抵达利比里亚的“超大拖网渔船”引发渔业资源之忧

授予六艘来自中国的渔船捕鱼许可证可能给当地渔业资源带来压力,利比里亚正仔细权衡其中的利弊。

Chinese supertrawler in Liberia

三艘属于深圳浩航远洋渔业有限公司的渔船停靠在蒙罗维亚港。图片来源:匿名提供

上个月,六艘中国籍拖网渔船抵达西非国家利比里亚首都蒙罗维亚,它们给当地渔业和社区带来的潜在影响引发了当地的讨论。

利比里亚以前从未见识过这些所谓的“超大拖网渔船”的规模和捕捞能力,它们的先进程度超过了目前以底栖鱼类(例如鲷鱼和石斑鱼)为目标的工业船队。而这些底栖鱼类正是当地驾小舟捕鱼的渔民们维系生存的基础。

这六艘50米长的渔船(浩远渔860、861、862、863、865、866)2018年在中国建造,属于深圳浩航远洋渔业有限公司,该公司由深圳滨海明珠实业有限公司全资所有。

尽管利比里亚当局已经完成了许可证发放前的检查,但还未正式向其发放许可证,原因是中国农业农村部准许这些船只在利比里亚水域进行捕捞的相关许可已于3月31日到期,目前无信息显示这一许可是否已更新。

利比里亚国家渔业和水产养殖管理局(NaFAA)总干事艾玛·梅蒂·格拉斯科(Emma Metieh-Glassco)介绍说,根据联合国粮农组织(FAO)的港口国措施协议,利比里亚不能给未获得船旗国许可的渔船发放捕捞许可证。

何为《港口国措施协议》?


要求各国不得向非法捕捞渔船开放港口,并实时共享相关信息的一项联合国公约。

利比里亚之前已经准许大连国际合作远洋渔业有限公司拥有的六艘中国底拖网渔船在其水域捕捞。虽然与包括其邻国塞拉利昂在内的其他西非国家相比,利比里亚海域的工业远洋船队规模要小得多,但环保团体和当地社区仍然担心,新增的渔船会给鱼类种群带来压力,并威胁利比里亚手工捕鱼业者的生计。

与许多邻国相比,利比里亚在过去十年中一直是可持续渔业管理的典范。2010年,该国为工业船只设立了6海里的禁捕区,目的就是保护支撑着约3.3万人生计的近海手工渔业。

“超大拖网渔船会与手工渔民竞争,” 渔业小镇罗伯茨波特(Robertsport)的社区管理协会秘书长约翰·亚当斯(John Adams)说。“我们在10年前恢复了渔业物种,这些种群需要得到保护。”

然而,经济形势恶化使利比里亚无力推进自己的“扶贫”议程。2018年1月上台的乔治·维阿总统(George Weah)政府迫切希望吸引新的外国投资。

我们不是一个环保主义国家,我们对资源的可持续利用更感兴趣。

格拉斯科说:“我们不是一个环保主义国家。我们对资源的可持续利用更感兴趣”,她还表示,即将出台的政策会力图增加获准作业的拖网渔船的数量。

新立法已将工业渔船(如捕虾船)禁捕区的范围从6海里以内缩小到4海里以内,并改变了“半工业”船只的定义。理论上来说,这为规模较大的船只进入以前的手工渔船专属捕捞区开了口子。然而,这一变化并未允许上述六艘新抵达的拖网渔船在近岸六海里区域内开展捕捞作业。

尽管如此,亚当斯担心,这些拖网渔船可能会“在夜间潜入6海里区域,干扰我们渔民的作业。”

即使是在这一范围之外作业也会给当地渔业社区带来风险。环境正义基金会(EJF)执行主任史蒂夫·特伦特(Steve Trent)说,这些新船“可能会将沿海社区所需的幼鱼一网打尽”。该基金会最近启动了一个项目,支持利比里亚渔业社区的管理,减少非法捕鱼事件的发生。

