用科技追踪海产

通过本系列两篇文章,我们将一窥顺着整条供应链追踪海产的新技术。

man holding smartphone using fishcoin app

世界各地的海产公司正在投资可追溯技术,以提高供应链透明度。图片来源:Fishcoin

编者按:

这是关于海产品供应链追溯技术的两篇文章中的第一篇。点击此处阅读第二篇——《如何使用海产品供应链追踪数据?》。


一个金枪鱼罐头看似不起眼,但背后却隐藏着一条鱼来到你身边的不可思议的旅程。要完全追踪这段旅程,需要找到数十个问题的答案。这条鱼是谁捕捞的?捕捞船是否获准在那里捕鱼?船上的工作条件如何?这条金枪鱼的海上转运是否合法?在摆上你的餐桌之前它游历了多少国家?沿途经手的加工商有没有对这条鱼进行错误标注?——它到底是不是一条金枪鱼先?

就我们吃到的大多数海产品而言,答案都难以捉摸。海洋渔业一般都在遥远的海域作业,而且供应链日益复杂——跨越多国、倒手上百次、涉及数十家公司——这让它成为全球最不透明的行业之一。大约30%的海产的捕捞未被报告,也可能不受管制,增加了其来自非法来源的可能性。与此同时,研究表明,三分之一的渔获可能被有意无意地错误标注。非法捕捞的海鲜还通常涉及对渔船劳工的虐待。

消费者购买海产的时候,“很有可能无论买的是什么都不太能溯源,”负责世界自然基金会(WWF)旗下一个全球海产品可追溯项目亚太区工作的李嘉嘉(Maggie Lee)说。但在过去10年中,随着大量调查报告揭露了海产品存在的鱼种错误标注的情况,该行业面临越来越大的压力,要求其做到“全供应链可追溯”。这将意味着每一份海产品在供应链上的每一个环节,从海洋或养殖场到消费者的餐盘,都要可以追溯。面对这一挑战,一批创新技术应运而生,并逐渐照亮了晦暗的供应链。从公海监视到区块链,可追溯技术得到了有影响力的非政府组织支持,并且被大型海产企业所使用。

这些工具目前为止效果如何?接下来又会有哪些进展?

第一英里

可追溯在海产行业不是一个新概念。长期以来,人们利用纸质和数字系统对其进行登记,目的是确保产品符合食品安全标准。但近年来,人们逐渐认识到了该行业侵犯人权的行为和对环境的影响,这不仅提升了可追溯的重要性,也扩大了我们需要了解的有关“可持续”海产品的信息的范围——即由谁捕捞、用什么方式和在哪里捕捞,以及这个过程是否合法。

A scoop is used to haul tons of tuna onto the deck of the purse seine fishing boat 'Purple Lilac 888
西太平洋,成吨的金枪鱼被拖到一艘围网渔船的甲板上。随着公众对海产行业对社会和环境问题的意识与日俱增,对供应链透明度的要求也水涨船高。图片来源:© Alex Hofford / 绿色和平组织

我们还需要优化信息采集方式。“全供应链透明化需求的日益增加,已经使重点从做什么转变为怎么做,”联合国粮农组织渔业分析员沈年军表示。许多人认为,能够在供应链上多个节点收集大量数据的数字工具是这个问题的答案。

朝着这个方向的第一步始于10到15年前,当时捕捞记录普遍从纸质变为电子。这些手段现在又得到了其他数字工具作为补充,其中许多工具关注的是所谓的“第一英里”,也就是海产在海上被捕捞时和之后不久的那个时间段。这个时间段涉及的是关键的可追溯数据——关于海产捕捞的谁、什么、哪里,以及以何种方式。但通常这些数据也最难收集。

