纪录片《岛屿与鲸鱼》导演访谈

这部新纪录片描绘了一个直面全球气候变化和污染影响的小社区的生活。

法罗群岛的人们一直从事着饱受争议的传统捕鲸业,但汞和其他化学物质的污染或使消费者不再吃鲸鱼了。

法罗群岛坐落在北大西洋之中,位于冰岛和苏格兰之间。

这个偏远群岛上的人们一直依海为生,仍然从事着饱受争议的传统捕鲸业。

这引发了动物权利活动者的怒火,而法罗人则声称食用鲸肉是他们文化认同的一个重要部分。

在苏格兰导演迈克·戴伊3月新推出的纪录片《岛屿与鲸鱼》中,法罗群岛呈现出一幅更加复杂微妙的生活图景。这部片子讲述了一个挣扎在污染和气候变化全球影响最前线的小社区的故事,视野要广阔得多,也更令人神伤。

片子的主角帕尔·魏赫既是一位公共卫生教授,也是公共健康部门的领导。他发现海洋污染使鲸肉和鲸油中汞和其他化学物质的含量已经达到危险水平,已经不再适合人类食用。此后,他就一直努力制止法罗人食用鲸肉。

魏赫对孕妇及其子女的研究已经持续了三十年,结果表明汞和其他污染物对胎儿和儿童的大脑发育和免疫系统都有严重影响。他还发现食用鲸肉与帕金森病发病率增加存在关联。

海洋中的汞增加是煤炭和其他化石燃料燃烧造成的。有毒化学物质通过燃烧释放到空气中,然后又经降雨进入海洋。位于食物链顶端的巨头鲸体内的有毒化学物含量尤其高,这是因为汞是一种可以在生物体内累积的持久性有毒物质,被鱼类摄入后会沿着食物链向上传递。

对于有着数百年食用鲸鱼肉历史的法罗人来说,这是一个很难接受的信息。捕鲸和食鲸不仅为他们提供了食物,而且是社区生活的重要部分。

片子还记录了生态退化和全球海洋污染一点点地侵入这一原始海域,海鸟种群也随之凋零、食物链断裂。

戴伊的拍摄工作进行了四年,捕捉到了无数惊人的瞬间:12个人用绳子将一个人倒吊在悬崖边缘,共同猎捕塘鹅;一个嶙峋的小海湾里,数百个男人站在没腰深的血水里用棒子打死鲸鱼;水手们若无其事地在浪尖上掠捕海鸟。

男人站在被鲸鱼血水染红的水里,当地人用特制的“更人性化的”工具杀死鲸鱼。图片来源:电影截图

这是一部拍摄出色、令人心痛的纪录片,它传递了一个普遍的信息:化学品污染已经悄悄渗透到我们所有人身边。

贝丝·沃尔克(以下简称“沃):你是怎么想到拍这部片子的?

迈克·戴伊(以下简称“戴”):我那时住在路易斯岛的一艘船上拍摄自己的第一部片子。我们开船到孤悬40英里外大西洋中的一座礁石,那里有10个苏格兰男人在捕猎海鸟充当肉食。我们在斯托诺韦遇到了法罗人水手,问我们到底在干什么。他们邀请我们去拍摄其捕猎,但很快就不仅是这样了,最终我们拍出了一个事关每个人的故事。

沃:你怎样获得了当地人的信任?

戴:怀疑还是有的,因为之前已经有很多人拿着摄影机到那里,结果他们根本言行不一,很多内容都是站在反捕鲸的角度。法罗人非常好客,他们看到我们之前拍的片子,明白片子并未对他们的行为作出评判,而是让观众们自己来下结论。我们只是如实地将他们的生活呈现出来而已。

岛上大部分人也认为捕鲸不会持续太久了,因此他们非常热衷于从一个更加中立的视角将这一活动记录下来。水手真的帮了大忙,因为他们也经历了我们在摄制过程中的重重磨练患难。

沃:你在摄制中遇到了什么技术挑战?

