各国合力打击非法捕捞取得成果

全球、区域和国家层面打击非法捕捞的倡议取得进展。

US and Australian authorities board the Jinn Hsing Tsai No. 3 in the Philippine Sea to ensure its compliance with fisheries regulations (Image: Alamy)

美国和澳大利亚执法部门登上在菲律宾海行驶的Jinn Hsing Tsai 3号渔船,检查其作业是否符合渔业法规。 图片来源: Alamy

面对一个一年数十亿美元的全球性非法活动,要想打赢这场艰苦卓绝的战役绝非一朝一夕之事。十多年来,世界各地打击非法、不报告和不管制(IUU)捕捞活动的工作就是最好的写照。但在过去一年间,我们在多个重大场合接连取得胜利。虽然激战正酣,但有迹象表明有朝一日全球定将取得反IUU捕捞的胜利。近日,各国代表齐聚智利首都圣地亚哥参加首个旨在遏制IUU捕捞的国际条约《港口国措施协定》第二次缔约方会议,同时庆祝第二个打击IUU捕鱼国际日。以下是近期取得的关键胜利。

加强打击

过去一年间,区域渔业管理组织(RFMO)纷纷采取措施改进对渔业的监测、控制和监督:

  • 美洲间热带金枪鱼委员会(IATTC)、北太平洋渔业委员会(NPFC)、南太平洋区域渔业管理组织(SPRFMO)、中西太平洋渔业委员会(WCPFC)要求到2020年,所有符合条件的船舶必须有唯一的船舶识别码,具体来说就是国际海事组织编号。该编号是船舶从建造到退役使用的唯一编号,可确保其身份的准确识别。
  • 大西洋金枪鱼国际委员会(ICCAT)和SPRFMO加强了自身的港口国措施,使他们与《港口国措施协定》保持一致,防止非法捕捞的渔获进入市场。
  • 鉴于偏远海域船只之间的鱼类转运可能会给非法经营者创造可趁之机,WCPFC成立了新的工作组负责审查海上转运措施。

虽然有所进展,但所有区域渔业管理组织还应制定相关规则终止IUU捕捞,并积极地致力于在科学的基础上以预防为前提对鱼类资源进行管理。

在捕获端和消费端双管齐下

如果没有海上行动的支持,打击IUU捕捞的政策和法规将毫无用处。来自全球各地的军队都在加入此次行动。例如今年2月,美国非洲司令部组织了2019年度的“弯刀快车”演习,旨在提高海上执法能力,促进东非的国家和地区安全。在今年的演习中,海军和海岸警卫队都接受了探测、追踪和评估可疑渔船以及登船和检查相关的培训。

2019年初,海鲜出口大国泰国的渔业当局也带来了好消息。经过多年改善渔业监管的努力,泰国政府终于在今年1月得到消息称,欧盟将把泰国从非法捕捞监管不力的国家名单中去除。泰国官员为解决渔业问题付出了巨大的努力,尤其是在对外国船只的港内控制以及与船旗国合作方面。当月晚些时候,泰国批准了旨在打击人口贩卖和改善船上劳动条件的国际劳工组织C188号公约,这是朝着确保可持续渔业迈出的另一个关键步骤。

海产品行业在打击IUU方面也发挥了重要作用。例如,汇集全球10大海产公司的“海洋管理海产业务”(SeaBOS)倡议于2018年9月举行了第三次对话,承诺消灭成员供应链上的IUU捕捞和“现代奴隶制”。各公司还承诺分享自身在这方面的经验,而皮尤慈善信托基金也鼓励其他海产企业以此为榜样。

船舶安全措施的成功还应有助于进一步减少非法捕捞。西班牙于1月加入国际海事组织的《开普敦公约》,公约呼吁保护渔民生命安全,对24米及以上公海渔船的设计、建造和设备设置了最低要求,并与渔业、运输和劳工机构协调检查,提高发现IUU作业船只的机会。西班牙签署《开普敦公约》后,其政府和国际海事组织还宣布将在10月粮农组织/国际劳工组织/国际海事组织IUU捕鱼联合工作组会议召开前共同主办一场会议,关注渔船安全和IUU捕捞,具体讨论渔业、运输以及(首次提到的)劳工和打击IUU捕捞问题的交差点。

展望未来

虽然政府、行业和渔业管理人员还应加倍努力才能终止IUU捕捞,但过去一年取得的进展的确可喜可贺。沟通和战略协作是带来实质性变革的关键所在。这一点做好了,全球社会就能长久地保护鱼类、人类和海洋。

