《八百万》系列播客:第四集 关于塑料回收,你了解多少?

种类愈发丰富的塑料垃圾充斥着我们的生活,中国是如何回收和处理的?

Recyclers are struggling with the enormous variety of plastics in the waste stream, which is giving them more work for less money (Image: Pixabay/Ermaf62)

种类愈发丰富的塑料让回收商们头疼不已,工作量更大了,但赚得却少了。图片来源:Pixabay/Ermaf62

尽管各界一直在努力推广循环再利用,但塑料废品在欧洲的回收率仍然只有30%,在美国则更低,仅为9%。 这还是在中国的颁布洋垃圾禁令之前!塑料垃圾回收率为什么如此之低? 回收再利用为什么如此复杂?

第四集 关于塑料回收,你了解多少?

嘉宾

道格·伍德林, 海洋恢复联盟
周彬彬, 科思创
菲利普·李, 香港循环再利用

录音文稿 

龙美诗:欢迎收听“八百万”系列播客节目。每年流入海洋环境的塑料垃圾有800万吨,在应对这一全球挑战的过程中,中国又发挥着怎样的作用呢?本节目将围绕这个问题展开讨论。本节目由可持续发展亚洲组织,及其合作伙伴“中外对话”和艾雅录音室共同出品。

—–

 [音乐] 

龙美诗:上期节目回顾……

龙美诗:2015年,中国购买了5000万公吨的固体垃圾——

毛达:它赶不上垃圾产生的速度和产生的量

旁白:我们跟不上中国垃圾的流动速度——

龙美诗:新禁令意味着全球垃圾出口商不能再向中国输送大量的固体垃圾——

毛达:就是环境污染产生的外部化不能够再继续。

旁白:环境污染的输出不能再继续 

 [音乐]

龙美诗:大家好,我是龙美诗。我在香港生活有20年了,目睹了越来越多的一次性塑料制品在真真切切地改变着这里的海洋和海滩的生态结构。作为一名帆船运动者和露天游泳运动的爱好者,塑料垃圾真地改变了我对香港生活质量的看法。随着生活在亚洲的朋友越来越多地在海边享乐、休憩,他们也认识到,塑料也是一味追求便利的生活方式带来的不良副产品。

本节目的目标是揭示中国塑料垃圾管理机制的内在运作方式,从而了解中国对全球海洋塑料的影响。本期我们将讨论回收利用。

首先,让我们采访一下环境企业家、“海洋复兴联盟”创始人之一道格·伍德林。道格的工作主要在香港。几年前,他开始与联合国合作,试图解决海洋塑料问题。这一过程中,道格成为了一位全球回收市场的专家。

道格:挑战在于当今全球的垃圾系统大多没有准备好处理夹杂在源源不断的垃圾中的那些无数的塑料。30年前,他们可以处理废纸、废金属、玻璃和有机物,方法要简单得多。现在加上塑料这种轻便但不易降解的柔性材料,处理起来难度更高了。

龙美诗:而且塑料的种类太多了,有4万多种呢!

道格:4万只是目前的数字,还不包括所有正在研发的纳米技术和材料。[……]

但这4万种要分成7类。所以这些塑料制品的底部通常可以看到1234567的字样,只要你愿意,并且能分类收集塑料垃圾,同一类的塑料或多或少都可以回收利用。问题在于除非采用专门的混合塑料回收技术,否则你一般没法把同类塑料收集到一起。

龙美诗:好吧,不能将所有的塑料混在一起回收。而且很多产品在一个包装里就用了3到4种塑料。但怎么会有4万种不同的塑料那么多呢?

道格:怎么会那么多?说起来,从某种意义上,我们也是为了减少气候变化才大量使用塑料——这是一个意想不到的结果,因为每个人都想要轻便。这也轻便那也轻便;运输成本更低了。但这样一来,塑料就成了大家唯一首选的材料。

龙美诗:在汽车和飞机上使用塑料可以减少重量和燃料消耗。更轻的塑料一方面确实有助于环境保护,但回收起来很麻烦,而且不划算。因为回收塑料的价格是按吨算的。

道格:试想一下塑料瓶,除非是切碎或者压扁,否则就是一大团被塑料包裹的空气。4万个瓶子的重量也才1吨出头,这个房间肯定是装不下的,但它们也就是1吨的材料而已。如果是1吨金属或者木头,那可能就1立方米大小。所以针对这种非常轻的材料,我们也要考虑存放空间上的挑战。这通常是导致回收率低的原因。

龙美诗:种类愈发丰富的塑料让回收商们头疼不已,此外他们还需要给不同的塑料找转售市场。更糟糕的是,这些塑料也变得越来越轻,造成回收商的工作量更大,但赚得却少了。难怪发达国家要把这份吃力不讨好的工作外包给中国!

