中欧海洋合作的下一步是什么?

中欧携手组建蓝色联盟将产生哪些影响?我们采集了多位中外专家的意见。

eu china cooperation

7月17日,在一年一度的中国欧盟领导人峰会上双方决定共同努力应对海洋危机。我们邀请了一组中外专家对承诺解决非法和不可持续捕捞、污染以及气候变化的价值进行了评估。

王亚民,山东大学威海分校海洋学院副教授

这一伙伴关系是向前迈出的重要一步,确定了今后双方在以下领域合作的总路线:

  • 公海海洋生物多样性的保护和可持续利用
  • 抗击海洋污染,包括海洋塑料垃圾和微塑料。
  • 减缓和适应气候变化对海洋的影响,其中包括对北冰洋的影响。
  • 保护南极海洋生物资源。
  • 区域和全球渔业管理,防止非法、未报告和无管制(IUU)的捕捞活动。

其次,我认为可以适当考虑细化和补充一些具体内容:

1、双方可以在海洋保护区(MPA)和国家公园领域开展合作,推动以国家公园为主体的海洋保护区体系建设;

2、双方应在保护迁徙野生动物物种公约(CMS)或国际捕鲸公约框架下吗,在有全球重要意义的高度迁徙性海洋物种开展 保护合作;

3、以联合国海洋法公约和其它海洋国际法基础理论为基础,合作开展国际海洋法律法规和治理体系的研究与建设;

4、在国际航运与航道中,加强海上安全、船舶运输对海洋生物的影响,以及压舱水问题及其它人为因素所导致的外来入侵物种管控;

5、双方应加强对人类生态文明和人类海洋文明的交流磋商,为人类文明提供新贡献;

 

陈冀俍,绿创中心研究员,绿创中心是一家总部位于北京的非政府组织。

在海洋领域,与中美合作相比较,中欧之间在敏感问题上的冲突较少,合作的时候顾忌也要少一些。

欧盟是公海和南极海洋保护区的积极支持者和推进者,目前已经提出了几个新的南极海洋保护区提案。而中国对于大型海洋保护区则存在一些自己的顾虑。这个时候,建立高级别的政策对话机制和科学、技术、后勤保障层面的合作可以相互促进。

同时,中欧都拥有庞大的远洋捕捞船队在非洲开展捕捞活动,二者也都是非洲可持续发展的重要伙伴,二者可以通过合作来支持一些能力不足的非洲国家,例如在塞内加尔建立可持续渔业管理体系,来实现三方共赢。

 

李硕,绿色和平东亚分部高级气候政策和海洋专家

中欧海洋伙伴关系不应是一场基于利害关系的包办婚姻,而应是一个能够将多边主义付诸行动的途径。需要解决的问题有很多,北京方面和各国政府急需开展合作,保护我们的海洋。

今年早些时候,中国渔业管理部门公开处罚了一些从事非法捕捞的公司。其中一些违法行为是欧盟举报的。中国当局以负责任的态度处理了这些案件,这应作为进一步建立信任的基础。

就像气候变化领域关于“共同而有区别的责任”的争论一样,围绕“保护VS可持续利用”的争论也阻碍了加强海洋治理的进程。中欧在公海、极地等域外地区的管理问题上,需要在保护和利用之间找到适当的平衡。

海洋塑料方面,中国和欧盟都处于问题的前沿和中心。考虑到中国监管制度还未形成成熟的体系,应趁早抓住势头,减少塑料制品的使用。

 

朱争光,联合国黄海大海洋生态系二期项目环境官员

中欧伙伴关系不仅确立了总路线,而且还关注到了诸如塑料等海洋垃圾的管理等具体领域。合作的重点是渔业和海洋生物资源。在南极,磷虾等濒危物种可能会被优先考虑。

我们还需要考虑协议中没有提及的领域,例如跨境海洋空间规划和信息共享,以促进经济可持续增长,并通过能力建设和交流,推进海洋保护区相关的合作。

 

莱恩·彭尼,“中国政策”海洋政策分析员。“中国政策”是一家位于北京的研究和战略顾问机构

关于《港口国措施协定》的合作仍旧是最关键的问题之一,如果非法渔获可以轻易登陆,直接销往全球最大的市场之一,那任何防止IUU捕捞的国际协议都没有用。中国在建立有效的港口法规以规范国内外船只方面还有一段路要走。

例如,去年12月,中国在中西太平洋渔业委员会上提出对《港口国措施协定》进行修正,要求仅在“自指定”港口采取这些措施。这项提案并不令人意外,反映出目前中国全国都缺乏足够的港口基础设施来支持此种监管。

