亚历克斯·罗杰斯:我们正在加速海洋生物多样性的流失

世界著名海洋生物学家亚历克斯·罗杰斯介绍了自己的新书《深海》,以及人类应如何扭转海洋生物流失的趋势。

Anemone fish among the protective tentacles of their anemone home.

小丑鱼(海葵鱼)在它们海葵家园的触须“护栏”中游弋。图片来源: Philip Hamilton

亚历克斯·罗杰斯教授是全球杰出的海洋生物学家,曾任联合国、绿色和平、世界自然基金会和G7国家的海洋生态学顾问,目前是REV海洋基金会科学主管、牛津大学客座教授和高级研究员,曾是BBC蓝色星球第二季的科学顾问,有3种海洋生物以他的名字命名,包括僵尸蠕虫Osedax rogersi

亚历克斯·罗杰斯教授,REV海洋基金会科学主管、牛津大学客座教授和高级研究员。
亚历克斯·罗杰斯教授,REV海洋基金会科学主管、牛津大学客座教授和高级研究员。

罗杰斯教授今年出版了新书《深海:海洋中隐藏的奇迹以及如何保护它们》,书中不仅充满了引人入胜、让罗杰斯为大海深深着迷的童年假期轶事,而且生动描绘了在南大洋深处发现海底热泉的冒险经历。但该书也列举了过度捕捞、气候变化和污染等人类破坏海洋生物的多种形式。 

杰西卡·奥尔雷德:联合国今年发布的一份重要报告显示,人类活动已经严重改变了66%的海洋环境中的生物多样性。造成这一损失的最大因素是什么? 

亚历克斯·罗杰斯:过度捕捞和兼捕——这种情况在各大洋依旧猖獗,而且正在严重破坏更广泛的生态系统。

现在人们都很关注塑料污染,而相比之下渔业捕捞活动的破坏性明显更大。这是否会让您感到沮丧?

从个人角度来说,我肯定会感到沮丧。著名渔业生态学家丹尼尔·保利最近是这么说的:想象有一个病人躺在医院里,那里什么先进的现代化设备都有,但没人去给病人治病。我们准确地知道渔业存在什么问题,也知道怎么解决,但就是因为贪婪、自私和腐败,这些问题在全球范围内得不到解决。

如果不保护海洋生物多样性,对我们的日常生活会有什么影响? 

最明显的就是我们会失去来自海洋的食物,这可能不会直接影响我们发达国家……但发展中国家就不一样了。生物多样性流失会影响粮食安全,损害民生,还可能影响旅游业和沿海保护——气候变化导致风暴和海平面上升的影响日趋严重,而红树林、海草床、海藻床和珊瑚礁等生态系统的缺失会让沿海地区暴露在这些影响之中。 

今年在智利举行的联合国气候变化大会被称为蓝色缔约方大会,将会推动海洋健康问题提上会议日程,您认为此举是否正确?

肯定是正确的。海洋是目前地球系统中最大的不稳定碳库,吸收了目前人类排放的三分之一的二氧化碳,其中又有三分之一是由南大洋吸收的……联合国政府间气候变化专门委员会和各国政府早就应该做出更多努力,关注海洋在减缓气候变化方面的作用,以及气候变化对海洋的影响。

气候变化正愈发紧迫,在海洋问题上,我们是否同样处于临界点?情况有多糟?

我们目前面临两个相互关联的危机。首先是气候变化危机,坦白说这在20年前就应该被当做全球紧急情况加以应对了,公众终于意识到这个问题的唯一原因是气候变化正变得非常极端。

另外就是生物多样性危机。我们正面临海洋生物多样性的加速流失…而且实际上正在灭绝的物种可能比我们知道的多得多。虽然有那么多国际公约和协议呼吁监测海洋环境和生物多样性,但大家就是不去做。这一点确实需要改变。

类似海洋保护区这样的机制有多重要?

海洋保护区在维持生物多样性、提高动物种群丰度以及增强生态系统抵御过度捕捞和气候影响的能力方面极为有效。问题在于海洋保护区不够多以及执行力度不到位。

您书中有一章讲述了在南大洋发现海底热泉的奇妙体验。请问您如何看待这些热泉区域的勘探和开采前景?