那怎样才能提高回收效率呢?我跟香港回收商菲利普·李讨论过这个问题。他在香港经营一家收集可回收垃圾的社会企业,但中国新出台的禁令让他的业务受到了重创。他仍然认为回收这条路没错,但需要一些改变。首先,公众需要接受更多关于塑料回收的教育。

菲利普:因为大背景总是在变,总是有一些材料,目前还能回收下一刻就不能了。然后[…作为回收商,我们得把这些变化告诉大家。这是教育和反馈过程的一部分,非常有价值。最基本的,哪些塑料可以回收,哪些不可以,这些都是你需要知道的。[…]因此,首先要让大家理解这些基本的东西,然后系统才能更高效。得把这些教给[…]年轻人,必须成为一种习惯。

龙美诗:比如,回收桶里的食物残渣就是业内非常头疼的事情之一!

道格:塑料回收的问题在于成本、分拣和清洗。所以如果从一开始做起,从自己家做起,那无论是不受管制的拾荒者还是先进的碎纸机和企业家,他们收集或收购塑料,并加以利用的可能性就会更高。所以只要建立简单的两分法:湿垃圾和干垃圾,就能带来全球性的变化。

如果你分拣垃圾的标准是湿和干,那就可以把所有这些材料——塑料、废纸、金属、玻璃——作为干垃圾,因为它表面没有油脂、食物残渣和鸡骨头。

龙美诗:正如菲利普所说,这样一来回收商只需要在回收之前把塑料压扁切碎。但如果干湿分离并未在进入回收系统前实现,那么直接把垃圾运到发展中国家就更加有利可图。

但需要改变的不仅是消费者:

道格:做市场营销和设计的人总想标新立异。我希望我的瓶子是红色、黄色、蓝色的,大小要有点不一样,这就得把各种材料混合起来,然后这就成了回收业的灾难。

没有规定用材标准化的法律,设计的时候没有充分考虑产品使用过后的问题,要怎么分解。如果上面装有铆钉、小部件、电子元器件…可以把它们粉碎,这是把东西分开的一个方法,但很多国家没有这种能力。我们把这些东西制造出来,但不考虑怎么拆解,怎么把不同种类的塑料归到7个分类里。

菲利普:一个瓶子大概由3种塑料组成,盖子、瓶子和标签,这就是导致塑料瓶回收如此困难的原因。因为一个产品包含不同类型的塑料。所以如果可以做到每个产品只用一种塑料会怎么样呢?洗发水瓶子的瓶盖上有金属弹簧,再是管子,然后是瓶子,至少3种成分。所以在香港,有些人的确会动手把洗发水瓶子拆了以后再回收,盖子拿下来,金属拿出来[……],弹簧要单独回收,插到洗发水里的管子要单独回收,然后再是瓶子本身。如果设计产品的时候就用一种塑料或者材料,就简单多了。

龙美诗:这就是“回收设计”,是塑料界的热门话题。菲利普提到重新设计塑料瓶,生产时只用一种塑料。另一种重新思考塑料使用的方法是将塑料的用途限定于耐用品,坚固耐用的塑料对回收商而言价值更高,所以不太可能扔到垃圾场或者进入海洋。我和米歇尔·周谈过这件事,她住在上海,在那里负责塑料巨头科思创(Covestro)的聚碳酸酯业务部门。

周彬彬:聚碳酸酯和塑料袋、吸管这样的一次性塑料不一样,我们的塑料是高端工程塑料,用在更高端、寿命更长的设备上。

龙美诗:试想一下你在办公室饮水机里看到的大塑料桶。

米歇尔:如果你在中国或者印度尼西亚,人们需要干净的水,他们会用一个大集水瓶,这个瓶大部分是用聚碳酸酯做成的,而我们回收聚碳酸酯。我们把它们收回来,制成手机外壳、笔记本外壳、或者LED灯。

