化学品污染事件后的渔村困境

一场有毒化学品泄漏事故过去两个月后,“受伤”的渔村仍在经历纠结和困扰。

整个园区周围的海域都是养殖场。碳九事件后,已经全部停止作业。摄影:栗长森

2018年11月末的一个中午,福建省泉州市肖厝村村民张彦(化名)家的厨房里正在烧着自己家养殖的鲈鱼。一走进厨房,张彦闻到一股刺鼻的气味从锅里飘过来,感到一阵反胃。“就是碳九的味道”,张彦坚持这样认为,虽然他对碳九的了解也仅限于媒体的报道。距离泉港碳九泄漏事故一个多月后,虽然官方通报泉港的空气和水质都已达标, 海产品已符合安全标准,但是泄漏事件给张彦和其他的村民带来的阴影还远没有消失。

突发的事故

张彦今年40岁,只有初中文化,一年中的大部分时间在厦门打工,但是每个月都会回到位于肖厝村的家,在家里人的养鱼场帮忙。张家的收获还算稳定,张彦和三个兄弟们都盖上了两层到四层的小楼房。但是这次碳九污染事件打乱了这家人的平静生活。

11月4日凌晨,东港石油化工实业有限公司在执行碳九装船作业时,连接岸和船的软管破裂,导致69.1吨裂解碳九外泄。事故原因为工作人员违规操作以及涉事企业隐患排查不当。

碳九是石油提炼时获得的一种副产品,因含有九个碳原子而得名。工业裂解碳九的急性毒性毒性与汽油相当,对人体皮肤、眼睛和呼吸道都具有刺激性。

张彦所居住的肖厝村距离事发海域最近,有8000多人口,是泉州最大的海上养殖基地。肖厝村的渔业产品不仅供应泉港本地市场,还被销往泉州和厦门等城市。

肖厝村村民大多以出海捕鱼和渔排养殖为生。渔排养殖是当地渔民的一种生活方式。渔民在相对安全平稳的海域搭建网箱、饲养鱼苗,几家的网箱连在一起组成渔排,由泡沫浮球支撑。

“我知道消息是在早上,海上漂浮着大片的土黄色油污,味道刺鼻。当时全村的人都出来了,议论纷纷。我们发现那东西会腐蚀泡沫鱼排浮球,所以知道这不是普通的油品,”张彦说,“我们当时就担心,鱼被污染了,事故的影响也传出去了,鱼还怎么卖?”

碳九事件后,养殖户正在抓紧把海产品打捞上来,他们说,有专门的企业来负责收购,收去后怎么处理,不知道。
碳九事件后,养殖户正在抓紧把海产品打捞上来,他们说,有专门的企业来负责收购,收去后怎么处理,不知道。摄影:栗长森

“碳九”在后来的几天里成为村民听到和议论最多的一个词,这个陌生的名词令张彦恐惧。污染发生之初,泉港多名当地渔民到医院就医。碳九腐蚀了渔排的泡沫浮球,部分渔排失去浮力下沉,造成养殖海产品死的死,逃的逃。政府通报显示,此次事件直接影响海域面积约0.6平方公里,养殖受损集中在肖厝村网箱养殖区约300亩,涉及养殖户152户。

渔排是很多渔民的全部家当,一个渔排价值在几十万到一百多万人民币之间。事故当天,58岁的肖厝村村民肖伟(化名)发现自家的渔排都沉了下去,他试着用手将新的泡沫浮球放到水下。“但是新入水的浮球很快就被腐蚀变烂了,”肖伟说,“泡沫变得特别脆。”肖伟经营了28年的渔排。因为近距离接触污染物,他很快感到胸闷,第二天被家人送进医院。

受损的养殖业

虽然官方公布事发海域水质已恢复至符合养殖海水水质标准,但事实上,此次事故对于当地渔业的长远影响很难被评估。据《财经》报道,养殖户每年包括鱼苗、饵食、渔排的相关设施等的投入在一百余万。因为担心污染,消费者对产自泉港区的渔产品格外敏感。肖厝村村民在接受新华社采访时说,“现在客商都不敢收肖厝的鱼了,听说污染海域恢复要好几个月,大家都在担心”。

为了让人重拾对泉港渔产品的信心,当地官员曾在肖厝村村委会广场网络直播吃海鲜。但是村民们私下议论,这些直播吃的海鲜并非产自当地。张彦说,“我们渔民们关心的是,化学品对于水生环境及鱼类到底有多大的影响,我们的渔获什么时候才能正常卖出,我们的赔偿谁来负责?”

肖伟和张彦表示他们也很难准确估计自己的损失。多少鱼跑了?多少鱼死了?以后因为污染还会死掉多少鱼?污染物对渔排的寿命有什么影响?这个事件对泉港地区渔产品声誉的破坏,这些该怎么计算?