很多人都在关注克拉里昂-克利珀顿断裂区,该地区位于赤道太平洋,海底沉积大量多金属结核……虽然近来在该地区开展了很多科学研究工作,但都只证明了我们对这片区域的了解非常少。我们在知识层面上还远没有达到管理采矿实际所需的水平,所以科学家们很担心冒然对其开采。

除此以外还有其他矿藏:海山上的钴结壳和海底热泉的块状硫化物,这些更让人担心,因为海底热泉的物种特有性(即只存在于此地的物种)非常高,具有很高的生物技术潜力…而且海底热泉事实上很小,因此极易受到干扰。

您认为是否需要暂停深海采矿?

这个应该由社会决定。我是一个有保育意识的科学家,当然不希望看到再有大规模活动去影响本来就承受着巨大压力的海洋。但如果让社会决定…那大家必须充分了解这项活动的影响,以及如何最好地管理这种影响,将损害最小化。目前我们离拥有这种知识水平还差得远。所以至少应该在10年时间里暂停一切形式的深海采矿。

全球200万海洋物种中人类已知的还不到10%,我们去发现更多海洋物种的意义有哪些?更好地了解它们如何有助于物种保育? 

了解更多海洋生物很重要,不只是深海,而是全部。现在面临的一个问题就是缺乏信息,生物多样性的流失正在表明我们是有问题的,说明我们和生态系统的互动方式不对。如果没有这些信息,我们就不明白自身行为的实际影响。

您在书中说我们忽略了海洋里正在发生什么也不了解其重要性。对此个人可以做些什么呢?

首先——学习海洋相关的知识。了解海里有什么,海洋的重要性。另外还要了解政府在管理影响海洋的活动方面做了什么。

您在书中描绘了一些生物多样性地区,您认为哪里的生物多样性最为丰富?

珊瑚礁真的非常惊人。但状况良好、健康的珊瑚礁越来越难找了…但如果你去岩质海岸边,你会发现非常神奇的东西。另外即使是在自家门口,你也可以发现不同寻常的生物多样性。

最后,听说有一种海洋生物是以您的名字命名的?

事实上是3种,一个是僵尸蠕虫Osedax rogersi还有一个肉食性海绵 Chondrocladia rogersi和海蜘蛛Nymphon rogersi

 

翻译:YAN

Alex Rogers: ‘We are accelerating biodiversity loss in the ocean’

One of the world’s leading marine biologists talks to Jessica Aldred about his new book and how we can turn the tide on the loss of sea life

Alex rogers, loss of biodiversity, biodiversity loss, marine life

Anemone fish among the protective tentacles of their anemone home. (Image: Philip Hamilton)

Professor Alex Rogers is one of the world’s preeminent marine biologists, who has advised the UN, Greenpeace, WWF and G7 countries on ocean ecology. He is science director of the REV Ocean foundation, a visiting professor and senior research fellow at Oxford University and was a scientific consultant on the BBC’s Blue Planet II series. He has three marine species named after him, including the zombie snot worm, Osedax rogersi.

Professor Alex Rogers of the REV Ocean foundation, is concerned about biodiversity loss
Professor Alex Rogers is science director of the REV Ocean foundation and a visiting professor and senior research fellow at Oxford University.

His book, The Deep: Hidden Wonders of Our Ocean and How We Can Protect Them, was published this year. It’s full of engaging anecdotes about childhood holidays which led to his fascination with the sea, and vivid descriptions of the adventure of discovering hydrothermal vents deep in the Southern Ocean. But it also catalogues the many ways in which humans are destroying marine life through overfishing, pollution and climate change.

Jessica: A key UN report this year showed that human actions have “severely altered” the biodiversity in nearly 66% of marine environments. What are the biggest drivers of loss? 

Alex: Overfishing and bycatch – it is still going on rampantly throughout the oceans. And it is still being done in a way which is highly damaging to the broader ecosystem.

Do you find it frustrating that there is currently so much focus on plastic pollution when fishing is arguably more damaging?

I certainly do on a personal basis. Daniel Pauly, a famous fisheries ecologist, recently put it like this: imagine you have a patient lying in hospital with all the most fantastic modern equipment available, and yet nobody will treat the patient. We know exactly what the problems with fisheries are and how to solve them, yet greed, self-interest and corruption are preventing them from being tackled on a global basis.

How will daily life be impacted if we don’t protect marine biodiversity?

