 10,000 yuan – despite the fact that one was using fuel with 37 times the permitted quantities of sulphur, and the other only 2.4 times. This reduces the deterrent effect of the restrictions. They therefore called for the upper limit on fines to be removed.