深海海底采矿的未来将于年内决定

国际海底管理局本周的会议能否找到一条既能开发矿藏,又能保护生物多样性的道路?

Deep seabed mining machines manufactured by Nautilus Minerals (Image: Nautilus Minerals)

鹦鹉螺矿业生产的深海海底采矿机。图片来源:鹦鹉螺矿业

这是地球上最寒冷、最黑暗的地方之一,充满了海洋生物(其中很多还有待发现),还有矿藏丰富的海底。

过去十年,人们对不属于任何国家管辖的深海进行了越来越多的探索。经过多方评估,海底矿藏可以为从电池和喷气发动机到风力发电机和手机的各种商品提供原材料。

一些深海海底采矿活动业已在国家主权海域展开: 2017年日本开始进行海底矿产资源开采,而巴布亚新几内亚备受争议的索尔瓦拉1项目则已经中止。深度超过200米的公海占全球面积的近三分之二,今年各国将围绕如何管理这一“区域”蕴藏的资源展开一场全球性的重要讨论。

由谁来开采以及如何开采的问题,将被正式纳入国际海底管理局(联合国任命的机构,专门负责管理作为“人类共同遗产”的深海海底资源)正在草拟的一份“行为准则”之中。

生活在墨西哥湾深达1,150米的海底的蜷伏龙虾。 (图片来源:NOAA)
生活在墨西哥湾深达1,150米的海底的蜷伏龙虾。 (图片来源:NOAA

有人认为在促进深海海底开发的同时确保这些活动不伤害海洋环境是不可能的,肩负这一艰巨使命的国际海底管理局168个成员必须就一系列关键问题达成一致,包括:如何保护脆弱而独特的海洋生态系统、如何管理这个潜在价值数十上百亿美元的产业、如何公正合理地分配收益,以及可问责性和透明度如何体现等。

时间紧迫。迄今,国际海底管理局已经批准了29个为期15年的勘探合同,涉及3种矿藏,面积覆盖太平洋、印度洋和大西洋的130多万平方公里海域。其中好几份合同将于2021年到期,因此国际海底管理局将在今年2月和7月在牙买加的金斯敦举行两次重要会议,以便在2020年最后期限前完成行为准则的制订。

那些为行为准则提供咨询的人士说,管理机构及其成员有机会在采掘业起步前为其制订规则,这在历史上或许还是首次。但民间团体和科学家们则认为,全世界的海洋已经面临着气候影响和过度捕捞的严重压力,而且此次的准则制定将是建立在缺乏对风险充分认识的情况下开始的。

深海矿物包括多种价值很高的金属,如铜、锌、锰、钴和稀土元素。

多金属(锰)结核是一种凸凹不平、土豆大小的球体,悬浮在极深海底的淤泥里。它们在东太平洋一个名为克拉里昂-克利珀顿的勘探区带被发现。这个区域具有极高的商业价值。据估计,其蕴藏的镍、钴和锰超过已知所有陆地储量的总和。麻省理工学院最近进行的一份成本效益分析发现,开采这些多金属结核有利可图,每年能够带来高达22亿美元的收入。

多金属硫化物是通过热液活动形成的,即地壳中排出的热水与冷水相激,形成含有铁、银和金等金属的热液堆积体。这些喷口看起来就像烟囱,几乎都位于太平洋和大西洋深海陡峭的半活跃火山顶部。

钴结壳在水下火山被发现,大多数在太平洋400-7000米的深海,含有稀土。

互动地图:在哪开采,开采什么
切换开/关

获得上述29份合同的是由各国政府发起的多家私营实体,这些国家包括中国、法国、德国、印度、日本、韩国、俄罗斯和“海洋金属联合组织”(由保加利亚、古巴、捷克共和国、波兰、俄罗斯和斯洛伐克组成的集团),以及库克群岛、基里巴斯、瑙鲁、新加坡和汤加等小岛国。

皮尤慈善信托基金会深海采矿项目正在施压以求达成一项“预防性”行为准则。据该项目负责人科恩·钮金特说,中国作为世界最大的矿物和金属消费国及进口国,是颇具影响力的一方。他说:“这关系到(中国的)国际声望。习近平主席提出了‘三深’战略——深空、深地、深海。我感到中国准备对深海海底采矿投入大量资源。”

