公海条约:海洋遗传资源之争

各国在公海开发管理原则上产生分歧,中国在争端中保持中立

图片来源:NOAA

海洋是数百万物种生存的家园,其中许多物种仍不为人类所知。每年海洋吸收近25%的温室气体,并为人类提供氧气。然而,覆盖地球表面近一半的广袤的公海海域,仍未得到足够妥善监管。

各国正在进行谈判,准备达成一项具有里程碑意义的全球协议,即国家管辖海域外生物多样性协议(BBNJ)。该协议将首次填补该领域里的重大空白,同时着眼于解决渔业、采矿业和海洋污染等活动给公海带来的不断增加的压力。

但是,联合国6月份发布的48页谈判草案文本表明各国之间仍存在广泛的分歧。

“谈判即将进入[其]技术阶段,但很明显,草案仍然存在很多空白[有待讨论],而且[剩下的]许多差异[都]是政治性的,不太可能在技术层面得到解决,”北京非政府组织创绿研究院研究员陈冀俍表示。

本月末举行纽约谈判之前,一些观察人士对是否能在2020年按计划达成具有法律约束性的协议表示担忧。目前仅剩下计划于明年举行的一轮磋商了。 

公海版的巴黎协定

该协议被一些自然保护主义者称为公海版的“巴黎协定”。外交官、环保主义者和科学家所面临的挑战,一点也不比2015年在法国达成具有里程碑意义的气候协定时少。公海条约必须不仅要保护海洋生物多样性,还要适应现有的法律条约,弥合相关国家在发展状况、技术能力和保护理念等方面深刻的南北差异。

谈判和协议的内容主要包括四个部分,除了建立海洋保护区、对发展中国国家进行能力培训和技术转让,以及对采矿等活动进行环境影响评估,另一个重要部分就是各国如何以公平公正的方式获取和共享海洋遗传资源的惠益。

海洋遗传资源


1992年的《生物多样性公约》中对海洋遗传资源的定义是“具有实际或潜在价值的遗传物质”。2014年生效的《名古屋议定书》规定,不允许任何一个国家或公司对世界遗传资源进行垄断。尽管如此,在公海条约达成之前,尚未建立对国家管辖范围之外的生物多样性进行保护的机制。

新的生物学发现和技术进步使海洋生物成为商业利益追逐的对象。大至鲸鱼,小到微生物,企业和科研人员都在寻找在制药、生物燃料和化工等领域具有巨大潜在价值的基因序列。其中一些基因序列被申请了专利保护,这样一来,拥有专利的企业和研究机构就独家享有研究这些序列并生产相关产品的权利。以Omega 3为例。Omega 3 原本是一种主要从鱼类中提取出来的有益于健康的脂肪酸。而陶氏化学公司成功地将产生Omega 3的基因分离出来,并将该其移接到芥花籽这种广泛用来生产食用油的作物基因中。

目前,从862种海洋物种中提取的12998个序列获得了专利保护。其中,德国巴斯夫注册的专利数量占到了47%。预计至2026年,全球海洋生物技术市场规模将达到64亿美元

然而,在1982年的《联合国海洋法公约》(UNCLOS)中对资源的勘探和开发加以规范的两个原则存在矛盾之处,这两条原则也从最开始就饱受激烈的争论。

2017年及2009年获得海洋基因专利申请量最多的前10个国家名单

2009 2017
德国 199 美国 6,278
美国 149 德国 1,450
日本 128 日本 1,431
以色列 34 法国 848
英国 33 英国 669
挪威 24 丹麦 632
法国 17 比利时 366
丹麦 13 荷兰 105
加拿大 11 瑞士 103
荷兰 9 挪威 66
中国 1 中国 1
资料来源: 公司控制和海洋遗传资源的全球治理海洋遗传资源的全球治理

 

