《1986》播客: 中国与全球鱼类现状

可持续发展亚洲新播客系列《1986》的第一集探讨渔业过度捕捞的问题。

图片来源: Irenadragan

1986年,中国通过了《渔业法》,允许渔船私有化,大规模的船队得以扩张。 如今,中国的渔船数量占全球总量的四分之一,大多数渔船在中国沿海捕鱼,过度捕捞问题日益严峻。 海洋及其所拥有的资源是全人类共享的。中国在全球渔业政策及管理中占据着怎样的地位?如何应对过度捕捞的问题?

嘉宾:

玛格特·斯泰尔斯,Oceana
伊冯·萨多维博士,香港大学
约翰·弥米卡基斯,环境保护基金会
订阅收听《1986》系列播客:ITUNES | SOUNDCLOUD | SPOTIFY

欢迎您在微信,微博,特推,脸书上分享和评论我们的播客节目,更多信息请访问可持续发展亚洲

欢迎收听《1986》全集

第二集《中国的过度捕捞史》
第三集《中国庞大的水产养殖业》
第四集《中国沿海海域的海洋牧场》

录音文本

龙美诗: 大家好,我是龙美诗。欢迎收听“可持续亚洲”系列播客。

《1986》由“可持续亚洲”和“中外对话”联合出品,本系列节目由四個部分组成,讨论中国、海洋和鱼类相关问题。

上一季播客节目中,我们探讨了阻止中国等亚洲国家的塑料污染进入海洋的各种方法。现在让我们把镜头转向另一个与海洋有关的问题:过度捕捞。中国是世界上最大的海产品进出口国,但情况并非一向如此。

1986年中国通过了《渔业法》,允许渔船私有化。自此,中国的海洋渔业完成了从木船到机械化拖网渔船,从集体所有制到商业捕捞的转变。改革的效果非常显著,以至于中国现在不得不面对过度捕捞这一近乎灾难的局面。

旁边1我认为过度捕捞是指不停地、毫无节制地捕鱼。

龙美诗: 这大概就是过去30年间中国的情况。

旁边2:责任在于渔民和过度捕捞。海里的鱼都被渔民抓了,无法继续繁殖了。

旁边3:过度捕捞是指鱼类生态系统受到干扰,导致种群数量急剧下降的现象。

龙美诗: 就人均而言,我们香港是全球最大的海鲜消费者之一。香港这座富庶的岛屿上满是热爱各种海鲜的人们。令人鼓舞的是,我采访过的年轻人都了解过度捕捞的问题……但我不确定大家是否知道该如何应对。

玛格特·斯泰尔斯所以解决过度捕捞的方案起初似乎很简单。简单来说,你得计算鱼群的数量,估计一年内的繁殖量,然后确保捕鱼的速度等于或略低于鱼类繁殖的速度。 

龙美诗:玛格特·斯泰尔斯是国际组织Oceana的战略主管,该组织致力于拯救海洋和确保海洋能持续为世界提供充足的食物。这是项艰巨的任务,但可以分解为这么几个部分:Oceana努力提高渔业生产力,保护鱼类幼苗的生境,以及减少过度捕捞。听起来是不是很有挑战性?确实如此…

玛格特:然后下一步是算出并确定捕捞限额。比如说,规定我们每年就捕捞100条鱼,而不是200条之类的。等政府确定鱼类总量、决定捕捞限额之后,然后就是要求相关各方一起落实了,这可能是最难的部分。所以这些几乎都是发生在国家层面上的。