行为准则达成后,采矿也不一定会马上开始。根据国际海底管理局的规则草案,合同方必须进行一个环境影响评估并展示其财力和技术能力。比利时企业全球海洋矿产资源股份有限公司已经表示其准备好2023年就开始采矿活动。观察家们预计从2025年到2027年可能会有所动作,但另一些人则质疑“地质学家们的幻想”根本就无法顺利起步。

国际海底管理局秘书长迈克·洛奇说,商业性深海海底采矿要依靠三件事:“一是我们希望在2020年之前定稿的法规;二是近年来投入不断增加的技术开发;三是商业方面,即金属市场价格。”

满足需求

尽管开采这些矿物的尝试已经多次失败,但最近这个阶段的勘探有可能取得成功,这背后是有原因的。鹦鹉螺矿业的首席地质学家约翰·帕里亚诺斯说,最根本的原因是由于人口日益增加而带来的资源需求的增加。“由于工业化的扩大直接减少了世界的贫困,我们如今面对着一个更大的市场。”

尽管预测多种多样,但如果矿产需求以1%的预计年均增长率增加的话,到2050年就会提高60%。对于铜等特定商品来说,需求增加可能高达341%。国际海底管理局说全球铜和镍需求量的15%可以从深海海底获得。

与此同时,陆上金属储量的开采难度增加、利润降低。比如钴几乎都是在刚果民主共和国(刚果(金))开采的,这是世界上最贫困、最暴力、也是最腐败的国家之一。支持深海采矿的人们认为,海底储量远比陆地更为集中,能够提供可靠、清洁且符合伦理的原材料来源,这些材料对于高技术和可再生能源技术至关重要。

然而,一份 2016的供求评估的结论认为即便在最富雄心的情境(到2050年实现100%的可再生能源)下,现有的陆上采矿、金属回收利用技术的提高和其他来源就能满足预期需求。“深海采矿增强了你可以继续空前增长的信心,不过是以不同的方式。”“ 深海采矿运动”(DSMC)组织的安迪·惠特莫尔如是说。DSMC是一个由一些反对采矿的非政府组织,以及太平洋、美国和加拿大当地人组成的联盟。

看不见的毁灭

尽管围绕需求的争论仍然分歧巨大,采矿业在公海恶劣环境下的矿物开采和处理技术取得了巨大进展。4月,一家比利时公司将把世界首台25吨重的机器人拖拉机放到了4500米深的太平洋海底。

基于现有设计,海底矿藏将通过好几公里长的管子被压到海面的船上。结核的采集则是通过一台在洋底滚动的巨大履带车将水注入淤泥以扰动沉积物,再将其吸起并将淤泥向后喷出。硫化物的采集需要一个巨大的机器人在海底滚动前行,并使用机械齿把上层数米厚的沉积物粉碎。这些巨大机械的重量几乎是蓝鲸的两倍,将在海底留下深刻且长久的足迹。

这些作业过程将给海底、其上层水体以及所有周边环境造成影响。为了开采结核而进行的洋底刮擦会破坏章鱼、海绵和其他物种的深海栖息地。大量的动物群落集中在热液喷口附近。这些海洋动物组成了地球上最富活力的生态系统之一,而在喷口采矿会扰动沉积物,造成某些动物窒息。其他已经对缺少阳光和深海高压具有独特适应力的物种也会被采矿产生的噪音和污染所影响。

“深海采矿运动”联合创始人马修·吉安尼说:“这些矿区将要覆盖的面积很大,有1万平方公里。沉积物羽流将达到采矿点之外数十公里。即便羽流只波及几公里,受到影响的区域也将达到实际采矿面积的二至三倍,会导致那里的生态系统退化和物种灭绝。”

他还说,克拉里昂-克利珀顿的勘探区经过三四十年的勘探和扰动后,几乎没有得到任何恢复。“恐怕在人类存续期间是看不到什么恢复了。”

去年, 《海洋科学前沿》杂志上的一篇文章得出结论说,深海环境的脆弱属性、减少伤害的技术有限,对于生态的认知不足,以及恢复的不确定性意味着采矿业“无法实现零生态多样性损失的结果”。