One obvious way is that we will lose out in terms of food that we can harvest from the ocean. That may not directly affect us in developed countries… but certainly in developing countries, that will translate to impacts on food security and damaged livelihoods. It also affects tourism, and coastal protection – loss of ecosystems like mangrove forests, seagrass beds, kelp beds and coral reefs exposes coastal zones to the increasingly severe effects of storms and sea-level rise which we are seeing from climate change.

This year’s UN climate talks in Chile are being touted as the “blue COP”, with a drive to place ocean health high on the agenda. Do you think that’s right?

Absolutely. The ocean is by far the largest, labile pool of carbon in the Earth’s system. It’s taking up about a third of CO2 emissions that we are producing at the moment, and of that, one-third is taken up just in the Southern Ocean alone… It’s more than past time that the IPCC [the UN’s Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change] and governments paid more attention to the ocean’s role in terms of climate-change mitigation and also to the influence of climate change on the oceans.

There is a growing climate emergency movement. Are we at the same tipping point with the oceans? How bad is it? 

At the moment, we are facing two crises that are interdependent. Firstly, the climate change crisis,­ and frankly that should have been treated as a global emergency 20 years ago. The only reason that the public is finally waking up to the problem is that the changes in climate are becoming so extreme.

The other crisis is the biodiversity crisis. Essentially we are in a situation of accelerating biodiversity loss in the ocean … and there may be far more extinction going on than we actually realise. Despite so many international conventions and agreements calling for monitoring of the marine environment and of biodiversity, it’s just not happened. And that really needs to change.

How important are mechanisms like marine protected areas (MPAs)?

MPAs are extremely effective at maintaining biodiversity, increasing the abundance of animals within them and increasing resilience of the ecosystem to overfishing and climate impacts. The problem is that there are not enough of them – and not enough are well-enforced.

In your book, there is a fantastic chapter on discovering the deep-sea hydrothermal vents in the Southern Ocean. How do you feel about the prospect that such vents are being explored for mining?

A lot of the attention has been on the Clarion Clipperton Fracture Zone, an area in the equatorial Pacific where there are large deposits of polymetallic nodules on the seabed … And although there has been a recent spurt of scientific research in that region, all that has really told us is how little we actually know. It hasn’t given us the level of knowledge we actually need to manage mining. So scientists are deeply concerned about that.

But there are other mineral deposits as well: cobalt crusts on seamounts, and seabed massive sulphides on vents. And those are even more concerning in some ways, because hydrothermal vents have a very high level of endemism [species found nowhere else], they are rich in terms of biotechnological potential … And also vents are actually quite small and therefore very vulnerable to disturbance.

What’s your view on a moratorium?

This is a decision that should be made by society. I am a conservation-minded scientist so obviously I don’t want to see another large-scale activity impacting our ocean, which is already under severe stress. But if society has to make a decision … it has to have a full understanding of what the impacts of this activity are going to be and how to best manage that so it has minimal damage. And at the moment we are not even in the ballpark of having that level of knowledge. So there should be at least a 10-year moratorium on any mining in the deep ocean.

Less than 10% of two million marine species have been described. Why is it so important to know more? How will greater knowledge help conservation?

It’s important we know more about what’s in the ocean. Not just the deep ocean, but all of it. One of the problems is just lack of information. Loss of biodiversity is a symptom that things are going wrong, that the way we are interacting with our ecosystems is not right. And if we don’t have that information, then we don’t understand what impacts we’re actually having.

In your book, you say we have lost sight of what lies beneath the ocean and why it matters. What can individuals do to help?

Number one – educate yourself about the ocean. Understand what’s in there, why it’s important. But also, educate yourself about what your government is doing on your behalf in terms of managing activities that are impinging on the oceans.

You have some lovely descriptions in your book of biodiverse places. Which area for you showcases the greatest biodiversity?

Coral reefs are just incredible. But good, healthy coral reefs are getting increasingly difficult to find … but you can see really amazing stuff just by going down to a rocky shore. You can find really remarkable biodiversity on your doorstep.

And finally, you have the honour of having a species named after you?

I’ve actually got three named after me. The Osedax rogersi, which is the zombie snot worm! I’ve also got a carnivorous sponge, Chondrocladia rogersi and a sea spider, Nymphon rogersi.