“大部分溯源工作长期以来集中在渔获到达港口之后,但在公海上存在大量机会进行非法捕捞和洗白,”挪威渔业信息非营利组织Trygg Mat Tracking(TMT)联合创始人邓肯·科普兰德(Duncan Copeland)称。TMT与绘制商业捕捞船队实时位置图的非营利机构全球渔业观察(Global Fishing Watch)合作,将船只上的各种数据流——位置、所有权、过往违规行为——整合起来,从而建立可供各国追踪沿海非法捕捞活动,并帮助其执法的数字界面,其目标是“将所有迥异的数据源整合起来,努力提供全球工业捕捞船队的最佳概览,”科普兰德说,“因为这些信息其他任何地方都没有。”

换句话说,技术让我们能够以前所未有的方式密切审视供应链上至关重要的第一环。“技术已经改变了我们对透明度和可追溯的期待,” 正在研究新兴海洋管理技术的佛罗里达大学环境法教授安妮·布雷特(Annie Brett)说,“例如,全球渔业观察的技术虽不是开创性的,但它完全改变了常态——现在真的可以看到渔船都在世界哪些地方。”

与此同时,电子监控(EM)则让在渔船上直接开展监控成为可能。电子监控摄像机可以代替人类观察员,持续观察船只活动,记录潜在的非法捕捞和转运活动,以及劳工虐待。摄像机既能起到威慑作用,也可以准确记录捕捞活动。目前全球约1000艘渔船安装了电子监控设备,大型公司对此也愈发青睐。全球最大的海产加工企业之一泰国泰万盛(Thai Union)前公司事务及可持续发展总监达里安·麦克贝恩(Darian McBain)称,该公司计划在2025年之前为它的所有金枪鱼供应商安装电子监控设备。“之后我们不会从没有安装电子监控设备的船只采购。”

A surveillance camera installed on a German fishing boat to monitor its activity.
一艘德国渔船上安装了用于监控其活动的摄像头。电子监控有助于防止非法捕捞和虐待劳工。图片来源:Alamy

泰万盛

泰万盛旗下拥有西部约翰(John West)等知名海鲜品牌,并且是美国最大的虾类进口商。2015年为泰万盛供货的一些捕虾船被指控涉嫌奴役劳工,公司意识到需要迅速做出改变。“我们的客户开始问我们,‘这些指控是真的吗?’我们必须获得更多信息才能如实回答这些问题,”达里安·麦克贝恩说。泰万盛开始要求所有船只提供基本的可追溯信息,并且终止与拒绝提供信息的船只合作。与此同时,其余愿意提供信息的船只为其提供了试点电子监控系统的机会。泰万盛与大自然保护协会(TNC)合作,尝试在为其供货的金枪鱼船上安装电子监控系统。该公司还与斯坦福大学合作开发机器学习算法,从而能够迅速处理摄像机获得的影像,帮助建立详细的捕捞活动历史记录。麦克贝恩说,公司计划到2025年为所有其金枪鱼供应商安装这项技术。

然而,大多数捕捞船队没有公司支持并推动它们迈向可持续捕捞。为了向美国等要求基本可追溯信息的国家出口海鲜,渔民们通常得自费收集数据。“这绝对是一种糟糕的商业模式,很多人甚至负担不起安装可追溯设备。再说,凭什么要他们负担?”每英里技术公司(Eachmile Technologies)联合创始人阿拉斯泰尔·斯马特(Alastair Smart)说。该公司正在开发一款名为Fishcoin(“鱼币”)的免费工具,试图将奖励融入可追溯系统。Fishcoin建立在数字账簿区块链上,让买家能够从越南、印尼等国的渔民处直接购买海鲜,而且还有个别出心裁的功能:渔民提供渔获的可追溯数据可额外收费,费用通过区块链以代币的形式支付,可以用来兑换手机积分。“发达国家参与者可以向共享数据的发展中国家参与者支付报酬,这有助于证明产品至少是合法的,并且在某种程度上是经过报告、受管制的,”每英里技术公司另一位联合创始人阿利斯泰尔·道格拉斯(Alistair Douglas)说。他相信这种基于报酬的方法有助于积累至关重要的第一英里的渔业可追溯数据。

