全球变暖或重创中国东海渔业

从1930年到2010年,中国东海的渔获总量下降了8.3%。

Two fisherman arranging white containers full of fish on top of each other while coating them with salt

图片来源: pixinoo

一项新研究发现,海洋变暖导致全球某些鱼类种群数量锐减高达35%,而过度捕捞更是加剧了这个问题。

很多鱼类无法适应全球变暖的速度。据科学家记录,从1930年到2010年,全球可持续渔获总量下降了4.1%。

据估计,受影响最严重的日本海海域渔业损失量达到了34.7%,中国东海渔获总量则下降了8.3%。

海洋温度升高,北海海域的黑线鳕不幸成为气候变化的受害者之一
海洋温度升高,北海海域的黑线鳕不幸成为气候变化的受害者之一。 图片来源:NEFSC / NOAA

该研究报告作者之一、美国罗格斯大学副教授马林·平斯基表示:“全球渔业已经对海洋变暖有所反应,这让我们很震惊,它们不[再]是假设可能在未来发生的变化了。”

“受影响的不仅是当地经济,还有全球贸易,而且整个世界都会受到波及。中国东海、日本海和北海海域尤其令人担心,因为这些地区的渔获降幅实在是太大了。”

他告诉“中外对话”,中国东海地区可以说遭受了全球变暖和过度捕捞的连环打击。过度捕捞造成了鱼类种群规模的缩小,并且改变了鱼类的年龄结构分布。

体型较小、较柔弱、基因相对单一的鱼类更容易受到气候变化的影响。

罗格斯大学和美国国家海洋和大气管理局(NOAA)的科学家们对38个生态区的235个鱼类种群和124个鱼类品种进行了研究。

研究人员利用全球渔业数据和海洋温度图估计了全球可持续渔获量受温度驱动的变化,而可持续渔获量大约占全球报告渔获总量的三分之一。

他们发现,受海洋过热影响最严重的5种鱼分别是(北海与爱尔兰海域)大西洋鳕鱼、沙鳗、鳎目鱼、绿青鳕鱼和黑线鳕鱼。

有小部分鱼种反而能在这种较为温热的海洋环境中“茁壮成长”,比如格林兰岛比目鱼、大西洋鳕鱼(圣劳伦斯湾地区,该地区此前温度较低,不适宜鳕鱼生长)、大西洋鲱鱼、扇贝和红虾都是如此。

黑海鲈鱼是气候变化的受益者之一,随着海洋温度的升高,它们的繁衍能力也在上升
黑海鲈鱼是气候变化的受益者之一,随着海洋温度的升高,它们的繁衍能力也在上升。 图片来源:Orion Weldon

该研究的另外一位作者、罗格斯大学教授奥拉夫·延森警告称:“鱼类种群只能忍受目前这样的变暖幅度。目前受益于海洋变暖的大多数物种的数量很有可能会随着温度的不断上升而开始下降。”

这篇新的研究报告指出,海洋变暖还会改变洋流和海洋层化结构,引发水体含氧量下降,导致鱼群分布和性质发生变化。

这会使得鱼类面临的生理压力越来越大,进而影响人类粮食供应。大多数沿海发展中国家都很担心这个问题,因为这些国家居民膳食的动物蛋白质摄入有一半都来自鱼类。

平斯基表示,海洋变暖造成的生物多样性减少甚至可能引发地区冲突,北欧“鲭鱼战争”就是一个例子。

他指出:“当鲭鱼向北迁徙至冰岛海域后,冰岛与欧盟没能就渔业资源的使用权达成一致,过度捕捞和随之而来的贸易争端甚至导致冰岛放弃加入欧盟。”

这个问题可能产生这样的恶性循环——过度捕捞导致渔业更容易受到海洋变暖的影响,而海洋变暖又会影响鱼类种群的恢复。

该研究负责人克里斯·弗里表示:“我们建议渔业管理人员在决策时,要杜绝过度捕捞,重建渔业环境,积极应对气候变化。政策制定者可以通过建立贸易协定和合作伙伴关系,实现渔业资源充裕和匮乏地区之间的资源共享,从而解决地区间的渔获量差异。”

另外一份来自《科学进展》的报告显示,成功实现《巴黎协定》的1.5摄氏度全球变暖温控目标将会产生极大影响,不仅能保护全球数百万吨的渔获资源,而且能造福75%以上的海洋国家。

该报告第一作者拉希德·苏迈拉表示:“基里巴斯、马尔代夫和印度尼西亚等发展中国家水域将成为这一举措的最大获益者。因为这些地区的食品安全、收入和就业都严重依赖渔业,因此气温升高给他们带来的风险也最大。”

罗格斯大学的研究显示,全球海洋变暖给日本海、北海、伊比利亚半岛沿海地区、黑潮暖流海域和凯尔特-比斯开大陆架海域带来的损失最大。相比之下,拉布拉多-纽芬兰海域、波罗的海、印度洋和美国东北大陆架地区则获益最多。

海洋变暖的下一阶段的研究可能会关注热带地区遭受的影响,关于这个问题的研究目前不多。海洋含氧量和酸度变化等因素也会被纳入考察范围。

 

翻译:Estelle

East China Sea fish stocks hit hard by global warming

The fishery shrunk by an estimated 8.3% between 1930 and 2010

(Image: pixinoo)

Warming oceans have caused a slump of up to 35% in some global fish populations, with over-exploitation of stocks exacerbating the problem, a new study has found.