尽管中国在这一问题上的行动对其他国家有所阻碍,但该国已经采取措施改善国内的情况。今年,中国发布了《全国沿海渔港建设规划(2018-2025年)》,加上即将出台的《渔港监督管理条例》和港口监督及安全培训课程,三者相辅相成,为港口管理打下了更好的基础。正如预期的那样,这些雄心勃勃的计划还远不完善,这就为中欧双方提高中国港口监管体系的有效性和可持续性提供了关键的合作领域。

 

安德里亚·卡瓦纳,皮尤慈善信托基金(华盛顿特区)保护南极南大洋项目总监

近来有科学分析发现,南大洋的物种数量正在以与地球其他地区类似的速度衰减。

这表明,中国、欧盟等南极海洋生物资源保护委员会成员需要在整个南大洋建立起一个海洋保护区网络。

目前正在考虑中将于2018年划定的保护区有两处——一处位于南极东南沿海地区,目的是保护这一广袤的具有重大生态意义的区域,从而不仅保护阿德利企鹅种群,而且有利于深入研究气候变化对该地区的影响;另一处位于威德尔海,那里生活着三分之一的帝企鹅幼仔,更重要的是,在全球各地流动的富含养分的洋流也发源自那里。

此外,未来对南极半岛海域的保护至关重要。几十年来,这里的磷虾几乎是商业捕鱼船队重点捕捞的海产,这直接威胁到了企鹅的食物供应,以及它们筑巢和觅食的栖息地。磷虾是南冰洋食物网中至关重要的部分,海洋保护区网络将确保整个南冰洋的企鹅和其他物种继续有磷虾可吃。

海洋保护区网络还将确保这些生物多样性丰富的地区能够完整地得到保护,用于科学研究和保育。海洋保护区网络覆盖的整个区域也将大大有助于人类达成保护全球30%的海洋的目标。时间紧迫,必须加紧制定保护措施,确保海洋生态系统可以充满活力。

 

史蒂夫·特伦特,环境正义基金执行理事。环境正义基金总部位于英国,致力于解决侵犯人权行为和相关环境问题。

非法、未报告和无管制的捕捞活动正将全球渔业推向崩溃的边缘,每年损失高达235亿美元。中国和欧盟是阻止这场灾难的关键,二者都是世界上最大的海鲜市场之一,并且拥有两大最重要的远洋船队。

这两个市场上流通着来自东南亚的虾等高风险物种。它们的船队也在西非等容易出现IUU捕捞的地区作业,这种做法威胁着沿海社区的粮食安全和生计。

IUU捕捞正在暗中壮大。为了打击这种活动,中欧伙伴关系应将支持信息透明化作为打击IUU捕捞活动最经济有效的方法,同时奖励负责任的企业。

 

 

翻译:金艳

What’s next for EU-China ocean cooperation?

A round-up of views from Chinese and international experts

(Image: Paul Hilton / Greenpeace)

The European Union and China agreed on July 17 at their annual summit to work together to tackle the ocean crisis. We asked a panel of Chinese and international experts to assess the value of the commitments in resolving illegal and unsustainable fishing, pollution and climate change.

Wang Yamin, associate professor at Marine College of Shandong University, Weihai

This partnership is a major step forward and sets out general lines for future collaboration in the following areas:

  • The conservation and sustainable use of marine biological diversity in the high seas.
  • The fight against marine pollution, including marine plastic litter and microplastics.
  • The mitigation of and adaption to climate change impacts on the ocean, including the Arctic Ocean.
  • The conservation of Antarctic marine living resources.
  • Fisheries governance in regional and global fora, and the prevention of illegal, unreported and unregulated (IUU) fishing.

Chen Jiliang, researcher at Greenovation Hub, a non-governmental organisation based in Beijing

When it comes to marine cooperation, China has fewer conflicts over sensitive issues with the EU than it does with the US, and therefore fewer misgivings about cooperating with the EU.

The EU is an advocate for marine reserves and has proposed new ones on the high seas and in Antarctic waters. However, China has concerns over large marine reserves. At this point, a mechanism for high-level policy dialogue and cooperative efforts on science, technology and logistics would, if established, promote each other.

Meanwhile, both China and the EU have huge fishing fleets working off Africa, and they are key partners in the sustainable development of the continent. China and the EU could cooperate on supporting some less capable African nations, for example by building a sustainable fisheries management system in Senegal, ensuring all three parties benefit.

The debate around ‘conservation versus sustainable use’ is hindering progress toward stronger ocean governance.

Li Shuo, senior climate policy and ocean expert at Greenpeace East Asia

‪The EU-China ocean partnership should not be a marriage of convenience but one that can ‪channel multilateralism into action. With a vast number of issues to address, protecting our ocean requires urgent cooperation between Beijing and its international counterparts.