戴:我们牺牲了几台摄像机。拍摄塘鹅捕猎那天,我们在悬崖下足足拍了38个小时。之前还没有外国人被允许到那个悬崖下面,这真是个荣誉。我们原本以为爬下去拍一个小时就行,结果在一个小尖尖上拍了整整九个小时。那里太潮湿了,以至于摄像机都开始漏电了。

在38小时的拍摄后,我们非常亢奋,然后就接到电话说捕鲸就要开始了。在四个月的等待后,一切突如其来。我们必须穿过群岛,在鲸鱼到达之前赶到那里。光是搬运这些摄影器材也是极富挑战的。

沃:在摄制期间你们对当地捕鲸传统的看法有变化吗?

人群在岸上观看猎杀鲸鱼。图片来源:电影截图

戴:片子拍了53周,加上后期制作一共花了四年。法罗人总是想改进技艺,让捕鲸尽可能又快又准。但这并不能让鲸鱼保护倡议者感到舒服,因为结果并没有区别。所谓的杀戮效率的提高确实是真事儿。鲸鱼保护倡议者以前去那里所看到的捕鲸场面要血腥残酷得多。他们游过去,用长矛刺入鲸鱼的身体。法罗人中有一句谚语说:“外人的眼睛最毒”,在这里此言不虚,因为外部的看法让他们重新审视自己的做法。

沃:你怎么看食鲸行为?这很残忍,但作为传统食物和社区纽带显然又很重要。

戴:鲸肉消费量正在快速下降。某些情况下也需要考察所杀鲸鱼和所吃鲸鱼的数量对比。但魏赫医生的研究表明母亲血液内的汞含量正在急剧下降。自从发现鲸肉有毒后,消费量已经明显剧减,但人们不可能完全停止食鲸。

沃:故事的另一个重要部分是关于海洋现状的,鲸鱼体内积累的汞、食物链断裂严重影响海鸟的生存。你对自己的发现感到震惊吗?

戴:如今关于海洋塑料和污染的曝光度很高,但2011年我们开始拍摄这部影片时并非如此。关于这个故事很独特的一点是你可以谈论人类对自然的客观现实的影响,而气候变化否认者无法对此置之不理。

鲸鱼体内有汞,海鸟体内有塑料。当你来到一个地方,发现这里新生儿体内的汞高出安全量的40倍,因为他们的母亲在怀孕期间吃了鲸肉。这实在令人心惊胆寒,观众们必须关注这一事实,他们可能不会吃鲸鱼,但会吃剑鱼、金枪鱼和所有其他海鲜,其中的汞含量同样很高。

法罗人首当其冲地受到影响,但我们也无法幸免。这些都很让人震惊。有研究证明,如果幼年时有过汞暴露,并且长期低含量暴露于我们所熟知的很多化学品,就会发生永久性认知影响。这些化学品在排入大气前并未受到检测,因为企业宁可先盈利、后治理。这是人们真正应该从本片中吸取的教训。

沃:你希望这部片子产生什么影响,希望影响到谁?

戴:我希望能让一些“鸵鸟”从沙子里抬起头来。各国政府还没有禁止一次性的刀叉和塑料袋,我觉得这很可怕。我希望能让人们认清不采取行动的后果有多严重。

沃:岛民们对他们遭受的污染没有责任,但日益增加的人口也给资源带来压力。这个故事是否也是世界上更广泛的不可持续的缩影?

戴:如果人口继续增长下去,则什么都不可持续。但讽刺的是他们吃的(鲸肉)是一种可持续的当地食物,尽管很多人对此感到憎恶。我也不会把他们描绘成天使,他们和我们一样都是现代世界的一部分。他们用石油制成的塑料、开车、用油发电,不过他们正日益朝着可再生的方向转型。我拍摄这部影片正是因为它是一个缩影,体现了我们如何应对这些现实。 

沃:你下一部片子要拍什么?

