肯尼亚呼吁加强对市场鱼产品的监管

市场发现了被汞污染的鱼类,加强了西非国家健全食品安全机制的诉求。

图片来源:Rodger Bosch

内罗毕大学的一个实验室发现,在肯尼亚销售的中国鱼类产品中含有威胁人类健康的微量重金属。据当地媒体报道,2018年从内罗毕Gikomba市场一批发商处购买的鱼样品中发现了少量铅、汞、砷和铜等元素。

调查结果引发了公众对进口到非洲国家的鱼类产品质量的担忧。随着进口量的增长,本国的渔业逐渐被边缘化。

该调查报告由当地媒体组织国家传媒集团委托编写。报告将发现重金属痕迹的原因归咎于鱼塘水质污染。尽管此次鱼类样品中所含的重金属水平在世界卫生组织(WHO)规定的可允许范围之内,但研究结果仍然引起了人们对水产养殖安全性更为广泛的关注,养殖公司声称水产养殖是一种代替野生捕鱼的可持续方式

中国已成为包括肯尼亚、加纳和坦桑尼亚在内的许多非洲国家的主要鱼产品出口国。调查结果发布后,肯尼亚政府面临很大压力,要求采取措施保护鱼产品供应链的安全,因为鱼类是该地区主要的蛋白质摄入来源。

贸易量持续攀升

事实上,中国是世界上主要的冷冻鱼出口国。 2017年,中国出口占该市场份额的11.6%(价值27亿美元),美国(9.5%)和俄罗斯(8.7%)紧随其后。中国与非洲之间的鱼类贸易与其他种类商品一样,在过去十年中迅速增长。

2017年,肯尼亚进口鱼产品价值1200万美元,高于2016年的1000万美元。鱼类的营养价值逐渐被人们所知,加之人口增长和食品储存技术的改进,鱼产品的消费量在肯尼亚一直持续增长。

而事实证明,肯尼亚国内生产无法满足这一需求。肯尼亚国家标准局估计,该国每年需要进口鱼类80万吨。

据肯尼亚海洋和渔业研究所高级研究员麦基冼德·奥索尔称,渔业投资水平低,当地渔民使用的技术也近乎过时是造成国内产需缺口的原因。

从中国进口的鱼通常比当地产的鱼价格便宜,因此成为了餐馆、摊铺和家庭的热门之选。

非洲各国也在引进中国的技术和专业知识。政府官员、渔业专家和研究人员在中国接受培训,以促进知识转让,特别是水产养殖技术的转移。

据世界渔业组织(WorldFish)赞比亚代表斯隆斯·奇马蒂罗称,当地人热衷于向中国学习,中国已成为一个高效的产鱼大国。WorldFish是一家致力于通过利用渔业力量减轻贫困的国际非营利组织。

需建立强有力的行业标准

对于食品安全问题的担忧突出表明,非洲各国政府需要严把进口鱼的质量标准,确保建立强有力的检查机制,严格执行卫生标准。专家称,必须从包括渔民,到出口商、运输商、进口商、分销商和零售商在内的价值链各个环节从发,严格落实标准。

那么目前已有的标准有哪些?非洲国家必须确保鱼和鱼类产品符合食品法典委员会标准,这是由联合国粮食及农业组织(FAO)和世卫组织共同创立的,适用于所有食品贸易的国际卫生和安全规范。

它旨在指导各国制定本国的法律,规范行业,保障公民的安全。

“食品法典规定了某些鱼类中甲基汞[在肯尼亚鱼类中发现的就是这种物质]的最高含量,这意味着甲基汞含量超过一定水平的鱼类不应进入食物链中,” 奇马蒂罗解释说。

政府须采取措施

“法律、法规和标准的执行由国家主管部门,包括渔业部门来完成,”加纳阿克拉市粮农组织非洲食品和安全官员布莱斯·瓦塔拉表示。

他还补充说道,目前,政府必须要求贸易商持有原产地证书,详细注明渔船、捕鱼区、捕获时间和储存期限等信息。

瓦塔拉认为食品法典的标准还远远不够。

“原则上,无论(金属和化合物的)含量是多少,都不安全。由于许多化合物会在体内生物积累,孕妇和哺乳期妇女和儿童可能更容易受到某些重金属的伤害,“瓦塔拉说。

肯尼亚标准局在肯尼亚海洋和渔业研究所的支持下,负责鱼类质量的检查工作。但是,“并非所有非洲国家都有能力检测进口鱼类。那些有能力检测的却似乎不愿去做”,瓦塔拉说。 

食物链中的毒素

世界卫生组织的官员金·彼得森说,与从河流、湖泊和海洋中捕获的鱼类相比,养殖鱼类的污染物含量通常较低,但更容易接触到人类和动物用药,比如抗生素等。国际食品法典委员会的莎拉· 卡希尔表示,某些形式的污染,例如甲基汞等重金属污染,主要发生在海上。

“野生鱼通常生长速度较慢,寿命较长。此外,野生鱼食用天然饲料,而养殖鱼的饲料则是经过人为控制和调节的,因此野生鱼比养殖鱼更易受到高浓度环境污染物的影响,”他说。

然而,在拥挤的围网中饲养的鱼类,更容易感染疾病,因此,需要使用抗生素来预防疾病和寄生虫,并加速其生长。

彼得森说:“在养殖鱼的生产环节中使用药物会最终导致鱼产品中出现抗生素残留。”

