孟加拉湾渔业纷争难解

在缺乏积极合作的情况下,沿岸各国靠监禁他国渔民管制渔业,而过度捕捞导致的鱼类资源下降仍在持续。

Sundarbans National Park: Fishermen on the Gulf of Bengal, Bangladesh

一艘渔船在孟加拉湾的孟加拉国专属经济区(EEZ)作业(供图:穆罕默德·阿尔久)

孟加拉国、印度和缅甸已经划定了在孟加拉湾的边界,但专属经济区地图上的条条框框并不能约束鱼和渔民。鱼不知道边界的存在,渔民们则是为了更好的渔获,有意无意地跨越了界限。船越来越多,鱼越来越少,冲突屡见不鲜。

孟加拉国渔港小镇考克斯巴扎尔(Cox’s Bazar)和博杜阿卡利(Patuakhali)的渔民说,他们过去常常在深海区与其他国家的船只一起捕鱼。现在,随着鱼越来越少,外国渔民成了不受欢迎的竞争对手。当局扣押了来自 斯里兰卡的船只,并在孟加拉国沿岸海域逮捕了越界渔民。有时冲突的处理更加直接。几名不愿透露姓名的吉大港拖网渔船船长说,有时小型船只就被悄无声息地沉掉了。

孟加拉湾专属经济区地图

环保人士和渔业管理者警告说,如果各国不能化冲突为合作,不仅会威胁渔民的安全,孟加拉湾日益减少的鱼类数量也可能归零。

环孟加拉湾有8个国家,沿海地区大约生活着2亿人,大多靠捕鱼为生,其中大部分人生活在贫困线以下。但几十年来这里的渔业一直处在压力之下,现已严重枯竭。数百艘大型渔船正以不可持续的速度过度捕捞,当地渔民说,当局往往对此睁一只眼闭一只眼。

缺乏合作

专家说,孟加拉湾国家在渔业和野生动物方面缺乏合作,有可能破坏许多国家层面采取的保护措施。

已经有人试图促进合作。印度提出了“环孟加拉湾多领域经济技术合作倡议”(BIMSTEC)。与此同时,全球环境基金(GEF)和联合国粮食及农业组织(FAO)设立了一个促进环孟加拉湾8国可持续渔业的进程,但情况并没有得到很大改观。

纷争之海

孟加拉国渔民认为政府每年实施的 65天禁渔期是不公平的,因为他们说,在禁渔期间,来自邻国的船队会在孟加拉国水域捕鱼。官员们说,这是为了保护产卵鱼和恢复鱼类资源。

达卡大学动物学讲师马哈图布·汗·巴东(Mahatub Khan Badhon)说:“渔民们要是认为海上禁渔令存在不公,不仅禁渔令会得不到遵守,还会促使他们不把任何此类管理措施放在眼里。”巴东认为,加大执法力度并不是解决办法。无论是孟加拉国、印度还是缅甸,逮捕并监禁外国渔民只会让更多人遭罪。在过去的几十年里,没有证据表明这一措施有助于保护鱼群或减少渔业冲突。

过度捕捞依旧

虽然大量的手工或小规模渔民被关在外国监狱数月,但孟加拉湾过度捕捞的状况依然没有改善。正如吉大港的努尔·伊斯兰·马吉(Nur Islam Majhi)所说:“总有一些人跨越边界,希望这边海里有更多的鱼。”作为一名手工刺网渔船的船长,他有20年的捕鱼经验,也曾无数次在蒙格拉港(Mongla)以南不远处与其他国家的渔船相遇。

孟加拉湾小型渔船
许多小型渔船只配有极少数精密设备,不难想见,他们并不知道专属经济区的界限在哪里(供图:穆罕默德·阿尔久)

去年,孟加拉国海岸警卫队在博杜阿卡利海岸(Patuakhali)逮捕了500多名印度渔民 ,并扣押了32艘船只 ,博杜阿卡利位于孟加拉国专属经济区内125公里处。这件事发生在65天的海上禁渔期期间,而孟加拉国的渔民却被禁渔令困在了陆地上。有些印度渔民被遣返,但并不是所有人都这么幸运。孟加拉国海岸警卫队的统计数据显示,近年来有1000多名印度渔民被拘留,在监狱里待了几个月才获释。被其他国家监禁的孟加拉渔民数据很难找到,但如果他们在缅甸被捕,可能需要数年时间才能回家。

