印度尝试将海洋塑料用于修路

印度喀拉拉邦探索尝试将打捞的海洋塑料用于修路,然而结果并不如听起来那么完美。

The crew of Holy Star with litter recovered from their nets

“圣星”号船员和他们用渔网打捞到的垃圾。图片来源:谢伦德拉·亚什万

 

印度奎隆萨提库兰迦拉港的凌晨一片繁忙景象,与喀拉拉邦沿海其他地方毫无二致。成千上万吨的鱼从无数条渔船上被卸下、分拣、清洗、拍卖。但这里也有一件新鲜事,每艘船上除了鱼也卸下船员用渔网打捞到的废弃塑料,这些塑料将与沥青混在一起用来修路。

“圣星”号刚刚拉上来约30公斤废物,船长S·拉古说:“我们在海底看到的情形令人作呕,垃圾正在和鱼争夺生存空间。”

“我们请求人们不要再这么肆无忌惮地使用和丢弃塑料”

喀拉拉邦全体渔船经营者协会会长彼得·马迪亚斯说,渔民们承诺将作业中产生的废物以及渔网捞到的一切都带回来。

然后这些废弃塑料由“清净大海”(喀拉拉邦政府2017年发起的一项倡议)收集并送到一座特别设施进行清理和粉碎。“清净使命”是喀拉拉邦的废物管理旗舰计划,半年来一直为这个海洋垃圾清洁回收项目提供垃圾粉碎机及运行成本的财力支持。

“清净大海”的工作人员将清洗后的海洋废物拿去晾晒
“清净大海”的工作人员将清洗后的海洋废物拿去晾晒。图片来源:谢伦德拉·亚什万

截至2月下旬,已经有16吨塑料被粉碎,145公斤塑料瓶被压制成捆。尽管这一计划进展顺利,但未来却存在很大变数,主要是因为缺少资金以及市场机会有限。

越来越多的道路工程承包商不愿使用废弃材料,理由是熔化以及和筑路材料混合时的技术困难,该计划的协调员苏哈卡兰介绍说。“我们必须考虑通过其他方式对粉碎的塑料进行再利用。”

“清净大海”的工作人员对废弃塑料进行分拣和粉碎
“清净大海”的工作人员对废弃塑料进行分拣和粉碎。图片来源:谢伦德拉·亚什万

塑料铺路注定没有未来?

南印度城市金奈进行了一系列试点项目之后,印度的很多城市和乡村都开始用回收的废塑料来修路。这需要将沥青与约8%的废塑料混合。

“清洁喀拉拉”(CKS)公司负责筑路用粉碎塑料的收集和配送。迄今该邦已经用15吨塑料颗粒修了约9公里的路,大多是村子里较短的岔路。平均每公里需要1.7吨废塑料。

支持者们称用废塑料修的路对灼热的耐受性更强,但环境保护者们则对这种用途提出质疑。他们指出,塑料熔化时会释放毒性很强的戴奥辛,土壤(尤其是工程质量很差的道路)中微塑料的浸出和生物累积风险也很高。

全球反垃圾焚烧联盟的达米什·沙说:“在这方面的研究还很欠缺,因此在大规模采用此类技术之前保持谨慎才明智。”

用塑料修路可能也不经济。“印度道路大会”(IRC)的指南中只推荐将低密度聚乙烯(LDPE)、高密度聚乙烯(HDPE)、PET和聚氨酯用于道路建设,然而将这些塑料从几种聚合物的混合中分离出来却成本高昂。

奎隆地方政府港口工程部的助理工程师阿比拉什·皮莱说:“我们必须清理海洋,必须找到解决垃圾的办法。截至目前用塑料修路是唯一可用的选择。无论海里还是陆上都有不计其数的废弃塑料。我们面临的任务艰巨,事态紧急。”

粉碎的塑料
粉碎的塑料。图片来源:谢伦德拉·亚什万

非政府组织塔纳尔(Thanar)的希布·奈尔在差不多20年前就在喀拉拉邦带头发起了零废物运动。他说:“塑料修路不是解决之道,你只是把废塑料隐藏起来了一段时间,却把全部道路都变成了毒地。”