鱼的处理和储存方式是决定其是否受到污染的主要因素。

据法典委员会官员萨拉·卡希尔称,无论鱼类来源如何,捕获后都应遵循合理的流程以防止加工和分销过程中受到污染,这一点至关重要。

非正规的跨境鱼类贸易也使监管变得更加困难。

奇马蒂罗说:“有时商人们借由边境的漏洞偷偷将鱼贩卖入境,不仅是为了避免检查,主要是为了逃税。”

 

翻译:于柏慧

Kenyans call for tighter controls on Chinese fish products

Sales of mercury-tainted fish strengthen demands for better food safety in East Africa

(Image: Rodger Bosch)

Fish from China sold in Kenya have been discovered to contain traces of heavy metals that threaten human health, a laboratory at the University of Nairobi found. Samples of fish bought from a wholesale trader at Nairobi’s Gikomba market in 2018 contained tiny amounts of lead, mercury, arsenic and copper, reported local media.

The findings have stoked public fears over the quality of fish imported from China, and elsewhere, into African countries as volumes rise, displacing the domestic maritime sector.

The report was commissioned by local media organisation Nation Media Group. It blamed the traces of heavy metals on polluted ponds used to farm the fish. Although the levels were within permissible limits according to the World Health Organisation (WHO), the findings have nonetheless raised wider concerns over the safety of aquaculture, which farming companies claim is a sustainable alternative to wild-caught fish.

China has become a leading exporter of fish to many African countries, including Kenya, Ghana and Tanzania. In the wake of the findings, Kenya’s government is under pressure to take action to safeguard fish supply chains, which provide the region with its main source of protein.

Rising trade

China is in fact the world’s leading exporter of frozen fish. In 2017, Chinese exports represented 11.6% of the market (or US$2.7 billion), followed by the US with 9.5% and Russia  with 8.7%. The trade in fish between China and Africa has increased rapidly in the past ten years compared to other goods.

Kenya imported fish valued at US$12 million in 2017, up from US$10 million in 2016. Consumption has been increasing due to growing recognition of its nutritional value, population increase and food storage improvements.

Domestic production has proven unable to meet demand though. The Kenya National Bureau of Standards estimates the country requires imports of 800,000 tons a year.

This gap between production and demand is due to low investment in fisheries and near-obsolete technology used by local fishermen, according to Melchzedeck Osore, a senior researcher at the Kenya Marine and Fisheries Research Institute.

Fish from China is often cheaper than local fish, making it a popular choice for restaurants, food kiosks and homes.

African countries are also importing Chinese technology and know-how. Government officials, fisheries experts and researchers have undergone training sessions in China to facilitate knowledge transfer, specifically in aquaculture.

Locals are keen to learn from China, which has become an efficient producer of fish, according to Sloans Chimatiro, the Zambian representative of WorldFish, an international non-profit that works to alleviate poverty by harnessing the power of fisheries.

Stronger standards needed

The food safety fears highlight the need for African governments to take charge of fish import standards to ensure a robust inspection regime and the strict enforcement of hygiene standards in their countries. Standards must be enforced along the value chain from fishermen to exporters, transporters, importers, distributors and retailers, say experts.

So what standards are currently in place? African countries are required to ensure fish and fish products meet the Codex Alimentarius Commission standards, an international code for hygiene and safety applied to all traded food, and created jointly by the UN Food and Agricultural Organization (FAO) and the WHO.

It is intended to guide countries in crafting national legislation to regulate industry for the safety of citizens.

“The Codex has established maximum levels for methylmercury [found in the Kenyan fish] in certain fish species, which means that above certain levels, such fish for which maximum levels have been established should not enter the food chain,” Chimatiro explained. 

Governments must step up

“The enforcement of laws, regulations and standards is done by the national competent authorities, including ministries of fisheries,” said Blaise Ouattara, food and safety officer at FAO Africa in Accra, Ghana.

Currently, authorities must demand traders hold a certificate of origin with details on the fishing vessel, fishing area, time of capture and duration of storage, he added.

Ouatarra believes the Codex standard does not go far enough.

“In principle, no levels (of metals and compounds) are safe. Since many compounds may accumulate in the body, pregnant and breastfeeding women and children could be extra vulnerable to certain heavy metals,” Ouatarra said.

In Kenya, the Bureau of Standards, with support from the Marine and Fisheries Research Institute, is responsible for inspecting fish. However, according to Outarra “not all African countries are in a position to test imported fish. Those who can, seem reluctant.”

Toxins in the food chain

Farmed fish have generally lower levels of pollutants than fish caught in rivers, lakes and the ocean, but are more exposed to human and veterinary drugs, such as antibiotics, according to WHO official Kim Peterson. Certain forms of pollution, for example heavy metals such as methylmercury, occur mainly at sea, explained Sarah Cahill of the Codex commission.

Peterson said, “Wild fish normally grow slower, live longer and are exposed to higher concentrations of environmental contaminants through their natural feed than farmed fish, whose feed is controlled and regulated.”

However, farmed fish, which are reared in crowded pens where disease spreads more easily, are exposed to antibiotics to make them grow faster and keep diseases and pests at bay.

“The use of drugs in the production of farmed fish can cause residues of antibiotics in the final product,” said Peterson.

How fish are handled and stored is a major determinant of whether contamination occurs or not.

Irrespective of the source, it is critical to follow good practices after harvest to prevent contamination during processing and distribution, according to Cahill.

Informal cross-border fish trade is also making regulation more difficult.

“Sometimes fish is sneaked in by traders through porous borders, not only to avoid inspection but mainly to avoid paying taxes,” said Chimatiro.