龙美诗:好的,过度捕捞似乎是一个国家层面的、各国自己的问题…但海洋是人类共有的…

玛格特:因为鱼会游到世界各地,这就是真正的挑战所在。我认为很多东西都是全球共享的,但沒有像海鲜产品这样全球贸易量这么大的食物。

香港西贡的海鲜市场
香港西贡的海鲜市场。图片来源:ronniechua

龙美诗: 对全球海洋中的过度捕捞问题进行管理实际上是一个相对较新的现象,是伴随着捕捞技术变得先进、效率高得惊人开始的…

伊冯·萨多维:我是伊冯·萨多维,在香港大学生物系工作——已经有25年了。

龙美诗:萨多维博士早年曾在加勒比海和波多黎各工作,后来定居香港。我们大多数人都是最近才开始真正关注人类对海洋的影响——因为社交媒体上出现被搁浅的鲸鱼和被缠住的海马图片,但萨多维博士的整个职业生涯都在研究海洋问题。我到她的办公室采访了她,试图了解各国对海洋使用的管理。

伊冯在我看來,工业化捕鱼从第二次世界大战之后就真正开始了。我认为随着捕捞量的增加,各国开始认识到有必要通过某种方式来界定我们对海洋的利用,或許还有就是我们在保护或者管理海洋的过程中有哪些义务。所以联合国花了很多年的时间,经历了很多讨论,最后在几十年前批准了《海洋法》,為了在全球范围内实施这项法律,需要许多国家的同意。这项法律現在已经得到国际性的认可。它允许各国将其海岸线以外200海里的海域划为专属管轄区。这一规定引发了很多争论。世界上肯定有相距不足400海里的两个沿海国家,但法律就规定了200海里。这项法律有两个关键组成部分,一个是每个沿海国家都有权开发专属经济区内的资源,但同时他们也要承诺,像外界期望的那样对这些海域的资源进行可持续管理。所以,虽然开发是一种权利,但人们也期待这些资源能够得到妥善的管理。

龙美诗:中国在1973到1982年参与了联合国召开的海洋法公约的谈判,这推动了1986年中国首部《渔业法》的出台,但中国直到1996年才在批准了《海洋法公约》。

伊冯所以,我们要如何管理专属经济区内的资源呢?是有法规的,每个国家都有自己的法律法规,但联合国粮食及农业组织也在1995年,也就是海洋法生效后不久制定了一些指导原则。这些原则很全面,是一套关于如何开展海洋鱼类养殖––例如如何管理海洋资源的指导方针。这些指导方针可以因地制宜,根据不同国家的情况进行调整。所以我们有了现在这些指导方针和国际法规,是有助于塑造我们可以如何管理沿海海洋资源以及其应采取的方法。

龙美诗:据估计,外海捕捞的所有鱼获中有85%到90%实际上来自各国的专属经济区。所以那些拖网渔船在公海上捕获大量鱼类的精彩视频,本来可以很容易地在专属经济区内拍到,而且本可以是符合各国渔业法规的…

那么,问题来了,那些进出专属经济区的洄游鱼类怎么算?

玛格特:区别在于鱼类活动的距离,有的鱼喜欢呆在自己的地盘,基本上都有自己栖息的礁石,就比如,这是我的礁石,是我家,我就不到别的地方去了。所以这些鱼是定居的,和生活在它们附近、控制它们是否被过度捕捞的人类是一样的。但还有金枪鱼,它的活动范围基本上是整個世界。所以,可以捕捞多少,谁来捕捞,这就是许多国家需要达成一致的事情。

龙美诗:再次有请玛格特·斯泰尔斯……

玛格特:我认为过度捕捞是个全球性的问题。如果你把全球各国的渔业都考虑进来,很多国家的鱼类资源相比过去都少了很多。但等你尝试解决这个问题的时候,它很快就成了一个区域问题,而不是特定国家的问题。

龙美诗:随着南海捕鱼权争夺战的升级,中国也意识到了这一点。在专属经济区相交的地方,过度捕捞的困境加剧了各国争夺捕鱼权的政治紧张局势。中国和越南最近共同审议了《中越渔业协定》。该协定规定了两国将如何保护、管理、利用和开发南海专属经济重叠海域的自然资源。

但随着大型商业拖网渔船开始远离海岸线和专属经济区,去寻找更多鱼类……情况又会是怎么样呢?

