新发布的非法渔业捕捞指数带给中国什么启示?

评分显示,中国在控制非法、未报告和无管制捕捞方面任重道远。

illegal fishing, china, IUU fishing

图片来源:U.S. Coast Guard

非法、未报告和无管制(IUU)捕捞的全球指数于今年2月份发布,它对各国的风险程度及响应程度进行评分。满分为5分,而中国的总分为3.93,在全球152个沿海国家中得分最低。

这项评分很关键。中国从很多方面说都是世界上最重要的渔业国家,拥有数千艘渔船和运鱼船。这些船的作业范围不仅限于中国专属经济区(EEZ),还辐射到中国海域之外的其他地区,各主要的海域都有它们的身影。中国还是全球三大海产品市场之一,同时既是世界最大的海产品出口国,也是第三大海产品进口国

IUU捕捞每年造成价值数十亿美元的渔获损失。它损害了科学研究及渔业管理活动,对鱼类种群造成了巨大的环境影响。它是阻碍政府和区域渔业管理组织(RFMO)实现渔业可持续发展的核心问题之一。联合国可持续发展目标将消除IUU捕捞单独列为一项一致商定的国际目标。

虽然不能将问题全都归咎于IUU捕捞(无效的渔业管理制度和不良的补贴政策也影响了渔业的可持续发展),但它的确是全球社会必须处理和解决的关键问题之一,这样才可以大幅提高渔业管理效果。

IUU指数:对比的基础

IUU捕捞指数波塞冬水产资源管理公司“打击跨国有组织犯罪全球倡议”组织共同开发。前者是一家渔业和水产养殖咨询公司,后者为自然资源开发方面有组织犯罪的日内瓦非政府专家网络组织。

该指数为衡量所有沿海国家IUU捕捞风险情况及响应程度提供了一种手段。得分低表明发生IUU捕捞的风险水平很高,而得分高则表明此类风险水平低。但是,这些分数并未提供一个得出相应IUU捕捞水平的“度量标准”。

该指数由40个指标组成,分别适用于全球152个沿海国家。大多数指标都是基于公开的信息,而一些信息是通过简短的调查问卷收集到的回复。根据每个指标与IUU捕捞的相关程度,赋予它们高、中、低三个等级的权重。

各指标依据国家“责任”分为四类:沿海国、船旗国、港口国和总体责任。

每个指标还被划分成以下三种“类型”:脆弱性 – 与可能发生IUU捕捞的风险有关;发生率- 与已有/疑似IUU事件相关;响应 – 涉及IUU捕捞的处理行为。脆弱性和发生率评估的是实际或潜在的风险情况,而响应程度则评估了各国在解决IUU捕捞问题时的行动力。

得分由1分(好/强)到 5分(差/弱),依据各国的职责和指标类型进行打分,从而清晰地指明了重大挑战所在。

该打分可以对各国进行排名,并分别评估他们IUU问题的发生风险和响应程度。如果持续对所有国家/地区进行打分,那么该指数可作为世界各地区和海域的IUU风险及响应程度对比的基础。

这样就可以确定IUU捕捞风险的高发区,从而确定需要加强打击IUU捕捞工作的国家和地区。

中国作为船旗国面临较大的监管挑战。

这些评分还有助于确定需要立即采取行动的薄弱环节,从而打击IUU捕捞活动,尤其是沿海国、船旗国、港口国或总体责任国在国家责任和最佳实践方面存在的薄弱之处。但是,这些指标所包含的用来对各国进行评判的因素总是有限的,仅解决该指数范围内的薄弱环节则过于局限。从这个意义上说,该指数只是一个工具,利用其可以确定国家和区域层面上表现较好和较差的广泛领域,并指出那些可以从采取的行动中受益的国家、地区及责任。

中国的得分与排名

该指数显示,作为船旗国和港口国,中国面临着最严峻的挑战。它在沿海国家和总体责任国中的排名相对较好(分别排第13和第4名)。

作为船旗国,中国是152个国家中IUU捕捞活动脆弱性最强、发生率最高的国家,其响应也排在倒数第二。总分为4.7,这是中国得分最低的一项。这表明中国作为船旗国所面临的监管压力最大。

作为远洋捕捞国,中国有着庞大的全球船队,其捕鱼船只遍及世界各个角落,使其极易受到这些船只违法行为的影响。从IUU列表中的船只数量、渔业观察员和MCS(监测、控制和监督)从业人员的观点以及在国际媒体中出现负面新闻的数量来看,中国船只仍被视为全球IUU捕捞活动的推动者。