然而,在1982年的《联合国海洋法公约》(UNCLOS)中对资源的勘探和开发加以规范的两个原则存在矛盾之处,这两条原则也从最开始就饱受激烈的争论。 

公海自由共同遗产

“公海自由”原则赋予各国航行、飞越、捕鱼和对专属经济区以外的海域进行科学研究的权利,因此公海不属于任何国家。

1967年,有人提议海洋应向所有国家开放,但受国际规范的约束,以实现全人类的共同利益。

《联合国海洋法公约》最终宣布“这片区域”——国家管辖范围以外的海底和底土——是人类的共同遗产。随后,国际海底管理局(ISA)应运而生,负责监督深海资源的勘探活动以及后续的产开采,旨在确保利益的公平共享。

这些看似矛盾的理想原则为新协议谈判带来严峻的挑战,因为新协议的内容所涉及的既是公海,也是《联合国海洋法公约》中所认定的“区域”。就公海而言,人类活动主要遵循的是自由原则,而对于“区域”,则要遵循人类共同遗产的原则。

如果适用自由原则,那么在深海获得基因物质的国家都可以享有对其开发的任何产品的专有权。但如果这些生物被认为是人类的共同遗产,发展中国家也有权分享这些利益。

监管缺位

由于南北国家之间在经济和技术实力上存在巨大差距,谈判局势更加复杂。

草案文本的第二章是关于海洋遗传资源的。这一章的几乎所有内容都存在争议。各国对于遗传资源的定义、获取和收集的地点和方式,条约的目标以及各国如何共享收益等问题均未达成一致。

中国大洋矿产资源研究开发协会副会长胡学东表示,与会国家可大致分为三类。

拥有先进资源开发技术的工业化国家是一类,他们希望尽可能少一些限制条款(美国、日本和俄罗斯);第二类属于发展中国家,则要求公平公正共享利益的。第三类是持中的欧盟国家,其在海洋技术方面虽然地位稳固,但却希望优先考虑保护。胡学东指出,欧盟采取相当务实的态度来推动谈判进程。同时,他也表示已经有迹象表明,主张“资源开发”的一方和主张“务实前进”的一方在筹备讨论中占了上风。 

中国的中立态度

在最近的会谈中,中国站在发展中国家77国集团一边,要求“人类共同遗产的原则必须是新机制的基石”,并补充“该原则应该是新协议的核心”。

上海交通大学极地与深海发展中心薛桂芳教授解释说,共同遗产原则是发展中国家在海底采矿谈判中取得的“来之不易的胜利”。“因此,作为发展中国家,中国不太可能放弃这一立场。”

但是,薛桂芳和陈冀俍都表示,随着在深海生物勘探技术方面取得快速进展,中国似乎更愿意在南北分歧之间保持中立。

2017年的新闻发布会上,国家海洋局宣称,中国一直致力于发展深海生物资源勘探工作,2002年以来,这项工作取得了丰硕成果,完成了近300株海洋微生物的基因组测序。

2017年海洋生物基因专利序列

生物类别 物种 专利序列
微生物 634 9468
鱼类 88 2055
甲壳类 26 187
珊瑚 25 185
软体动物 24 334
海葵 16 89
海蜇 10 162
植物 9 175
蠕虫 9 54
海胆 7 103
海鞘 6 135
文昌鱼 4 18
海菠萝 1 2
海绵 1 26
海星 1 1
鲸鱼 1 4
资料来源: 公司控制和海洋遗传资源的全球治理

 

在接受《中国海洋报》的采访时,国家海洋局海洋生物遗传资源重点实验室主任邵宗泽强调了深海微生物收集、研究、并通过专利加以保护的紧迫性,并最终将其商业化。

因此,中国希望能有一些政策调整空间。中国在向联合国提交的正式文件中对措辞言稍微进行了调整,表示新的国际协议应该推进“人类的共同福祉”。这一变化可能暗示中国将偏离共同遗产原则。

“措辞上的这种模糊可能是一种刻意的举动,”薛表示。

中国似乎更倾向于不受限地获取深海生物资源,以公海自由原则为依据。然而,据薛表示,在资源开发方面,中国更支持利益共享的人类共同遗产原则。

然而,为了达成最终协议,每个国家都需要做出一些让步,尽管时间已所剩无几。

“似乎不是每个国家都急于敲定最终协议,”陈说,“但如果即将在纽约举行的会谈取得的进展仍然有限的话,我们就需要更高层次的政治意愿,方能在明年达成实质性的协议。”