尽管采矿区域看上去只是大片的淤泥和石头,2016年对克拉里昂-克利珀顿勘探区进行的一项调查 发现了多样性惊人的生物。在一个矿区大小的区域采集到的12种动物中,有7种是科学上的新发现。

世界自然保护联盟全球海洋与极地项目负责人卡尔·古斯塔夫说:“我们目前对深海的认识不足以保护那里独特的物种不受采矿活动伤害。批准那些在基本未经勘探且十分脆弱的区域进行勘探的合同也让人警惕。我们需要为海底采矿开发设立一个10年暂停期。”

“深海采矿运动”的吉安尼说:“对采矿采取限制的最重要原因是我们对深海的了解并不充分这一事实。我们在甚至不知道下面有什么的情况下就进行开发,只会毁了那里。”

但帕里亚诺斯认为,深海采矿的环境和社会影响比陆地活动还要小。他说:“如果你觉得需要从某个地方得到金属,那么深海与陆地相比就全是优势了。这里不会有植被破坏,也没有淡水污染。我认为这对环境是有利的,只要我们操作得当。”

一些人认为几十年来管理陆上采矿的法规也未能遏止生态灾难。惠特莫尔说:“即使我们进行深海采矿,你也仍然需要陆上采矿,没有哪个能完全替代另一个。我们深为忧虑的是,即便你制定了法规,企业就会保护环境吗?何况还是在一个大众都无法看到的地方。”

热液喷口
热液喷口。图片来源:Nautilus

国际海底管理局的法规草案将海洋环境保护列为一项“基本原则”,但迄今还没有就如何确保这项保护落到实处达成任何协议。行为准则需要界定出一个可以接受的环境损害程度,为企业进行环境评估制定指导原则,并就监控其落实的制度或机构达成一致。

在众多保护提议中,有一项是在生态重要性地区设立禁采区,即区域环境管理计划(REMP)。禁采区可能占整个“区域”面积的32%。尽管设立禁采区可能对锰结核矿区的生态保护有效,但专家们质疑其对热液喷口区是否同样适用。

洛奇说:“很多人会有一种本能反应,认为采矿是破坏性和危险的(基于人们对陆上采矿的认知)。但更重要的是我们要把深海海底采矿放在一个更大的语境下来思考。它是现有的管理最严格的海洋开发之一,也是全球公域中唯一受到国际体制管理的区域。”

“没有任何国家或实体能对海底进行勘探或开发,除非与国际海底管理局签署合同、得到所有168个成员国的同意。我们已经为深海海底采矿准备了很多年,我们确切地知道如何对其进行管理并确保将环境影响降到最低。深海矿物带来的收益也会带动深海科学经费的大幅增加,从而帮助我们更好地认识海洋环境。”

利益冲突

最终开采获得的任何收益都受到收益分享制度的管理,并在考虑发展中国家需求的前提下分配给所有成员国。这个支付制度仍在考虑之中,国际海底管理局已经与麻省理工学院签约,委托其对多个经济模式进行比较。

吉安尼说:“各国开始认识到,即便让几十甚至更多个采矿项目上马,167个成员国再加上欧盟所分到的特许费也寥寥无几。但它们可以通过充当所谓的发起国获得大笔收益,因为可以直接对采矿企业征税。”

这个利益冲突引发批评。惠特莫尔说:“国际海底管理局在制订规则的同时还通过其制订的规则挣钱,这让人深感忧虑。从透明度和可问责性的角度来看,企业与国家之间的特殊关系造成了不健康的状况。”

吉安尼说:“即便制定了最好的法规,如果其中涉及到的利益大到足以推动这个产业的向前进行,那么结果将是极难向一个想要合同的国家说‘不’。你一旦打开大门,就可能有数十万平方公里的深海面临着采矿开发失控的局面,而到时候国际海底管理局手中没有什么权利能遏制这个产业。”

 

翻译:奇芳

The future of deep seabed mining

Can this week’s meeting of the International Seabed Authority agree a way to develop mining whilst protecting biodiversity?

