蓬勃发展的海洋馆背后的海洋动物命运

在本段视频中,世界动物保护协会项目负责人郑钰探讨了为什么中国文旅产业应该进行“野生动物友好转型”。

Trainers perform with a beluga whale at south China’s Chimelong Ocean Kingdom

在国内最大的海洋馆之一,驯兽师与白鲸一起表演。图片来源:世界动物保护协会

郑钰是世界动物保护协会(World Animal Protection)北京代表处的野生动物保护项目负责人。她的工作是提高公众对中国圈养野生动物困境的认识,这其中就包括各类海洋主题公园内用以吸引游客的海豚、白鲸以及其他鲸豚类动物。

近年来,在欧美地区,鲸鱼秀及其他动物现场表演的吸引力明显下降。由于动物保护组织多年来的反对、名人抵制以及2013年纪录片《黑鲸》(讲述了奥兰多海洋世界内圈养鲸鱼糟糕的状况)上映后公众舆论的转变,许多动物表演都被停止了

但在中国,这个行业却蒸蒸日上。仅过去五年,就有30座新的海洋馆开张,包括海洋哺乳动物公园和大型海洋主题公园。目前全国总共有80多座海洋馆。中国鲸类保护联盟估计这意味着至少有1000头鲸类动物被圈养。2019年底世界动物保护协会的新报告发布前,郑钰和中外对话海洋就此类动物的圈养条件,她对动物福利的担忧以及海洋馆在野生动物教育中可以发挥的积极作用进行了交流。


那次交流之后又发生了很多事情。新冠疫情导致全球经济陷入停滞。和其他旅游景点一样,中国的海洋馆也被迫暂停营业。“在疫情的影响下,缺乏足够的游客门票收入,我们也会担心场馆内的圈养的动物会受到影响,”郑钰说。

圈养白鲸等海洋哺乳动物需要高度专业化的动物生活环境营造、饮食和兽医护理,以及为它们提供充足的社交机会。满足这些需要占海洋馆运营成本的很大一部分。疫情之前,海洋馆一直在逐步扩大产品范围,圈养更多、种类更丰富的野生动物,以满足国内游客日益增长的需求,导致运营成本进一步增长。

关于海洋馆内状况的确切信息很难获取。一般情况下,海洋馆很少披露动物的生存条件和福利状况。疫情爆发后,很多海洋馆不得不暂停营业,缺乏透明度的情况愈发严重,郑钰说。“在疫情期间,公众更缺乏渠道掌握其场馆中饲养动物的福利情况如何。”

去年春天,随着海洋馆们重新开放,海豚表演和近距离接触体验再次开始,但没有迹象表明动物的状况有很大改善。

尽管如此,郑钰认为去年还是发生了一些积极的进展。新冠疫情被怀疑是通过野生动物而传播给人类。因此许多人——学者、立法者和普通公民——开始重新认真评估人类与野生动物的关系。

这场讨论是“非常积极和必要的”,郑钰说。“这首先让公众意识到了动物健康与人类健康的密切关联,其次让很多不被关注或习以为常的涉及动物的消费行为和现象被公众所知。”

制作团队:

导演:管柏仲
摄像:张坤鹏
录音:卢嘉龙
访谈:张春
剪辑:区玮恩
制片:海子易

版权声明:

本视频采用知识共享署名-非商业性使用-相同方式共享 4.0 国际许可协议进行许可。 如果您希望共享或使用本视频,请遵守本许可条款。

如需免费副本,请通过以下邮箱与我们联系:[email protected]。也可应要求为您提供素材片段。

Inside China’s booming ocean theme parks

In this exclusive video, we speak to World Animal Protection campaigner Zheng Yu about why she believes China’s tourism industry needs to undergo a ‘wildlife-friendly transformation’

Trainers perform with a beluga whale at south China’s Chimelong Ocean Kingdom

Trainers perform with a beluga whale at one of China’s largest aquariums (Image: World Animal Protection)

Zheng Yu works to raise public awareness about the plight of wild animals in captivity in China, including dolphins, beluga whales and other cetaceans that attract crowds of visitors to SeaWorld-style theme parks. She is wildlife campaign manager at the Beijing office of World Animal Protection, an international animal welfare organisation.

In the United States and Europe, the appeal of whale shows and other live animal performances has declined in recent years. Many are being scrapped due to years of opposition from animal rights groups, celebrity boycotts and a shift in public opinion following the release of the 2013 documentary Blackfish, which exposed the poor conditions of captive orcas at SeaWorld Orlando.

In China, however, the industry has been thriving. In the past five years, around 30 new aquariums have opened – including dolphinariums, marine mammal parks and large ocean theme parks – bringing the country’s total to more than 80. The China Cetacean Alliance, a coalition of conservation organisations, estimates that the facilities have at least 1,000 cetaceans in captivity. In late 2019, ahead of the release of a new report by World Animal Protection, Zheng Yu spoke with China Dialogue Ocean about the conditions these animals are kept in, her concerns for their welfare and the potential for aquariums to play a positive role in wildlife education.


A great deal has happened since our conversation with Zheng. Covid-19 brought much of the world’s economy to a standstill. China’s aquariums, like other tourist attractions, temporarily closed. “Without sufficient revenue from ticket sales due to the pandemic, we are concerned about the impact this has had on captive animals,” says Zheng.

When kept in captivity, marine mammals like beluga whales require highly specialised living environments, diets, veterinary care, and ample opportunity for social expression. Meeting these requirements makes up a significant share of the cost of running an aquarium. And before the pandemic, in response to growing demand from domestic Chinese tourists, aquariums had been expanding their offering to include a greater number and variety of wild animals, further increasing their operating costs.

Precise details are hard to come by. Even under normal circumstances, very little information is publicly disclosed about the condition and welfare of animals in China’s aquariums. This lack of transparency only worsened when the coronavirus outbreak forced aquariums to close, says Zheng. “During the pandemic, there were even fewer ways for the public to ascertain the welfare of animals in captivity.”

When dolphin performances and close-encounter experiences started up again in spring last year, there was no sign of improvement in the animals’ conditions.

Nonetheless, Zheng thinks some good has come out of the last year. After Covid-19 was reported to have been transmitted to humans through contact with wild animals, many in China – academics, lawmakers and ordinary citizens alike – began to re-evaluate the relationships between humans and wildlife.

This conversation is “very positive and necessary”, says Zheng. “It has made the public aware of the close link between animal and human health, and called attention to the many ways that our consumer behaviour can unknowingly affect animals.”

Production credits:

Director: Guan Baizhong
Camera: Zhang Kunpeng
Sound: Lu Jialong
Interviewer: Zhang Chun
Editor: Bonnie Au
Producer: Lizi Hesling

Copyright notice:

This video is released under a Creative Commons Attribution Non-Commercial licence. Should you wish to share or make use of it, please respect the terms of this licence.

For a free copy please contact us: [email protected]. A clipreel of the footage is also available on request.