High seas treaty: race for rights to ocean’s genetic resources

As negotiations enter the final phase, countries are split over principles to govern exploitation; China is at the centre of the debate

marine genetic resources of the high seas, high seas treaty

Access to the genetic resources of the inhabitants of the high seas will be a topic of upcoming UN negotiations. (Image: NOAA)

The ocean is home to millions of species, many of which are still unknown to humans. It supplies us with oxygen and each year absorbs nearly 25% of the greenhouse gases we produce by burning fossil fuels. However, vast areas of the high seas, which cover nearly half of the Earth’s surface, remain unregulated.

Countries are currently negotiating a landmark global deal known as the BBNJ (biodiversity beyond national jurisdiction), which for the first time would plug this significant gap while tackling the increasing pressures of activities such as fishing and mining, and marine pollution.

But the 48-page draft text for negotiation released by the United Nations in June indicates the wide-ranging differences that remain between nations.

“The negotiation is entering [its] technical phase, yet obviously the draft is still heavily bracketed [open for debate], and many of the differences [that] remain [are] political, not likely to be resolved at [the] technical level,” said Chen Jiliang, researcher at Greenovation Hub, a non-governmental organisation in Beijing.

Ahead of negotiations in New York later this month, some observers are worried about whether a legally binding deal can be reached in 2020 as scheduled. There is only one more round of talks planned next year.

‘Paris of the high seas’

Hailed by some conservationists as the “Paris Agreement for the high seas”, the challenges for diplomats, conservationists and scientists are equally, if not more, grave than the landmark climate deal reached in France in 2015. The high seas treaty must not only protect marine biodiversity, but accommodate existing legal treaties, and bridge a deep north–south divide in the development statuses, technological capacities and conservation beliefs of the countries involved.

Along with other contentious issues, such as creating marine protected areas and adopting environmental impact assessments for activities like mining, a core element of the debates is how countries will access and share the benefit derived from the ocean’s marine genetic resources in a fair and equitable manner.

“Marine genetic resources”


The 1992 Convention on Biological Diversity’s definition is “genetic material of actual or potential value”. The 2014 Nagoya protocol prevents any one nation or company from monopolising the world’s genetic resources, but until the high seas treaty is agreed, no such mechanism exists for biodiversity beyond national jurisdiction.

New biological findings and technological developments have made marine organisms the object of commercial interest. From the biggest whale to the tiniest microbe, corporations and researchers are looking for genetic sequences that have immense potential value for the pharmaceutical, biofuel and chemical industries. Some of these sequences are associated with patents, allowing corporations and research institutions the sole right to conduct research on them and produce products related to them. An example is the US chemical company Dow successfully isolating the genes that produce Omega 3 – a beneficial fatty acid mostly derived from fish – and splicing it into canola, a crop widely grown to produce cooking oil.

The global market for marine biotechnology is projected to reach $6.4 billion by 2026. There are currently 12,998 patents involving 862 marine species. German-based chemical giant BASF has so far registered 47% of all marine sequences included in gene patents.

Top 10 countries claiming patents involving marine genetic sequences

By 2009 By 2017
Germany 199 US 6,278
US 149 Germany 1,450
Japan 128 Japan 1,431
Israel 34 France 848
UK 33 UK 669
Norway 24 Denmark 632
France 17 Belgium 366
Denmark 13 Netherlands 105
Canada 11 Switzerland 103
Netherlands 9 Norway 66
China 1 China 1
Source: Marine Biodiversity and Gene Patents and Corporate control and global governance of marine genetic resources

 

Yet there are two conflicting principles – both endorsed in the 1982 United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea (UNCLOS) – which govern their exploration and exploitation. These have been hotly contested since the very beginning.

‘Freedom of high seas’ versus ‘common heritage’

The freedom of high seas principle gives countries the right to navigate, fly over, fish and carry out scientific research on the ocean that lies beyond exclusive economic zones and so belongs to no country.