Deep seabed mining machines manufactured by Nautilus Minerals (Image: Nautilus Minerals)

Deep seabed mining machines manufactured by Nautilus Minerals (Image: Nautilus Minerals)

It’s one of the coldest, darkest places on earth, full of marine life – much of which is yet to be discovered – with a seabed rich in mineral deposits.

In the last decade, the floor of the deep ocean that lies outside the jurisdiction of any one country has been increasingly explored. A number of parties are assessing the size and extent of mineral deposits that could provide raw materials for everything from batteries and jet engines to wind turbines and mobile phones.

Some deep seabed mining has already taken place within countries’ waters: Japan in 2017, and in Papua New Guinea where the controversial Solwara 1 mining project has ground to a halt. But this year will see a critical global debate on how to manage the resources that lie in “the area” – international waters of more than 200 metres deep that cover nearly two-thirds of the earth.

The question of who mines these – and how – is due to be formalised in a “code” being drawn up by the International Seabed Authority (ISA), the UN–appointed body responsible for managing the riches of the deep seabed for the “common heritage of mankind”.


A squat lobster looking out from within a deep sea octocoral, 1,150m beneath the Gulf of Mexico. (Image: NOAA)

Tasked with what some say is an impossible mandate of promoting the development of deep seabed mining while ensuring the practice does not harm the marine environment, the ISA’s 168 members must agree on how these fragile and unique ecosystems will be protected, how the potentially multibillion dollar industry will be regulated, how any profits will be shared equitably, and how it can demonstrate accountability and transparency.

The clock is ticking. So far, the ISA has granted 29 exploration contracts of 15 years for three types of deposits across more than 1.3 million square kilometres of seabed in the Pacific, Indian and Atlantic oceans. Several of these contracts are due to expire in 2021, so the ISA has two key meetings in February and July in Kingston, Jamaica, to finalise the code and meet its deadline of 2020.

Those advising on the code say that for perhaps the first time in history, a governing body and its members have the chance to establish rules for an extractive industry before it begins. But civil society groups and scientists argue that the world’s ocean is already severely stressed from climate impacts and overfishing, and that regulations are being developed without a full understanding of the risks.




 

Deep sea mineral formations contain a number of highly prized metals, including copper, zinc, manganese, cobalt and rare earth elements.

Polymetallic nodules, consisting mainly of manganese, are bumpy, usually potato-sized balls suspended in mud on the floors of the deep abyss. They’re found in an exploration zone of the eastern Pacific known as Clarion-Clipperton. This is the area of greatest commercial interest, estimated to hold more nickel, cobalt and manganese than all known terrestrial deposits combined. A recent MIT cost-benefit analysis found that mining these nodules would be profitable, with annual revenues of up to US$2.2 billion a year.

Polymetallic sulphides are formed through hydrothermal activity when hot water, discharged from the earth’s crust, hits the cold water and deposits a “heap” of minerals including iron, silver and gold. These vents look like smokestacks, and are mostly located on the top of steep, semi-active volcanoes deep in the Pacific and Atlantic.

Cobalt crusts are found on underwater mountains, mostly in the Pacific, at depths of 400 to 7,000 metres, and contain rare earths.

An interactive map showing what is being mined and where
Toggle zones on / off



 

The 29 exploration contracts have been granted to a mix of private entities sponsored by national governments, including China, France, Germany, India, Japan, the Republic of Korea, the Russian Federation and the lnteroceanmetal Joint Organisation (a consortium of Bulgaria, Cuba, the Czech Republic, Poland, the Russian Federation and Slovakia), as well as small island states such as the Cook Islands, Kiribati, Nauru, Singapore and Tonga.

China, the world’s largest consumer and importer of minerals and metals, is a very influential party, with the most contracts, according to Conn Nugent, director of the Pew Charitable Trusts Seabed Mining Project, which is pressing for a “precautionary” mining code. “National prestige is at stake here. Xi [Jinping] has the ‘three deeps’ – deep space, deep earth, deep ocean. And that tells me that they are going to be throwing a lot of resources into this.”

