联合国海洋特使:“我们有办法让人类存活下去”

现在保护海洋还来得及,联合国特使彼得·汤姆森说道。

A fisherwoman dries fish in Xiliandao Village of Lianyungang City in east China's Jiangsu Province, Nov. 10, 2018.

江苏连云港的渔民在晒鱼干。图片来源: Wang Jianmin/Xinhua/Alamy Live News

联合国海洋问题特使彼得·汤姆森是个身负使命的人,这个使命就是拯救海洋这一全球最大的生态系统。这是一项艰巨的任务:30年来,海洋的所有健康指标都在稳步下降——大多数情况下甚至是急剧下降。例如汤姆森也承认,1974年全球90%的渔场都处于可持续捕捞的状态,但到2013年,这一比例已降至略高于68%。

联合国海洋问题特使彼得·汤姆森
图片来源:SIWI

与此同时,人为污染的负面影响也有所增加,加剧了对生态系统的破坏。全球海洋吸收了过去30年间人类活动产生的大量热量。随着碳排放量急剧攀升,海洋也吸收了大量二氧化碳,打破了海水的酸碱平衡,而海水的酸化让贝壳类海洋生物的生存变得更加困难。海水变暖和酸化对水下生命的影响是灾难性的。发展和污染让许多国家的沿海生态系统遭到严重破坏,而这些生态系统是很多海洋生命的繁衍生息的地方。塑料污染如今无处不在,甚至在海洋最深处也能发现它们的身影。

彼得·汤姆森与联合国早有合作:2016-17年间曾担任第71届联合国大会主席,此前任斐济常驻联合国代表,现在作为联合国海洋问题特使,他自然要强调联合国可持续发展目标,尤其是目标14(保护和可持续利用海洋和海洋资源以促进可持续发展)的重要性,这也是他工作的基础。

全球海洋危机

汤姆森解释说,他的工作主要是推动实现可持续发展目标14,力求在目前海洋保护水平较低的背景下,找出海洋气候影响、酸化、富营养化和过度捕捞等这些日益严峻的问题的解决方案。

全球趋势并不乐观。目标14要求全球在2020年之前强化沿海生态系统,并在2025年之前减少废弃物和营养物污染。但根据联合国数据,土壤中营养物质过剩造成的污染和富营养化正导致沿海水域持续恶化。最典型的就是土壤化肥渗出导致海洋中植物生长过密,海洋动物因缺氧而无法存活。联合国评估的大型海洋生态系统中,16%的生态系统处于沿海富营养化的“高”或“最高”风险类别,其中包括大部分中国沿海水域

过度捕捞的情况同样令人担忧。现在的目标是在2020年之前终止非法、无管制和未报告的捕捞活动(IUU捕捞),同时取消有害的渔业补贴,并通过科学的管理规划有效监管捕捞活动。汤姆森指出,目前海洋保护区仅覆盖了国家管辖范围内13.2%的海洋环境(距海岸200海里以内),而国家管辖范围之外,仅0.25%的海洋环境得到了保护,占全球海洋总面积的5.3%。渔业补贴,特别是燃料补贴仍然存在,而这正是中国远洋船队能够在全球海域作业的根源所在。

可持续发展是有可能的

汤姆森承认仍有许多工作要做,但也坚持认为这方面的努力必须继续,可持续发展目标的框架至关重要。“我相信气候变化和海洋变化,气候行动和海洋行动是21世纪的重大任务。”他告诉“中外对话”海洋。“海洋是地球生命的起源,而它正处于危险中。”

“可持续发展目标的意义是什么?人类要想以公平的方式在地球上重现昨日的辉煌,有两条路,追根溯源就是2015年达成的两项协议:《巴黎协定》和可持续发展目标。这两项协议来之不易,而且也不像通常认为的那样,是由官僚、政客或者业界制定的。它是各国及联合国194个成员国经过多年谈判,最终在巴黎和纽约达成的共识。把二者结合起来,就是我们人类在地球上生存下去的秘诀。”

“这两项协议必须结合在一起实施,”汤姆森继续道,“否则我们说话就没有底气。我相信,也是最早相信的人中的一员,只要这两项协议得到了忠实的执行,我们就有自信的理由。”

但可持续发展目标的存在究竟如何促成改变呢?

“可持续发展目标是由具体目标组成的,”汤姆森解释说,“目标14下面有10个具体目标,主要是激励国际社会实现这些目标。我们对自己问责——就像期末考试一样。”

“就目标14而言,10个具体目标中有4个要在2020年完成。说实话,我们目前在冲刺。这4个都是可以实现的,但最困难的是其中的第4条,即结束IUU捕捞和过度捕捞:这是一项非常艰巨的任务。另一个是到2020年海洋保护区的面积至少达到全球海洋面积的10%。现在我们已经达到了7.4%,所有我对这个目标相当有信心。改善沿海和生态系统管理方面也开展了大量工作。第4个目标是结束有害的渔业补贴:世贸组织有责任取消这些补贴,我们正为此努力——燃料、造船补贴和产能过剩。他们给我们设定目标,我们必须坚持达成。”