无视国际法

专家说,这些国家监禁渔民的做法违背了国际法准则。政府间组织“孟加拉湾计划”(Bay of Bengal Programme)的负责人尤格拉·辛格·亚达瓦(Yugraj Singh Yadava)表示,国际海洋法明确规定,各国不得对在专属经济区被捕的外国渔民进行监禁或实施其他体罚。该组织总部设在印度金奈,旨在推动孟加拉湾国家在可持续渔业方面更紧密的区域合作。

联合国海洋法公约 》(UNCLOS)第73条规定:“被逮捕的船只及其船员,在提出适当的保证书或其他担保后,应迅速获得释放。”该法律和随后达成的国际协议也对双边协议、信息共享和其他类型的合作做出了规定,以避免渔民遭受痛苦并保护跨越国家海洋边界的鱼类。亚达瓦说:“国际法为各国处理这一问题提供了足够的指导。然而,该地区没有一个国家照着做。”

孟加拉国海洋渔业办公室主任穆罕默德·拉蒂弗·拉赫曼(Mohammed Latifur Rahman)对此表示赞同。他说,除了一些对话机会外,各国之间没有有效的合作。他希望印度作为孟加拉湾沿岸海岸线最长的国家,能够帮助邻国进行联合鱼类资源的合作探索和研究。他说:“我们需要数据共享的进程和机制,以及在海洋渔业管理方面进行合作的功能平台。”

2012年,联合国粮农组织的“孟加拉湾大型海洋生态系统”项目委托进行的一项研究针对渔民遭到逮捕和遣返的问题提出了几条建议,其中包括联合巡逻。

孟加拉湾大型海洋生态系统 ”是唯一一个国际资助的促进海洋渔业和环境问题跨界合作的项目。但在该项目启动10多年后,这些建议中被相关国家政府采纳的却寥寥无几。

从长远来看,各国将需要就渔民遣返问题达成双边或多边协定,需要明确雇主、船主和政府所扮演的角色,而且还需要定期向手工渔民通报有关事项。

鱼无国界

许多鱼类种群经常在两个或两个以上国家的专属经济区之间迁徙,以觅食或产卵。亚达瓦解释说,一些鱼种,如印度鲭鱼和线鳍鲷在整个孟加拉湾都有分布。另一些鱼种,如花点鲥和龙头鱼主要见于特定海域。较小的浮泳鱼类,如凤尾鱼、鲱鱼和鲥鱼,在两个或两个以上国家的沿海水域洄游。一些小型的远洋鱼类,如尖吻圆腹鲱,在所有孟加拉湾国家沿岸都能找到。

即使是龙虾、海参和珊瑚鱼等底栖物种,在幼体阶段也会越界扩散。例如,龙虾的出生地和成年定居点之间可能相隔数千公里。亚达瓦说:“一个国家的捕捞活动会严重影响共享该资源其他国家的收获机会。”

孟加拉国海洋渔业调查管理小组的首席科学官员穆罕默德·谢里夫·乌丁(Mohammad Sharif Uddin)说:“目前还没有进行任何研究来确定跨多个专属经济区的鱼类种群。上次与印度举行的联合工作组会议上,在渔业方面没有取得任何进展。”

濒危的海洋动物

这种情况或许有望改变。目前有6个孟加拉湾国家加入了1995年的《联合国鱼类种群协定》。最近加入的国家是泰国,于2017年批准了该协定。缅甸和马来西亚还没有加入。该协定是关于执行《联合国海洋法公约》有关跨界和洄游鱼类养护和管理的规定。

渔业管理面临的一个重大挑战是减少兼捕和保护高度濒危的海洋物种。巴东解释说,鲨鱼、鳐鱼和锯鳐等物种会在大片海域迁徙。鲸鲨、锤头鲨和海龟等迁徙物种经常与具有重要商业价值的鱼类一起被渔具捕获。

亚达瓦解释说,一个国家采取的迁徙物种保护措施无法取得预期效果,除非该地区其他国家也采取同样的措施。

“部分国家保护这些动物,但行动的规模并不统一。如果该地区所有国家的政策不能协调统一,仅靠一个国家的保护可能效果有限,”亚达瓦说。

例如,儒艮栖息在保克湾(Palk Bay)和马纳尔湾(Gulf of Mannar),这是印度和斯里兰卡共享的另一片跨界海域。两国尚未就保护这一标志性物种免受渔业活动威胁的适当策略达成一致。