Seabed Mining Sponsoring State Contractor
China China Minmetals Corporation
Cook Islands Cook Islands Investment Corporation
UK and Northern Ireland UK Seabed Resources Ltd.
Singapore Ocean Mineral Singapore Pte Ltd.
Belgium Global Sea Mineral Resources NV
Kiribati Marawa Research and Exploration Ltd.
Tonga Tonga Offshore Mining Limited
Nauru Nauru Ocean Resources Inc.
Germany Federal Institute for Geosciences and Natural Resources of Germany
India Government of India
France Institut français de recherche pour l’exploitation de la mer
Japan Deep Ocean Resources Development Co. Ltd.



 

Once the code is agreed, seabed mining would not necessarily start immediately. Under ISA draft rules, contractors will have to carry out an environmental impact assessment and demonstrate financial and technological capacity. The Belgian firm Global Sea Mineral Resources has said it is ready to start as early as 2023. Observers forecast anything from 2025-27, while others question whether the “geologists’ fantasy” will get off the ground at all.

Michael Lodge, the secretary-general of the ISA, says commercial deep seabed mining depends on three things: “Firstly, the regulations, which we expect to finalise in 2020. Second the technology developments, where we have seen an increase in investment in recent years. Thirdly, the commercial aspect – the market price of metals.”

Meeting demand

While there have been a number of failed attempts to exploit these minerals, there are reasons why the latest phase of exploration could succeed. John Parianos, chief geologist of Nautilus Minerals, says it comes down to demand from a growing, resource-hungry population. “What we are facing today is a much bigger market thanks to more widespread industrialisation which is directly linked to a reduction in world poverty.”

Estimates vary, but if mineral demand were to increase at the predicted 1% annual rate, it would be about 60% higher by 2050. For specific commodities such as copper, there could be up to a 341% increase in demand. The ISA says that up to 15% of global demand for copper and nickel could be met from the deep seabed.

At the same time, land-based deposits of metals have become more difficult and less profitable to extract. Cobalt is mined almost exclusively in the Democratic Republic of Congo, one of the poorest, most violent and corrupt nations in the world. Advocates of deep sea mining argue that it could offer – in far richer concentrations than are found on land – a reliable, clean and ethical source of the raw materials that are critical to high-tech and renewable energy technologies.

However, a 2016 supply and demand review concluded that even under the most ambitious scenario – 100% renewable energy by 2050 – projected demand could be met by existing terrestrial mining, improved metals recycling, and more. “Deep sea mining promotes the belief that you can continue unparalleled growth, but in different ways,” says Andy Whitmore, of the Deep Sea Mining Campaign (DSMC), a coalition of NGOs and local people from the Pacific, Americas and Canada opposed to mining.




Unseen devastation

While the debate over demand continues to divide, the mining industry has made huge advances in the technology needed to extract and process these minerals in the harsh conditions of the high seas. In April, a Belgian firm will lower a world-first 25-tonne robotic tractor 4,500 metres to the Pacific seabed.

Based on existing designs, deposits will be pumped up to a surface ship through a tube several kilometres long. Nodules will be harvested by a giant caterpillar that will roll over the ocean floor, injecting water into the mud to disturb the deposits, sucking them out and ejecting the mud behind. The sulphides will require a huge robotic machine to roll over the seabed and use mechanical teeth to grind up the top few metres. These giant machines, which weigh nearly twice as much as a blue whale, will leave heavy, long-lasting footprints.

These processes will affect the seabed, the water column above it and surrounding areas. The scraping of the ocean floor to extract the nodules could destroy deep sea habitats of octopus, sponges and other species. Mining of the vents, which harbour massive animal communities at densities that make them one of the most productive ecosystems on earth, is likely to stir up sediment that could smother some animals. Other species that are uniquely adapted to the lack of sunlight and high pressure of deep water, could be affected by the noise and pollution.




 

“The areas these mines will cover will be massive: up to 10,000 square kilometres,” says Matthew Gianni, co-founder of the Deep Sea Conservation Coalition. “Sediment plumes could go tens of kilometres off the site itself. Even if they only travelled a few kilometres, there could be an overall impact two to three times the size of the actual mining site itself that would degrade these ecosystems and eliminate species.

He adds that after 30-40 years of exploration and disturbance of the Clarion-Clipperton zone there is very little recovery. “Any recovery will certainly not be seen on human timescales.”