玛格特:很多国家,特别是中国、西班牙、日本和韩国,都拥有庞大的国际船队。但这些船队的管理可能是最差的,它们都游弋在偏远的海域。事实上国际渔业的管理真的算不上好。大洋中心的所有空间基本上是不属于任何国家的,对所有人都免费,你也知道人类在这种监管环境下的表现向来不好。

象山开渔节的庆典活动。
象山开渔节的庆典活动。图片来源:石毅

龙美诗:联合国粮食及农业组织已经制定了指导方针,但对于如何管理外海及其资源仍未达成正式协议。我们现在谈的是捕捞——外海管理还包括要如何分享外海海底和矿藏?还有南极?这显然是后续值得关注的问题了……

针对洄游鱼类,也有一些国际协议规定了各国对鲨鱼、剑鱼以及各种金枪鱼等鱼类的捕捞权。那么…亚洲的情况怎么样?

伊冯所以如果只看亚洲地区,或者我不得不说如果我们只谈东南亚、中国的东海、南亚是一片非常大的区域,从渔业角度来看,该地区的生产力极高。我认为这里的生产力可以排在全球第4或第5位。所以这片区域非常非常的重要…作为食物和生计来源,这里非常重要。

龙美诗:让我们再来听听伊冯·萨多维是怎么说的…

伊冯在过去的二三十年里,这片区域和渔业状况都发生了一些重大变化,造成这些变化的原因是捕捞量的大幅增加。换句话说就是船更多了,马力更大了,渔民更多了,渔具也更高效了等等。这些确实提高了捕捞强度,提升了捕鱼能力……而且根据预测,如果不采取任何措施,我们将损失50%到60%的粮食以及渔业带来的所有相关收入和收益,这对该地区的国家而言是非常非常严重的损失。所以如果我们不想失去这些好处,那确实需要采取一些行动来进行渔业管理,以某种方式改进该地区的渔业。

约翰·弥米卡基斯:我是环境保护基金会的海洋保育人士,我叫约翰·弥米卡基斯,我负责亚洲海洋可持续发展促进方面的工作。

龙美诗:约翰现居新加坡,正在帮助重塑整个亚洲的渔业政策,他也是中国渔业政策的顾问专家。

约翰:中国领导人已经意识到过度捕捞是个问题…知道这个问题会损害国家的经济利益。这就是为什么上一个五年规划,也就是“十三五”规划要求推动多个自然资源领域,包括海洋资源领域的改革。现在中国的高层领导人正在推动改进渔业的可持续管理。在我看来最有趣的是他们也在试图采用其他国家的一些最佳实践措施,并试着根据中国的情况加以调整。 

龙美诗:所以中国不仅正在和南海各国一起思考如何应对过度捕捞的问题,还在研究1986年出台的渔业法,研究如何打破传统沿海渔场经历着的过度捕捞循环。

下期节目中,我们将回顾中国从汉代到今天的捕鱼历史,中国人把自己文明的摇篮称为“鱼米之乡”不无道理——回溯中华民族2000多年的历史,鱼和中国人的文化与生活是深深交织在一起。敬请期待《1986》第二集。

特别鸣谢我们的赞助商——太古集团慈善信托基金。太古集团慈善信托基金通过支持注册非营利组织,尤其是香港和中国大陆的非营利组织,推动教育、海洋和艺术领域的积极变化。

1986系列播客节目由“可持续亚洲”和“中外对话”联合制作。本季节目由本人龙美诗创作并编写脚本,由香港艾雅录音室录制并混音,助理制片人为林丽婷。特别鸣谢奥斯卡·李、约翰·弥米卡基斯、贝山姆、吉尔·巴克斯特和张春。感谢卡森·朗和金赛·朗为节目提供的美术设计。引言和结语部分音乐所使用的乐器均由亚历山大·莫贝森利用回收废弃物改造制作而成。更多关于他的音乐的信息,请见kalelover.net。

非常感谢我们的旁白安娜巴特·马尔顿斯、金赛·朗、伊森·陈和安德鲁·萨克雷。

欢迎订阅可持续亚洲播客节目,并为我们的节目评分。

Podcast: China and the global state of fish

Episode one of 1986, a new podcast series by Sustainable Asia, explores the politics of overfishing.