格拉斯科表示,一旦确认这些渔船获得中方的项目许可,国家渔业和水产养殖管理局计划试验性地向其中的一到两艘船发放“为期两到三个月”、“仅适用于底栖拖网捕捞”的“试点许可证”,以确定这些船的渔获率。

她说:“在没有记录渔获率的情况下,我们不会给六艘巨型船只颁发许可证,马上就为全部六艘渔船颁发许可证也是不明智的。”

china supertrawler arrive in liberia
停靠在蒙罗维亚港的六艘拖网渔船引发对当地渔业和社区潜影响的讨论。图片来源:匿名提供

目前对利比里亚的鱼类种群数量还缺少足够的数据和相应的分析,但2011年完成的一项评估显示,对工业捕鱼来说,每年6000公吨的底栖鱼捕捞量是一个可持续的水平。

据NaFAA的研究和统计主任奥斯汀·塞耶·威惠(Austin Saye Wehye)称,2019年,在利比里亚水域合法作业的6艘中国拖网渔船的渔获量为4000至5000吨。

2019年5月,塞耶·威惠对中外对话海洋表示:“我们对鱼类资源的情况并不十分了解,所以不希望吸引更多的工业捕捞。我们正努力保持谨慎,确保我们的种群资源得到可持续管理。”

然而,因其在这些渔船的捕捞许可上的争议性建议,威惠已被NaFAA暂停了职务。

今年早些时候,NaFAA将手工渔船的捕捞许可费提高至原来的十倍,使得本就因基础设施和冷链不足而举步维艰的手工渔业受到了进一步的重创,导致在双方就此展开谈判前,渔船在港口停滞了近两个月。

利比里亚的渔业法要求NaFAA“根据现有的最佳科学依据对该行业进行管理,以保持或恢复种群数量,维持可持续产量”,并禁止对超过可持续水平的捕捞计划发放许可证。

格拉斯科表示:“如果利比里亚已经达到了它的最大可持续产量,我们就不可能给任何船只颁发许可证。”

特伦特表示,给新增船只发放许可将“面临重大风险”。“为什么会有人在这个时候把有价值的产品和食物送出国家呢?”

“如果最大可持续产量计算错误(这是有可能的),渔业资源就会遭受重创。”

翻译:BAIHUI

Arrival of Chinese ‘supertrawlers’ raises concern in Liberia

The licensing of six new vessels would place a strain on fish populations and threaten local livelihoods

Chinese supertrawler in Liberia

Three of the six 50-metre Hao Yan Yu vessels in the Freeport of Monrovia (Image: Anonymous)

The arrival last month of six Chinese-flagged trawlers caused alarm in Monrovia, the capital of the West African nation of Liberia, over their potential to affect local fisheries and communities.

The size and fishing capacity of the so-called supertrawlers is of a scale previously unknown in Liberia, with a greater level of sophistication than the current fleet of industrial vessels that target demersal fish such as snapper and grouper, species that local fishermen in wooden canoes depend on for their livelihoods.

The new 50-metre-long vessels, the Hao Yan Yu 860, 861, 862, 863, 865 and 866, were built in China in 2018 and are owned by Shenzhen Hao Hang Pelagic Fishery. This private company, which appears on the licence applications, is in turn 100% owned by Shenzhen Binhai Mingzhu Industrial.

Although Liberian authorities have completed a pre-licensing inspection, they have not yet licensed the new vessels, since the required permits from China to allow them to fish in Liberian waters appear to have expired on 31 March.

Under the UN Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO)’s Port States Measures Agreement, Liberia is forbidden from issuing licences without prior authorisation from the vessels’ flag state, according to Emma Metieh-Glassco, director general of Liberia’s National Fisheries and Aquaculture Authority (NaFAA).

What is the Port State Measures Agreement?


A UN treaty requiring countries to close their ports to illegal fishing vessels, and to share real-time information to make that possible.