他说,无论是港口工程部还是渔业部都没有一个针对环境管理和保护的明确制度机制。“这正是为什么说该计划是权宜之计的原因,我们不能把那些渔民和妇女交给市场。”

彼得·马迪亚斯说:“如果塑料修路未来会成为环境问题,那我们必须找到另一个解决办法。我们的渔民正在承担清理作业,我们亟需新鲜点子和资金注入让这个计划焕然一新。”

如果不能给打捞上来的废塑料找到资金和新市场,奎隆这个先锋计划的命运以及向其他港口推广的目标都将变得岌岌可危。

压制成捆的塑料瓶
压制成捆的塑料瓶。图片来源:谢伦德拉·亚什万

塑料的成本

据喀拉拉“清净使命”项目估计,该邦每天产生的废弃塑料有480吨。其中一些进入河流和其他水体,最终流入大海。

联合国环境规划署的一项研究发现,2014年全球生产出3.11亿吨塑料,并估计2010年有480万到1270万吨塑料进入海洋。阳光将这些塑料分解成大家所知的微塑料,会被水生生物和海鸟误食。摄入这些塑料会损伤它们的内脏。受到海洋塑料垃圾影响的鸟类、海龟、鱼类和其他物种不计其数

希布·奈尔说:“即便全球所有的禁塑令都落实到位,我们也有千百万吨的历史遗留废物需要安全、永久地处理掉。不幸的是,目前所有的实践,包括管理不力的填埋、垃圾焚烧发电、再生塑料颗粒、塑料修路等都失败了,而且造成的损害比助益更大。”

为了永远终止塑料污染的循环,回收业正在做着各种努力:海洋塑料垃圾的升级回收,微塑料的预防和拦截,用新模式消除对特定种类塑料制品的需求(例如将玉米淀粉和麻类作为包装材料)。

“清净大海”在奎隆港口的一位工作人员希尼·S说:“我们希望下一代能彻底禁绝塑料,并找到一个新的替代物。而现在,我们请求人们不要再这么肆无忌惮地使用和丢弃塑料。”

在一艘渔船即将离开奎隆萨提库兰迦拉港的时候,“清净大海”的门德斯·约瑟夫将一个用于收集海洋垃圾的特制编织袋交给渔船船员
在一艘渔船即将离开奎隆萨提库兰迦拉港的时候,“清净大海”的门德斯·约瑟夫将一个用于收集海洋垃圾的特制编织袋交给渔船船员。图片来源:谢伦德拉·亚什万

 

翻译: 奇芳

India experiments with turning ocean plastic into roads

Using salvaged plastic waste in roads may be doing more harm than good

The crew of Holy Star with litter recovered from their nets

The crew of Holy Star with litter recovered from their nets, Sakthikulangara harbour, Kerala. (Image: Shailendra Yashwant)

The early morning bustle at Sakthikulangara harbour in Kollam is much like any other on Kerala’s coast. Thousands of tonnes of fish landed by hundreds of boats are being sorted, cleaned and auctioned. But something novel is happening. Each vessel is offloading salvaged waste that crews disentangle from their nets. The plastic will be mixed with bitumen to make roads.

“It is disgusting what we find at the bottom of the sea,” says S Raghu, captain of the Holy Star, which has just hauled in about 30 kilos of waste. “The garbage is competing with the fish.”

Our appeal to people is to stop using and discarding plastic like there is no tomorrow.

Peter Mathias, president of the All Kerala Fishing Boat Operators Association, says the fishers pledged to bring back the waste from their operations and whatever is caught in the nets.

The plastic waste is then collected by Suchitwa Sagaram (Clean Seas), a Kerala government initiative launched in 2017, and cleaned and shredded  in a special facility. Suchitwa Mission, Kerala’s flagship waste management programme, helped pay for the shredding machine and six months of costs.

Clean Seas staff move washed marine waste for drying
Clean Seas staff carry washed marine waste. (Image: Shailendra Yashwant)

By late February, almost 16 metric tonnes of plastic had been shredded and 145 kilogrammes of plastic bottles had been pressed into bales. But despite the programme’s success, its future is uncertain, largely because of a lack of funds and limited market opportunities.