为了确保这4项2020年目标的实现,联合国正计划在明年举行一次海洋会议,强行对进展情况进行审查。

The green algae covers beach in Qingdao, east China's Shandong Province.
山东青岛的工人们清理富营养化的海滩藻类。图片来源: Alamy

未来的重大挑战

“我们现在走上正规了吗?如果没有,我们要怎么办?”汤姆森说。“这些目标不是纸上谈兵,也不是随意制定的,它们是可以实现的,我们如果不去做,那就真的危险了,可持续发展是不可能的了。”

他说,IUU捕捞和过度捕捞仍是最大的挑战。

“33%的鱼类种群遭到过度捕捞,”汤姆森说,“看到这个数据我很震惊。如果我们继续现在的做法,它们就会灭绝。在短期内结束这种状况对渔业社区而言是一个巨大的挑战,但我们必须让他们明白,不能杀鸡取卵。”

“但要说我们会终止IUU捕捞,就像说我们会消灭犯罪一样,总会有人在背地里偷偷做坏事。全球每年有价值30亿美元的非法渔获出现在餐桌上,消费者和供应链没法拒绝。”

汤姆森说,有一些非常有效的治理措施,包括粮食和农业组织的10年前通过的《港口国措施协定》(PSMA),其目的是杜绝非法渔获通过港口进入市场。“如果我们能够在2020年之前让所有国家都加入PSMA,我认为这将是巨大的成功。它是我们打击IUU捕捞活动最好的武器,但大多数政府还没签署这项协定。我的主要工作是让各国政府了解其法律要求,帮助他们在2020年之前加入。”

汤姆森除了试图说服中国等大国加入协定,还认识到一些可能感兴趣的小国需要不同类型的支持。

“我正在鼓励慈善机构和非政府组织与有意加入、且需要资金来安排检查员在码头上工作的小国合作。对于一个小岛屿国家来说,为新设立的职位发放工资是一件大事。所以我就想,为什么不合作呢?资助和培训当地人来从事这一工作,很快就能在接下来的几年里看到成果。PSMA是终止IUU捕捞的关键部分。”

汤姆森说,可追溯是打击IUU捕捞的另一个关键因素。“这是第4次工业革命,我们应该能追踪到所有鱼的来源。这应该是短期可以实现的,确保消费者去市场不会买到非法捕捞的鱼。”

目前,汤姆森正在为明年启动联合国“海洋科学促进可持续发展十年”计划做准备,该计划旨在加强科学研究和技术创新,支持各国实现海洋的可持续发展。

我们从这项计划中收获的知识至关重要,汤姆森说。“现在人类只了解不到5%的海洋,我们希望在2030年之前彻底了解它,以便做出正确的决策。”

 

翻译:金艳

UN oceans envoy: ‘We have a recipe for humanity’s survival’

There is still time to protect the ocean, says Peter Thomson ahead of World Oceans Day

A fisherwoman dries fish in Xiliandao Village of Lianyungang City in east China's Jiangsu Province, Nov. 10, 2018.

A fisher drying her catch in Jiangsu province (Image: Alamy)

Peter Thomson, the United Nations special envoy for the ocean, is a man with a mission: to save the global ocean, the world’s largest ecosystem. It is a daunting task.

In the past three decades, all the indicators of ocean health have turned steadily – and in most cases steeply – downwards. In 1974, for example, as Thomson acknowledges, 90% of global fishing grounds were sustainably fished. By 2013 that had dropped to just over 68%.

At the same time, negative impacts from man-made pollution have risen, compounding the damage to ecosystems. The global ocean has absorbed large amounts of the heat that human activity has produced in the last three decades. As carbon emissions have climbed steeply, the ocean has also absorbed enough CO2 to change its pH balance. This acidification makes life more difficult for shell-forming sea life.

Peter Thomson, the UN’s special envoy for the ocean
Peter Thomson (Image: SIWI)

The effects of heat and acidification will be catastrophic for life below water. Coastal ecosystems, where much of marine life originates and lives, are also deeply damaged in many countries by development and pollution. Plastic pollution is now ubiquitous, found even in the deepest part of the ocean.

Peter Thomson has a history of UN engagement. He served as the 71st president of the General Assembly from 2016-17 and previously as Fiji’s permanent representative to the UN. Today, as the UN’s special envoy for the ocean, he naturally stresses the importance of the UN Sustainable Development Goals, in particular SDG 14 (Conserve and sustainably use the oceans, seas and marine resources for sustainable development), which is the foundation of his work.

A global ocean crisis

Much of his job, he explains, is to push for the achievement of SDG 14, an ambition that demands solutions to each of the growing problems of ocean climate impacts, acidification, eutrophication and overfishing, all in the context of low levels of ocean protection.

Global trends are not encouraging. Under SDG 14, the goal is to strengthen coastal ecosystems by 2020 and to reduce debris and nutrient pollution by 2025. But according to the UN’s data, coastal waters continue to deteriorate due to pollution and eutrophication. Characteristically, this is caused by fertiliser run-off which triggers plant growth in the ocean so dense that it starves animal life of oxygen. Sixteen percent of the large marine ecosystems the UN has assessed are in the high or highest categories for coastal eutrophication, including most of China’s coastal waters.