Six Chinese bottom trawlers, owned by Dalian Int. Coop Pelagic Fishing Co. Ltd, are already licensed to fish in Liberian waters. Although Liberia’s industrial demersal fleet is significantly smaller than those of other West African countries, including neighbouring Sierra Leone, environmental and community groups are nevertheless concerned that the additional vessels will place a strain on fish populations and threaten the livelihoods of Liberia’s artisanal fishing communities.

Compared to many of its neighbours, Liberia has been a shining example of sustainable fisheries management in the past decade. A six-nautical-mile exclusion zone for industrial vessels introduced in 2010 is designed to protect the inshore artisanal fishing industry, which supports the livelihood of some 33,000 people.

“The supertrawlers will compete with the artisanal fishermen,” said John Adams, secretary-general of a community management association in the fishing town of Robertsport. “We recovered our species 10 years ago and we need to protect our stocks.”

However, the government of President George Weah, who came to power in January 2018, is keen to attract new foreign investment amid a worsening economic situation which is hampering its ability to deliver on its “pro-poor” agenda.

We are not a conservationist country, we are more interested in sustainable use.

“We are not a conservationist country,” said Glassco. “We are more interested in sustainable use,” adding that a forthcoming policy will seek to increase the number of trawlers permitted to operate.

New legislation has reduced the industrial exclusion zone from six nautical miles to four for certain vessels, such as shrimpers, as well as changing the definition of a “semi-industrial” vessel, which in theory permits larger boats into areas previously reserved for artisanal fleets. The change would not however permit the six newly arrived trawlers to fish within six miles of the shore.

Nevertheless, Adams is concerned that the trawlers might “slink into the six-nautical-mile zone at night and disturb our fishermen.”

Even operating outside the zone carries risks for local fishing communities. The new vessels “may scoop up juvenile fish that would be needed by coastal communities,” said Steve Trent, executive director of the Environmental Justice Foundation (EJF), which recently launched a project designed to support community management of Liberia’s fisheries and reduce instances of illegal fishing.

Glassco stated that, once Chinese authorisation had been received, the National Fisheries and Aquaculture Authority (NaFAA) planned to issue a “trial licence for one or two vessels” for an initial two to three months “for demersal trawling only” to ascertain their catch rates.

“We are not going to license six gigantic vessels without a record of catch rates, so it’s not wise to give all six licences at once,” she said.

china supertrawler arrive in liberia
The arrival of the six trawlers has caused alarm in Monrovia over their potential impact on local fisheries and communities (Image: Anonymous)

Data and corresponding analysis on Liberia’s fish populations is lacking, but an assessment completed in 2011 suggested 6,000 metric tons per year for demersal fish would be a sustainable level for industrial fishing.

According to Austin Saye Wehye, director of research and statistics at NaFAA, the six existing Chinese trawlers caught between 4,000 and 5,000 metric tons of fish in 2019.

Speaking to China Dialogue Ocean in May 2019, Saye Wehye said: “We don’t have a great knowledge of stocks so are not keen to attract additional industrial fishing. We are trying to be cautious and make sure our stocks are sustainably managed.”

Saye Wehye is since reported to have been suspended by NaFAA for his involvement in a questionable report that recommended the licensing of the vessels.

The artisanal sector – already hampered by a lack of infrastructure and cold supply chain to market –  suffered a further blow earlier this year when NaFAA increased licence fees for artisanal fishing vessels by up to 1,000%, prompting boats to remain in port for almost two months prior to negotiations.

Liberia’s fisheries law mandates NaFAA to manage the sector “based on the best scientific evidence available to maintain or restore stocks at levels capable of producing sustainable yield,” and prohibits the licensing of fishing plans that exceed sustainable levels.

“If Liberia has reached its maximum sustainable yield, there is no way we will license any vessel,” maintained Glassco.

Licensing the new vessels would be “running a major risk,” said Trent. “Why would anyone want to send a valuable product and food away from the country at this time?

“If the maximum sustainable yield is wrongly calculated, which is a probability, stocks will collapse.”