“More and more road contractors are shying away from using the waste material, citing technical difficulties in melting and mixing it with their road-building material,” says Sudhakaran, the coordinator of the programme in Kollam. “We need to think about other alternatives to recycle the shredded waste.”

Staff from Clean Seas sort and shred plastic waste
Shredding and sorting plastic waste (Image: Shailendra Yashwant)

Are plastic roads a dead end?

It was after a series of pilot projects in Chennai that a number of Indian cities and villages began blending roads out of 92% bitumen and 8% recycled plastic.

Clean Kerala Company (CKS) sources and distributes shredded plastics for road building. So far 15 tonnes of plastic shreds have made it into about nine kilometres of road across the state, mostly for short stretches inside villages. About 1.7 metric tonnes of plastic is needed per kilometre.

Advocates claim that roads built with plastic waste are more resilient to searing heat, but environmentalists have raised concerns. They point to the release of highly toxic dioxins when the plastic is melted, and the risk of leaching and bioaccumulation of microplastics in soil, especially on poorly build roads.

“There is scant research on this aspect, hence it would be wise to take a precautionary approach before adopting such technologies on a large scale,” says Dharmesh Shah of Global Alliance Against Incineration.

Plastic roads may not be economic as it is expensive to separate polymers suitable for road construction from a mix of several. (The Indian Roads Congress only recommend polyurethane, polyethylene terephthalate and low- and high-density polyethylene.)

“We have to clean the oceans. We have to find a solution to the garbage. So far plastic roads are the only available option,” says Abhilash Pillai, assistant engineer of the local government’s Harbour Engineering Department, Kollam. “There is no limit to the plastic waste out there in the seas, on the land. We have a huge task ahead and it’s an emergency.”

Shredded plastic
Shreds of hope? (Image: Shailendra Yashwant)

“Plastic roads are not a solution,” says Shibu Nair of NGO Thanal, who has spearheaded the zero-waste movement in Kerala for almost two decades. “You are hiding your plastic waste for some time and converting all your roads into toxic land.”

He says that neither the Harbour Engineering Department nor the Fisheries Department have a clear institutional mechanism to manage and protect the environment. “That is why the programme is running on an ad hoc basis,” he says. “We cannot leave those fishermen and women to market forces.”

“If plastic roads are going to be an environmental problem in the future then we need another solution,” says Peter Mathias. “Our fishermen are underwriting the clean-up operations. We desperately need fresh ideas and an infusion of funds for this programme to make a difference.”

Without funds and new markets for the salvaged plastic waste, the fate of this pioneering programme in Kollam hangs in the balance, as do ambitious plans to expand it to other ports.

Bails of pressed plastic bottles
Bales of bottles (Image: Shailendra Yashwant)

The cost of plastics

Kerala Suchitwa Mission estimates that the state produces 480 tonnes of plastic waste per day. Some of this finds its way into rivers and into the sea.

A UN Environment Programme study found that 311 million tonnes of plastic was produced globally in 2014. It estimated that in 2010, 4.8 to 12.7 million metric tonnes found its way into the ocean. Sunlight then degrades it into microplastics that are mistaken for food by aquatic life and seabirds, damaging internal organs. Millions of birds, turtles, fish and other species are affected.

“Even if every plastic ban on the planet was fully successful, we still have millions of tonnes of historical waste that needs to be dealt with safely and permanently. Unfortunately, all the current practices – poorly regulated landfills, waste-to-energy plants, recycling plastic into pellets, plastic roads etc – all have failed and will lead to more harm than help,” says Shibu Nair.

To end the cycle of plastic pollution for good, the recycling industry is focusing on upcycling, prevention and interception of microplastics, as well as negating the need for plastic – such as by using corn starch or hemp for packaging.

“We hope that the next generation will completely reject plastics and find a new alternative,” says Shiny S, an employee of Clean Seas at the Kollam harbour. “For now, our appeal to people is to stop using and discarding plastic like there is no tomorrow.”

Clean Seas staff delivers a specially knitted bag for collection of marine litter to crew of a fishing boat about to sail from Sakthikulangara harbour, Kollam
Mendes Joseph of Clean Seas delivers a marine litter bag to fishers at Sakthikulangara harbour. (Image: Shailendra Yashwant)