戴:我去年一年都在内华达的全国(牛仔)诗歌集会上拍摄牛仔诗人。尽管这些人每天都骑在马背上放牛,但他们仍然满怀热情地写诗并与人们分享。要表现这个节点上的今日美国,这也是一个缩影。

 

翻译:奇芳

Film: The Islands and the Whales

New documentary depicts a small community facing the effects of global climate change and pollution

Global pollution has reached even the remote shores of the Faroe Islands in the north Atlantic. (Photo: still from the film)

Conservationists have long opposed the practice of whale hunting on the Faroe Islands, a remote archipelago north of Scotland. Now high levels of mercury and other chemicals from pollution in the ocean are driving down whale meat consumption.

The Faroe Islands lie in the north Atlantic between Iceland and Scotland.

People on this remote archipelago have always relied on the ocean for their livelihood and still practice the controversial tradition of whale hunting.

This has attracted the ire of animal rights activists, while the Faroese argue that eating whale is an important part of their cultural identity.

A new documentary film The Islands and the Whales by Scottish director Mike Day, released in March, paints a more complex, nuanced picture of life on the islands. What emerges is a far broader, harrowing tale of a small community living on the sharp edge of the global effects of pollution and climate change.

The film follows one protagonist, Pál Weihe, a professor and director of public health, in his struggle to stop the Faroese eating whale after discovering that the meat and blubber contains dangerously high levels of mercury and other chemicals from pollution in the ocean, making it toxic for human consumption.

His study on pregnant women and their children – done over a period of thirty years – showed the dangerous impact of mercury and other pollutants on brain development and on the immune system of unborn babies and children. He also founds links with raised levels of Parkinson’s disease.

Mercury in the ocean is increasing from the burning of coal and other fossil fuels. Toxic chemicals released into the air through combustion then enter the ocean as rain. Pilot whales contain particularly high levels, as they sit at the end of the food chain. This is because mercury is a persistent substance that builds up in living organisms, is ingested by fish and passed up the food chain.

This is not an easy message to get over to the Faroese, who have survived on whale meat for hundreds of years. The act of hunting and eating whale is not only to supply food but also an important part of community life.

The film also tells a story of ecological decline and global ocean pollution seeping into this pristine landscape, as seabird populations collapse and food chains are disrupted.

Day filmed over a period of four years, capturing astonishing moments: the communal gannet hunt, with twelve men dangling one man on a rope over a cliff edge; hundreds of men waist deep in blood bludgeoning whales to death in a rocky cove; and sailors nonchalantly scooping seabirds from the tops of waves.

This is a beautifully shot and harrowing film with a universal message about the insidious chemical pollution all around us.

The Islands and the Whales trailer from Intrepid Cinema on Vimeo.

Beth Walker (BW): How did this all start?

Mike Day (MD): I was living in a boat making my first film in the Isle of Lewis. We’d been sailing to a rock that was 40 miles out of the Atlantic sea, where ten men from Scotland were about to hunt seabirds for meat. When we were in Stornoway we met Faroese sailors who wondered what the hell we were doing out there. They invited us to film them hunting. But it quickly developed into much more than that. It was a story that affected everyone.

BW: How did you gain trust with the local community?

MD: There was suspicion because there had been a lot of people going up there before with cameras and who turned out to be doing not what they said they were doing. And a lot of the coverage was from an anti-whaling perspective. Faroese people are very hospitable and when they saw the film we’d made previously they could see the film didn’t need to judge them on the actions, the audience could do that. We were presenting it.

Also most people on the island didn’t think whale hunting was going to continue much longer, and so they were keen to get it documented from a more neutral perspective. And being a sailor really helped because they related to the trials and tribulations we went through making that film.

A man stands in a bay coloured red by whale blood. The Faroese have designed special tools to make the killing to whales more humane (Image: The Islands and the Whales)
A man stands in a bay coloured red by whale blood. The Faroese have designed special tools to make the killing to whales more humane (Image: The Islands and the Whales)

MD: What technical challenges did you face making this film?