Earlier this year, the Chinese fishery authority publicly punished a number of companies for illegal fishing. Some of their actions were reported by the EU. The accountability of the Chinese authorities in dealing with these cases should serve as the basis for further trust-building.

Similar to the ‘common but differentiated responsibilities’ debate on climate change, the debate around ‘conservation versus sustainable use’ is hindering progress toward stronger ocean governance. In regulating some of the extraterritorial areas such as the high seas and polar regions, China and the EU need to find the right balance between protection and utilisation.

In the area of marine plastics, the EU and China are front and centre of the problem. Early momentum in reducing the use of plastic products should be seized, taking into account the fragmented nature of China’s regulatory regime.


Zhu Zhengguang is UNDP environment officer in the Yellow Sea Large Marine Ecosystem Phase II Project

This partnership not only sets out general lines but also focuses on specific areas such as managing marine litter, including plastics. Cooperation is focused on fisheries and living marine resources. In the Antarctic, krill and other endangered species might be the priority.

We also need to consider areas that were unmentioned in the agreement, such as transboundary marine spatial planning and information sharing to promote sustainable economic growth, and cooperating on marine protected areas through capacity building and networking.


Ryan Penney, maritime policy analyst at China Policy, a research and strategic advisory group, Beijing

Cooperation on Port State Measures remains one of the most critical issues, as any international agreement to prevent IUU fishing cannot work if illegal catch is easily landed and sold directly into one of the world’s largest markets. China still has some way to go in establishing effective port regulations for both its own and international vessels.

For example, its latest changes to Port State Measures proposals at the Western and Central Pacific Fisheries Commission (WCPFC) last December, asking only for the measures to apply at ‘self-designated’ ports. This specific amendment does not come as a surprise and reflects China’s current lack of adequate nationwide port infrastructure to support such regulation.

As obstructionist as their actions have been on this matter, it has made steps to improve its domestic situation. This year China has issued an interconnected ‘National Coastal Fishing Port Construction Plan 2018-25’, upcoming ‘Regulations on Fishing Port management and Supervision’ and port supervision and safety training courses in order to build a better base for port controls. As expected these ambitious plans are far from complete, and provide key areas for cooperation between EU-China to increase the efficacy and sustainability of China’s port regulation systems.


Andrea Kavanagh, director, Protecting Antarctica’s Southern Ocean programme at the Pew Charitable Trusts, Washington DC

Recent scientific analysis finds the Southern Ocean is experiencing species declines at a similar rate to the rest of the planet.

This signals the need for the EU, China and the other countries that belong to the Commission for the Conservation of Antarctic Marine Living Resources (CCAMLR) to establish a network of marine protected areas (MPAs) throughout the Southern Ocean.

Two MPA proposals are currently being considered for designation in 2018 – one protecting the vast, ecologically important East Antarctic coastal region, which would safeguard Adélie penguin colonies and allow for more research into the effects of climate change in the area; the other in the Weddell Sea, which is home to one-third of all emperor penguin hatchlings and perhaps most importantly, it is the birthplace of nutrient-rich currents that flow around the world.

Additionally, the need for future marine protections in the Antarctic Peninsula is critical because for decades, commercial fishing fleets have focused almost exclusively on krill, directly threatening the food supply and habitat where breeding penguins nest and forage. Krill are the centre of the entire Southern Ocean food web. A network of MPAs would ensure that krill continue to be available for penguins and other species throughout the Southern Ocean.

A network of MPAs would ensure that these intact and biodiverse regions are preserved for science and conservation purposes. And the collective area covered by a network of MPAs would also significantly contribute to the goal of protecting 30% of the world’s oceans. The clock is ticking on putting in place protections that can help ensure a vibrant marine ecosystem.

The EU-China partnership should champion transparency as the most cost-effective and efficient means to target rogue IUU fishing

Steve Trent, executive director of the UK-based Environmental Justice Foundation, which promotes the resolution of human rights abuses and related environmental issues

Illegal, unreported and unregulated fishing is pushing the world’s fisheries to the brink of collapse, losing the world up to US$23.5 billion a year. The EU and China are both central to the fight to stop it. They are two of the world’s largest seafood markets and possess two of the most significant distant water fleets.

Their markets buy high-risk species, like shrimp from South-east Asia, and their vessels operate in areas vulnerable to IUU fishing such as West Africa, where the practice threatens the food security and livelihoods of coastal communities.

IUU fishing thrives in the shadows. To fight it, the EU-China partnership should champion transparency as the most cost-effective and efficient means to target rogue IUU fishing operations, while rewarding responsible businesses.