亚达瓦补充说,如果要维持孟加拉湾的渔业,积极的合作和联合管理至关重要。原则上,各国对此并不反对,但由于他们拖拖拉拉,孟加拉湾的鱼类和渔民仍在受罪。

 

本文原发于我们的姐妹网站第三极

翻译:奇芳

Jailing fishers won’t save the fish of the Bay of Bengal

In the absence of active cooperation, fishers continue to be jailed in other countries while overfishing drives down fish populations

Sundarbans National Park: Fishermen on the Gulf of Bengal, Bangladesh

Fishing in Bangladesh’s portion of the Bay of Bengal (Image: Alamy)

Bangladesh, India and Myanmar have agreed their borders in the Bay of Bengal, but neither fish nor fishers are bound by the lines on the Exclusive Economic Zone (EEZ) map. The fish do not know. In the hope of a better catch, fishers cross boundaries, knowingly or not. As more boats chase fewer fish, clashes are common.

Fishers based in Cox’s Bazar and Patuakhali harbours in Bangladesh say they used to fish alongside vessels from other countries in the deep sea. Now, as it is becoming harder to find fish, foreign fishers are unwelcome competitors. Authorities have seized vessels from Sri Lanka and arrested fishers off the shores of Bangladesh. Sometimes the conflicts are dealt with more directly. The sinking of smaller vessels sometimes goes unreported, said several trawler skippers from Chittagong on condition of anonymity.

Map of the exclusive economic zones in the Bay of the Bengal

Conservationists and fisheries managers warn that if countries cannot transform conflict into collaboration it is not just the safety of the fishers at stake: the dwindling number of fish in the Bay of Bengal could disappear.

With eight countries bordering the bay, around 200 million people live along its coasts. Most of them depend on the fish for their food and livelihood, and a majority of the fishers are below the poverty line. But the fisheries of the bay have been under pressure for decades and are now severely depleted. Hundreds of large vessels are overfishing at an unsustainable rate and local fishers say authorities often turn a blind eye.

No cooperation

The failure of the Bay of Bengal countries to cooperate over fisheries and wildlife risks undermining many conservation measures taken on the national level, experts say.

There have been attempts to foster cooperation. India has the Bay of Bengal Initiative for Multi-Sectoral Technical and Economic Cooperation (BIMSTEC). While, the Global Environment Facility and UN Food and Agricultural Organization (FAO) set up a process to promote sustainable fishing among the eight countries, but not much has changed on the water.

Tensions and arrests at sea

Bangladeshi fishers view their government’s annual 65-day fishing ban as unjust, because they say fleets from neighbouring countries fish in Bangladesh’s waters during the ban. Officials say it is to protect spawning fish and rejuvenate fish stocks.

Mahatub Khan Badhon, a lecturer of zoology at the University of Dhaka, said: “The perception of uneven enforcement of the marine fishing ban affects the compliance of fishers and encourages fishers to delegitimise any such management measures.” Badhon believes that ramping up enforcement is not the answer. Arresting and putting foreign fishers in jail, whether by Bangladesh, India or Myanmar, only increases human suffering. There is no evidence from past decades that it helps conservation or reduces conflicts over fishing.

Overfishing continues

While a large number of artisanal or small-scale fishers are locked up in foreign jails for months, overfishing continues in the bay. As Nur Islam Majhi from Chittagong put it: “There are always others who will cross boundaries with a hope that there are more fish in the sea.” As a skipper of an artisanal gillnetter, he has two decades of fishing experience and numerous encounters with boats from other countries just south of Mongla port.

Artisanal fishers in the Bay of Bengal
Many small-scale fishing boats have minimal sophisticated equipment, and it is easy to believe that they do not know where the limits of the EEZs lie (Image: Mohammad Arju)

Last year, the Bangladesh coast guard arrested over 500 Indian fishers and seized 32 boats off the coast in Patuakhali – more than 125 km inside the Bangladesh EEZ. This was during the 65-day ban on marine fishing, which kept Bangladeshi fishers stuck on land. The Indian fishers were sent back but not all are so lucky.

Statistics from the Bangladesh coast guard show that in recent years more than a thousand Indian fishers have been held and spent months in jail before release. It is difficult to find the numbers of Bangladeshi fishers jailed in other countries. When Bangladeshi fishers are arrested in Myanmar, it can take years before they return home.