在对IUU的响应方面,中国在积极主动地与国际社会合作以履行其职责,以及在遵守RFMO船旗国义务和国际管制框架方面还存在差距,不论这些框架是有约束力的、自发的、还是建议的最佳实践。

中国作为港口国的得分为4.67。相关的薄弱之处在于不仅有大量的渔港需要监督,还要对停靠的大量外国渔船进行专门的检查。中国港口发生IUU捕捞相关交易的几率被认为非常高。之所以给人留下这种印象,部分原因是因为作为港口国,中国主动采取的应对措施十分有限。中国不是2009年《港口国措施协定》(PSMA)的缔约国,尚未开辟限制外国渔船进入的港口,其遵守RFMO港口国义务方面的力度也较薄弱。

应该注意的是,在计算总分时,该指数没有将脆弱性和响应进行任何形式的整合。如果将中国作为船旗国和港口国的响应得分与其在相同责任范围内的脆弱性得分交叉关联起来的话(从总体风险量化角度来看具有合理性),那么中国的整体得分更不容乐观。

在考虑总体风险类型,即所有责任的总和时,中国在IUU捕捞的脆弱性和发生率上是152个国家中最高的。虽然中国的总体脆弱性得分与“紧随其后”两个国家(日本4.28;俄罗斯4.22)之间差距相对较小,但总体发生率(4.19)与第二名(中国台湾3.56)和第三名(越南3.11)之间的差距巨大,凸显了中国所面临的巨大而独特的IUU捕捞活动风险。就整体响应得分(3.37)而言,中国排名第22位,有21个国家的表现弱于中国,而且与表现最差的国家(新加坡4.29)之间存在相当大的差距。

整体分析得出的结论是,中国发生IUU捕捞活动的风险在全球范围内是最高的。

采取措施的必要性和可行性

一般而言,降低IUU捕捞活动可以采取的行动非常有限。一些因素是无法缩小的,如中国专属经济区的面积大小等。而另外一些因素,如灰色区域的解决方案,或渔港的数量,则有可能作为中长期规划的目标,但通常需要很长时间才能取得成效。

然而,该指数清楚地表明,中国可以而且应该在一些明确的领域采取行动,通过大力提升其处理这些风险过程中的薄弱、不足之处,来降低IUU捕捞风险。

在国际舞台上,作为船旗国,中国对悬挂其国旗的渔船,包括在区域渔业管理组织的管辖下,以及在国际法律条款规范下,其负有责任的船只,有着切身的关系、责任和义务采取坚决果断的行动,确保这些渔船的运营符合适用的规范和规则。

鉴于中国不断增长的消费市场和对海产品的需求,制定和实施有效的港口国措施,以及用经济手段解决IUU捕捞和IUU产品贸易问题的重要性会在未来几年中快速凸显。

 

 

翻译:于柏慧

China bottom of illegal fishing index

Fisheries expert who helped compile the index explains China's poor scores

An IUU vessel is detained in the north Pacific (Image: US Coast Guard)

An index launched in February this year scores countries according to their degree of exposure to and quality of response towards illegal, unreported and unregulated (IUU) fishing. China received the worst score out of 152 coastal states assessed worldwide.

This is a key finding, given that China is in many respects the most important fishing nation on the planet, conferring its flag to a vast fleet of thousands of fishing vessels and fish carriers, operating not just within the Chinese exclusive economic zone (EEZ) but across all major ocean basins. China is also one of the three most important global seafood markets, ranking as the top seafood exporter and third-largest importer.

IUU fishing robs economies and societies of catches worth billions of dollars each year. It has huge environmental impacts on fish stocks through impairing scientific research and fisheries management efforts. It helps prevent governments and regional fisheries management organisations from achieving sustainable fisheries. The elimination of IUU fishing is an internationally agreed target under the UN’s Sustainable Development Goals.

Although IUU fishing is not the only phenomenon to blame – ineffective fisheries management and “bad” subsidies also play their part – it is a key issue for the global community to solve if fisheries are to be substantially improved.

A basis for comparison

The new index was developed by Poseidon Aquatic Resource Management, a fishery and aquaculture consulting firm, and the Global Initiative Against Transnational Organized Crime, a Geneva-based NGO network of experts focusing on crime in human rights, democracy, governance and natural resource exploitation.