We killed a few cameras. We actually filmed for 38 hours that day going down the cliff to film the gannet hunt. No foreigner had been allowed to go down that cliff before and that was an honour. We thought we were going down for one hour and we ended up going down for nine hours on a little ledge. It was so damp the camera started giving me electric shocks.

We were pretty delirious after 38 hours of filming and then we got the call saying the whale hunt was going to happen. After four months of waiting everything happened at once. We had to rally across the archipelago and get there before the whales did. It was logistically very challenging.

BW: Did views of the local whaling tradition change over the period of making the film?

MD: The filming lasted 53 weeks spread over four years with postproduction afterwards. They [The Faroese] are always trying to improve the technique to make it as quick and efficient as possible. This doesn’t comfort whale activists because it still results in a dead whale. The efficiency of the killing actually happened because activists went there and the hunt back then was much crueller. They stabbed whales with spears when they swam in. There’s a saying in Faroese that the sharpest eye is that of the outsider. And this is true in this case because the outside view made them revisit their practice.

A crowd gathered in a bay to watch the whale hunt (Image: The Islands and the Whales)
A crowd gathered in a bay to watch the whale hunt (Image: The Islands and the Whales)

BW: What about attitudes to eating whale – it’s brutal, but clearly has a huge importance as a traditional food and bringing community together?

MD: Whale meat consumption is going down rapidly. And at some point they need to check the amount killed versus the amount eaten. But the doctor’s study shows a dramatic drop in the mercury levels in mothers’ blood. Consumption has obviously gone down dramatically since the findings that the meat is toxic but people might not have stopped completely.

BW: The other big part of the story is about the state of the ocean – the mercury accumulating in the whales, the collapse of the food chain hitting the bird life. Were you shocked by what you found?

MD: Now there’s a lot more publicity about plastic in the sea and pollution, but when we started making the film in 2011 coverage wasn’t as [big]. One of the things that was quite unique about this story was that you could talk about the physical realities of the effect man was having on nature, and these weren’t dismissible theories that climate change deniers could throw away.

The mercury was in the whales and the plastic in the birds. It was shocking to go to a place and find babies being born with 40 times the safe mercury because their mother had eaten whale when she was pregnant. That’s grimly disturbing and audiences must take heed to the fact that they might not eat whale but swordfish, tuna all kinds of seafood that we do eat is high in the same thing.

They are feeling the effects first on the frontline but it’s coming for us too, all that was quite shocking. Then there is the study that proved there are permanent cognitive effects if you’re exposed [to mercury] at a young age, and the long-term low dose exposure risks that we all have from modern chemicals. These chemicals don’t get tested before they’re put in the atmosphere because companies would rather make a profit and deal with the consequences later. This is really the lesson the film should give.

BW: What do you hope the impact of the film will be and upon whom?

MD: I hope it pulls a few heads up out of the sand. I think it’s horrible that the government hasn’t banned a lot of these single use cutlery and plastics bags. I hope it does kick people into the growing reality of not taking action.

BW: The Islanders are not responsible for the pollution they suffer from but there is a growing population exerting more pressure on resources. Is this story also a microcosm of wider unsustainability in the world?

MD: If the population keeps increasing as it has then nothing is sustainable. But they are ironically eating a sustainable local food source, although lots of people hate what they’re doing. I also don’t paint them as angels; they are part of the modern world as much as any of us. They have oil-based plastics and drive cars and burn oil for their power source, although they are moving increasingly towards renewables. I made the film because it was such as microcosm of how we deal with these realities.

BW: What’s the next story you want to tell?

MD: I spent the last year filming cowboy poets at the national poetry gathering in Nevada, people who despite the fact they spend all working hours on horseback moving cows about still have the urge to write poetry and share it with people. It’s a microcosm for exploring the juncture that America is at the moment.