(Image: Irenadragan)

In 1986, China passed its Fisheries Law, privatising fishing vessels and unleashing a massive expansion in the fleet. Today one in four fishing vessels in the world is Chinese. Most are fishing off China’s coast, leading to a significant problem with overfishing. But the ocean, and the resources it holds, is shared by everyone. What is China’s place in the global network of policies regulating the world’s fisheries? And what is the country trying to do to break the cycle of overfishing?



Guests:
Margot Stiles, Oceana
Dr Yvonne Sadovy, The University of Hong Kong
John Mimikakis, Environmental Defense Fund

Find the series on ITUNES | SOUNDCLOUD | SPOTIFY

Find out more on Sustainable Asia.

All episodes:

Episode Two
Episode Three
Episode Four

 

Transcript:

Marcy Trent Long: Hi! My name is Marcy Trent Long. Welcome to Sustainable Asia.

1986 is made in collaboration with chinadialogue. It’s a four-part podcast series about China, oceans and fish.

In our last two podcast seasons, we looked at different ways to stem the tide of plastic pollution going into our oceans from China and Asian countries. Now, we’re turning our lens to another ocean-related problem: overfishing. China is the largest exporter and importer of seafood products in the world. But it wasn’t always that way.

In 1986, China passed a Fisheries Law that privatised fishing vessels and moved China from a country of wooden boat fishing communes into the modern world of mechanised, commercial fishing trawlers. The reforms were so effective that it created a nearly catastrophic state of overfishing that China is now coming to terms with.

Vox Pop 1: I think overfishing is you keep hunting the fish and do not have a limit.

Marcy: That’s pretty much what happened in China over the last 30 years.

Vox Pop 2: It’s that the fishermen are overfishing and they catch all the fish in the sea and they cannot continue their reproduction.

Vox Pop 3: Overfishing is the phenomenon where the ecosystem of the fishes is disturbed, which reduces their populations dramatically.

Marcy: Here in Hong Kong, we’re one of the biggest consumers of seafood per capita in the world. Wealthy island and full of people that love all seafood imaginable. It’s encouraging that young people who I interviewed understand the problem of overfishing. But I’m not sure if any of us know what to do about it.

Margot Stiles: So the solution to overfishing initially seems quite simple. Basically, you have to count up the fish and estimate how many babies they have in a year and then make sure that you’re taking out fish at the same rate that they’re being produced, or a little bit less.

Marcy: Margot Stiles is chief of strategy at Oceana, an international organisation that works to save the oceans and feed the world. That’s a big task. But it gets broken down this way: Oceana works to make fisheries more productive, help protect the habitat for fish nurseries and reduce overfishing. Sounds challenging? It is.

Margot: Then the next step is to figure out and decide on a limit – a catch limit. So every year we’re going to catch 100 fish and not 200, or something like that. So after the government has figured out how many fish there are and decided how many to catch, then implementing it with all the different people that are participating; that can be kind of the hardest part. So almost all of that happens at a national level.

Marcy: OK, overfishing seems to be a national, country by country problem. But the ocean is shared by all of us.

Margot: Because fish swim all over the world, that’s where it gets really challenging. So I think there aren’t that many things that are shared globally, and there is certainly no other food that is traded globally, as much as seafood.

Fish, lobsters, crabs and other seafood are crammed into fish tanks t in Sai Kung, Hong Kong
Fish, lobsters, crabs and other seafood crammed into Sai Kung market in Hong Kong (Image: ronniechua)

Marcy: Managing overfishing in the global oceans is actually a relatively recent phenomenon that started as fishing technology became more advanced and frighteningly efficient.

Yvonne Sadovy: My name is Yvonne Sadovy and I’ve been working at the University of Hong Kong in the Biology Department – I’ve been here for 25 years.