Fishcoin rewarding fishers who share traceability information with buyers.
Fishcoin等公司通过区块链技术奖励与买家共享可追溯信息的渔民。共享数据的渔民将获得代币,可用于给手机充值。图片来源:Fishcoin

晦暗的中间部分

区块链技术还有助于厘清供应链上复杂的中间环节。“就海鲜而言,供应链中段混乱而且晦暗。从生产者——无论是渔民还是养鱼户——到零售商之间可能有八到九个步骤,”向小规模渔业推广科技创新的非营利组织鱼类未来(Future of Fish)探索总监马拉·哈尔特(Marah Hardt)说。运输商、海产加工商和包装商可能会从各自的卖家那里收集可追溯信息(如果存在此类信息的话)。但这些信息往往在每一个环节上都是孤立的,而不是沿着供应链被向前传递。用李嘉嘉的话说,这就是一条“信息保管丢失链”。恢复这条信息的序列是全链可追溯的关键所在。

以阿拉斯加三文鱼为例,如果供应链上的所有参与者都在一个区块链中,他们就能利用这个区块链把有关三文鱼的捕捞方式、捕捞者的信息一路传递给消费者。区块链会生成防篡改的交易记录,这使它难以被伪造数据,并能够防止错误产品标注。麦克贝恩相信,如果区块链最终能覆盖整条供应链,那么有朝一日这样的工具甚至可以取代可持续认证,比如海洋管理理事会(MSC)的认证。“认证更像是一张快照——回答的是‘你在某个特定时间点是否合规?’,而连续的数据获取则可以用这种实时数据流代替审计。”

区块链

许多公司正在投资区块链技术,用于追踪供应链各环节上的海产品。IT行业巨头IBM通过旗下的Food Trust区块链可追溯平台,与美国、挪威的多家海产品公司合作,对大西洋扇贝、挪威三文鱼等各种海产品进行追踪。斐济科技创业公司TraSeable Solution多年来在太平洋渔业中实验区块链技术,目前已沿着供应链追踪了数以万计的鱼。与此同时,Fishcoin正与泰万盛合作将区块链引入该公司在泰国的养殖虾供应链。但是,根据粮农组织2020年的一份报告,区块链不应被视为灵丹妙药。该评估发现这项技术确实前景巨大,但投入使用的进展仍相对缓慢,并且主要由非政府组织和私营部门倡议主导。受这种情况限制,目前为止,该技术只用在了价值链的特定环节上。因此,其在情况复杂且参与者众多的完整供应链上能否发挥作用还有待检验。

与此同时,还有一些工具正在解决可能潜入供应链各个环节的透明度问题。用于识别鱼种错误标注的DNA追踪就是很好的例子。“DNA是铁证,”加拿大海鲜供应商“有机海鲜”(Organic Ocean Seafood)联合创始人戴恩·肖韦尔(Dane Chauvel)说。该公司从日本、墨西哥、秘鲁等国进口优质海鲜。“有机海鲜”早在2008年就开始采用DNA追踪技术。如今,肖韦尔与独立研究人员合作,让他们对自己公司的海鲜产品进行DNA检测。如果存在产品错误标注的情况,他可以马上质询供应商。为了简化供应链,肖韦尔大多从供应商处直接采购海鲜。与此同时,抽查结果会在网上公开。DNA追踪技术正在变得更加迅速和便携。“人们对于随时随地进行随机检测非常有兴趣,”肖韦尔说。

“有机海鲜”的工作人员从鱼片中提取送检的DNA样本,以确定这条鱼是否被正确标注,这有助于提高供应链透明度。图片来源:Emily De Sousa / Seaside with Emily via Ocean Organic Seafood

灵丹妙药?