碳九事件后,养殖户正在抓紧把海产品打捞上来
碳九事件后,养殖户正在抓紧把海产品打捞上来,他们说,有专门的企业来负责收购,收去后怎么处理,不知道。摄影:栗长森

与石化产业为邻

泉港枕山负海,水产资源丰富,居民自古以来多以捕鱼为业,渔业在经济上和文化上对泉港都很重要。但另一方面,由于距离台湾较近,泉港承接不少台商的投资,当地石化工业也逐渐发展为支柱产业,2017年石化工业总产值占全区工业总产值的56.3%。

石化工业发展与当地传统生存方式以及生态环境之间的矛盾日益凸显。为了经济发展,地方政府急于上马项目,造成化工厂和渔业生产区、居民区混杂布局。此次碳九泄漏点与海洋养殖区之间距离仅有数百米,东港石化厂区与村庄也仅一路之隔。

泉港工业园里,化工厂与当地的村庄一墙之隔。摄影:Stam Lee
泉港工业园里,化工厂与当地的村庄一墙之隔。摄影:栗长森

2016年,意识到厂村布局安全隐患,当地政府曾规定石化园区外550米范围为外部安全防护线,不能有居民区,并制定目标,到2020年泉港石化安全控制区范围内的17个村庄要拆迁,涉及5万多居民。肖厝村也在拆迁范围之内。

家里世代靠捕鱼为生的张彦对拆迁计划并不满意,“没有别的生存技术,那后面的日子怎么过?”张家离石化区只有几十米距离,虽然大家知道不安全,但是用张彦的话说,“祖辈传下来的信念就是靠山吃山,靠海吃海。”

拆迁的信息虽然在村子里传了很久,但是因为资金问题,泉港区大部分的村子都还没有拆迁。拆迁的高成本带动了填海的需求。环保组织跨境环保关注协会(CECA) 发现泉港所在的湄洲湾已有填海面积约43.50平方千米,而其中约一半用于石化基地的发展规划,面积相当于100个北京鸟巢体育馆。

街道的两边到处都是动员拆迁的标语。
街道的两边到处都是动员拆迁的标语。摄影:栗长森

赔偿困境

目前公安机关逮捕了涉事企业的直接责任人员。但事故发生一个多月后,渔民的损失赔偿方案仍然没有定论。

11月11日,泉港区地方政府按一个网格1000元标准,安排应急周转资金550万元,以赔偿渔排养殖户的损失。目前的统计只针对肖厝村的养殖户,不包括出海捕鱼的渔民和也受到污染影响的其他渔村渔民。张彦觉得550万的紧急周转资金是不够的,“仅是渔排一项的损失,有些家庭就有好几百万。”

中国政法大学污染受害者法律帮助中心的刘湘教授告诉中外对话,在目前的阶段,行政部门会按照有关程序确定责任、协调责任方主动承担赔偿责任,但是行政调解不一定保证损失会全部得到赔偿,渔民自己可以通过诉讼的途径寻求帮助。

中国政法大学民商经济法学院王灿发教授表示,根据《海洋环境保护法》和《侵权责任法》中的有关规定,渔民通过诉讼可以得到的赔偿,一方面是实际的损害,比如渔排养殖业的直接经济损失;另一方面,就是清除污染的费用以及清除过程中不能养殖所带来的损失。王灿发补充道,目前的法律体系仍然存在局限性,比如因为海域污染影响当地海产品的“名声”而导致的滞销损失很难得到赔偿,因为尚无相关的法律规定。

环境组织也在考虑公益诉讼。涉事企业存在手续不齐全、未批先建等问题。中国生物多样性保护与绿色发展基金会总法律顾问王文勇说,绿发会在收集相关的证据,可能会提起公益诉讼。

中国政法大学民商经济法学院副教授马燕表示,涉及海域污染的问题比较复杂,尤其在中国,海域所有权属于国家,但使用权可以出让给各个民事主体。在各种权利交错的情况下,各方会在环境保护、海域生产、使用安全等方面发生矛盾。

有的养殖户,干脆把船都拉到了岸上,他们说,处理完这事后,打算搬离了。
有的养殖户,干脆把船都拉到了岸上,他们说,处理完这事后,打算搬离了。 摄影:栗长森

“因为根本卖不出去鱼,村子里现在没人出去打鱼了,养殖户剩下的鱼也不知道该怎么往外销售。”张彦说。对于未来,张彦充满担忧,“像这样的化学品流到海里,到底什么时候这海产品才能吃啊?”