Last year, an article in Frontiers in Marine Science concluded that the vulnerable nature of deep-sea environments, limited technology to minimise harm, significant gaps in ecological knowledge, and uncertainties of recovery meant the mining industry “cannot deliver an outcome where there is no loss of biodiversity”.

While the mining areas look like vast expanses of mud and rock, a 2016 survey of life in the Clarion-Clipperton zone found a surprising diversity of life. Of the 12 animal species collected in an area roughly the size of one mine, seven were new to science.

Carl Gustaf Lundin, the director of International Union for Conservation of Nature’s global marine and polar programme, says: “Our current knowledge of the deep sea is not sufficient to protect the unique species that live there from mining operations. It is alarming to see contracts being granted for these still largely unexplored and vulnerable areas. We need a 10-year moratorium on seabed mining exploitation.”

“Probably the most important constraint on mining is the fact that we don’t know enough about the deep sea. We will be trashing areas before we even know what’s down there,” says Gianni.

But Parianos believes that deep seabed mining can have fewer environmental and social impacts than terrestrial operations. “If you accept that you need to get your metals from somewhere, there are all sorts of benefits with deep sea compared to land. No vegetation is harmed, it’s self-contained, there is no freshwater pollution. I think it’s good for the environment – if we can get it right.”

Some argue that decades of regulation governing terrestrial mining have failed to prevent ecological disaster. “If you have deep-sea mining, you will still have terrestrial mining, one will not simply replace the other,” says Whitmore. “There are deep concerns that even if you have sets of regulations, can companies protect this environment – which is so unseen and away from human eyes?”

Research on hydrothermal vent extraction. (Image: Nautilus)

The draft regulations of the ISA cite protection of the marine environment as a “fundamental principle”, but there has been no agreement so far on how that protection will be ensured. The code needs to define what would constitute an acceptable level of harm to the environment, develop guidelines for the mining companies to conduct environmental assessments and agree on a regime or body to monitor that.

Among the proposals for protection are no-mining zones in ecologically important areas, known as “regional environmental management plans”, or REMPs. These could cover up to 32% of “the area” and while they may work for the fields of manganese nodules, experts question whether they would be of benefit for the hydrothermal vent zones.

“For many people there is an instinctive reaction that mining is destructive and dangerous (based on people’s perception of land-based mining). But it is important to consider the issue of deep seabed mining in a broader context. Deep-sea mining is one of the most tightly regulated uses of the ocean. It is the only part of the global commons that is administered under an international regime,” says Lodge.

“No state or entity can explore or exploit the seabed except under contract to the ISA, agreed to by all 168 members. We have spent many years preparing for deep seabed mining, and we know exactly what to do to regulate it and ensure minimum environmental impact. Interest in deep-sea minerals has also led to a massive increase in funding for deep-sea science, most of which is specifically aimed at better understanding the marine environment.”

Conflict of interest

Any money made from eventual mining will be subject to a benefit-sharing regime and distributed among member states, taking into account the needs of developing nations. The payment regime is still being considered, and the ISA has contracted MIT to compare a number of economic models.

“Countries are starting to realise that even a dozen or more mining operations aren’t going to pay a lot in royalties if it’s divided by the 167 nations plus the EU. But they can make potentially good money by being a so-called sponsor state where they tax the mining company directly,” says Gianni.

This conflict of interest concerns critics. “It’s deeply worrying that the ISA is creating the rules at the same time as making money out of the rules it creates,” says Whitmore. “The tie between the companies and the countries sets up unhealthy situations in terms of transparency and accountability.”

“Even with the best regulations in place, if the economics are sufficiently strong to drive this industry forward, it’s going to be extremely difficult to say no to a country who wants a contract,” says Gianni. “Once you open the door you have the potential to have runaway development for mining of the deep ocean over hundreds of thousands of kilometres and the ISA will have very few tools in its chest to constrain that industry.”

This article is part of our deep-sea mining series. Read more here:

Can a ‘mining code’ make deep seabed extraction sustainable?

Deep seabed mining: key questions

Species threatened by deep-sea mining

We should explore the deep ocean, not mine it