龙美诗:现在对这种回收的热情很高,包括在中国。

米歇尔:我们的努力真的得到了回报。我认为在过去2到3年里,我们的回收销售额每年都增长3倍以上,这当然是因为起点比较低,但我们真的在努力做更多事情。

龙美诗:2年前,道格把自己创办的商业论坛Plasticity带到了上海。那里民众对回收设计的热情让他感到惊讶。

道格:之前在中国谈到这个话题的时候,我发现大家真的没有这方面的意识。因为那时这个话题在中国谈的还比较少——有其他很多问题……不仅仅是这一个。所以当我在一次设计/时装活动上对着一屋子的人谈到这个话题的时候,大家似乎很敬畏,但他们也很想解决这个问题。那时我发现一些西方国家对此的热情更高,但现在他们对这类讨论有些麻木。这就是为什么我们说要到中国去,因为他们已经准备好了,他们想知道怎么解决这些问题,但没有人给他们提供这些信息或办法。

龙美诗:在中国,更多的公司正在应对这个挑战。中国政府正在加快垃圾管理基础设施的建设步伐,要求46个城市到2020年之前将回收率提高到35%。考虑到回收的复杂性和高额投资,现在还不确定这些城市将如何实现这一目标。所以,人们正在尝试并测试新的塑料垃圾处理方法。中国在建垃圾发电站的数量比世界其他地方的总和都要多。虽然垃圾发电站在民间引起了不少争议,但中国在这方面取得的成就是显而易见的。

当我向道格问起这个价值数十亿美元的垃圾焚烧产业时,他的回答让我大吃一惊。

道格:如果我们真地想解决海洋垃圾问题,垃圾焚烧很重要,绝对是必要的。

龙美诗:本期节目就到这里,下期节目我们将探索垃圾发电的世界。

—–

龙美诗:本节目由可持续发展亚洲组织为您呈现。

我是龙美诗。《八百万》节目由我和贝山姆联合制作。

感谢我们优秀的音频工程师,来自艾雅录音室的卡斯滕和阿纳巴特·马顿斯,没有他们就没有这个节目。

我们的品牌标志和社会媒体宣传由金赛·朗负责。

特别鸣谢旁白科恩·李、音频助理丹尼尔·孙、以及我们“中外对话”的伙伴:帮助构思这个项目的伊莎贝拉·希尔顿、编辑夏·洛婷和克里斯托弗·戴维、以及协助采访和翻译的黄露珊。

欢迎将本节目分享给您的朋友和同事!教育和合作是我们实现亚洲可持续发展的最佳途径。

 

翻译:金艳

Podcast: Closing the loop – plastic recycling 101

Episode 4 looks at the recycling and sorting of plastic waste in China

Recyclers are struggling with the enormous variety of plastics in the waste stream, which is giving them more work for less money (Image: Pixabay/Ermaf62)

With all the effort going into recycling, Europe is still only reaching a 30% recycling rate for plastics, and the US trails way behind at 9%. And this was before China stopped processing the West’s recycling! Why are these numbers so low? Why is plastic recycling so complicated?

Episode 4: Closing the loop – plastic recycling 101

Guests:

Doug Woodring, Ocean Recovery Alliance
Michelle Jou, Covestro
Philippe Li, HK Recycles

Find the series on ITUNES | SOUNDCLOUD | SPOTIFY

Episode 4: Closing the loop – Plastic recycling 101 transcript

Marcy: This is Eight Million – a podcast series that looks at the eight million metric tonnes of plastic entering our oceans every year – and what role China plays in addressing this global challenge. Eight Million is produced by Sustainable Asia and its partners chinadialogue and Aya Recording Studio.

Marcy: Previously on Eight Million

Marcy: In 2015 China bought 50 million metric tonnes of solid waste

Mao Da: 它赶不上垃圾产生的速度和产生的量…

Voiceover: We can’t keep up with the flow of garbage in China

Marcy: The new ban means that global exporters of waste can no longer send bales of solid waste to China

Mao Da: 就是环境污染产生的外部化不能够再继续…

Voiceover: The exporting of environmental pollution can’t be continued

Marcy: Hi. This is Marcy Trent Long. I have lived in Hong Kong for the past 20 years and watched the increasing amount of disposable plastic really alter the fabric of our oceans and beaches here. As someone who sails and is an avid open water swimmer, plastic waste has really changed the way I look at the quality of life here. And as more of my friends here in Asia start using the ocean as their playground, they too are seeing plastic as an unpleasant and unnecessary result of our convenience-driven lifestyle.