Marcy: Dr Sadovy initially worked in the Caribbean and Puerto Rico, then found her home in Hong Kong. While most of us have really only thought about our impact on the ocean recently – with social media pictures of beached whales and Q-tip-laced seahorses – Dr Sadovy has spent her career researching marine issues. I tracked her down in her office to understand how different countries govern the use of the ocean.

Yvonne: We really started to industrialise fishing after the Second World War, I would say.

And as that fishing increased, I think countries began to recognise the need to have some way of defining how we use the ocean, and maybe what our obligations were towards the ocean, to protecting it, or to manage it, for example. So the United Nations developed over many years – it took a lot of debate – something called the Law of the Sea, which was ratified several decades ago – ratified being a lot of different countries had to agree to it to put it into place internationally. And that is now recognised internationally. And what that does is, it allows each country that has a coast jurisdiction out to 200 nautical miles. Lot of debate about that if you’ve got countries closer than 400 nautical miles of course, but the law is out to 200 nautical miles. And amongst many other things, there are two key components to this law. One is that each of those coastal countries has the right to exploit those resources out to their exclusive economic zone limit, the 200 mile zone, but they also have a commitment and an expectation that they will manage those resources sustainably. So it’s a right of access, but it’s also an expectation that you will look after those resources.

Marcy: China took part in the negotiations for the UN Law of the Sea Treaty from 1973-1982, which led to China’s first Fisheries Law in 1986. But China didn’t actually ratify the treaty until 1996.

Yvonne: So how do we manage resources inside the economic zone? There are regulations – each country will have its own regulations, its own legislation, its own laws… But there are some guiding principles, which have been developed by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations, and they were developed in 1995, so shortly after the Law of the Sea came into effect. And they’re very comprehensive. It’s a set of guidelines for how to conduct mariculture, or fish farming for example, how to manage your resources… And these guidelines can be adapted by different countries to fit their local circumstances. So we have now these guidelines and these international regulations, which really help to shape the way in which we can and should be managing these marine coastal resources.

Marcy: According to estimates, 85-90% of all fish that are caught in the open ocean are actually caught in the EEZ, the Exclusive Economic Zones of individual countries. So those great videos of trawlers out on the high seas catching massive volumes of fish? Those could easily have been taken from within the EEZs and been complying with local fishery laws.

So here’s a question: what happens to migratory fish that swim in and out of the EEZs?

Margot: What distinguishes them is how far the fish swim. So some fish like to stay at home and they basically have their rock, and they’re like, this is my rock and this is my home and I don’t go anywhere. So really, those kinds of fish, the people that live right near them are controlling whether they’re overfished or not. But then you have tuna, which basically will travel all over the planet. And so a tuna fish, that’s something that many countries have to agree on how many tuna and who’s going to get the tuna.

Marcy: Margot Stiles again.

Margot: I think there is a global overfishing problem, which is when you add up all the fisheries and all the different countries, many of them have a lot fewer fish than they had in the past. But then when you try and solve that problem, it quickly becomes more of a regional problem, not a country-specific problem.

Marcy: And China is discovering this as the battle for fishing rights in the South China Sea escalates. The overfishing dilemma inflames political tensions over who has fishing rights where the 200 [mile] EEZs intersect. China and Vietnam recently gathered to review the Vietnam-China Fisheries Cooperation Agreement, which defines how each country will protect, manage, use and exploit the natural resources of this overlapping EEZ in the South China Sea. But as large commercial fishing trawlers start to move away from their coastlines and EEZs in search of more fish, what happens?

Margot: Many countries, particularly China and Spain, Japan, Korea, have large international fleets. But those fleets are probably the most poorly regulated, because they are roving around in remote areas. And there’s not actually really good international governance on fisheries. All that space out in the middle of the ocean is basically neutral, it’s kind of a free for all. And human beings don’t tend to do well in that kind of regulatory environment.

Fishing season in Xiangshan starts with a celebration.
Fishing season starts with a celebration in Xiangshan, Zheijiang province (Image: Shi Yi)

Marcy: The UN Food and Agriculture Organization has created guidelines, but there’s still no formal agreement to managing the open ocean and its resources. And we are talking about fishing in this episode. But what about sharing the seabeds and mining in the open ocean? Antarctica? Clearly a subject for later seasons.

