气候变化与过度捕捞威胁南太平洋岛屿

外国拖网船和不断变化的海洋环境给南太平洋岛屿小型渔户带来压力。

Papua New Guinea, South Pacific (Image: Hemis / Alamy)

位于南太平洋的巴布亚新几内亚。图片来源:Hemis / Alamy

托尼·姚曾经驾着他的小木船在法属波利尼西亚塔希提岛的沿海水域捕鱼,但如今鱼群数量减少迫使他们一家不得不寻找新开发的渔场。过去十年中,很多其他小型渔户都有着托尼一家类似的经历,或者干脆抛弃了传统生计。

这只是南太平洋上发生的一个故事,标志着传统的捕鱼天堂正在消失。散布在这片广袤海域上的珊瑚和火山群岛面临着许多威胁,但气候变化和过度捕捞可以说是最严重的。

南太平洋岛国地理区划示意图
图片来源:国家地理杂志

世界银行的数据显示,全球近三分之一的鱼类种群遭受过度捕捞,究其原因是全球不断增长的海产品需求,而其中,中国是全球海产品的重要市场。随着中国沿海水域渔获量减少,远洋捕鱼船队走向太平洋深处的海域,追寻那里价值最高的鱼种——金枪鱼。

太平洋是世界上最大的金枪鱼渔场,产出全球金枪鱼捕捞量的60%以上。据 太平洋岛国论坛渔业局 (FFA)称,该地区几乎所有的金枪鱼都是通过围网或延绳的方式捕获的。围网渔船捕捞的鲣鱼(金枪鱼科)大多数被制成市售的金枪鱼罐头;而延绳钓渔船则捕捞面向高端生鱼片市场的大眼金枪鱼和黄鳍金枪鱼。

这是一个利润丰厚的行业,一条金枪鱼可以净赚300万美元。外国船只支付的费用也成为各国政府重要的收入来源。根据粮农组织2014年完成的一项研究,南太岛国获得的捕鱼许可费就超过3.4亿美元。与此同时,金枪鱼仍然是当地人重要的食物和就业来源,许多人对外国渔船日益增多感到不满。

在法属波利尼西亚,今年发生了反对中国捕捞金枪鱼的网上抗议和请愿。尽管许多人指责中国人非法捕鱼,但实际上并没有证据,中国人也予以否认。批评者指出,中国渔船买下了大量的捕鱼许可证,使得竞争对手的份额减少。

中西太平洋渔业委员会(WCPFC)负责监督太平洋国家及其渔场之间的一项国际公约的落实,这项公约旨在确保规则对所有在北纬20度至南纬20度之间的专属经济区(EEZs)和公海地区作业的外国都是公平的。WCPFC的最新数据显示,2017年太平洋地区总计捕捞了超过320万吨金枪鱼,其中78%(将近254万吨)来自该委员会管理的地区。

但是大部分金枪鱼都是在公海捕捞的,这在很大程度上不受管制。尽管WCPFC做出了努力,但对金枪鱼等高度洄游物种的共享种群管理往往以失败告终。经济专属区内还包括广泛的国际水域,使得该区域的渔业管理工作非常复杂。中国船队在这片水域引人注目,在1300艘外资渔船中,中国拥有600多艘。中国的船队享受着政府的燃料和造船补贴,这些补贴不仅扶植了新的企业,也让其他企业维持经营。

FFA总干事詹姆斯·莫维克称,公海管理是对太平洋金枪鱼渔业可持续发展的最大威胁。他说:“在200海里专属经济区捕鱼时,他们必须遵守法规和健全的渔业管理制度。专属经济区之外则几乎是一片混乱,金枪鱼可不认识我们专属经济区的边界”

渔业数据不透明,不进行公开报告都让问题更加复杂。位于斐济的太平洋岛国金枪鱼产业协会对所有获准在该区域捕鱼的渔船进行登记。该协会行政官员约翰·梅菲提表示,登记在册的中国渔船有627艘,其中大多数是延绳钓船。但他补充说:“一些中资渔船悬挂的是太平洋岛国的国旗。”

