过度捕捞使犀牛鳐濒临灭绝

世界自然保护联盟的濒危物种红色名录发现,人类活动是导致海洋、淡水和陆地物种减少的主要因素。

Guitarfish (rhynchobatus djiddensis)

及达尖犁头鳐。图片来源:Alamy

根据最新发布的年度世界濒危物种红色名录,过度捕捞已经将更多海洋生物推向灭绝的边缘。

龙纹鲼和及达尖犁头鳐,因其细长的吻有些形似犀牛的特征而被称为犀牛鳐,是现在世界上最濒危的海洋鱼类。犀牛鳐的16个亚种除一个外,都被名录列为极度濒危物种,这意味着这个家族离灭绝只有一步之遥。

沿海水域日益密集和不受监管的捕鱼活动造成犀牛鳐数量不断下降,它们中大多数是意外落网,成为副渔获物。它们是鲨鱼的近亲,有些种类能长到3米长,生活在从印度洋和西太平洋到东大西洋和地中海的浅海。犀牛鳐肉在当地出售,而鱼翅的价值很高,可以用来做鱼翅汤,在国际市场被高价买卖。

世界自然保护联盟物种生存委员会鲨鱼专家小组的联合主席科林·辛芬德费尔说:“为了防止失去这些鳐鱼种类,政府必须立即制定并实施物种保护、副渔获物减少计划、海洋保护区和国际贸易控制,这一点至关重要。”

这份年度名录由总部位于瑞士的世界自然保护联盟(IUCN)编制,是对世界动植物物种状况最权威的评估。最新的名单新增了近9000个物种,使评估的物种总数达到105732个。尽管如此,人们认为,这也只是地球上现存物种的一小部分。在名录评估的这些物种中,大约有28338个物种面临灭绝的威胁,而且没有一个物种的状况有所改善。

世界自然保护联盟代理总干事格雷特·阿吉拉尔博士说:“这一最新数据清楚地表明,人类在全世界对野生动植物的过度开发严重到什么程度。”

报告还警告说,捕猎野味和栖息地丧失导致7种灵长类动物数量减少。几个月前,一份重要报告警告说,自然退化和野生物种的灭绝将对人类造成严重影响。

世界自然保护联盟生物多样性保护小组的全球主管简·斯马特说:“这一新报告证实了最近IPBES全球生物多样性评估的结果:大自然正在以人类历史上前所未有的速度退化。不论是国内贸易,还是国际贸易,都是海洋、淡水和陆地上物种减少的动因。”

她说,必须果断采取“大规模”行动来遏止这种退化,要在明年的联合国生物多样性公约昆明峰会召开之前进行这次评估,而这个时间点至关重要。

非营利环保组织“保护国际” (Conservation International)高级科学家李·汉娜说:“物种丧失和气候变化是本世纪人类面临的两大挑战。红色名录同时应对了这两个问题,让我们在评估中了解到所有物种面临的灭绝风险,包括气候变化。结果很明显,我们必须现在就开始行动。”

最新数据还显示,全球1.8万种淡水鱼的数量急剧下降。日本一半以上的特有淡水鱼和墨西哥三分之一的淡水鱼面临灭绝的危险,其主要原因是自由流动的河流的消失、农业和城市污染的增加以及外来物种的入侵。

世界自然保护联盟淡水生物多样性部门负责人威廉·达尔沃尔表示:“这些物种的消失将使数十亿人失去重要的食物和收入来源,并可能对整个生态系统产生连锁反应。”

今年早些时候发表在《自然》杂志上的一项全球分析显示,世界上只有三分之一的大河保持着自由流动,大坝的影响大大降低了健康河流给人类和自然带来的好处。

红色名录还增加了500种深海硬骨鱼类,比如在水下1000多米深处发现的发光灯笼鱼,它们面临着来自深海捕鱼、油气开采以及深海海底采矿作业产生的沉积物羽流的潜在威胁。

国际海底管理局已经发放了29份勘探许可证,目前正在起草一份管理最终采矿作业的准则。但许多科学家、民间团体和 运动团体都呼吁中止此类活动,认为目前人类对深海海洋生物了解还不够,因此无法对此类活动的生态威胁进行充分评估。