The goal of this podcast series is to reveal the inner workings of plastic waste management in China – so that I can make some sense of the impact that China is having on ocean plastic. In this episode, I want to look at recycling.

So first let’s talk to Doug Woodring, an environmental entrepreneur and co-founder of Ocean Recovery Alliance. Based here in Hong Kong, Doug started working with the United Nations years ago to try to solve the problem of Ocean Plastic, and in the process has become an expert on the global recycling market.

In the Mediterranean, as many as one in four fish sold at market contain plastic.
In the Mediterranean, as many as one in four fish sold at market contain plastic. (Image: Wolfgang Trettnak)

Doug: The challenge is that the waste systems today globally mostly are not prepared to handle the myriad of plastics in the waste stream. 30 Years ago they could handle paper and metal and glass and organics in an easier way. Now you mix it with plastics it becomes much harder to deal with these very lightweight permanent type flexible materials.

Marcy: And there are just too many varieties of plastic. There’s 40,000 types!

Doug: 40,000 that is only the number today. That is not including all the nanotechnologies and materials that are coming our way. […]

But 40,000 lives in 7 families. So there is….if you see on bottom of materials there is often 1234567. And those categories can more or less be recycled in their own genres, if you will – flavours or families, if you can get them together. The problem is you can’t put them all together normally, unless you use a new technology that does mixed plastic recycling.

Marcy: OK. You can’t recycle all plastic together -and many products use 3 or 4 kinds of plastic in one package. But how did we get to 40,000 different types?!

Doug: So how did we get there? Partly through the effort to reduce climate change – an unintended consequence, because everyone wants lightweight. Lightweight this lightweight that; transportation costs less, and by doing that the only material you can go straight into is plastic.

Marcy: By using plastic in cars and planes, they become lighter and use less fuel, But while lighter plastics are helping the environment in one way, they make recycling a hassle, and often just not worth the effort. Because plastic recyclers get paid per tonne of material –

Doug: Imagine plastic bottles, unless you shred them or compress them in higher pressure, they are just a big mass of air wrapped in plastic. So when you have 40,000 bottles which is more than one tonne, it would more than fill this room in space, but it is only one tonne of material. I you have one tonne of metal or wood right here it would be one cubic meter or something like that. So we also have to think about this challenge of space, with such very lightweight material. That’s what’s causing the low recycling rates generally.

Marcy: So recyclers are struggling with an increasing variety of plastics, for which they need to find resale markets, and on top of that these plastics are also becoming increasingly light, giving them more work for less money. It is no wonder the developed world was outsourcing this thankless job to China!

So how can we make recycling more efficient? Hong Kong recycler Philippe Li talked to me about this. He runs a social enterprise collecting recyclable waste in the city, but his business has taken a hard hit with China’s new ban. He still believes recycling is the way to go, but some things will need to change. For a start, the public will need to be educated even more about how to recycle plastic.

Philippe: Because the landscape is always changing there’s always materials that you can recycle at this moment in the time but at the next moment in time you can’t recycle it. And then […] as a recycler we might have to inform them about these changes. That is part of the education process and the feedback process that is so valuable. And also in terms of you know, the fundamentals, knowing what types of plastics can be recycled or can’t be recycled. […] So there’s these basic things that people need to understand first, before we can make this system efficient. This has to be taught […] when you’re young. It has to be a habit.

Marcy: Food remains in the recycling bin, for instance, is one of the things that gives the industry a headache!

Doug: The problem with recycling plastic is the cost and the sorting and the cleaning. So if you get it in the first mile, clean from your house, there is much more chance that either the unregulated waste pickers or the very advanced shredders and entrepreneurs are going to get that material and make use of it. And that is a global change that could happen with two quick ideas: wet and dry.

If you sort things just by making two decisions: wet and dry. You will then be able to take all of the material – plastic, paper, metal, glass – as dry, because it isn’t covered with grease and food waste and chicken bones.

Marcy: And as Philippe told me, the recycler then just needs to crush and shred it, before it can be recycled. As long as separating wet and dry waste remains the job of the recycling industry, it will be more profitable to ship the waste off to a developing country.

But consumers are not the only ones who need to change:

Doug: You have the marketing and design guys who want differentiation. I want my bottle to be red, yellow, blue, and the sizes will be a bit different, and then you mix materials and that is where you get into this disaster zone of recycling.