这些还只是进入海产品供应链的众多技术的一部分。阿拉斯泰尔·斯马特认为,可追溯性的挑战是多方面的,持续创新是应对的关键。“我们必须利用技术加速正向变化。”可追溯技术无疑正吸引大量投资,哈尔特说。“很多金融资源和专业知识都集中在这些技术上,因为它们很性感,对吧?海鲜种类繁多,所以非常需要这些技术,因此你确实需要不同的系统。多样性很重要,这样才可以满足用户的需求。”

但这些技术的扩散也有一个重要的缺陷:无论为了追溯而收集多少信息,“它没有告诉你该怎么使用;也不会迫使你去使用,”哈尔特说。全供应链可追溯所需要的比单纯的新技术更难——产业界如何使用这些信息,尤其是分享这些信息的文化转变。

(在本系列的另一篇文章中,我们将更深入地看待这些新技术收集的数据将如何改变渔业。)

翻译:YAN

Tracing seafood with technology

In this two-part series, we dive into the innovations allowing seafood to be traced all the way along the supply chain

man holding smartphone using fishcoin app

Seafood companies around the world are investing in traceability technology to improve transparency along the supply chain (Image: Fishcoin)

A tin of tuna is an unremarkable thing. But it disguises an incredible journey the fish within has taken to reach you. To fully trace that journey, you’d need to find answers to dozens of questions. Who caught the fish? Was the vessel permitted to catch where it did? What were the working conditions like on board? Was the tuna illegally transferred to another vessel at sea? How many countries did it pass through before reaching your plate? Did it fall into the hands of a processor who mislabelled it along the way? Is it even tuna, after all?

For the majority of the seafood we eat, answers are elusive. The remote nature of fishing and increasingly convoluted supply chains – spanning multiple countries, and involving hundreds of transactions and dozens of companies – makes it one of the most opaque industries in the world. Roughly 30% of seafood is unreported, and may also be unregulated, increasing the likelihood that it was illegally caught. Illegally caught seafood frequently involves labour abuses on fishing boats. Meanwhile, research shows that one in three fish may be mislabelled, either intentionally or not.

If you purchase seafood “chances are whatever you get isn’t very traceable”, says Maggie Lee, the Asia-Pacific regional lead for global seafood traceability with WWF. But over the last 10 years, in the wake of large investigative reports that have revealed the scale of seafood mislabelling, there’s been growing pressure for the industry to adopt “full-chain traceability”. This would mean each piece of seafood could be tracked along every step, from ocean or farm right through to the consumer’s plate. A new wave of technological innovations is rising to this challenge and gradually illuminating the murky supply chain. From surveillance on the high seas to blockchain, traceability tech is being backed by influential NGOs and adopted by large seafood companies.

As these tools enter the fold, what have they achieved so far? And where are they heading next?

The first mile

Traceability isn’t a new concept in the seafood industry. It has historically been achieved through a mix of paper-based and digital systems designed to ensure produce meets food safety standards. But in recent years, growing awareness of the industry’s human rights abuses and environmental impacts have raised the stakes, expanding the scope of what we need to know about seafood to call it “sustainable” – namely who caught it, how, where from and whether it was legal.

A scoop is used to haul tons of tuna onto the deck of the purse seine fishing boat 'Purple Lilac 888
Tonnes of tuna are hauled onto the deck of a purse seine fishing vessel in the western Pacific. Growing awareness of the social and environmental impacts of the seafood industry has led to an increasing demand for full transparency along the supply chain. (Image © Alex Hofford / Greenpeace)

We also need better ways to glean that information. “The increasing demand for full-chain transparency [has] shifted the rationale from what needs to be done to how it should be done,” says Nianjun Shen, a fisheries analyst at the UN’s Food and Agriculture Organisation (FAO). Many see the answer in digital tools that can gather vast amounts of data, at multiple points along the supply chain.

The first big step in this direction came about 10 to 15 years ago with the widespread switch from largely paper-based catch records to electronic catch documentation schemes. These are now supplemented by other digital tools, many focused on the so-called “first mile” when, and shortly after, fish are captured at sea. That’s where the critical traceability data can be gathered – the who, what, where and how of seafood. But it’s also typically the most difficult to collect.