Ignoring international law

By jailing fishers countries are not following norms set down by international law, experts say. Yugraj Singh Yadava, director of intergovernmental organisation the Bay of Bengal Programme, says that the international law of the sea clearly directs countries not to jail or deliver other corporal punishment to foreign fishers arrested in EEZs. Headquartered in Chennai, the body is pushing for closer regional cooperation over sustainable fisheries among the Bay of Bengal countries.

Article 73 of the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea (UNCLOS) says: “arrested vessels and their crews shall be promptly released upon the posting of a reasonable bond or other security.” The law and subsequent international agreements also have provisions for bilateral agreements, information sharing and other sorts of collaboration to avoid the suffering of fishers and protect fish that travel across national maritime boundaries. Yadava said: “International laws provide enough guidance to States to deal with the issue. However, none of the countries in the region are doing so.”

Mohammed Latifur Rahman, director of Bangladesh’s marine fisheries office, agrees. There is no effective collaboration among countries except a few opportunities for dialogues, he said. He hoped that India, which has the longest coastline along the Bay of Bengal, could help neighbours conduct collaborative explorations and studies on joint fish stocks. “We need processes and mechanisms for data sharing and a functional platform to cooperate in marine fisheries management,” he said.

Back in 2012, a study commissioned by the UN FAO’s Bay of Bengal Large Marine Ecosystem project made several recommendations to deal with the arrest and repatriations of fishers, including joint patrols.

The Bay of Bengal Large Marine Ecosystem Project is the only internationally funded initiative to facilitate transboundary collaboration for marine fisheries and environmental issues. But more than a decade after its launch, very few of the recommendations have been accepted by the respective governments.

In the long run, countries will need bilateral or multilateral agreements for the repatriation of fishers. The roles of employers, vessel owners, and governments need to be clarified. Countries also need to regularly inform artisanal fishers of the issues involved.

Fish don’t do borders

Many fish populations regularly move between EEZs of two or more countries to feed or spawn. Yadava explained that a few fish species like the Indian mackerel and the threadfin bream are distributed along the entire bay. Some other species like Hilsa and the Bombay duck are primarily found in specific areas. Smaller pelagic fish, such as anchovies, herring and Hilsa, migrate through the coastal waters of two or more countries. Some small open ocean fish, like the rainbow sardine, are found along the coastlines of all Bay of Bengal countries.

Without harmonised policy by all the countries in the region, conservation by one country alone may have limited benefits

Even bottom-dwelling species such as lobsters, sea cucumbers and reef fish disperse across boundaries during larval stages. For example, lobsters may travel thousands of kilometres from their place of birth to the site of an adult settlement. “Harvesting activities of one country significantly affect the harvesting opportunities of other countries sharing the [same] resource,” Yadava said.

“No studies have been conducted yet to identify fish stocks straddling across multiple EEZs,” said Mohammad Sharif Uddin, principal scientific officer of Bangladesh’s Marine Fisheries Survey Management Unit. “During the last joint working group meeting with India there was no progress on fisheries.”

Threatened marine animals

There may be some hope of this changing. Six Bay of Bengal countries have now joined the 1995 UN Fish Stocks Agreement. The most recent entrant was Thailand, which ratified the agreement in 2017. Myanmar and Malaysia have still not joined yet. The agreement is about implementing UNCLOS provisions relating to the conservation and management of straddling and migratory fish stocks.

A significant challenge of managing fisheries is reducing bycatch and conserving highly threatened marine species. Badhon explained that species of sharks, rays and sawfish migrate across large swathes of sea. Migratory species such as whale sharks, hammerhead sharks and sea turtles often get caught in fishing gear along with commercially important fish.

Steps taken by one country to protect migratory species won’t have the desired results unless other countries in the region follow suit, Yadava explained.

“Some of the countries protect these animals, but the scale of operation is not uniform. Without harmonised policy by all the countries in the region, conservation by one country alone may have limited benefits,” Yadava said.

For example, the dugong inhabits the Palk Bay and the Gulf of Mannar, another transboundary area shared by India and Sri Lanka. The two countries are yet to agree on suitable strategies to protect this iconic species from threats from fishing operations.

Yadava added that active collaboration and joint management is essential if the fisheries of the Bay of Bengal are to be sustained. The countries are – in principle – not opposed, but as they drag their feet both the fish and fishers in the Bay of Bengal continue to suffer.

 

This story was originally published by our sister site The Third Pole.