The index provides a measure of the degree to which all coastal states are exposed to IUU fishing, and how they respond. While the scores indicate the risk of IUU fishing they do not provide a metric for establishing actual levels.

The index consists of 40 indicators, based mostly on published information, but also on a short survey. Individual indicators are weighted as low, medium or high, depending on the strength of their apparent link to IUU fishing.

Each indicator falls into four groups of “responsibilities” – coastal, flag, port and general – and one of the three “types” – vulnerability, prevalence and response to IUU fishing.

Countries are given a score out of five across their responsibilities and types (one being the best, and five the worst). The index provides a new basis for comparing nations.

Scores serve to identify weaknesses where immediate action to combat IUU fishing is required. However, points of poor performance need also to be addressed outside of the index, as its indicators only embody a limited range of factors.

The index is a tool that can be used to identify broad areas of better and poorer performance at national and regional levels, and shine a light on those countries, regions and responsibilities where action would be most beneficial.

China’s scores and ranks

The index reveals that China faces its most formidable challenges as a flag and a port state, where it ranks as the worst performer globally. Its ranks in the coastal state and general group of responsibilities are marginally better (13th and fourth respectively).

As a flag state, China ranks as the most vulnerable to IUU fishing, the most prevalent in terms of incidents, and the second poorest for response. With a score of 4.7, this is China’s most significant result. It indicates that in its capacity as a flag state, China is faltering.

Its vast and global fleet of fishing vessels makes it particularly prone to infringements in far-flung corners of the world. Chinese vessels continue to be seen as a driver of IUU fishing globally, based on the number of them on IUU lists, the views held by fisheries observers, MCS (monitoring, control and surveillance) practitioners, and the number of negative news items appearing in the international press.

In terms of response, China falls short on proactively engaging with the international community to meet its responsibilities. It also has a poor track record of complying with the flag state obligations of regional fisheries management organisations. Instead of emerging as an international leader, China is seen by many as a rogue flag state exploiting global fisheries without regard for international frameworks – regardless of whether these be binding, voluntary or suggested best practice.

As a port state, China obtains its second poorest score (4.67). Vulnerabilities relate to the vast number of fishing ports requiring oversight, and the large number of foreign fishing vessels making port calls – also requiring dedicated monitoring. The prevalence of IUU fishing-related transactions taking place in Chinese ports is deemed to be very high, a perception partly driven by China’s limited proactive response. China is not a party to the 2009 Port States Measures Agreement, has not designated ports to which the entry of foreign fishing vessels is limited, and its compliance with the port state obligations of regional fisheries management organisations is also weak.

Vulnerability and response scores are not combined in the overall index score. If China’s weak response as a flag and port state had been cross-linked with its high vulnerability scores in the same domains of responsibility – a reasonable approach from a total risk-quantification perspective – its overall score would have been even worse.

When looking at risk types overall ­– all responsibilities combined – China scores worst on both vulnerability to and prevalence of IUU fishing. While the gap on overall vulnerability between China and the two “runners-up” (Japan 4.28 and Russia 4.22) is relatively small, the gaps for overall prevalence (4.19) to the second-ranked (Taiwan 3.56) and third-ranked (Vietnam 3.11) are immense – underscoring the enormous and rather unique risks of IUU fishing that confront China. In terms of the overall response score (3.37), China is ranked 22nd, and with a rather wide gap separating it from the worst performer (Singapore 4.29).

The overall analysis yields a picture in which the exposure of China to IUU fishing (vulnerability and prevalence) are of the highest order globally, while its response to address these risks – overall – is largely underwhelming.

Should and could take action

There is a limit to the action that can be undertaken to mitigate vulnerability to IUU fishing. Some factors, like the size of China’s exclusive economic zone, cannot be effectively mitigated. Others, like the resolution of grey areas, or the number of fishing ports generally take a long time to effectively address.

However, the index clearly shows that China could and should take action to vigorously upgrade its weak and insufficient approach, in some clearly identified areas, to reduce both vulnerability and prevalence of IUU fishing risk.

On the international stage, China – as a flag state – has an immediate stake, responsibility and duty to act firmly and with resolve to fishing vessels flying its flag, including under the auspices of regional fisheries management organisations, and more generally under the provisions of international law, ensuring that their operations comply with applicable norms and rules.

Given China’s growing consumer market and demand for seafood, the need for developing and implementing effective port state measures, as well as market-based tools and measures to address IUU fishing and trade in IUU products, is likely to rapidly grow in importance in the years to come.