负责塔希提帕皮提岛近海、沿海和泻湖捕鱼牌照申请的塞西尔•马泰说:“没有中国船只拥有捕鱼牌照,但有中国船只在我们的港口加油和获取补给,或者因机械故障进行修理。”

复杂的危机

据国际自然保护联盟(IUCN)称,气候变化加剧了太平洋岛国的粮食安全问题,预计到2050年渔业产量将下降10-30%。水温上升、含氧水平下降和洋流变化已经对四种主要金枪鱼产生了深远影响,而且给鱼类栖息地、食物网、鱼类种群和渔业生产力带来了更普遍的影响。

气候变化还导致南太平洋出现更多极端天气。2015-2016年热带气旋季是有记录以来最具灾难性的季节之一,2016年2月袭击斐济的气旋“温斯顿”是有史以来在南半球登陆的最强气旋。 美国国家海洋和大气管理局 (NOAA)证实,随着海面温度的升高,飓风、台风和热带气旋的威力也在增强。

海平面上升是该地区岛国面临的另一个主要问题。联合国政府间气候变化专门委员会(IPCC)预测,如果温室气体排放居高不下,到本世纪末全球海平面将上升83厘米。太平洋的海平面上升速度更快,近年来已经至少有八个低洼岛屿被淹没。

海洋科学家如今发现了海洋酸化和金枪鱼数量下降之间的联系。发表在《科学》杂志上的一项新研究概述了海水变暖对重要商业鱼类的影响。海洋温度的变化正在影响脆弱的生态系统食物网。联合国环境珊瑚专家杰科尔·塔莫兰德尔说:“尽管金枪鱼生活在开阔水域,但金枪鱼种群以及金枪鱼渔业都依赖于珊瑚礁等健康的沿海生态系统。”

在南太平洋悠久的历史长河中,托尼·姚和他的祖先一直与海洋环境保持着深厚的联系。毕竟,海洋一直是生命的源泉。岛屿文化在其演变过程中遇到过各种巨大的挑战,如今则经历着他们无法想象的新挑战,包括前所未有的海平面高度、热带气旋带来的风暴潮、海洋变暖、酸化、珊瑚礁消失、以及注册和未注册渔船的竞争。

 

翻译:奇芳

South Pacific islanders threatened by climate change and overfishing

Foreign tuna-fishing vessels and a changing ocean are putting pressure on small-scale fishers

Papua New Guinea, South Pacific

Papua New Guinea, South Pacific (Image: Hemis / Alamy)

Tony Yao used to fish in his outrigger canoe in the coastal waters off Tahiti in French Polynesia. But the decline in fish populations has forced his family to move in order to find less exploited fishing grounds.

His is just one story from the South Pacific that hints at a paradise being lost. The coral and volcanic archipelagos scattered across this massive expanse of ocean face a number of threats, but climate change and overfishing are arguably the most serious. In the past decade, many small-scale fishers have done the same as Tony Yao or abandoned their traditional livelihoods altogether.

Figures from the World Bank show that nearly one-third of global fish populations are overexploited. This has been driven by the rising demand for seafood across the world, but especially in China. Dwindling catches in China’s coastal waters have seen the country’s distant-water fishing fleet travel to the farthest reaches of the Pacific. There they are targeting tuna, the region’s highest-prized species.

Map of the Pacific Islands showing Polynesia, Micronesia and Melanesia
Source: Congressional Record Service

The Pacific tuna fishing grounds are the largest in the world, contributing more than 60% of the global tuna catch. According to the Pacific Islands Forum Fisheries Agency (FFA), almost all tuna in the region are caught in one of two ways. Those to be sold in cans are mainly caught by purse seine fishing boats targeting skipjack tuna. While longline vessels catch bigeye and yellowfin destined for high-value sashimi markets.

It’s a lucrative industry where a single tuna can net US$3 million. The fees paid by foreign vessels have also become a significant source of revenue for national governments. According to a Food and Agriculture Organization study completed in 2014, South Pacific island countries received just over US$340 million in fishing licence fees that year. At the same time, tuna remains a vital source of food and employment for local people, and many are unhappy about the increasing presence of Chinese fishing vessels.