生活在印度洋2900米深处的鳞脚腹足蜗牛是第一个被列入名单的热液喷口软体动物。有人担心,如果允许采矿,其栖息地可能会严重减少或遭到破坏。

 

翻译:奇芳

Overfishing pushes rhino rays to brink of extinction

Humans are driving the decline of species in the oceans, in freshwater and on land, finds IUCN’s ‘red list’ of threatened species

giant guitarfish (rhynchobatus djiddensis), wedgefish, rhino ray

Giant guitarfish (Image: Alamy)

Overfishing has pushed two families of stingray to the brink of extinction, according to the latest annual update to the “red list” of the world’s threatened species.

Wedgefishes and giant guitarfishes, known as rhino rays because of their elongated snouts, are now the most imperilled marine fish families in the world. All but one of the 16 species have been assessed as critically endangered by the list, which means they are one step from becoming extinct.

Increasingly intense and unregulated coastal fishing is driving their decline, with most snared accidentally as bycatch. Closely related to sharks, with some species growing up to three metres long, they live in shallow waters from the Indian and west Pacific oceans to the east Atlantic Ocean and Mediterranean Sea. Rhino ray meat is sold locally, while the fins are highly valued and internationally traded for shark fin soup.

“To prevent losing these ray families, it is critical that governments immediately establish and enforce species protections, bycatch mitigation programmes, marine protected areas, and international trade controls,” said Colin Simpfendorfer, co-chair of the IUCN species survival commission’s shark specialist group.

The annual list, compiled by the International Union for the Conservation of Nature (IUCN), based in Switzerland, is the most authoritative assessment of the status of the world’s plant and animal species. The latest list adds almost 9,000 new species, bringing the total assessed to 105,732 species – though this is thought to be a fraction of the number living on Earth. Some 28,338 species are threatened with extinction, and not a single one was recorded as having improved in status.

“This update clearly shows how much humans around the world are overexploiting wildlife,” said IUCN acting director-general, Dr Grethel Aguilar.

The report also warned that hunting for bushmeat and habitat loss had led to the decline of seven primate species, and comes months after a major report warned that nature loss would have grave impacts for human wellbeing.

“This update confirms the findings of the recent IPBES global biodiversity assessment: nature is declining at rates unprecedented in human history,” said Jane Smart, global director of the IUCN biodiversity conservation group. “Both national and international trade are driving the decline of species in the oceans, in freshwater and on land.”

She said decisive action was needed “at scale” to halt this decline, with the timing of this assessment seen as critical ahead of next year’s UN biodiversity convention summit in Kunming, China.

“Loss of species and climate change are the two great challenges facing humanity this century,” said Lee Hannah, senior scientist at Conservation International. “The red list addresses both, by letting us know the extinction risk faced by all species, including climate change, in that assessment. The results are clear, we must act now.”

The update also revealed dramatic declines in numbers of the world’s 18,000 freshwater fish species. More than half of Japan’s endemic species and one-third of Mexico’s are threatened with extinction, driven mainly by the loss of free-flowing rivers, increased agricultural and urban pollution and invasive species.

William Darwall, head of the IUCN freshwater biodiversity unit, said: “The loss of these species would deprive billions of people of a critical source of food and income, and could have knock-on effects on entire ecosystems.”

Earlier this year, a global analysis published in the journal Nature, showed that only a third of the world’s great rivers remain free-flowing, with the impact of dams drastically reducing the benefits provided by healthy rivers to people and nature.

The red list also added 500 deep-sea bony fish species, such as bioluminescent lanternfishes, which are found at depths of more than 1,000 metres, and face potential threats from deep-sea fishing, oil and gas extraction, and sediment plumes created by deep seabed mining operations.

The International Seabed Authority has granted 29 licences for exploration and is currently drawing up a code to govern eventual mining operations, but many scientists, along with civil society and campaign groups, are calling for a moratorium, saying that not enough is known about deep-sea marine life to adequately assess the ecological threat.

The scaly-foot snail (Chrysomallon squamiferum), which lives at depths of 2900 metres in the Indian Ocean, is the first hydrothermal vent mollusc to be added to the list. There is concern that if mining is permitted, its habitat could be severely reduced or destroyed.