索马里海域的捕鱼协议引发民众争议

索马里当地人对金枪鱼捕捞协议表示担忧,并质疑当地监测渔获量的能力

Somali fisherman

图片来源:UN Photo / Tobin Jones

当地律师和渔民对索马里政府与中国企业联合体之间签订的金枪鱼捕捞协议表示担忧。

他们认为该协议监管难度大,并可能导致过度捕捞。然而,他们的担忧似乎主要源于国家层面缺乏透明度和有效沟通,以及混淆了对不同捕捞作业性质的认知。

索马里渔业部长阿布迪拉希·毕德汗于2018年12月签署了该合同,中国公司获准在非洲东北部索马里领海内24海里的范围内开展捕捞作业。为此,中国公司将支付100万美元。

“我们向FOCA [中国渔业联合公司]签发了31份海上金枪鱼捕捞许可证。整个过程非常透明。任何申请金枪鱼捕捞许可证的人都必须经过船只检查这个必要程序,”毕德汗说。

据索马里渔业部网站称,该协议允许31艘中国延绳钓渔船在一年内进行两次“金枪鱼和类金枪鱼种”捕捞作业,协议期满后将根据独立第三方作出的资源量年度评估情况决定是否续约。

虽然国际社会对此事有了充分了解,但据索马里议会渔业和自然资源小组委员会成员穆罕默德·努尔哈桑表示,政府不愿公布合同的全部条款。穆罕默德是索马里南部下谢贝利地区渔业社区的代表。

“此次交易肯定会影响当地靠捕鱼为生的渔民,”这位议员表示。 “大批船只涌入非洲海域,捕捞丰富的海产品进行贸易,将会导致非洲几大国家鱼类资源的退化。

然而,国际专家强调,金枪鱼捕捞作业位于深海海域,超出了当地许多小规模捕捞船队的作业范围。该协议明确规定采用延绳钓的方式,而不是那种造成其他地区过度捕捞的破坏性极强的拖网捕捞方法。

哈桑说,他担心此类合同对环境造成的影响。 “我们担心这会导致过度捕捞,使鱼类种群遭到破坏,以及中国公司获准捕捞的金枪鱼的供应情况。从长远来看,这笔交易并不会使索马里人受益,” 哈桑补充道。

然而,大部分深海金枪鱼都是经由索马里海域进入了国际水域之后被捕捞的,而根据该协议,这种情况下索马里也能获得收益(而这个协议之外,这种情况下索马里不能获益)。延绳钓渔船在2000米深的海域中将鱼饵挂在延绳上的钓钩上,虽然延绳不与海床接触,但会缠绕和误捕上其他物种。但是总体而言,这种方式对海洋生态系统的影响要小于拖网捕捞。

Tuna caught by a Chinese long-liner (Image: Stam Lee)
中国船只捕捞金枪鱼。图片来源: Stam Lee

在索马里首都摩加迪沙的利多沿岸,当地捕鱼社区虽然会担心他们自己的渔获量会减少,但由于他们通常不会冒险去海岸线24英里外的海域捕捞其他不同的鱼类。因此,这笔交易不太可能对他们带来实质性的影响。

总部位于摩加迪沙的环境活动家和律师阿卜迪拉赫曼·奥马尔·哈桑表示,缺乏生态保护措施,政府监管不力,政策落实不到位都给渔业部门的监管带来了难度。他表示担心这会让那些导致很多非洲国家和地区过度捕捞的国家有机可乘。

“拖网渔船会让西非丧失工作岗位。成千上万的渔民在他们的家乡无事可做。如果这些渔船现在来到索马里,将会毁掉当地渔民的生活,破坏我们的海域,”他说。然而,尽管西非地区仍遭受着过度捕捞的困扰,这里的捕捞区域很大得多,此区域中又涉及到很多不同国家,因此监管难度也更大。

哈桑·穆罕默德·罗布尔是摩加迪沙一个叫做Iskaashato的渔民组织的负责人。这个组织由200多名当地渔民组成。他认为索马里政府签署该合同过于匆忙。

“目前时机还不成熟。我们首先需要制定一些法律法规来保护当地渔民,“罗布尔说。 “合同上虽然只涉及到金枪鱼,但实际上我们担心这些渔船会把所有鱼类一网打尽,什么也不会留给我们。

人们认为,索马里现有的捕鱼法案尽管明令禁止拖网捕鱼,但力度较为薄弱。然而,政府和社区之间的协商情况并不理想,各州之间存在很大的分歧。

混淆不同作业方式

在索马里海域作业所使用的捕捞设备是当地渔民的一大关切。他们认为中国船只将使用破坏性的拖网捕捞方式,但实际上所有获准作业的船只都是延绳钓渔船。这些渔船将受到监控,以确保他们依照约定的方式作业。

“当地渔民用的是小网,如果意外捕捞上来其他海洋生物,他们会将其放归海中,”摩加迪沙船主、渔民穆罕默德·谢赫·艾哈迈德解释说。 “这些国外的拖网渔船甚至连捕到的海龟都不放过,会拿去在黑市上卖掉。”

但毕德汗部长表示,政府将在中国船只上部署自己的人员,以确保中国公司遵守合同条款,包括防止其捕获其他海洋资源。

部长说,“每艘渔船上都将配备两名政府人员。”

索马里北部独立地区索马里兰的官员拒绝承认中国与位于摩加迪沙的索马里政府达成的捕鱼协议,称该协议不包括索马里兰的水域。

“索马里兰海军定期在我们的海岸巡逻。他们将捍卫我们的领土完整,使其不受任何非法渔船的威胁,”索马里兰畜牧和渔业部长哈桑·阿里·格法蒂表示。

 

翻译:于柏慧

Questions raised over Chinese deal to fish in Somali waters

Local people are concerned about the tuna agreement and the authorities’ ability to monitor the catch

(Image: UN Photo / Tobin Jones)

Local lawyers and fishermen have raised concerns over a tuna fishing deal between the Somali government and a consortium of Chinese companies.

