深海采矿的几大核心问题

今年,一项针对国际水域深海采矿的行为准则即将正式出台。

太平洋中部2500米的海洋深处,一颗海星正在享用美味的珊瑚。图片来源: Hohonu Moana/NOAA

什么是深海采矿? 

所谓“深海采矿”指的是挖掘深海矿产资源的过程。而“深海”则是指海平面200米以下的区域。深海约占地球表面积的65%,拥有丰富的物种多样性。那里的物种都能够适应恶劣的环境,而且其中有许多甚至还不为科学所知。此外,那里还拥有独特多样的地质形态,包括海底山脉、高原、火山群、峡谷、广阔的海底平原,以及马里亚纳海沟。马里亚纳海沟是目前地球上已知的最深的海沟,距离海平面大约11000米。

深海采矿已经开始了吗? 

目前世界各地开展的主要是浅海领域的泥沙、锡矿和钻石开采,而且有些是在一些国家的领海进行的。但是,在公海(即不属于任何国家的国际海域)领域进行深海开采目前还处于探索阶段。

截至目前,共有29个为期15年的深海勘探合同获批,目的是对3种不同的矿产资源的规模和范围进行评估,累计覆盖面积达到130万平方公里。

不过,在“深海开采行为准则”达成一致意见之前还不能对上述区域进行实际开采。在今年的两次重要会议上,相关方将针对这部法规的详细内容展开讨论,预计2020年正式出台。

行为准则由谁决定?

该准则将由国际海底管理局(ISA)审核通过并最终颁布。ISA是一个依照《联合国海洋法公约》(United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea)成立的独立机构,总部位于牙买加金斯顿,目前共有包括欧盟在内的168个国家和地区组织成员。

开采主体有哪些?

深海矿开采主体有很多,包括法人企业、国有企业、(中国、法国、德国、印度、日本、大韩民国和俄罗斯联邦)政府、由保加利亚、古巴、捷克共和国、波兰、俄罗斯联邦和斯洛伐克等国组成的国际海洋金属联合组织(Interoceanmetal Joint Organisation)以及库克群岛、基里巴斯、瑙鲁、新加坡和汤加等小岛屿国家。

开采资源有哪些?在哪里开采?

目前拟定的开采目标包括镍、铜、钴、锰、锌、银和金。目前勘探工作主要集中在3种海洋矿产资源,包括深海多金属结核、多金属硫化物(即深海热泉附近形成的“深海块状硫化物”)和覆盖在海底山上的富钴铁锰结壳。勘探区域主要集中在太平洋、大西洋中部和印度洋海域。

深海多金属结核
多金属结核。图片来源:Nautilus

我们为什么需要这些矿产?

因为许多电子产品和能源存储设备都需要这些资源,比如智能手机、笔记本电脑、太阳能电池板、风力涡轮机和电动汽车等等。目前这些矿产资源的需求日渐增长,但是陆地开采供应的难度却越来越大,利润也越来越低。主张深海开采的人士认为,深海开采能够提供可靠、清洁和合乎伦理的矿产来源。

如何开采? 

使用比蓝鲸还要重的巨型机器对海底地层进行挖掘、疏浚或切割。通过数公里长的管道将这些海底矿藏输送到海面上的船上进行处理,同时废料将被泵回海中,所有流程都在海上完成。

会对海洋产生什么影响?

这些作业过程将给海底、上层水体和所有周边环境造成影响。为了开采结核而进行的海底刮擦会破坏章鱼、海绵动物及其他物种的深海栖息地。大量的动物群落集中在深海热泉附近。这些海洋动物组成了地球上最富活力的生态系统之一,而在热泉喷口采矿可能会扰动沉积物,造成一些动物窒息。而其他一些生活于深海、适应了少光高压环境的物种也有可能受到开采带来的噪音和污染影响。科学家们担心,目前我们对这些生物或生态系统的了解还不够深入,无法建立一个适当的标准对其进行保护或监测矿产开采的影响。

谁会从深海开采中获益?

国际海底管理局(ISA)的法规草案规定,从开采中获得的拟定特许费或其他款项将受到受益分享制度的管理,并在充分考虑到发展中国家需求,特别是最不发达国家和内陆地区国家的利益和需求的前提下在成员国之间进行分配。相关支付制度目前仍在研究之中,几种不同的经济模式都已被纳入考量范围。

何时开始深海开采?

