报告呼吁谨慎对待深海采矿

一份最新发布的蓝皮书认为深海采矿的发展不应以牺牲海洋环境为代价。

deep sea coral, gulf of mexico

图片来源:NOAA, CC BY

清洁能源不断发展的同时,对金属和稀土元素的需求也在不断增长。开发涡轮风力发电机、太阳能电池板和电池这些服务于低碳未来的动力设备需要钴、镍、锌、铜、银、金、锂以及其他多种元素。

虽然这些金属历来都是在陆地上开采,但是人们对深海采矿这种新型水下发掘模式的兴趣也在逐渐增加。然而,由可持续海洋经济高级别小组委托撰写的一份新蓝皮书发现,深海采矿这个提议具有潜在风险。事实上,替代技术的迅速发展降低了这些金属的需求,深海采矿或许会因此变成一种不必要的矿产开采形式。

深海采矿:谨慎前行

由于深海采矿可以带来很多潜在的好处,因而被认为是快速实现清洁能源转型的关键,比如,深海采矿是新的金属来源(具有助力脱碳化进程的潜力);为各国、各行业和人民带来收入;促进技术创新;二氧化碳释放量少于陆地采矿;相比陆地采矿负担更少;不需要永久性的海洋基础设施等。

尽管如此,人们对深海采矿环境影响的了解仍然少得可怜。迄今为止,针对深海采矿的影响还没有开展类似于陆地商业采矿那样大规模的调研。

加拿大的勘探公司Nautilus Minerals大大型海床切割设备。图片来源 © Nautilus Minerals

从现有不多的研究来看,状况令人担心。研究发现,深海采矿将会给海底生物造成长达数十年的干扰。采矿过程中采用的破碎、清除、覆盖和其他改变环境的手段都会导致生物多样性和生态系统服务的丧失,甚至导致局部物种灭绝。以这种方式破坏海洋栖息地将损害海洋可持续性,阻碍联合国可持续发展目标的实现。

《联合国海洋法公约》宣布国际水域中的海底矿物为人类的共同遗产。这些矿物的开采和海洋环境的保护均受国际海底管理局(ISA)管辖。人们对这些相互矛盾的ISA法规及其履行环境管理职责的能力表示了担忧。还有一个问题是,深海开采的收益是否会按预期流向发展中国家并实现代际平等。海底采矿造成的悬浮物羽流会产生潜在的跨界影响,而矿物的运输和加工也会产生陆上影响。

因此,我们的研究建议采取谨慎和循序渐进的方式开展深海底采矿,以避免和最大程度地减少对栖息地、社区和生态系统的损害。应当花充分的时间来制定法规和区域环境计划。在推进工业级深海采矿之前,我们需要对更大范围的环境影响有更充分的了解,并且需要确定采矿活动对全球的益处。

能源转型不应牺牲海洋环境

蓝皮书明确了以下几个机遇,既能确保可再生能源的规模发展,又不会以破坏独特的海洋栖息地为代价:

  1. 加大研发力度,强化示范项目,从而扩大海上风能规模,并且利用潮汐、波浪和漂浮式太阳能等其他海洋可再生能源技术,在未来几十年中为推动脱碳化进程做出显著贡献。
  2. 推出更多向矿产密集度较低的全球能源体系倾斜的研发和经济激励措施,包括矿产密集度较低的海洋可再生能源。
  3. 制定激励措施并消除壁垒,建立循环经济,通过改进产品设计,减少需求,材料的再利用、回收和重新分类以及将可再生能源用于生产等手段来构建循环经济。
  4. 结合“联合国海洋科学促进可持续发展十年”规划制定国际研究议程和时间表,取得并整合有关深海的高质量科学数据。更多的数据和分析可以帮助填补知识空白,有助于在开展深海采矿之前做出更好的决策和加强环境管理。
  5. 构建国际海底管理局的环境监管能力,有效保护海洋环境免受采矿影响。法规的制定必须本着透明、包容的原则。
  6. 提高陆上采矿的可持续性和效率,减少对海底采矿的需求。
  7. 支持海洋空间规划和可持续海洋经济计划,加大对海洋可再生能源供应的投入。
  8. 推动采矿作业前所有海洋保护区的确认、申报和落实。

本文最初由世界资源研究所发布

翻译:Estelle

Clean energy doesn’t have to come at the expense of the ocean

Mining the deep is risky and may be unnecessary given rapidly emerging alternatives, finds blue paper

deep sea coral, gulf of mexico

Soft coral in the Gulf of Mexico (Image: NOAA, CC BY)

As clean energy expands, demand for metals and rare earth elements is growing along with it. Developing the wind turbines, solar panels and batteries that will power our low-carbon future requires cobalt, nickel, zinc, copper, silver, gold, lithium and more.