They say it will be difficult to regulate and could lead to overfishing, but their concerns appear to be driven largely by a lack of transparency and communication nationally, and confusion over the nature of the fishing practices.

The Somali minister of fisheries, Abdillahi Bidhan, signed a deal in December 2018, in which Chinese companies paid a total of US$1 million to fish 24 nautical miles from shore within Somali waters off north-east Africa.

$135 million


The contribution of Somalia’s fishery sector to the economy

“We have conducted the signing of 31 offshore tuna licenses to FOCA [the consortium] in a transparent manner. Anyone applying for a tuna licence must go through the requisite process upon which we will inspect their vessels,” Bidhan said.

According to the ministry of fisheries website, the deal allows 31 Chinese long-line vessels to fish for “tuna and tuna-like species” twice a year for one year, and will be renewed depending on an independent annual stock assessment.

Although the international community was fully informed, the government was reluctant to declare the full terms of the contract, according to Mohamud Nur Hasan, a member of parliament’s sub-committee on fisheries and natural resources, who also represents fisheries communities in the Lower Shabelle region in the southern part of the country.

“The deal will certainly impact our local fishermen who depend on fishing for their livelihood,” the lawmaker said. “Chinese vessels have poured into African waters to get nice seafood for trade, degrading fish stocks.”

However international experts emphasised that tuna fishing takes place in the deep sea that is outside the range of many small-scale, local fishing fleets. The deal is explicitly for longline fishing, not the more destructive trawling method that has come to be associated with overfishing in other regions.

Hasan said he was worried about the environmental impact of such contracts. “We worry [about] overfishing, destruction of fish species and availability of the tuna which the Chinese were granted to catch. In the long term this deal is not benefiting Somalis,” Hasan added.

However much of these deepwater tuna would travel through Somalian waters to be caught in international waters, whereas under this deal the country gets a revenue not otherwise available. Long lining vessels use hooks baited onto a long line in waters of 2,000m deep and do not come into contact with the ocean floor, and while there can be entanglement and bycatch of other species, it has less of an impact on the marine ecosystem than trawling.

Local fishing communities operating from Mogadishu’s Liido beach were worried about their catch, but as they do not typically venture beyond 24 miles of the coast and target different fish species, it is unlikely that the deal would materially affect them.

Abdirahman Omar Hassan, a Mogadishu-based environmental activist and lawyer, says lack of ecological protection and the government’s weak or ineffective policies make it difficult to manage the fishing sector. He said he was concerned that this would provide an opportunity for some countries that are believed to overfish in many African countries and elsewhere.

Tuna caught by a Chinese long-liner
Tuna caught by a Chinese long-liner (Image: Stam Lee)

“Overfishing by Chinese trawlers has cost thousands of jobs in West Africa. Thousands of fishers were left idle in their home towns. Now if they come to Somalia, they will ruin the local fishers and destroy our waters,” he said. While West Africa continues to suffer from overfishing, their fishing area is much greater, made up of many different countries, and therefore harder to regulate.

Hassan Mohamed Roble, head of Iskaashato, the Mogadishu fishing umbrella of more than 200 local fishers, says the Somali government hastily signed the contract.

“It is not the right time. We needed some laws and regulations to protect the local fishers first,” Roble said. “The contract is about tuna but we are afraid the Chinese will catch everything and leave us nothing.”

Existing fishing laws in Somalia are thought to be weak, but they do ban trawling. However consultation is not good between government and communities and there are strong disagreements between states.

Confusion over practices

A major concern raised by local fishermen is the type of fishing equipment that will be used in Somali waters. They believe that the Chinese vessels will be using a destructive trawling practice, but in reality all the licenced vessels are long liners that will be monitored to ensure they stick to the agreed fishing activity.

“Local fishermen use small nets and if sea creatures are accidentally trapped in their nets, they discard them back to the ocean,” Mohamed Sheikh Ahmed, a boat owner and fisher in Mogadishu said. “These foreign trawlers catch even sea turtles which they later sell on the black market.”

But minister Bidhan said the government will deploy its own personnel onboard the Chinese vessels to ensure the companies adhere to the terms of the contract, which includes not exploiting other sea resources.

“There will be two government personnel onboard every vessel of the Chinese fleet,” the minister said.

Officials in Somaliland, an independent region in northern Somalia, have rejected the Chinese fishing deal with the government in Mogadishu, saying that it does not cover their waters.

“The Somaliland navy is regularly patrolling our coast, and will defend its territorial integrity from Chinese or any other illegal fishers,” the Somaliland minister for livestock and fisheries, Hassan Ali Gafadhi, said.