“So much of traceability has been focused on what happens once the fish reaches port. But all the opportunities exist for illegal fishing, and for fish to be laundered, [on the open ocean],” explains Duncan Copeland, co-founder of Trygg Mat Tracking (TMT), a non-profit based in Norway that provides fisheries intelligence. Collaborating with the non-profit Global Fishing Watch, which maps the real-time location of commercial fishing fleets, TMT works to combine multiple data streams on vessels – location, ownership, past violations – to build digital interfaces that countries can use to track illegal fishing activities off their coasts, and to help enforce the law. The aim is to “bring all those disparate data sources together to try and provide the best possible overview of global industrial fishing fleets”, Copeland says, “because that information doesn’t exist anywhere else”.

Global Fishing Watch’s technology isn’t groundbreaking. But it has completely changed the norm.

In other words, technology is making it possible to interrogate the crucial first link of the supply chain more closely than ever before. “Technology has changed what we expect from transparency and traceability,” says Annie Brett, a professor of environmental law at the University of Florida who studies emerging technologies in managing the oceans. “For example, Global Fishing Watch’s technology isn’t groundbreaking. But it has completely changed the norm: now you can actually see where fishing boats are in the world.”

Meanwhile, electronic monitoring (EM) is bringing surveillance directly onto fishing boats. EM cameras can replace human fisheries observers, to keep a constant watch on a vessel’s activities, recording potential illegal fishing, transshipment activities or labour abuses. Cameras can both act as a deterrent and provide an accurate record of fishing activities. EM is currently installed on about 1,000 vessels worldwide, and it’s gaining traction with big companies. Thai Union, one of the largest seafood processors in the world, plans to install all its tuna suppliers with the technology by 2025, says Darian McBain, the company’s former director of corporate affairs and sustainability. “After that time, we won’t source from a vessel if it doesn’t have EM.”

A surveillance camera installed on a German fishing boat to monitor its activity.
A surveillance camera installed on a German fishing boat to monitor its activity. Electronic surveillance can help prevent illegal fishing and labour abuses. (Image: Alamy)

Thai Union

Thai Union owns major seafood brands like John West and is the biggest importer of shrimp into the United States. In 2015, some shrimp vessels supplying it were implicated in slavery allegations, and the company realised things needed to change rapidly. “Our customers started to ask us: ‘Are these accusations true?’ And we had to have more information so that we could answer those questions truthfully,” says Darian McBain.

Thai Union began asking all their vessels to supply basic traceability information. If they refused, they were dropped. Meanwhile, in partnership with the Nature Conservancy, the company is trialling EM on the tuna fleet that supplies it. They are also working with Stanford University to develop machine learning algorithms that can swiftly process the camera footage to help build up a detailed history of fishing activities. By 2025, the company plans to install all its tuna suppliers with this technology, says McBain.

Most fishing fleets aren’t supported by a company that’s driving them towards sustainability, however. To import to countries that require basic traceability information, such as the United States, fishers typically have to gather that data at their own expense. “It’s an absolutely terrible business model, because many people cannot afford to pay for [traceability technologies], and why should they?” says Alastair Smart, co-founder of Eachmile Technologies. The company is developing a free tool called Fishcoin that’s trying to weave reward into traceability systems. Built on the digital ledger known as blockchain, Fishcoin will enable buyers to purchase directly from fishers based in countries such as Vietnam and Indonesia. The fishers can charge a premium to provide traceability data about their catch, which is paid in tokens through blockchain that can be exchanged for mobile phone credits. “Developed nation actors reward the developing nation actors to share data, and this helps demonstrate that it’s legal at least, and reported and regulated in some way,” says Alistair Douglas, also a co-founder of Eachmile Technologies. He believes this reward-based approach could help build up a cache of traceability data from fisheries in the critical first mile.