While these materials have historically been sourced on land, there’s increasing interest in tapping into supplies found underwater, through deep-seabed mining. Yet a new blue paper commissioned by the High Level Panel for a Sustainable Ocean Economy finds that deep-seabed mining is a potentially risky proposition that may, in fact, be unnecessary given the rapid development of alternative technologies that reduce demand.

Deep-seabed mining: proceed with caution

Deep-seabed mining has been heralded as the key for rapidly transitioning to clean energy due to a wide range of potential benefits, such as: providing a new source of metals (potentially facilitating decarbonisation); providing income to states, industry and people; boosting technological innovation; releasing less CO2 than land mining; representing less burden than land mining; and requiring no permanent ocean infrastructure.

Despite this, deep-seabed mining has poorly understood environmental impacts. There are no studies to date that investigate the impacts of mining the deep sea at scales that resemble those of commercial mining activities on land.

Machines like this “Bulk Cutter” are used for fragmenting the sea bed during mining operations (Image © Nautilus Minerals)

The little research that is available paints a concerning picture. Studies found that deep-seabed mining will create disturbance to life on the seafloor that can last for decades. The crushing, removal, smothering and other changes to the environment can lead to loss of biodiversity and ecosystem services, and perhaps even local extinctions. Damaging ocean habitats in this way would undermine ocean sustainability and the UN Sustainable Development Goals.

The UN Convention on the Law of the Sea declares seafloor minerals in international waters to be the common heritage of mankind. Both the mining of these minerals and protection of the marine environment are under the jurisdiction of the International Seabed Authority (ISA). There are concerns about these conflicting ISA mandates, and the capacity to address environmental management. There are also questions about whether the benefits of exploitation will flow to developing countries as intended and achieve intergenerational equity. There’s also potential for transboundary impacts of mining sediment plumes and land-based impacts associated with delivering and processing deep-seabed minerals.

As such, our study suggests that deep-seabed mining should be approached in a precautionary and adaptive manner in order to avoid and minimise harm to habitats, communities and ecosystems. Appropriate time should be taken to develop regulations and formulate regional environmental plans. We need considerably better knowledge of the larger-scale environmental impacts as well as confirmation of the global benefit from mining activities before pursuing industrial-scale deep-seabed mining.

Eight ways to ensure the clean energy transition proceeds, but doesn’t come at the expense of the ocean

The blue paper identified several opportunities to ensure that scaling up renewable energy does not come at the cost of damaging unique ocean habitats:

  1. Strengthen research, development (R&D) and demonstration programmes to scale up offshore wind, and enable other ocean-based renewable energy technologies like tidal, wave and floating solar to contribute significantly to decarbonisation in later decades.
  2. Strengthen R&D and economic incentives to favour a less mineral-intensive global energy system, including less mineral-intensive, ocean-based renewable energy.
  3. Create incentives and remove barriers to implement a circular economy, which acts through improved product design; reduced demand; reuse, recycling and reclassification of materials; and use of renewable energy for production.
  4. Establish an international research agenda and timeline, in conjunction with the UN Decade of Ocean Science for Sustainable Development, to generate and synthesise high-quality scientific data on the deep sea. More data and analysis can help fill knowledge gaps and foster better decision-making and environmental management in advance of deep-seabed mining.
  5. Build the environmental regulatory capacity of the ISA to ensure the effective protection of the marine environment from the impacts of mining. Regulations must be developed in a transparent and inclusive manner.
  6. Improve the sustainability and efficiency of land-based mining practices to reduce demand for deep-seabed mining.
  7. Support marine spatial planning and sustainable ocean economy plans that stimulate investments in renewable energy supply from the ocean.
  8. Promote the identification, declaration and enforcement of protected areas across all ocean regions before implementing any mining activities.

This article was originally published by the World Resources Institute.