 

本文原载于皮尤慈善信托基金,本网站经授权转载

翻译:YAN

With coordinated effort, countries gain against illegal fishing 

Progress follows initiatives at global, regional and national levels

US and Australian authorities board the Jinn Hsing Tsai No. 3 in the Philippine Sea to ensure its compliance with fisheries regulations (Image: Alamy)

US and Australian authorities board the Jinn Hsing Tsai No. 3 in the Philippine Sea to ensure its compliance with fisheries regulations (Image: Alamy)

The fight against a global, multibillion-dollar-a-year illicit activity can be painstakingly slow. And for more than a decade that’s been the story with the effort to end illegal, unreported and unregulated (IUU) fishing around the world. But the past year has brought successive victories in numerous critical fora and, while the battle rages on, there are signs that the global community could one day declare victory against IUU fishing. As countries convened recently in Santiago, Chile, for the Second Meeting of the Parties to the Port State Measures Agreement – the first international treaty aimed at curbing IUU fishing – and in celebration of the second annual United Nations-declared International Day for the Fight Against IUU Fishing, here’s a look at key recent wins.

Fisheries managers step up engagement on IUU fishing

In the past year, regional fisheries management organisations (RFMOs) have adopted measures to improve monitoring, control and surveillance of fisheries:

  • The Inter-American Tropical Tuna Commission, the North Pacific Fisheries Commission, the South Pacific Regional Fisheries Management Organisation (SPRFMO) and the Western and Central Pacific Fisheries Commission (WCPFC) require that by 2020, all eligible vessels have unique identification numbers, specifically International Maritime Organization numbers, which stay with them from construction to scrapping.
  • The International Commission for the Conservation of Atlantic Tunas and SPRFMO strengthened their port state measures, which aligns them more closely with the Port State Measures Agreement and helps keep illegally caught fish out of the market.
  • WCPFC set up a new working group to review at-sea transshipment measures, as the transfer of fish in remote areas from vessel to vessel can create loopholes for illegal operators.

Despite that progress, all RFMOs should institute rules to end IUU fishing and actively work towards science-based, precautionary management of stocks.

Fighting IUU fishing at sea and in the marketplace

Policies and regulations to combat IUU fishing are nothing without on-the-water support and militaries around the world are getting on board. For example, in February, the US African Command sponsored Exercise Cutlass Express 2019, with the objective of improving maritime law enforcement capacity and promoting national and regional security in East Africa. This year, navies and coast guards received training in detecting, tracking and assessing suspect fishing vessels, along with boarding and inspection.

Early 2019 also brought good news for the fisheries authorities in Thailand, a huge exporter of seafood. In January, following years of work to improve fisheries oversight, the Thai government received word that the European Union was taking Thailand off its list of countries that had been warned for poor performance against illegal fishing. Thai officials had gone to great lengths to address problems, especially with in-port controls of foreign vessels and cooperation with flag states. Later that month, Thailand ratified the International Labor Organization convention C188 to fight human trafficking and improve labour conditions on vessels, another key step for securing sustainable fisheries.

The seafood industry has also played an important role in fighting IUU. For example, the Seafood Business for Ocean Stewardship (SeaBOS) initiative, which brings together 10 of the largest seafood companies in the world, held its third dialogue in September 2018 and committed to eliminate IUU fishing and modern slavery from its members’ supply chains. SeaBOS companies have pledged to share their experiences in that effort, and The Pew Charitable Trusts encourages other seafood businesses to follow their lead.

Successes on vessel safety measures should also help further reduce illegal fishing. In January, Spain acceded to the International Maritime Organization’s Cape Town Agreement, which calls for safeguarding the lives of fishers by setting minimum requirements on the design, construction and equipment of fishing vessels 24 metres or longer that operate on the high seas, while providing more opportunities to target IUU operators through harmonised inspections with fisheries, transport and labour agencies. As Spain signed on to the Agreement, its government and the IMO also announced that they will co-host a conference on fishing vessel safety and IUU fishing in October, immediately before the Joint FAO/ILO/IMO Working Group on IUU Fishing, which will meet to discuss cross-over between fisheries, transport and – for the first time – labour, issues in fighting IUU fishing.

Looking ahead

The advancements of the past year are worth celebrating even as governments, industry and fisheries managers should be redoubling efforts to end IUU fishing. Communication and strategic coordination will be key in bringing about tangible change. By getting this right, the global community can protect fish, people and our ocean far into the future.

This article is republished with permission from The Pew Charitable Trusts