肖厝村的村民在力所能及地维权。除了等待污染事故的赔偿方案外,他们正在通过村委会提出希望化工企业可以帮助村民们缴纳一年200多元的医疗保险,以补偿化工厂对他们健康造成的影响,但是双方没有谈妥。

“我们希望过一种既能维持生计,又能维持健康的生活,”张彦表示,“但是好像真的挺难。”

Fishing village hit by chemical leak

Two months on, a small coastal village in Fujian province is struggling to recover

Fish farms have been shut down following the release of chemicals in November from an industrial zone in Quanzhou, Fujian province (Image: Li Changsen)

One lunchtime in November last year, Zhang Yan walked into his kitchen and was met by an acrid odour that made him nauseous. He was cooking sea bass from the family fish farm, near the site of a major chemical leak earlier that month.

Xiaocuo is a coastal fishing village in Quanzhou, Fujian province in south-east China
Xiaocuo is a coastal fishing village in Quanzhou, Fujian province in south-east China

Despite official notices that local water and air quality are up to standard and aquatic products safe to eat, Zhang is adamant that the leak, of “C9 aromatic solvent”, was to blame for his ruined lunch. He and others from the area are still worried. Xiaocuo has a population of 8,000 and is the closest village to the site of the incident. The local fish farms sell to Quanzhou’s port district, and to Quanzhou and Fuzhou cities.

The incident

Early in the morning of November 4, workers at Donggang Petrochemicals were hosing C9 aromatic solvent onto a tanker at Quanzhou’s port. The hose broke and 69 tonnes of the substance leaked into the ocean. C9 is an industrial solvent of similar toxicity to petrol and is an irritant to the skin, eyes and respiratory tract. The chemical leak has been blamed on breaches of rules by staff and the company’s failure to identify potential risks.

Zhang, 40, spends most of the year working in Xiamen, but returns to Xiaocuo once a month to help on the family’s fish farm. He and his three brothers have a stable income and have all built their own houses. But the chemical leak has upset their usually calm lives.

The villagers mostly make a living by fishing or aquaculture, building net cages in calmer waters that are supported by floats. These are often tied together in rows.

Fish farmers rushed to land their fish after the leak. They said a company had been designated to buy the fish, but had no idea how they would be disposed of
Fish farmers rushed to land their fish after the leak. They said a company had been designated to buy the fish but had no idea how they would be disposed of (Image: Li Changsen)

“I heard the news in the morning. There was a big slick of yellow oil on the sea and a foul smell. The whole village was out discussing it. The stuff was melting the floats on the cages, so we knew it wasn’t any ordinary chemical,” Zhang said. “We were worried that the fish would get polluted and news would get out. How would we sell the fish then?”

C9 soon became the main topic of village discussion. Many of the port’s fishermen needed hospital treatment following the leak. The chemical dissolved the floats on the fish cages, which then sank. The fish either died or escaped. A government notice said that 0.6 square kilometres of ocean was affected, with impact on fish farming concentrated in Xiaocuo: 152 fish farmers and 0.2 square kilometres.

The traders don’t dare buy fish from Xiaocuo now.

The fish cages are the only asset many families have, and a row of them can be worth up to a million yuan (US$145,000). Xiao Wei, 58 and also a local, found his family’s cages had sunk. He tried to attach new floats, but “the new ones melted quickly as well.” Xiao has been fish farming for 28 years. Close proximity to the pollutant meant his chest felt tight the next day and he was taken to hospital.

Damage to the fish farms

Despite an official announcement that water quality is now good enough for fish farming, it is hard to assess the long-term impact. According to a report in Caijing magazine, fish farmers spend over one million yuan a year on juvenile fish, food and equipment. But concerns about pollution will make consumers wary of fish from here. In an interview with Xinhua, Xiaocuo villagers said “the traders don’t dare buy fish from Xiaocuo now. They’ve heard it’ll be months before the pollution is gone, so everyone is worried”.

To rebuild confidence, local officials arranged a live broadcast of people eating fish in the Xiaocuo village square. But privately the locals wondered if the fish were even produced locally. “What we want to know is what impact the pollution will have on the fish and the environment,” said Zhang. “When will we be able to sell our fish like normal? Who’s responsible for compensating us?”

Xiao Wei and Zhang Yan both say it is hard to put a figure on their losses. How many fish died? How many escaped? How many will die as a result of the pollution? How many fish cages have been lost? How to calculate the impact of the incident on the reputation of the local fishing sector?

Fish farmers rushed to land their fish after the leak. They said a company had been designated to buy the fish, but had no idea how they would be disposed of. Photo: Stam Lee
Fish farmers rushed to land their fish after the leak (Image: Li Changsen)

Petrochemical neighbours

Locals here in Quangang, Quanzhou’s port district, have always made a living from fishing, and the industry has both financial and cultural importance. The proximity to Taiwan has resulted in plenty of money flowing in from Taiwanese investors, and the petrochemical sector has become crucial: in 2017 it accounted for 56.3% of industrial output in the district.