In 1967, it was proposed that the sea would be open to all countries, but subject to international regulation for the common good of all humanity.

UNCLOS eventually declared “the Area” – seabed and subsoil beyond national jurisdiction – as the common heritage of mankind. The International Seabed Authority (ISA) was later founded to oversee exploration and subsequent mining of deep-sea resources, aiming to ensure benefits are shared equitably.

These seemingly contradictory ideals pose daunting challenges for negotiating the new deal, which covers not only the high seas, where the freedom principle prevails for human activities, but also the Area, where the common heritage of mankind principle applies.

If the freedom principle applies, whoever acquires the genetic material in the deep sea could enjoy exclusive rights over whatever products they develop. But if the organisms are recognised as the common heritage of mankind, developing countries will also be entitled to share in the benefits.

Governance gaps

In negotiation rooms, the situation is further complicated by yawning gaps between the economic and technological strength of countries in the global north and south.

In the draft text, almost all of Part II, which is dedicated to marine genetic resources, remains bracketed. Countries disagree on everything from what counts as genetic resources, where and how they’re accessed and collected, to the objectives of the treaty and how countries will share the benefits.

Hu Xuedong, deputy head of the China Ocean Mineral Resources Research and Development Association, said countries are largely grouped into three.

There are the industrialised countries with sophisticated technology to exploit the resources who would like as little restriction as possible (the United States, Japan and Russia). On the other side are the developing countries who are demanding a fair and equitable share of benefits. Somewhere in the middle is the European Union, which has a strong foothold in marine technology but is hoping to prioritise conservation. Hu points out that the EU adopts a rather pragmatic view to push forward the negotiations. And according to Hu, there are already signs that the “resource exploiting” group and the “pragmatically moving forward” group are gaining an upper hand in preparatory discussions.

China: between north and south

In the latest talks, China joined the G77 group of developing countries in demanding that “the principle of common heritage of mankind must underpin the new regime”, adding that the principle “should be at the core of the new instrument”.

Professor Xue Guifang, of the Centre for Polar and Deep Ocean Development at Shanghai Jiaotong University, explained that this common heritage principle was “a hard-fought victory” for developing countries in negotiating seabed mining. “As a result, this is a position that China, as a developing country, is unlikely to give up.”

But as China is making rapid progress in deep-sea bioprospecting technologies, the country seems to be more willing to stay in the middle of the north–south divide, according to both Xue and Chen.

In a 2017 press conference, the State Oceanic Administration announced it had been rapidly expanding its collections of deep-sea microbes since 2002 and had completed the DNA sequencing of 300 so far.

Genetic sequences associated with patents, by 2017

Type Species Sequences
Microbes 634 9,468
Fish 88 2,055
Crustaceans 26 187
Corals 25 185
Molluscs 24 334
Anemones 16 89
Jellyfish 10 162
Plants 9 175
Worms 9 54
Sea urchins 7 103
Sea squirts 6 135
Lancelets 4 18
Sea pineapples 1 2
Sponges 1 26
Starfish 1 1
Whales 1 4
Sources: Corporate control and global governance of marine genetic resources

 

In an interview with National Oceanic News, the official newspaper of the administration, Shao Zongze, director of State Key Laboratory of Marine Biogenetic Resource, emphasised a sense of urgency to collect, research and patent the microbes, and eventually commercialise the findings.

As such, China seems to be keen to create some space for itself to manoeuvre. In its official submission to the UN, China stated the new international instrument should advance the “common wellbeing of humankind”, a slight language tweak that might suggest a deviation from the common heritage principle.

“The vagueness could be a deliberate move,” said Xue.

China seems to prefer unrestricted access to the living resources in the deep sea, which would be supported by a freedom of high seas principle. Yet on exploiting the resources, it prefers the benefit-sharing common heritage of mankind principle, according to Xue.

Every country will need to make some concessions towards a final deal, though time is running out.

“It seems not every country is in a hurry to hammer out a final deal,” said Chen, “but if there is limited progress at the upcoming talks in New York, we will need a higher level of political will before we can reach a substantial deal next year.”