In French Polynesia, there’s been a wave of online protests and petitions to ban Chinese tuna fishing this year. Many accuse the Chinese of fishing illegally. There is no evidence for this and the Chinese deny it. However, they are buying up the biggest share of fishing licences, which is leaving competing fishers with less.

The Western & Central Pacific Fisheries Commission (WCPFC) oversees an international convention that aims to ensure rules are fair for all foreign nations operating in exclusive economic zones (EEZs) – up to 200 nautical miles off shore – of the Pacific nations as well as in the high seas (international waters) area between latitude 20N to 20S. The latest WCPFC figures show that 3,239,704 metric tonnes of tuna were caught across the Pacific in 2017. Of that, 78% (nearly 2,539,950 metric tonnes) came from the area managed by the commission.

But much of the fishing for tuna takes place in the high seas, which is largely unregulated. Despite WCPFC efforts, the management of shared stocks of highly migratory species, like tuna, often fails. The presence of extensive areas of international waters among the EEZs complicates the region’s fishery management efforts. It is here that China dominates, with more than 600 vessels out of a total of 1,300 foreign-operated ships. Their fleet is enabled by government subsidies on fuel and shipbuilding, which assist new enterprises and allow others to keep operating.

James Movick, director general of the FFA, claims that management of the high seas is the biggest single threat to the sustainability of the Pacific tuna fisheries. “When fishing in our 200-mile EEZs, they are subject to regulation and a robust fishery management regime. Outside, it is pretty much a free-for-all, and tuna do not recognise the boundaries of our EEZs,” he said.

A lack of data transparency and public reporting on fisheries compounds the problem. The Pacific Islands Tuna Industry Association in Fiji maintains a registry of all fishing vessels licensed to fish in the region. John Maefiti, an executive officer with the association, indicates that there are 627 Chinese fishing vessels registered, and the majority are longliners. But he adds: “There are some Chinese-owned vessels that fly Pacific islands flags.”

Cecile Matai, responsible for offshore, coastal and lagoon fishing licence applications in Papeete, the Tahitian capital of French Polynesia, claims: “No Chinese ship has a fishing licence, but there are Chinese ships in our ports for refuelling and obtaining supplies, or with mechanical problems which are being repaired.”

A compounded crisis

According to the International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN), climate change is compounding food security issues in the Pacific islands, with harvests from fisheries expected to fall between 10-30% by 2050. Rising water temperatures, lower levels of oxygen and shifting ocean currents are already having a profound impact on the four main tuna species, as well as more generally on fish habitats, food webs, fish populations and the productivity of fisheries.

Climate change is also leading to more extreme weather in the South Pacific. The 2015-2016 tropical cyclone season was one of the most disastrous on record. Cyclone Winston, which smashed into Fiji in February 2016, was the strongest ever to make landfall in the southern hemisphere. As sea surface temperatures become warmer, hurricanes, typhoons and tropical cyclones become more powerful.

Rising sea levels are another major issue for the region’s islands. The UN’s Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change predicts global sea levels could climb by as much as 83 centimetres by the end of this century if greenhouse gas emissions remain high. The levels are creeping up even faster in the Pacific, where at least eight low-lying islands have been submerged in recent years.

Marine scientists are now finding links between ocean acidification and a decline in tuna populations. A new study in the journal Science outlines the impacts warming waters have on commercially important fish species. Changes in the ocean temperature are affecting fragile ecosystem food webs. “While tuna spend their time in open water, tuna species as well as tuna fisheries depend on healthy coastal ecosystems such as coral reefs” claims UN Environment coral expert, Jerker Tamelander.

Over the sweep of a rich history in the South Pacific, Tony Yao and his ancestors have maintained a deep connection to the marine environment. After all, the ocean has always been the provider of life itself. Having met extraordinary challenges during their evolution, island cultures are now experiencing ones they could not have imagined, including unprecedented sea levels, storm surges from tropical cyclones, ocean warming, acidification, disappearing coral reefs, and competition from registered and unregistered fishing vessels.