On overfishing, the picture is equally daunting. The ambition is to end illegal, unregulated and unreported fishing by 2020, eliminate harmful fishing subsidies and effectively regulate harvesting with science-based management plans. Currently, Thomson points out, marine protected areas cover only 13.2% of the marine environment under national jurisdiction (up to 200 nautical miles from shore). Beyond that, only 0.25% of the marine environment is protected, making a total of just 5.3% of the total global ocean area. Fishing subsidies, in particular the subsidies for fuel that make it possible for China’s distant water fleet to operate in the global ocean, remain in place.

Clearing algae from a beach hit by eutrophication in Qingdao, Shandong province
Clearing algae from a beach hit by eutrophication in Qingdao, Shandong province (Image: Alamy)

Sustainability is possible

He acknowledges that much remains to be done, but insists that the effort must continue, and that the framework of the Sustainable Development Goals is essential. “I believe that climate change and ocean change, and climate action and ocean action are the high callings of the 21st century,” he told chinadialogue ocean. “It’s what life exists in on this planet. And it is all in peril.”

“What is the point of the SDGs? There are two ways humanity will revive on this planet in an equitable way, and it goes back to the two agreements that were made in 2015. One being the Paris Agreement and the other the SDGs. They were not arrived at easily, or devised by bureaucrats or politicians, or business interests. This was not the usual suspects. Every nation and the UN’s 194 countries were negotiating for years to reach consensus in Paris and New York. If you put the two together, we have a recipe for humanity’s survival on planet earth.”

“They have to be implemented with integrity,” he continued, “or we can’t say we have certainty. I am confident, and I am a grandfather, that with those two agreements faithfully implemented, we can have that confidence.”

But how, exactly, does the existence of the SDGs effect change?

“The SDGs are made up of targets,” Thomson explains. “SDG 14 has 10 targets and basically they galvanise the international community to meet those targets. We hold ourselves to account – they are like exams at the end of the school year.”

“In the case of SDG 14, four of the 10 targets mature in 2020. Honestly, we are in a sprint here. They are all achievable but the most difficult is 14.4 – ending IUU fishing and overfishing. That’s a really hard task. Another is that 10% of the ocean should be marine protected areas by 2020. We have reached 7.4% so I am reasonably confident on that. On the better management of coasts and ecosystems, lots of work is being done. The fourth is ending harmful subsidies: the WTO [World Trade Organisation] has the responsibility of removing those and we are working on that now – fuel, shipbuilding subsidies and overcapacity. They set us targets and we have to hold ourselves to it.”

To try to ensure the four 2020 targets are met, the UN is working to hold an ocean conference next year, to force a review of progress.

Big challenges ahead

“Are we on track, and if not what are we going to do about it?” he says. “These are not paper targets and they were not arrived at idly. They are achievable and if we don’t do them we are really in jeopardy. We do not have sustainability.”

IUU and overfishing remains, he says, the biggest challenge.

“I was shocked,” he says, “to see that 33% of populations are being overfished. If we carry on with present practices, they will be extinct. Ending that 33% overfishing in a short period of time is a huge ask of the fishing community. We have to convince them that there is no point in killing the goose that lays the golden egg.

“But to say we will end IUU fishing is like saying we will end crime. There will always be some guy sneaking out the back and doing the wrong thing. We have three billion dollars of illegal fish hitting the tables around the world. Consumers and the supply chains can’t just say no to that.”

Thomson says there are some very effective governance measures, including the Food and Agriculture Organisation’s 10-year-old Port State Measures Agreement (PSMA), designed to ensure illegally caught fish never enters the market through ports. “If we can get everybody signed up to [PSMA] by 2020, I shall regard that as a great success. It is the best weapon we have against IUU fishing, but the majority of governments have yet to sign. Much of my work is getting governments to understand the legal requirements and to get them across the line by 2020.”

In addition to trying to persuade large powers like China to sign up, Thomson recognises that small states which might be enthusiastic require a different kind of support.

“I am trying to encourage philanthropy and NGOs to get alongside small countries who want to sign and would need inspectors on the wharf who have to be funded. For a small island state, funding a couple of new posts is a big deal. So I am saying why not partnership? Funding and training local people to take on the role. It can bear fruit quickly over the following years. PSMA is a critical part of ending IUU.”

Thomson says that traceability is the other key element in tackling IUU. “That is the fourth industrial revolution. We should be able to trace the provenance of all fish. It should be achievable in the short term that when you go to the market to buy a fish, you don’t end up buying stolen goods.”

For the moment, Thomson is gearing up for next year’s launch of the UN Decade of Ocean Science, which aims to bolster scientific research and tech innovation to support countries in the sustainable development of the ocean.

The knowledge we will harness from this initiative is vital, Thomson says. “Less than 5% of the ocean is known now. By 2030 we want to know it all so we can make the right decisions for the ocean.”