合同方为了获得开采权,必须根据国际海底管理局规定的制度、法规和程序进行环境影响评估,并证明其财力和技术能力。一些行业组织表示已准备好从2023年就进行开采,但大多数观察人士表示,2025年开始的可能性也许更大。

本文为深海开采系列报道的第二篇文章,欢迎点击阅读第一篇文章《深海海底采矿的未来将于年内决定

翻译:Estelle

Deep seabed mining: key questions

This year a code governing the mining of the seabed in international waters is set to be finalised

A sea star 2,500 meters beneath the central Pacific turns its stomach inside out to feed on Victorgorgia coral. (Image: NOAA)

What is deep sea mining?

It’s the process of retrieving mineral deposits from the deep sea – the area of the ocean below 200 metres. This covers around 65% of the Earth’s surface and harbours a rich diversity of species adapted to the harsh environment – many of which are still unknown to science. It also encompasses unique geological features, including mountain ranges, plateaus, volcanic peaks, canyons, vast abyssal plains and the Mariana Trench, which at almost 11,000 metres is the greatest depth registered in the ocean.

Is mining taking place now?

Shallow water mining for sand, tin and diamonds is already happening around the world, and some deep sea mining has taken place within the territorial waters of certain countries. But deep sea mining in international waters that belong to no one nation – known as The Area – is currently at the exploration stage.

To date, 29 contracts to explore for 15 years have been granted to assess the size and extent of three different types of mineral deposits in areas totalling more than 1.3 million square kilometres.

Actual mining cannot begin in The Area until the agreement of the code. This is a detailed set of regulations being debated at two key meetings this year. It’s expected to be adopted in 2020.

Who decides the code?

The International Seabed Authority (ISA), established under the UN Convention on the Law of the Sea, is an independent organisation based in Kingston, Jamaica. There are 167 member states plus the EU.

Who is exploring?

A mix of corporate enterprises, state-owned companies and several governments, including China, France, Germany, India, Japan, South Korea, Russia and the Interoceanmetal Joint Organisation (a consortium of Bulgaria, Cuba, the Czech Republic, Poland, the Russian Federation and Slovakia), as well as small island states such as the Cook Islands, Kiribati, Nauru, Singapore and Tonga.

What are they exploring for and where?

Nickel, copper, cobalt, manganese, zinc, silver, and gold are some of the targets of proposed mining activities. Current exploration is focused on three types of marine mineral deposits: polymetallic nodules found lying on the seafloor; polymetallic sulphides, or “seafloor massive sulphides”, which form around hydrothermal vents; and cobalt-rich ferromanganese crusts that cover seamounts. Exploration zones are mainly in the Pacific, mid-Atlantic and Indian oceans.

Deep sea mining
A polymetallic nodule. (Image: Nautilus Minerals)

Why do we need these minerals?

They’re used in various electronic products and energy storage – from smartphones, laptops, solar panels, wind turbines and electric vehicles. Terrestrial supplies are becoming harder and less profitable to extract while demand for minerals continues to grow. Advocates of deep seabed mining argue that it provides a source of reliable, clean and ethically sourced minerals.

How would they be extracted?

Seabed formations will be scooped, dredged, or severed by gigantic machines weighing more than a blue whale. The deposits would be piped up to a ship through several kilometres of tubing and processed at sea, where waste material would be pumped back into the water.

What possible effects could this have on the ocean?

These processes will affect the seabed, the water column above it, and the surrounding area. The scraping of the ocean floor to extract the nodules could destroy deep sea habitats of octopuses, sponges and other species. Mining of the vents, which harbour massive animal communities at densities that make them one of the most productive ecosystems on Earth, is likely to stir up sediment that could smother some animals. Other species that are uniquely adapted to the lack of sunlight and high pressure of deep water, could be affected by the noise and pollution. Scientists are concerned that not enough is known about these species or ecosystems to establish an adequate baseline from which to protect them or monitor the impact of mining.

Who will profit from deep sea mining?

The ISA’s draft regulations state that money received from the proposed royalties or other financial regimes will be subject to a benefit-sharing regime, and distributed among members states, taking into account the interests and needs of developing states, particularly the least developed and land-locked. The payment regime is still under consideration and several different economic models are being considered.

When would mining start?

Contractors would have to conduct an environmental impact assessment in line with the rules, regulations and procedures set out by the ISA for mining rights to be granted. They will also need to demonstrate financial and technological capacity. Some industry groups say they are ready to begin as early as 2023, but most observers say that 2025 is more likely.

This article is part of our deep-sea mining series. Read more here:

The future of deep seabed mining

Species threatened by deep-sea mining

Can a ‘mining code’ make deep seabed extraction sustainable?

We should explore the deep ocean, not mine it