Chemical plants and villages separated by only a wall in the Quangang Industrial Zone.
Chemical plants and villages separated by only a wall in the Quangang Industrial Zone (Image: Li Changsen)

Conflict between the petrochemical sector, traditional lifestyles and the environment has become more apparent. The local government, keen to see economic growth, has rushed to approve new projects, and as a result chemical plants, fish farms and residential areas sit adjacent to each other. The chemical leak occurred only a few hundred metres from fish farms. Meanwhile villagers reside just across the road from the Donggang petrochemical zone.

Satellite imagery illustrates how close Xiacuo village and local aquaculture is to industrial facilities (Source: Google Maps)
Satellite imagery illustrates how close Xiaocuo village and local aquaculture is to industrial facilities (Source: Google Maps)

In 2016, realising the dangers of having chemical plants in such close proximity to residential areas, the local government declared a 550-metre safety buffer around the petrochemical zone. Residential buildings would not be allowed within that area, with 17 villages to be relocated by 2020. This covers 50,000 residents, including the villagers of Xiaocuo.

Zhang Yan, whose family has lived off the sea for generations, was not happy. “What do you do then, if you’ve no other way of making a living?” Zhang’s home is less than a hundred metres from the petrochemical zone, and while they know it isn’t safe, he says that “for generations our family has believed we should make a living from local resources”.

And despite the fact the relocations were announced some time ago, a lack of funds means that most villages have not been moved. The high cost of relocations has driven demand for land reclamation. The Cross-border Environment Concern Association (CECA) has found that 43.5 square kilometres of land has already been reclaimed from Meizhou Bay, where Xiaocuo is, with about one half of this land used for the petrochemical industry – an area equivalent to 100 Bird’s Nest stadiums.

Slogans by the road encourage people to relocate.
Slogans by the road encourage people to relocate (Image: Li Changsen)

Compensation problems

The company official directly responsible for the leak has been detained. But more than a month later there is no decision on compensation for the villagers’ losses.

On November 11, the Quangang district government arranged an emergency transfer of 5.5 million yuan – 1,000 yuan per fish cage – as compensation for losses to fish farmers. Data on losses have been compiled for fish farmers in Xiaocuo but not for ocean-going fishermen and others. Zhang thinks the emergency transfer was insufficient: “Some households have lost millions of yuan in fish cages alone.”

Professor Liu Xiang, of the China University of Politics and Law’s (CUPL) Centre for Legal Assistance to Pollution Victims, told chinadialogue that currently the authorities will be going through procedures to identify who is responsible and working to have that party pay compensation. But that does not mean all damages will be made good, and the locals could also seek relief through the courts.

Wang Canfa, professor at CUPL’s School of Civil, Commercial and Economic Law, said that under the Marine Environment Protection Law and the Tort Liability Law the locals could seek compensation through the courts for losses such as fish cages, and for clean-up costs and loss of earnings. However, he added that the legislation does not allow for compensation to be paid for reduced sales due to reputational damage.

Some fish farmers have simply dragged their boats up onto the shore, saying they’re leave once everything is sorted out.
Some fish farmers have simply dragged their boats up onto the shore. They said they’re going to leave once everything is sorted out (Image: Li Changsen)

Environmental organisations are also considering bringing public interest lawsuits, as the company involved had not carried out the proper procedures and the facility had been built before approval was granted. Wang Wenyong, chief legal advisor to the China Biodiversity Conservation and Green Development Foundation, said that it was gathering evidence and may bring a case.

Since the chemical leak, nobody knows what to do with the fish left on their farms.

Ma Yan, associate professor at CUPL’s School of Civil, Commercial and Economic Law, said that marine pollution issues are complex, particularly in China, where the sea is owned by the state, but usage rights transferred to various other parties. Overlapping interests can often lead to conflict over environmental protection and safety.

“Nobody’s going out fishing now, as the fish just aren’t selling. Nobody knows what to do with the fish left in the fish farms,” Zhang said. He is worried for the future: “How long after a pollutant like that gets into the water will the fish be safe to eat?”

The villagers of Xiaocuo are doing everything they can to protect their rights. While waiting for compensation proposals, they have had the village committee ask the company to pay 200 yuan per villager in annual health insurance costs, as compensation for the impact on their health. No agreement has yet been reached.

“We want to be able to continue to make a living, but also stay healthy,” Zhang said. “But it seems difficult.”

 

Some names in this article have been changed.