Many fish species have been unable to adapt to the pace of global warming and scientists recorded an overall 4.1% drop in sustainable catches between 1930 and 2010.

The worst-affected ocean was the Sea of Japan, with a 34.7% reduction in fishery size. The East China Sea saw a drop of 8.3%.

Haddock in the North Sea are among the climate change "losers" as a result of warming ocean temperatures.
Haddock in the North Sea are among the climate change “losers” as a result of warming ocean temperatures. (Image: NEFSC/NOAA)

Malin Pinsky, a co-author of the study and associate professor at Rutgers University, US, said: “We were stunned to find that fisheries around the world have already responded to ocean warming. These aren’t hypothetical changes sometime in the future [anymore].”

“It affects not just local economies but global trade and the ripple effects are felt all around the world. I do worry about the East China Sea, the Sea of Japan and North Sea in particular because the declines there have already been so large.”

The East China Sea was suffering from a classic “one-two punch” of global warming and overfishing, he told chinadialogue, with overfishing reducing population sizes and changing their demographics.

Smaller, weaker and less genetically diverse fish are thought to be more vulnerable to the onset of climate change.

In all, 235 fish populations and 124 species were studied in 38 ecological regions by scientists from Rutgers and the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA).

Using global fisheries data and ocean temperature maps, the researchers estimated temperature-driven changes to the world’s sustainable catch, a bracket that covers about one third of the reported global numbers.

They found that the five fish species worst affected by overheating oceans were: Atlantic cod (in the North Sea and Irish Sea), sand eel, common sole, saithe (also known as pollock) and haddock.

A smaller number of fish species were positively affected by the balmier marine conditions, including Greenland halibut, Atlantic cod (in the Gulf of St Lawrence, where temperatures were previously colder than optimal for cod), Atlantic herring, sea scallop and northern shrimp.

Black sea bass are one of the climate change "winners" that have seen their productivity increase with warming ocean temperatures.
Black sea bass are one of the climate change temporary “winners” that have seen their numbers increase with warming ocean temperatures. (Image: Orion Weldon)

“Fish populations can only tolerate so much warming, though,” cautioned Olaf Jensen, another study author and Rutgers professor. “Many of the species that have benefited from warming so far are likely to start declining as temperatures continue to rise.”

The new paper says that heated seas are driving changes in ocean circulation and stratification, losses in oxygen concentration and shifts in the distribution and nature of fish populations.

This puts fish stocks under increasing physiological stress, with implications for food availability – a growing concern in coastal developing countries where fish account for up to half the dietary animal protein.

Pinsky said that dwindling sea biodiversity caused by warming oceans could even trigger conflicts, such as the northern European “mackerel wars”.

“When mackerel shifted north into Icelandic waters, they couldn’t agree with the EU how to share access to that fishery,” he said. “It led to overfishing and spilled over into a trade war which appeared to spur Iceland to drop its bid to join the EU.”

The problem can create a feedback loop in which overfishing makes fisheries more vulnerable to ocean warming, while warming then hinders the rebuilding of depleted populations.

75%

Limiting global warming to 1.5C would benefit the fisheries of over 75% of maritime countries

Chris Free, a research leader on the study, said: “We recommend that fisheries managers eliminate overfishing, rebuild fisheries and account for climate change in fisheries management decisions. Policymakers can prepare for regional disparities in fish catches by establishing trade agreements and partnerships to share seafood between winning and losing regions.”

Achieving the Paris Agreement goal of limiting global warming to 1.5C could also make a huge difference, protecting millions of tonnes of global fisheries catch, and benefitting over 75% of maritime countries, according to a separate report published in Science Advances.

Its lead author, Rashid Sumaila, said: “The largest gains will occur in developing country waters, such as Kiribati, the Maldives and Indonesia, which are at greatest risks due to warming temperatures and rely the most on fish for food security, incomes and employment.”

The greatest losses recorded in the Rutgers paper were in the Sea of Japan, North Sea, Iberian Coastal, Kuroshio Current and Celtic-Biscay Shelf regions. By contrast, Labrador-Newfoundland, Baltic Sea, Indian Ocean and Northeast US Shelf regions had  the biggest gains.

The next research phase for ocean warming is likely to probe under-explored effects in tropical regions – as well as factors such as ocean oxygen content and acidity.