Fishcoin rewarding fishers who share traceability information with buyers.
Through blockchain technology, companies such as Fishcoin are rewarding fishers who share traceability information with buyers. Fishers receive tokens for sharing the data, which they can exchange for mobile phone credits. (Image: Fishcoin)

The murky middle

Blockchain tech could also help illuminate the complex midsection of the supply chain. “For seafood, the middle is messy, and dark. There can be eight or nine steps between just the producer – whether fisher or fish farmer – and retail,” says Marah Hardt, director of discovery at Future of Fish, a non-profit bringing innovation to small-scale fisheries. Transporters, seafood processors and packaging companies might gather traceability information from whoever sells to them, if it’s available. But that information often gets siloed at each step instead of moving forward, creating what WWF’s Maggie Lee calls “a lost chain of information custody”. Recovering that sequence is crucial for full-chain traceability.

However, if all actors along the supply chain of, say, Alaskan salmon were privy to one blockchain, they could use it to pass on information all the way to the consumer about how and by whom the fish were caught. Blockchains generate tamper-proof records of transactions, making it difficult to falsify data and guarding against problems like mislabelling. McBain believes that if they eventually covered whole supply chains, one day tools like this may even replace sustainability certifications (such as the Marine Stewardship Council’s). “Certification tends to be more of a one-off snapshot – a ‘do you comply at this particular point in time?’ Whereas continuous data capture could replace an audit with this real-time data flow.”

Blockchain

Many companies are now investing in blockchain technology to track seafood along portions of the supply chain. Through its Food Trust blockchain traceability platform, IT giant IBM has partnered with several seafood companies in the United States and Norway, to trace everything from Atlantic scallops to Norwegian salmon. Fijian tech start-up TraSeable Solutions has been trialling blockchain technology on Pacific fisheries, and has so far tracked tens of thousands of fish through the supply chain.

Fishcoin, meanwhile, is working with Thai Union to bring blockchain to the company’s farmed Thai shrimp supply chains. But blockchain shouldn’t be taken as a silver bullet, according to a 2020 report by the FAO. That assessment found the technology holds huge promise, but uptake is still relatively slow and mainly led by NGO and private-sector initiatives. So far, that has confined its use to specific sections of the value chain, and so its capacity to work across complex, multi-actor, whole supply chains has yet to be tested.

Meanwhile, other tools are tackling transparency challenges that can creep in at various points along the supply chain. DNA-tracing to identify species mislabelling is a good example. “DNA is irrefutable,” says Dane Chauvel, co-founder of the Canadian supplier Organic Ocean Seafood, which imports premium seafood from countries including Japan, Mexico and Peru. Organic Ocean was an early adopter of DNA-tracing in 2008. Today, Chauvel works with researchers who independently DNA-check his stock. If something is ever mislabelled, he can quickly question his suppliers, most of whom he buys from directly to simplify his supply chains. Meanwhile, the results of the spot-tests are shared transparently online. DNA tracing is now evolving to become more rapid and portable: “There’s great interest in being able to do tests randomly, anywhere and everywhere,” says Chauvel.

An Organic Ocean Seafood staff member takes a sample from a fish fillet to send for DNA analysis. The analysis will determine if the fish has been mislabelled, promoting supply chain transparency. (Image: Emily De Sousa / Seaside with Emily via Organic Ocean Seafood)

A silver bullet?

That’s just a sampling of the many technologies entering seafood supply chains. Continued innovation is essential for tackling the multifaceted challenge of traceability, believes Alastair Smart. “We’ve got to use technology to accelerate a positive change.” Traceability tech is certainly attracting plenty of investment, says Hardt. “A lot of the financial resources and expertise have been focused on the technology, because it’s sexy, right? And it’s needed because seafood is very diverse, so you do need different systems. That variety is important, to meet users where they are.”

But this proliferation of tech also has an important limitation: no matter how much data it gathers for the cause of traceability, “it doesn’t tell you what to do with it; it doesn’t force you to apply it,” Hardt says. Full-chain traceability will require something more difficult to realise than new technologies alone: a culture shift in how the industry uses – and crucially shares – this information.

In part two, we look more closely at how the data collected by these new technologies could improve the fishing industry.

A Chinese translation of this article will be available soon.