So there is no standardisation laws on material use, and there is not enough design thought put into the afterlife of that product, and how to take it apart. If you put all these rivets and little things, and electronics… you could shred it, and that is a way to get stuff separated, but a lot of countries don’t have that capacity. So we build these things but we don’t think about how to get them apart again and get the different material types into the seven streams of families.

Philippe: If you look at bottles, they consist of around three types of plastics. The lid, the bottle and the label so and that is what makes it so difficult to recycle. Because in one product there’s different types of plastics. So what if you can just use one type of plastic for the product. A shampoo bottle has the metal spring for the […] lid and there is the tube and there is the bottle, so there’s at least three components there. So in Hong Kong some people actually recycle it by breaking it down manually, taking the lid off, taking off the metal […] spring and then that spring is recycled separately. The tube going down to the liquid is recycled separately. And then the bottle itself. So if you design a product that uses one type of plastic or material that makes it really simple.

Marcy: This is called “Designing for Recyclability” and it’s a hot topic in the world of plastics. Philippe mentioned redesigning the plastic bottle so it’s all made of one type of plastic. Another way to rethink our use of plastic is by limiting the material to long-term products. Strong, durable plastic has a higher value to recyclers, and is much less likely to end up on a dump or in the ocean. I spoke about this with Michelle Jou, who lives in Shanghai, where she runs the Polycarbonate Business Unit of plastics giant Covestro.

Michelle: The polycarbonate is different from the single use plastic like plastic bags or straws. Our plastics are high end engineered plastics that are used for much more higher end and long lasting applications.

Marcy: Think for instance of the big plastic bottles you see in office water coolers.

Michelle: If you are in China, or you are in Indonesia, people are in need of clean water, and they use a big water bottle. This water bottle is mostly made of polycarbonate, and we recycle the polycarbonate. We take them back and make them into mobile phone housing, or laptop housing or led light.

Marcy: And there is a lot of enthusiasm for this kind of thinking, including in China

Michelle: Our efforts have really been paying off. I think in the last 2 to 3 years, our recycle sales, have more than tripled on a single year basis, because of course the starting point is low, we are really trying to do more going forward.

Marcy: Two years ago Doug took the business forum Plasticity, which he founded, to Shanghai, and was surprised at the keen interest for recyclable design there.

Doug: When I have spoken in China on this topic before, I found people really weren’t aware of it. Because it wasn’t something always talked about in China – there are many other issues… not really this one. So when I talked at a design/fashion event one time, to a full house, people seemed in awe, but they also then were very eager to solve the problem. I found more eagerness then some countries in the west, which are a bit numb to some of this discussion. So that is why we said we need to go to China because they are ready and they want to know how to solve some of these things, but they haven’t been given the information or the ideas.

Marcy: And more companies across China are taking on the challenge. The Chinese government is changing up the country’s waste management infrastructure, and mandating 46 cities to reach a 35% recycling rate by 2020. Given the complicated nature of recycling, and heavy investment required, it’s unsure how these cities will meet that objective. So new ways to cope with plastic waste are being tried and tested. Against the wishes of grassroots activists, but with demonstrable success, the Chinese are building more Waste-to-Energy plants than the rest of the world together.

When I asked Doug about this billion-dollar industry of burning trash, his reply surprised me.

Doug: It is very important. It is absolutely necessary. If we really want to solve the problem of waste getting into our waters.

Marcy: Join me next time, as we explore the world of waste-to-energy.

Marcy: This podcast was brought to you by Sustainable Asia.

Eight Million was produced by me, Marcy Trent Long, and the multi-talented Sam Bekemans.

We could not have pulled this podcast series together without our amazing audio engineers Carsten and Annabat Martens of Aya Recording Studio.

Our logo and social media outreach was by Kinsey Long.

And special thanks to our voiceover artist Keon Lee, audio assistant Daniel Suen, and our wonderful partners at chinadialogue: Isabel Hilton, who helped formulate the idea for the project, Charlotte Middlehurst and Christopher Davy, for their editing skills, and Huang Lushan for stepping in with interviews and translation.

Share this podcast with your friends and colleagues! Education and collaboration are our best path for creating a Sustainable Asia.

Find the series on ITUNES | SOUNDCLOUD | SPOTIFY