For migratory fish species, there are some international agreements that allocate each country’s rights to fish species like sharks, swordfish and all kinds of tuna. So what happens in Asia?

Yvonne: So if we just focus on the Asian region, and I guess I would have to say maybe we’re talking about Southeast Asia, the East China Sea, South Asia… So it’s a very large area. And this area is very productive from a fishery perspective. I think it’s sort of either the fourth or fifth most productive region in the world. So it’s very, very important. It’s incredibly important as a food source and a source of livelihood.

Marcy: Yvonne Sadovy again.

Yvonne: I would say that over the last two to three decades, there have been some big changes in the region and the condition of the fishery. And those changes have occurred because of a big increase in fishing. In other words, a lot more boats, a lot more horsepower, a lot more fishermen… fishing gears have become a lot more efficient, etc. So that has really intensified the fishing activity and increased the ability to remove fish. And the projection is that if nothing is done, we’re going to lose 50-60% of the food, of the livelihoods, all the income and benefits associated with these fisheries, which is very, very serious for the countries in the region. So there is a real need to do something – to do fishery management, to do fishery improvement in some kind of way – in the region, if we’re not to lose those benefits.

Marcy: There’s a movement to make fishing practices in the South China Sea more transparent. I earlier mentioned the Vietnam-China Fisheries Cooperation Agreement. Now the Philippines, China and Vietnam are also considering signing a common fishing agreement on the disputed Scarborough Shoal in the South China Sea. So that’s progress on clarifying limits and rules for fishing in the open sea. But more work needs to be done.

John Mimikakis: I’m an ocean conservationist at the Environmental Defense Fund. My name’s John Mimikakis and I lead our effort to make oceans sustainable in Asia.

Marcy: John now lives in Singapore and is helping reshape fishery policies throughout Asia. He’s become an expert advisor to China on fishery policies.

John: China’s leaders recognise that overfishing is a problem. They know that it’s undermining the country’s economic interests. And that’s why the last five year plan, the 13th Five Year Plan, calls for reforms in many of China’s natural resources, including its marine natural resources. Top leaders today in China are pushing for a number of improvements in managing fisheries sustainably. I think in my opinion, most interestingly, they’re also experimenting in trying to apply some of the best practices that other countries have developed in adapting those practices in the Chinese context. 

Marcy: So China is not only working through overfishing issues with their neighbours in the South China Sea, they are also looking at the 1986 Fisheries Law and how to break the cycle of overfishing that it has unleashed in their traditional coastal fishing grounds. But as we discussed in the previous season of Eight Million, China often has solid environmental policies at the national government level, but implementing those policies all the way down through 23 provinces, over 1,300 counties and 1.4 billion people can be complicated.

In the next episode, we will look at the history of fishing in China from the Han Dynasty to present day. There is a reason why Chinese refer to the cradle of their civilisation as the home of fish and rice – fish is interwoven with the culture and livelihood of a people that count their origins back over 2,000 years. Next, on episode two of 1986.

Special thanks to our sponsors, the Swire Group Charitable Trust – creating positive change in education, marine and arts through supporting registered non-profit organisations, primarily in Hong Kong and mainland China.

1986 is produced by Sustainable Asia in collaboration with chinadialogue. The season was created and written by me, Marcy Trent Long. The assistant producer was Li-Ting Lin. Special thanks to Oscar Lee, John Mimikakis, Sam Bekemans, Jill Baxter and Zhang Chun. Carson and Kinsey Long created the 1986 graphic. And the intro and outro music is made from repurposed and recovered waste items by Alexander Mauboussin. Learn more about his music at kalelover.net.

Let’s not forget a warm thank you to our voice-overs: Kinsey Long, Annabat Martens, Ethan Chen and Andrew Suckley.

If you like what you hear, subscribe to the Sustainable Asia podcast. And please give us a rating.

ITUNES | SOUNDCLOUD | SPOTIFY